Play Nice Admin, Finance, Members, Ratings, Crowds, Policies - Please refer to each sports own boards

You are kidding right.

Generally the Rugby League and soccer, the main camera goes down one side. So you see the crowd on the other side.

Take leichhardt tigers v the storm

The camera runs down the along the members stand end, back in the day this would have been showing just the hill and benches GA areas that were full (so is the members stand as well).

Nowadays, they have placed some old seats from the SCG i think on were the benches were closest to the grounds and charged an extra 5 bucks or so for the seats. These are by far and away the most empty part of the ground and are by far and away the most shown part of the ground when most other area of leichhardt looks full.

Soccer is the same, the same it runs the camera long one side mostly, and depending on the time whether you want to be in the sun or the rain you will get what crowd you get. I am sure some on here could comment more about aami park but since morons in victoria are used to sitting behind goalposts, the crowds probably look worse then they are because they arent going to swing behind the goal posts unless points are scored.

Now lets look at the AFL and how they work the cameras in Giants and Swans games.

Honestly, sometimes I think people on here support AFL like its some sort of righteous religion from GOD above all the other lowly ball games, when you look at the track record of which organisation does better at building relationships within the media / justice system / government to get better outcomes for the game (some might call it a word starting with c and ending in n) it isn't rugby league or soccer....Its the game staring you in the face.

But anyways you come for a breed that boo blokes you cut from your side when they manage to get a gig elsewhere so what would should I expect.

Woah, ease up dude that was a "throwaway" post!

The fact that salty league types can hang out here and post freely is a sign that "people on here" are pretty open to the views of the followers of the lower ball games I would have thought

If you need to believe as consolation that the AFL's triumphant success as the undisputed colossal of Australian sport is due to relationships with media / justice system o_O/ and government then each to their own. I suspect rather it is just a recipe for more misery and bitterness though. My advice - stop reading Roy Masters!

From our great Australian Football supporter

"Honestly, sometimes I think people on here support AFL like its some sort of righteous religion from GOD above all the other lowly ball games"
It is a god given religion mate and thats why its #1 by a country mile.
it is a business
just like -
soccer is a business
rugby league is a business
rugby union is a business
cricket is a business

It sells a product, people buy that product.

Why do you think your overlords expanded there empire into NSW/QLD - to get more people to buy that product, why don't they expand into Tasmania, because between the 14 families there there isn't enough people to buy that product, I am sure you will tell me tasmanians love kicking a red ball around on a cricket oval. Your overlords dont give a shit, they care about money just like any other business.

I get the impression that is like a badge of australian culture to support a particular AFL side in Victoria. In NSW and QLD you do what you do and you support what you support.

the camera angles on NRL broadcasts are kinda like the balding guy facing the mirror trying every creative way to do comb over to hide the bald spots....and make it look like he has more hair than he does (viewed from certain angles in forgiving light)
It must be tedious for the production having to worry about it every match and not being able to film from any angle you want.
Damn, this hits me right to the core.

Woah, ease up dude that was a "throwaway" post!

The fact that salty league types can hang out here and post freely is a sign that "people on here" are pretty open to the views of the followers of the lower ball games I would have thought

If you need to believe as consolation that the AFL's triumphant success as the undisputed colossal of Australian sport is due to relationships with media / justice system o_O/ and government then each to their own. I suspect rather it is just a recipe for more misery and bitterness though. My advice - stop reading Roy Masters!

Not salty just real.

If that is against the rules I am happy to be told and to amend my posts accordingly or be banned / suspended if that is the appropriate course of action. Same as what I would accept on union / league / nba forums.

With respect, I believe the AFL's current status of popularity, which I agree is currently higher then any other winter sport in this country, is due to the following:-
1 the product
2 it has large following of sheltered individuals who think there sport is a religion - see the post above yours for an example.
3 it has maintained and developed the relationships it has (I applaud the organisation for this)

Same could be said for soccer, rugby league and rugby union.

Obviously the product is the same here as in china, the big difference between the popularity in regions is points 2 and 3.

Honestly, sometimes I think people on here support AFL like its some sort of righteous religion from GOD above all the other lowly ball games, .

welcome to Bigfooty. See the hint is even in the title. I dont go to league unlimited and complain people prefer rugby league and I dont go to fourfourtwo and complain people prefer soccer. Dont come here bitching about people preferring AFL.

Not salty just real.

