Autopsy AFL 2024 Round 12 - Port v Blues Thurs May 30th 7:30pm AEST (AO)

Who will win and by how much?

• Port by a goal or less

Votes: 5 6.8%
  • Blues by a goal or less

Votes: 3 4.1%
  • Port by 7 - 20

Votes: 27 37.0%
  • Blues by 7 - 20

Votes: 20 27.4%
  • Port by a lot

Votes: 8 11.0%
  • Blues by a lot

Votes: 6 8.2%
  • Draw

Votes: 4 5.5%

He was fine mate

Looked winded was getting a pat on the back from the docs on the bench

Handed out footy’s at the end

Just no need to come to conclusions so suddenly.

Enjoy the win!

Go Blues!
Didn't see that, but there's no need to call concern for a potentially injured player a 'melt'.
That achieves nothing but divisiveness.

Needed to be cleaner.
Both teams were pretty sloppy. I feel it had to do with the new HTB interpretation. Players looked like they were in more of a rush to dispose under pressure and it led to a lot of quick handballs bobbling back and forth between teams.
We always knew tonight's game was going to be the most tightly called on the new rule and will adjust and soften from here, but there was no consistency about it.
I liked some aspects of, like blowing the whistle quicker when it was obvious the ball wasn't coming out and there was no prior.
Then there were other calls and non calls that were far too hot and lacked consistency.

Both teams were pretty sloppy. I feel it had to do with the new HTB interpretation. Players looked like they were in more of a rush to dispose under pressure and it led to a lot of quick handballs bobbling back and forth between teams.
We always knew tonight's game was going to be the most tightly called on the new rule and will adjust and soften from here, but there was no consistency about it.
I liked some aspects of, like blowing the whistle quicker when it was obvious the ball wasn't coming out and there was no prior.
Then there were other calls and non calls that were far too hot and lacked consistency.
Needed to be cleaner.

Can be a tough environment after a loss. Hopefully the club make it up to her in some way.
Nah, Im not copping that.
My job involves working with children every day. Tbeir lives are in my hands literally.
I have off days too, thats life, but I still smile and treat them with respect and strive to make them enjoy their experience.
They lost a game of footy.

My Daughter cops a lot of crap at school for things she cant change, she told kids at her school that she was going out there tonight as she was proud to be a part of it, some of those kids were present tonight as either spectators or part of the pre game entertainment.
She is now scared to go to school tomorrow incase of additional ridicule.

Thanks Port.

I stand corrected, it turns out that Cripps is an even bigger umpire's pet than Max King and Curnow as well as Rowan Marshall.
Cripps - 25 frees from 12 games
King - 16 frees from 8 games
Harley Reid - 26 frees from 10 games
Gawn - 30 from 11
Rowell - 31 from 11

Personally, I'm of the opinion that they don't pay enough frees in general. Do we really think that a player like Cripps (or King) only gets infringed on 2 times per game?
Good old #FREEKICKCURNOW only has 13 frees from 12 games (36 goals).

Thought the new interpretation for HTB was alright tonight and you could see players trying to adjust.. However, the Newman one and this one simply cannot be considered HTB or the game is well and truly fekd.

Nah I was actually pretty happy about that one if called consistently (which it definitely wasn’t).

The ball and the arm is free and not being held to him, he can technically kick it. Growing up playing footy that was always considered the “perfect tackle” and stiff shit if you couldn’t get it on your boot.

Heaps let go tonight though so they’re still picking and choosing when to apply it

Cripps - 25 frees from 12 games
King - 16 frees from 8 games
Harley Reid - 26 frees from 10 games
Gawn - 30 from 11
Rowell - 31 from 11

Personally, I'm of the opinion that they don't pay enough frees in general. Do we really think that a player like Cripps (or King) only gets infringed on 2 times per game?
Good old #FREEKICKCURNOW only has 13 frees from 12 games (36 goals).

It’s classic Australian Tall Poppy Syndrome

Nah I was actually pretty happy about that one if called consistently (which it definitely wasn’t).

The ball and the arm is free and not being held to him, he can technically kick it. Growing up playing footy that was always considered the “perfect tackle” and stiff shit if you couldn’t get it on your boot.

Heaps let go tonight though so they’re still picking and choosing when to apply it
I would be if both his legs weren't completely wrapped up. If he goes for a kick there it's a knee injury waiting to happen.

Yeah fair point about the legs but I’ve always been of the opinion that if an arm is free then the ball is live so either you find a way to get that ball on your hand or foot or you’re done. Unlucky but that’s the rule. Will probably force players to either try and move it quicker or not carry it so loosely.

Mmm, guess we just need to see how it evolves over the next few weeks.

I kind of get that line of thinking, but one arm and no legs free. Your only option is a drop or a throw. With no prior, that's not really any different to the ball being trapped and there's zero chance of a genuine attempt.

Putting Finlayson into the ruck in the last quarter and allowing De Koning to feed Carlton 3 straight goals. Add it to the list of big brain moves by Hinkley.

Selecting Dixon when it is embarrassingly evident he is cooked and shouldve been retired after the showdown. Playing an injured Rozee on a 6 day hamstring. The list goes on for Hinkley, if it wasn’t evident enough to anyone previously than this year there is no denying. He doesn’t have a clue and he reeks of desperation. As he has for the past 7-8 years.

HTB change was hit and miss.

Umpires looked so focussed on paying HTB they forgot about all the other rules.

Walsh tackled immediately over the shoulder, clearly high, but umps so desperate to pay HTB they completely ignore the high contact.

One new interpretation I disagree with is that having one arm free does not mean you had prior opportunity to properly dispose of the football. Are you meant to drop it and hope it makes contact with your foot? Do not like this.

Also where has dropping the ball or improper disposal gone? At least a dozen times Port Adelaide players just let the ball go when tackled - zero free kicks paid.

If this is a sign of what’s to come players just need to let go of the footy when tackled and they will be fine. Don’t even bother making a proper effort.. as long as the ball isn’t in your possession there will be no whistle.

Autopsy AFL 2024 Round 12 - Port v Blues Thurs May 30th 7:30pm AEST (AO)