2nds AFC 2022 SANFL Thread

Too slow and clumsy. Had a booming kick but no coordination or football craft. I just don't see it. They cant all be winning picks. Lets just learn to not waste early picks on defenders again. Rookie KPDs and Billy Frampton, yes Big Bad Billy are all ahead of him.

On SM-A325F using BigFooty.com mobile app
Thing is, his reading of the play was/is his biggest strength

Mcasey no good again?

He really needs to start dominating lower league footy. We aint asking for an Alex Rance type defender at this point so a Kyle Hartigan will have to do so we can get some small value from this pick.

Never draft a key defender this early ever again!

To be fair, Alex Rance looked pretty bad after his first three seasons. Richmond supporters were calling him a bust then too.

How many has McAsey played?
Not many, and none of them have been good.

2 very inconsistent pre seasons mind you. I'm not writing him off yet, but this year is a big one. He'll want to be in the AFL side through merit by the end of the year.

Not many, and none of them have been good.

2 very inconsistent pre seasons mind you. I'm not writing him off yet, but this year is a big one. He'll want to be in the AFL side through merit by the end of the year.
Rance's first 3 seasons looked pretty decent statswise for a KPP.

44 games for Rance speaks for itself compared to 10 games from Fish and unlikely to add to it this year.

Tall recruits - first 2 seasons. Games played.

Fischer McAsey pick 6 10
Daniel Talia pick 12 9
Ben Rutten rookie 11
Phil Davis pick 10 18
Kyle Hartigan rookie- mature aged 10

Tall recruits - first 2 seasons. Games played.

Fischer McAsey pick 6 10
Daniel Talia pick 12 9
Ben Rutten rookie 11
Phil Davis pick 10 18
Kyle Hartigan rookie- mature aged 10
And the first game they played in their third season and total games that year

Talia - Round 1, 23 games
Rutten - Round 1, 25 games
Davis - Round 1, 22 games
Hartigan - Round 1, 18 games

Wonder how many were coming off stress fractures in the pre season ??

All it takes is an injury to an incumbent which a couple of those guys had. If we're talking about Darcy Fogarty after 5 years, surely it's worth giving Fish a couple.

Yep, we'd want to see McAsey be a part of the team a lot this year

44 games for Rance speaks for itself compared to 10 games from Fish and unlikely to add to it this year.

No, it doesn't speak for itself.

If anything, Richmond was worse than us during Rance's first three years, he was given a LOT of opportunities and he was dropped multiple times. In the 2012 off season, most thougt he'd be traded, and Richmond supporters couldn't stand how much of a turnover merchant he was.

Turns out they were wrong.

Rance played 44 games in his first FOUR years. Didn't play in 2008, 15 in 2009, 10 in 2010 and then broke out for 19 in 2011. Disposals went from under 13 to 18 in 2011 also.

McAsey is who we've got, so we can only hope . . .

I wandered down to West Lakes on the weekend. I got there a little late so missed our 2 first quarter goals. Stood on the outer side so might have had a different view to others, but a few thoughts on our listed players:

3. McAsey - forget about him. He was beyond hopeless again. Twice in the space of 5 mins in the first quarter he had fresh air shots at regulation spoils and the ball went over the back, leading to walk-in goals. Was outmarked a few times, marks that he should have taken didn't stick, and there just seemed to be no intent to impose himself on the game. More than once he would be involved in the contest on the wing, then North Adelaide would go forward, and he would just kind of amble back towards defence rather than get back and try and impact the game. Kicked a lovely booming (wind assisted) goal from 60 in the last quarter.

6. Hately - thought he was our best player, best game I have seen from him even at this level. Found lots of footy and used it reasonably well. I thought he was our best player even before the 3 last quarter goals. Can't see him being in the frame for round 1 - we need to trim down the 24 and I don't think he banged the door down to overtake the guys who played seniors on the weekend, but a few more performances like that and he'd be close to finding a way past the Berry/Pedlar/Soligo types.

15. Cook - typical game from him at this level. Does some exciting things when he gets involved in the play but finds it hard to stay involved, especially when we are getting belted. Did some nice things but I think he will always be a player who looks better at the higher level. Our twitter alleged that he kicked both first quarter goals but having watched those highlights it was only one of them.

17. Hamill - was pretty awful early on and then warmed into the game. I've been a big fan since draft day, but he has to tidy up his kicking if he's going to make it as a player. Just misses too many straightforward targets.