If that is against the rules I am happy to be told and to amend my posts accordingly or be banned / suspended if that is the appropriate course of action. Same as what I would accept on union / league / nba forums.

Consider yourself told. Its not ban worthy at this time though, we dont ban for disagreements.

Just on that last link that states a roar article claiming just 55,000 rugby players from a Roy Morgan poll, i have long thought Roy Morgan polls are just a waste of time.

Polling a few people by phone, gets you nowhere, the codes themselves have the correct numbers, or very close to it, if they are broken down via school, club, non club etc then that gives a great snapshot, not Roy Morgan.

Claytons poll would be a better name for Roy Morgan.
The Morgan Poll, covering RU 14 y.o.+ in comps., claiming nos. had dropped from 148,000 to 55,000 from 2001 -2016, is intriguing. Is it RU 15's only -or also include contact RU 7's (which is growing).
Morgan polls have been around for decades & are widely used in business, & for political polling & academic research. I assume they are respected for their accuracy, due to their longevity. It appears this poll does not include the hugely popular touch/tag (ie non contact) rugby variants-over 500,000 (mainly schools).

I am not aware, however, anyone is claiming RU regd. contact nos. have fallen this much since 2001 -but the nos. are certainly falling, with junior regd. contact nos. having the biggest falls. Contact RU hardly exists now in nthn. state Govt. schools. (Regd. contact RL nos. are also in decline).
A 65% fall in 15 years is MASSIVE, & would have attracted in NSW & Qld. MUCH publicity & public "gnashing of teeth" etc well before 2017.

I do not believe any of "the codes themselves have the correct nos., or very close to it" -all embellish!

As you know, there is often code double/triple counting with players who play both school & club & code "derivatives" (eg Auskick, futsal, private org. soccer clinics, RU 7's & touch rugby etc.). The sport HQ do NOT cross reference names, but simply & happily adds up all nos. of regd. participants in their comps.
This HQ methodological "lapse" MOST advantages soccer of the football codes. Soccer (with basketball, netball, & cricket) has official school comp. teams in nearly EVERY (90%?) school in Aust. -unlike schools with AF teams 35%?, contact RL 10%? or contact RU 2%? Vic.,WA,SA,Tas, NT have 47% of Aust. pop.

AF is also disadvantaged in schools by requiring the need to find at least 18 students to form a team -soccer only needs 11.
School AF (like RL&RU) has the big hurdle in that it is relatively difficult to train students, & be an umpire -unless the teacher is an expert. In contrast, school soccer team creation is advantaged since it is very easy for most teachers to train (& be a referee) students in the much simpler & safer game of soccer. Male teacher nos. in primary schools have declined considerably in recent years.

Soccer has c.800,000 regd. females (mainly in schools) -FAR greater female nos. cf other 3 codes. But AF will probably catch up in 10 years, as AFLW goes to 18 teams, playing in the off season.

Soccer also has the advantage that INFORMAL MATCHES can be played amongst friends (who might not be in any club/school team), sometimes with their own portable goals, cones(no lines) etc., on a soccer ground/parkland without referees -as soccer is a simple game, with simple rules cf AF, RL, & RU.
This is impossible in AF, RL, & RU -but because it is a competitive match, with scoring, these informal players would likely be recorded as "soccer players" by pollsters.

Not salty just real.

With respect, I believe the AFL's current status of popularity, which I agree is currently higher then any other winter sport in this country, is due to the following:-
1 the product
2 it has large following of sheltered individuals who think there sport is a religion - see the post above yours for an example.
3 it has maintained and developed the relationships it has (I applaud the organisation for this)

Same could be said for soccer, rugby league and rugby union.

Obviously the product is the same here as in china, the big difference between the popularity in regions is points 2 and 3.

Bit of circular logic in factor 2 there - the game is popular because of all "the sheltered individuals" that like it (or even "think there sport is a religion").

You now "applaud" the relationships you previously suggested were examples of corruption...OK

To the extent that the game is a religion it is indeed a very broad and tolerant church . Consider the amount of activity on the Big Footy Rugby League forum

https://www.bigfooty.com/forum/forums/rugby-league-nrl-super-league.63/

and compare that to League Unlimited

http://forums.leagueunlimited.com/forums/afl.89/

I wasn't suggesting you were doing anything warranting being banned before, just that league fans are hardly in a position to accuse football fans of intolerance.

welcome to Bigfooty. See the hint is even in the title. I dont go to league unlimited and complain people prefer rugby league and I dont go to fourfourtwo and complain people prefer soccer. Dont come here bitching about people preferring AFL.

