Autopsy AFL 2020 First Preliminary Final - Port v Tigers Fri October 16th 7:50pm AEDT / 7:20pm AEST (AO) Match Highlights in OP

Who will win and by how much?

• Port by a goal or less

Votes: 11 5.1%
  • Richmond by a goal or less

Votes: 10 4.6%
  • Port by 7 - 20

Votes: 81 37.5%
  • Richmond by 7 - 20

Votes: 71 32.9%
  • Port by a lot

Votes: 18 8.3%
  • Richmond by a lot

Votes: 21 9.7%
  • Draw - Port in extra time

Votes: 3 1.4%
  • Draw - Richmond in extra time

Votes: 1 0.5%

Tiger tough! Cant see cats getting it done against tigers TBH, if we get the chance. Stoppages and centre clearances the new tiger game plan. Adam Kingsley stocks rising. Tigers to lose now!
Honestly whoever wins tomorrow night should go in as favourites in the GF imo. Richmond just had a slog of a game in the wet interstate. I think Richmond would be similar (but not to the same extant) to GWS in the 2019 grand final.

I hope it's not the case, but Richmond will lose by 4-5 goals in the GF imo.

Intense game from the beginning to the end! Very happy with how Richmond have gone in the last few years. No home ground advantage all year (had to make our own advantage at Metricon) and here we are. Something clicked at the club at the end of 2016/start of 2017 that changed the culture of the club. Anyways, one more win to go for that Premiership hopefully!

Also, commiserations to Port Adelaide supporters. A great season from Port Adelaide this year and just fell short. At least you can confidently say that your club (players and coaches) fought and fought until the final siren and did not give up today. That's how a club can build the character to go all the way. A great group of youth as well in Rozee, Duursma and Butters and players like SPP means that Port have given themselves a good chance to stay on top.

We unquestionably blew it. I'm talking about your mate, without a hint of irony, whinging about Brisbane getting a gifted run to the flag this year. The lack of self awareness is incredible.
But doesn’t tonight’s result highlight the fact you still need to be good enough to get there, so using that old and tiresome Tigers example doesn’t stack up anymore. And the Lions aren’t there yet either. Both Port and Lions have been gifted 1 and 2 on the ladder this year by no fault of their own due to Covid, but that’s still not enough to win a flag.

Yeah it’s sad when you lose. If you won tonight you would not say this. It’s pure outcome bias. King be king.

I get that's what it looks like, but if Port kicked 7 more points it would still be a shit game in my eyes.

As painful as it was I could rewatch the Port Hawthorn prelim from 6 years ago because it was actually football, what was memorable from tonight?

A great mark by Tom Lynch and a nice snap from Rozie apart from that just dropped marks, tackles, soccers and whacking the ball forward.

Its one for the vault never to be opened again

I get that's what it looks like, but if Port kicked 7 more points it would still be a sh*t game in my eyes.

As painful as it was I could rewatch the Port Hawthorn prelim from 6 years ago because it was actually football, what was memorable from tonight?

A great mark by Tom Lynch and a nice snap from Rozie apart from that just dropped marks, tackles, soccers and whacking the ball forward.

Its one for the vault never to be opened again
It rained most of the game

Honestly whoever wins tomorrow night should go in as favourites in the GF imo. Richmond just had a slog of a game in the wet interstate. I think Richmond would be similar (but not to the same extant) to GWS in the 2019 grand final.

I hope it's not the case, but Richmond will lose by 4-5 goals in the GF imo.
cats wont beat tigers. Cats old brigade would be more cooked. Lions with an extra week off could be a chance though. Richmond are the best team, but yes there are other factors at play.

But doesn’t tonight’s result highlight the fact you still need to be good enough to get there, so using that old and tiresome Tigers example doesn’t stack up anymore. And the Lions aren’t there yet either. Both Port and Lions have been gifted 1 and 2 on the ladder this year by no fault of their own due to Covid, but that’s still not enough to win a flag.

This is true. A soft draw, etc does only get you so far. But it is unquestionably a head start in the race. And some get the head start year after year.

cats wont beat tigers. Cats old brigade would be more cooked. Lions with an extra week off could be a chance though. Richmond are the best team, but yes there are other factors at play.
The best team doesn’t always win.
Once your in, your always a chance. I’m not counting back2back just yet. I’ll wait until 8 days tone before I’ll have the chance to go with that.

