Autopsy AFL 2024 Round 9 - Blues v Demons Thurs May 9th 7:30pm AEST (MCG)

Who will win and by how much?

• Blues by a goal or less

Votes: 8 9.4%
  • Demons by a goal or less

Votes: 6 7.1%
  • Blues by 7 - 20

Votes: 13 15.3%
  • Demons by 7 - 20

Votes: 42 49.4%
  • Blues by a lot

Votes: 2 2.4%
  • Demons by a lot

Votes: 11 12.9%
  • Draw

Votes: 3 3.5%

The Blues are lucky GWS forgot to turn up the other week or this would be their fifth loss on the trot. Dee's by 25.
Geelong and Collingwood are lucky the Blues forgot to turn up the other week or it could be their fourth win on the trot. Blues by 25

Imagine kicking 9.18 again against the Carlton hubrists and handing them an undeserved win again.
Can’t happen.
They are just not worth the hype.

What a great thought out 1st post but it was 9.17.

Thanks for sharing.

The result will be on our boot, not on Carltons. just like last years final. if we kick more than 50% conversion , we win. it's that simple. It's good to have Petty back for this game, no Grundy distraction as well as had time to find a suitable Brayshaw replacement.

Melbourne will beat Carlton here.
Carlton incredibly overrated.

The pressure Melbourne's smalls will apply to Carlton's mediocre back six will cause so many unforced errors resulting in shots on goal.
I also expect Petracca and Oliver to have better matches.

Melbourne by 13 points and Carlton fans to turn on their club again ;)

The pressure Melbourne's smalls will apply to Carlton's mediocre back six will cause so many unforced errors resulting in shots on goal.

Here he goes again :)

Do you troll every other team or just Carlton?

You’re as predictable as our F50 entries.

The result will be on our boot, not on Carltons. just like last years final. if we kick more than 50% conversion , we win. it's that simple. It's good to have Petty back for this game, no Grundy distraction as well as had time to find a suitable Brayshaw replacement.
We should really just cancel the game and get each of our players to have a set shot on goal from a random point in the forward 50. If 12 or more out of the 23 convert, we win.

Sounds novel mate, we would be favourites if that took place.

100%. In tennis terms, it's like Nadal smacking forehands and running his opponent from side to side, only to miss the elementary overhead smash into the open court. That's what happened in last years final.

I think he must be related to Fudge.

Lose this one and you are outside the eight again

Lot of pressure on the two talls to deliver this week. It's going to be like a knock out final given what's at stake the following week in Sydney (arguably the best team in the comp right now).

Sarcastic Harriet The Spy GIF

Martin, McGovern and Marchbank listed as tests for this game.

Having all 3 back would be amazing!

Martin as a forward tall/small 3rd target - also very hard at the contest.

McGovern intercepting & distributing.

Marchbank locking down one of Melbourne’s forward talls - freeing up Weitering to finally play off and use his kicking.

Bring it on!

Seems we are getting three back finally.
Three more to go - Saad, Motlop and Fogarty.
..and we may start resembling a footy team with connection between the lines.
Absolute brutal six weeks.

Jack and Doc next year.

Pity our lads couldn’t convert more of our 60+ inside50s to goals rather than points cos I reckon you’d be off hiding with your tail between your legs.

Marchbank locking down one of Melbourne’s forward talls - freeing up Weitering to finally play off and use his kicking.

Bring it on!
RE: Martin. Makes it that much harder zoning off our forwards to double and triple team Charlie and Harry when we have players like him inside 50. Players like Martin and even Cuningham are so much more important to our setup than Owies Durdin and Motlop. Although I’d happily give Motlop an opportunity to prove me wrong if he was available.

Carlton were 4-1-8 last year. And we’re a game from making the top 4 end of season. I’d happily back us in with troops returning at 5-5 in two weeks despite losing out next two.

Bring it on!
I'm still not sold on Martin or Marchbank after all these years. Dont think you can chuck all 3 in at once. Marchbank needs game time in the 2s before Senior consideration.

Autopsy AFL 2024 Round 9 - Blues v Demons Thurs May 9th 7:30pm AEST (MCG)