Consider yourself told. Its not ban worthy at this time though, we dont ban for disagreements.
I am not bitching about people liking the AFL, good on them, I hope everyone gets maximum enjoyment out of sport of there passions, you only live once.

But obviously if people are just going to post "propaganda" type stuff which is what that conspiratorial soccer/rugby league have funny camera angles to fuge there crowd figures, without looking at the sport that this forum is mainly designed to discuss then come on, expect a response.

But you are the admin, and if you want the narrative on this threads to only be heavily biased responses I am happy to tone it down for you.

I should note, that any argument coming from an AFL fan that the AFL is a more entertaining proven by its support throughout australia, is an argument I take umbridge with from a purely logical level as you put that in a global context and it works against you. That said, I agree that most entertainment sports are very entertaining (AFL included), I just dont like that argument as a particular proof.

Its sort of like the old would you jump of a bridge if your mate did.

Bit of circular logic in factor 2 there - the game is popular because of all "the sheltered individuals" that like it (or even "think there sport is a religion").

You now "applaud" the relationships you previously suggested were examples of corruption...OK

To the extent that the game is a religion it is indeed a very broad and tolerant church . Consider the amount of activity on the Big Footy Rugby League forum

https://www.bigfooty.com/forum/forums/rugby-league-nrl-super-league.63/

and compare that to League Unlimited

http://forums.leagueunlimited.com/forums/afl.89/

I wasn't suggesting you were doing anything warranting being banned before, just that league fans are hardly in a position to accuse football fans of intolerance.
I am a sports fans with preferences.

I never accused you of intolerance, I just thought that post was biased to the point of being unfair or incorrect.

I dont know you will enough to know whether you are a tolerant individual or not, but I am happy to take what ever you say on that point as good enough for me.

I readily agree with you that LU has less tolerance for AFL then what AFL does for RL, I think the AFL community should take that as a compliment not for there tolerance but for there place in the sporting entertainment business.

Also I already freely recognised in my original "offending post" that sheltered individuals occur in all sports..

The Morgan Poll, covering RU 14 y.o.+ in comps., claiming nos. had dropped from 148,000 to 55,000 from 2001 -2016, is intriguing. Is it RU 15's only -or also include contact RU 7's (which is growing).
Morgan polls have been around for decades & are widely used in business, & for political polling & academic research. I assume they are respected for their accuracy, due to their longevity. It appears this poll does not include the hugely popular touch/tag (ie non contact) rugby variants-over 500,000 (mainly schools).

I am not aware, however, anyone is claiming RU regd. contact nos. have fallen this much since 2001 -but the nos. are certainly falling, with junior regd. contact nos. having the biggest falls. Contact RU hardly exists now in nthn. state Govt. schools. (Regd. contact RL nos. are also in decline).
A 65% fall in 15 years is MASSIVE, & would have attracted in NSW & Qld. MUCH publicity & public "gnashing of teeth" etc well before 2017.

I do not believe any of "the codes themselves have the correct nos., or very close to it" -all embellish!

As you know, there is often code double/triple counting with players who play both school & club & code "derivatives" (eg Auskick, futsal, RU 7's & touch rugby etc.). The sport HQ do NOT cross reference names, but simply & happily adds up all nos. of regd. participants in their comps.
This HQ methodological "lapse" MOST advantages soccer of the football codes -soccer (with basketball, netball, & cricket) has official school comp. teams in nearly EVERY (90%?) school in Aust. -unlike schools with AF teams 35%?, contact RL 10%? or contact RU 2%?. Vic.,WA,SA,Tas, NT have 47% of Aust. pop.

AF is also disadvantaged in schools by requiring the need to find at least 18 students to form a team -soccer only needs 11. School AF (like RL & RU) is also disadvantaged in that it is relatively difficult to train students, & be an umpire -unless the teacher is an expert. In contrast, school soccer team creation is advantaged since it is very easy for most teachers to train (& be a referee) students in the much simpler & safer game of soccer. Male teacher nos. in primary schools have declined considerably in recent years.

Soccer nos. are helped considerably by c.800,000 regd. females (mainly in schools) -FAR greater than the other 3 codes. But AF will catch up in 10 years!
From my anecdotal perspective.
AFL runs its school programs much better then any other game, and gets far better numbers because of it.

I went to a state school which played union and for one game a year we played in an AFL knock out comp.