19. Taylor - yep, he can play. Was not hugely eye catching or spectacular, but was clean with the ball in a way not many of our players were all day. Found enough of it (I would estimate 20 touches) and used the ball well by hand and foot. Only drawback was that he missed a reasonably regulation set shot from 40 with the breeze - not a big deal by itself - but seemed to lose confidence in his goal kicking after that and turned it over a couple of times trying to hit a target when he should have just had a shot himself.

22. Frampton - too big and too good for this level, especially when he can pretty much play loose. Played back and is probably next in line after Butts/Murray I think. He's a nice field kick, low and penetrating. Still not convinced about him actually playing as a defender though.

24. Worrell - another one who is a very good player at this level. Missed a couple of pretty simple foot targets in a row at one stage but besides that, he was very good down back. Agree with others that it's hard to see a future for him in our side down back, would love to see what he can do at the other end (especially given we had no key forwards to speak of in this game).

27. Nankervis - exciting. Looked lively without probably having very many stats. I would say 6-8 touches but took one mark on the lead at full stretch where his arms were just telescopic. Good pace and his tackling was ferocious. Went off at some point during the third quarter and took off his boots/strapping. Not sure what happened, but he was walking around the boundary without looking in any obvious discomfort so maybe it was a minor niggle, maybe just managing minutes.

30. Milera - looked awful for the first half, really rusty. One ball he went to pick up and had to have about three goes at it. Really uncharacteristic. Started to warm into the game and looked classy in the last quarter and a half. Might have coincided with the North boys running out of legs a little and us getting on top. Kicked a great goal (which didn't make the package above) where he smothered a pretty routine switch kick in our forward 50, fought for the ball on the ground and ended up snapping it with his left foot over his right shoulder. I can see the argument both ways for playing him in round 1 or giving him a couple more in the seconds to get his legs under him.

31. Rowe - was lively but had little impact and missed a few goals. I like Rowe and am more optimistic about his future than most on here, but if he is not a lethal finisher I don't think he has value at AFL level. Missed an absolute sitter of a left foot snap from 10-15m out straight in front in the second quarter. Didn't overtake anyone in our best 22 on that performance.

35. Borlase - typical game from him. Strong in the air, didn't make mistakes, good footballer. But exposed athletically and is 1-2 inches too short to be as slow as he is. Can't see an AFL footballer in there sadly.

37. Parnell - played wing/half back and was pretty good. Used the ball well and kicked a really nice running goal in the last quarter. He reminds me a lot of Matthew Jaensch. Still tiny though. Hope he debuts this year but even if he doesn't, I think there is enough there to persist for another year.

42. Newchurch - did a couple of lively runs but generally didn't impact the game. Came off in the third quarter and then did a couple of run throughs on the boundary but didn't come back on. He and Nankervis probably suffered for being forwards who weren't on the ground at the time that things would have got a bit easier for them.

45. Strachan - way too good for this level. Dominated the ruck contest and kicked two goals at a time when we couldn't buy a goal. It's good news for ROB that he played so well on Saturday arvo, because there is a ruckman plenty good enough for AFL level in the wings.

46. Freeman - included him in here because I don't believe for a second that they aren't thinking about putting Seed on the LTI list and signing Freeman. He got heaps of the footy but his kicking might be a bit questionable. Sprayed heaps of them.

I wandered down to West Lakes on the weekend. I got there a little late so missed our 2 first quarter goals. Stood on the outer side so might have had a different view to others, but a few thoughts on our listed players:

3. McAsey - forget about him. He was beyond hopeless again. Twice in the space of 5 mins in the first quarter he had fresh air shots at regulation spoils and the ball went over the back, leading to walk-in goals. Was outmarked a few times, marks that he should have taken didn't stick, and there just seemed to be no intent to impose himself on the game. More than once he would be involved in the contest on the wing, then North Adelaide would go forward, and he would just kind of amble back towards defence rather than get back and try and impact the game. Kicked a lovely booming (wind assisted) goal from 60 in the last quarter.

6. Hately - thought he was our best player, best game I have seen from him even at this level. Found lots of footy and used it reasonably well. I thought he was our best player even before the 3 last quarter goals. Can't see him being in the frame for round 1 - we need to trim down the 24 and I don't think he banged the door down to overtake the guys who played seniors on the weekend, but a few more performances like that and he'd be close to finding a way past the Berry/Pedlar/Soligo types.

15. Cook - typical game from him at this level. Does some exciting things when he gets involved in the play but finds it hard to stay involved, especially when we are getting belted. Did some nice things but I think he will always be a player who looks better at the higher level. Our twitter alleged that he kicked both first quarter goals but having watched those highlights it was only one of them.