This is true. A soft draw, etc does only get you so far. But it is unquestionably a head start in the race. And some get the head start year after year.
You realise that we led the way while in our hub? We didn't have a soft draw....

"He obviously gets caught up in the emotions of the game probably a bit more frequently than others do. I guess others are able to control their instinct and reactions perhaps on their emotions a little bit better than what Tom does. I think there'd be plenty of people out there who would like to see his season come to an end. I'll leave it at that."
#snowflake

The only real WTF moment for me was Rioli and his 50 metre giveaway ..... WHAT was he thinking ....at a critical time in the Q4 :think:

Damn now I need to decide if I want to risk arrest and deportation by going to a bar over here and watching the GF - they arrested 8 expats here last Friday for just having a beer when 2 beers with a meal are now supposed to be okay during lockdown.

It's so damn hard to not cheer and yell at the big screen and attract the wrong attention - when you've been locked down since March FFS and not seen your mates !

For someone that probably Watches alot of our games just to deathride us, you have no ******* idea.
Yeah , Nah ... Port have always been my second team .

Hartlett has been bog average for awhile now , and his kicking is nowhere near what it used to be .

Rocky has been pretty good the back half of this season but tonight was a howler .

The best team doesn’t always win.
Once your in, your always a chance. I’m not counting back2back just yet. I’ll wait until 8 days tone before I’ll have the chance to go with that.

Reckon we played really well, standard finals pressure mistakes aside. It suited us to come south to Adelaide. Different game up north with players slipping over and dropping uncontested marks due to dew/humidity/whatever.

For that reason (Brisbane are acclimatised) I want Geelong to win tomorrow, and think they will win.

The pressure and conditions forced that tactic a little. Neither side had the time or space to play smooth attacking football, everyone was getting hit as soon as they got the ball.
Spot effing on, port hammered us for three quarters. People miss that fact plus it was pouring with rain.

Yeah , Nah ... Port have always been my second team .

Hartlett has been bog average for awhile now , and his kicking is nowhere near what it used to be .

Rocky has been pretty good the back half of this season but tonight was a howler .

He Would Win a b&f in your current team. I'll repeat, you have no idea. He played poorly tonight, but he has been aWesome at least the last couple of years. He is missing 10m on his kick because he has a very long history of loWer leg injuries.

I would just like to thank the AFL for gifting us 7 games at the MCG to make the 2020 GF. Clearly the venue makes the difference.

Um. You got gifted nearly a whole season and two finals and still farked it

You realise that we led the way while in our hub? We didn't have a soft draw....

We had more games than most teams at home, so that's a "soft draw" / having it easy.

Only in 2020 though, only when it's a non Victorian club. When Covid is over we'll forget about it though, and the teams that spend the most time at home in their state won't have a soft run any more.

At the end of the day we unquestionably had it easier than some other clubs this year. Not the easiest run - we still had 7 weeks in a hub, 4am wake up calls for same day flights, and only 7 out of 17 games in our home state - but easier than some others. As has been said, though, you have to take that opportunity, and we ultimately didn't.

The thing is though, and the entirety of my point, is that some teams get that advantage every other ****ing year, and pretend it's not an advantage. It is. It clearly ****ing is. It doesn't give you a premiership but it steers you down the right course. Don't suddenly think it's terrible it happens because it doesn't benefit the tigers for the first time since the AFL supposedly evolved from its bush league VFL roots (if it even has evolved - "we've got no money but let's bring MCG turf to the Gabba because it's the home of football blah blah blah wank wank wank" would argue it hasn't).

This year is supposedly an asterisk, but then so should most years be then.

He Would Win a b&f in your current team. I'll repeat, you have no idea. He played poorly tonight, but he has been aWesome at least the last couple of years. He is missing 10m on his kick because he has a very long history of loWer leg injuries.
You do know he played 5 games in 2018 and 11 last year in which he was dropped twice ... so i will stand by my observations and you can keep yours .

Congratulations to Port for a great season. They play footy that is good to watch and should contend for some time. Some of their younger players stood up which is encouraging. Hartlett found out the karma bus catches up with you if make stupid statements. But their supporters should be proud of their coach and players. As for the Tiges, they pay no attention to the media bias, particularly that drunken dangerous flog Robbo and just do us proud. That’s all that counts to those who support and understand how special this club is.

Autopsy AFL 2020 First Preliminary Final - Port v Tigers Fri October 16th 7:50pm AEDT / 7:20pm AEST (AO) Match Highlights in OP