Nobody gave a shit about it, it was time off school.

But it was run because the AFL is a well run organisation.

I also think either rugby code and rugby league in particular would have trouble, convincing a school of kids who grew up traditionally playing "less physical" sports, and I say that kindly, because less face it I would have preferred to be more blunt there but there is some sensitivity over my posts here so I am trying to be more sesntive to my audience. To go out and potentially get smashed in a game of league is unlikely and union no one will understand WTF is going on, although that didnt stop us with AFL (though imo union is more complicated rule wise then AFL)

I should note, that any argument coming from an AFL fan that the AFL is a more entertaining proven by its support throughout australia, is an argument I take umbridge with from a purely logical level as you put that in a global context and it works against you. That said, I agree that most entertainment sports are very entertaining (AFL included), I just dont like that argument as a particular proof.

I don't know why you feel you "should note that" at all as it has no relevance to any arguments made recently in this thread.

From my anecdotal perspective.
AFL runs its school programs much better then any other game, and gets far better numbers because of it.

I went to a state school which played union and for one game a year we played in an AFL knock out comp.

Nobody gave a shit about it, it was time off school.

But it was run because the AFL is a well run organisation.

I also think either rugby code and rugby league in particular would have trouble, convincing a school of kids who grew up traditionally playing "less physical" sports, and I say that kindly, because less face it I would have preferred to be more blunt there but there is some sensitivity over my posts here so I am trying to be more sesntive to my audience. To go out and potentially get smashed in a game of league is unlikely and union no one will understand WTF is going on, although that didnt stop us with AFL (though imo union is more complicated rule wise then AFL)

No it's you who is being sensitive. You wanted to say "League is a tougher sport and so kids with a background in "less physical sports" like Australian football will be too scared to play it"? Just say it!

I know from personal experience growing up in Melbourne we played full tackle rugby league in PE and played British bulldogs at lunchtimes and at footy training mined you. Interesting theory though. I suspect, in addition to the AFL's efforts you've identified, there is just more in it (ie giving Australian football a crack) for most people from a Rugby League background than in vice versa - ie being able to use the ball creatively/skillfully if you don't have 6,7 or 9 on your back, or even doing so in a far more dynamic and unpredictable environment if you do.

No it's you who is being sensitive. You wanted to say "League is a tougher sport and so kids with a background in "less physical sports" like Australian football will be too scared to play it"? Just say it!

I know from personal experience growing up in Melbourne we played full tackle rugby league in PE and played British bulldogs at lunchtimes and at footy training mined you. Interesting theory though. I suspect, in addition to the AFL's efforts you've identified, there is just more in it (ie giving Australian football a crack) for most people from a Rugby League background than in vice versa - ie being able to use the ball creatively/skillfully if you don't have 6,7 or 9 on your back, or even doing so in a far more dynamic and unpredictable environment if you do.
I am only being sensitive to your sensitivities ;)

Also playing league against equally matched physicalities can be a lot less bruising then playing a proper game against a team that flogs you.

In one year, we played pennant hills who had a bunch of AFL players in there team and despite our high hopes going into the game we got belted 150-0 or something, it wasnt a particular bruising a fair, just like a game of forcings back or kicking a footy around during PE would not be. Go up against a school of tongans when you are 14 and 50kgs against some 14 year old bearded monsters playing at 80-90 kgs + and it becomes a less popular affair. In any event, the point is redundant as we all not the NRL is run to poorly to ever bother trying to get a decent amount of school kids outside of nsw/qld to play the game anyways.

I don't know why you feel you "should note that" at all as it has no relevance to any arguments made recently in this thread.
For whatever reason a loyal mcdonalds customer never lauds over a loyal burger king customer that the quarter pounder is better then a whopper because more people buy quarter pounders.

FTR IMO a quarter pounder shits on a whopper, you should not have to ask for cheese on a burger.

But this thread does have an undercurrent whether intended or not that due to the AFL's crowds numbers it is a better game then the NRL.

When whether or not AF is a better game then RL is not the point, the method of arguement is so meh, I feel more compelled then perhaps necessary to note these things.

Haha, seriously? You came on here because you took offense that people were joking about camera angles at rugby league games to avoid empty seats were like balding blokes with comb-overs!
Not sensitive, just pointing out the partial tripe that it was.

Sometimes when you get stuck in a like minded community too much you become immune to how partial to a particular view you have become.

Look at people in politics.