17. Hamill - was pretty awful early on and then warmed into the game. I've been a big fan since draft day, but he has to tidy up his kicking if he's going to make it as a player. Just misses too many straightforward targets.

19. Taylor - yep, he can play. Was not hugely eye catching or spectacular, but was clean with the ball in a way not many of our players were all day. Found enough of it (I would estimate 20 touches) and used the ball well by hand and foot. Only drawback was that he missed a reasonably regulation set shot from 40 with the breeze - not a big deal by itself - but seemed to lose confidence in his goal kicking after that and turned it over a couple of times trying to hit a target when he should have just had a shot himself.

22. Frampton - too big and too good for this level, especially when he can pretty much play loose. Played back and is probably next in line after Butts/Murray I think. He's a nice field kick, low and penetrating. Still not convinced about him actually playing as a defender though.

24. Worrell - another one who is a very good player at this level. Missed a couple of pretty simple foot targets in a row at one stage but besides that, he was very good down back. Agree with others that it's hard to see a future for him in our side down back, would love to see what he can do at the other end (especially given we had no key forwards to speak of in this game).

27. Nankervis - exciting. Looked lively without probably having very many stats. I would say 6-8 touches but took one mark on the lead at full stretch where his arms were just telescopic. Good pace and his tackling was ferocious. Went off at some point during the third quarter and took off his boots/strapping. Not sure what happened, but he was walking around the boundary without looking in any obvious discomfort so maybe it was a minor niggle, maybe just managing minutes.

30. Milera - looked awful for the first half, really rusty. One ball he went to pick up and had to have about three goes at it. Really uncharacteristic. Started to warm into the game and looked classy in the last quarter and a half. Might have coincided with the North boys running out of legs a little and us getting on top. Kicked a great goal (which didn't make the package above) where he smothered a pretty routine switch kick in our forward 50, fought for the ball on the ground and ended up snapping it with his left foot over his right shoulder. I can see the argument both ways for playing him in round 1 or giving him a couple more in the seconds to get his legs under him.

31. Rowe - was lively but had little impact and missed a few goals. I like Rowe and am more optimistic about his future than most on here, but if he is not a lethal finisher I don't think he has value at AFL level. Missed an absolute sitter of a left foot snap from 10-15m out straight in front in the second quarter. Didn't overtake anyone in our best 22 on that performance.

35. Borlase - typical game from him. Strong in the air, didn't make mistakes, good footballer. But exposed athletically and is 1-2 inches too short to be as slow as he is. Can't see an AFL footballer in there sadly.

37. Parnell - played wing/half back and was pretty good. Used the ball well and kicked a really nice running goal in the last quarter. He reminds me a lot of Matthew Jaensch. Still tiny though. Hope he debuts this year but even if he doesn't, I think there is enough there to persist for another year.

42. Newchurch - did a couple of lively runs but generally didn't impact the game. Came off in the third quarter and then did a couple of run throughs on the boundary but didn't come back on. He and Nankervis probably suffered for being forwards who weren't on the ground at the time that things would have got a bit easier for them.

45. Strachan - way too good for this level. Dominated the ruck contest and kicked two goals at a time when we couldn't buy a goal. It's good news for ROB that he played so well on Saturday arvo, because there is a ruckman plenty good enough for AFL level in the wings.

46. Freeman - included him in here because I don't believe for a second that they aren't thinking about putting Seed on the LTI list and signing Freeman. He got heaps of the footy but his kicking might be a bit questionable. Sprayed heaps of them.

Great write up, thanks
Sounds like Hately and Strachan were our best but not many others putting up their hands for selection
Freeman looks exciting

Thanks for the write up, and FYI when we had the opportunity to write question to Nicksy today. I asked if why they haven't tried worrel fwd and if they will make the call on Seedsman before its to late to sign Freeman.

On SM-G988B using BigFooty.com mobile app

3. McAsey - forget about him. He was beyond hopeless again. Twice in the space of 5 mins in the first quarter he had fresh air shots at regulation spoils and the ball went over the back, leading to walk-in goals.
This is why I've said I seriously think he needs to get his vision checked cause he was doing that last year and I just can't believe we'd pick a defender who seriously can't even spoil the ball.

We could have helped him shake off cobwebs by giving him a half in the AFL games. But we’re too focussed on round 1 continuity. If he doesn’t get a hitout then it’s entirely on us.

Tex wasn't allowed to play any trial game last weekend, AFL orders.