The only bloke that was offended was the bald bloke who posted a bit ago.

I don't think sports followers in this country are sheltered at all, the football codes here are in a competitive environment that is unmatched anywhere in the world.

And i have no problems at all that people think of their preferred sport as a type of religion, there are plenty of worse religions around to pick up on.

That line just smacks of cringy RL, soccer chip on shoulder talk.

Not salty just real.

2 it has large following of sheltered individuals who think there sport is a religion

I think you've hit the nail on the head. AFL supporters generally speaking have more passion than those that follow league. They are willing to spend big $$$ to support their team, they are prepared to go and watch their team.

League has enough to worry about. The NRL annual report released yesterday - makes for some interesting reading. Especially the decline in registered players - the reason why the NRL wanted to withhold a portion of the grant money to clubs.

Not sensitive, just pointing out the partial tripe that it was.

Sometimes when you get stuck in a like minded community too much you become immune to how partial to a particular view you have become.

Look at people in politics.

The only bloke that was offended was the bald bloke who posted a bit ago.

Its NOT tripe the cameras are kept low to hide the usually poor crowds at NRL games in general they even have fake sounds added when the players run into each other and you can pick this easily when the sounds get out of sequence with the actual play.
The soccer does the same with the camera angles if there is a poor crowd but if they have a big crowd watch how they then focus more on the crowd.
As has been said before if you come on here as a RL troll and start knocking Australian Football then expect a kicking.

League has enough to worry about. The NRL annual report released yesterday - makes for some interesting reading. Especially the decline in registered players - the reason why the NRL wanted to withhold a portion of the grant money to clubs.

The NRL Annual Report has been available for months.

Yep, every time

if-your-friends-jumped-off-a-bridge-dealerknows-otR4Lb-clipart.jpg

Its NOT tripe the cameras are kept low to hide the usually poor crowds at NRL games in general they even have fake sounds added when the players run into each other and you can pick this easily when the sounds get out of sequence with the actual play.

I don't know about on broadcasts but when I last went to an NRL game in 2014 at ANZ Stadium they were pumping fake crowd noise through the PA at the ground!

You are kidding right.

Generally the Rugby League and soccer, the main camera goes down one side. So you see the crowd on the other side.

Take leichhardt tigers v the storm

The camera runs down the along the members stand end, back in the day this would have been showing just the hill and benches GA areas that were full (so is the members stand as well).

Nowadays, they have placed some old seats from the SCG i think on were the benches were closest to the grounds and charged an extra 5 bucks or so for the seats. These are by far and away the most empty part of the ground and are by far and away the most shown part of the ground when most other area of leichhardt looks full.

Soccer is the same, the same it runs the camera long one side mostly, and depending on the time whether you want to be in the sun or the rain you will get what crowd you get. I am sure some on here could comment more about aami park but since morons in victoria are used to sitting behind goalposts, the crowds probably look worse then they are because they arent going to swing behind the goal posts unless points are scored.

That's simply demonstrably, factually untrue. Seating considerations are more or less the same all codes: we all prefer the wings, then ends, then pockets.
However, due to the lack of crowd cover NRL broadcast crews constantly drop the framing lower, tries to avoid showing the ends at all whenever possible and sticks to the front 5-10 rows of the sides. They never do the big 'over the ground' shots, they never do the 'from up in the stands amongst the fans' shots that AFL do, when they do they cross to the 'on the field' commentators and onfield post match interviews, they frame as tightly as they can and have to set up the angles to avoid blule pastic seats being the background. The AFL coverage is almost the exact opposite.. it wants to show off the grandeur of the stands and the crowd within which the interview is taking place and often rotates the camera around the interview to pan the background.

I am not bitching about people liking the AFL, good on them, I hope everyone gets maximum enjoyment out of sport of there passions, you only live once.

But obviously if people are just going to post "propaganda" type stuff which is what that conspiratorial soccer/rugby league have funny camera angles to fuge there crowd figures, without looking at the sport that this forum is mainly designed to discuss then come on, expect a response.

But you are the admin, and if you want the narrative on this threads to only be heavily biased responses I am happy to tone it down for you.

and therin lies your problem chump. You think its 'propagander' and brainwashing, when we are simply very proud of OUR sport. its not 'AFL' , its our indigenous, unique own thing that's all our own. AFL gets the reflected glory for sure (and rightly so), but its not the source of the glory any more than it is the source of the attendances. OUR game is and WE are.