Autopsy Afl 2025 Round 2 - Blues v Hawks Thurs March 20th 7:30pm AEDT (MCG)

Who will win and by how much?

• Blues by a goal or less

Votes: 6 4.8%
  • Hawks by a goal or less

Votes: 4 3.2%
  • Blues by 7 - 20

Votes: 8 6.5%
  • Hawks by 7 - 20

Votes: 45 36.3%
  • Blues by a lot

Votes: 6 4.8%
  • Hawks by a lot

Votes: 53 42.7%
  • Draw

Votes: 2 1.6%

Essendon won most of the key statistics v hawks. Blues did the same v Richmond. Errors were very costly due to the tiger pressure which was high but not elite. Hawthorn have a much higher pressure rating. Way more weapons. Will they flood the backline like Richmond. I doubt it as they won’t think they’ll need to be accountable v the blues. This will allow the blues to run and carry alot more and with the weather coming it could support their slow midfield and inside game.

Curnow returns makes Carlton better with the shit inside 50s and it gives McKay time on ball as second ruck allowing no more of the Cripps ruck delusion.

Although it’ll seem like not much but Fantasia was having an improved preseason and looked to have gained back his pace. His decision making has always been great. But with more fitness comes greater number of touches in the chain. I’d argue I’d prefer the ball in his hands entering 50 compared to any other blue.

I doubt the 6 goals from VERY BAD mistakes from the blues backline will occur again which should help us immensely. More than half of Richmond goals came from senior players making VERY POOR decisions. Doc gift to lalor, Haynes/mcgovern dropping easy uncontested marks or missing easy 30m passes (x4) resulting in goals.

they won’t think they’ll need to be accountable v the blues.
Not sure why you’d think this.

As much as the media tries to make out that this Hawthorn side is all “Hollywood” and just a bunch of freewheeling ratbags that want their celes to go viral on tiktok, they’re actually very disciplined when it comes to defending. With the addition of Barrass and Battle it hasn’t looked so solid since our threepeat days.

And Sam Mitchell in the eyes of many might still have a reputation for being an arrogant campaigner from his playing days, but as a coach his messaging to the players is always about respecting that any opposition can beat you if you’re a little bit off.

I’m sure there will come a point where Hawk hubris (patent pending) will hit, and standards will slip, but I can’t see it coming this early in the season. Not after we just won a game that we lost most of the key stats in.

Essendon won most of the key statistics v hawks. Blues did the same v Richmond. Errors were very costly due to the tiger pressure which was high but not elite. Hawthorn have a much higher pressure rating. Way more weapons. Will they flood the backline like Richmond. I doubt it as they won’t think they’ll need to be accountable v the blues. This will allow the blues to run and carry alot more and with the weather coming it could support their slow midfield and inside game.

Curnow returns makes Carlton better with the shit inside 50s and it gives McKay time on ball as second ruck allowing no more of the Cripps ruck delusion.

Although it’ll seem like not much but Fantasia was having an improved preseason and looked to have gained back his pace. His decision making has always been great. But with more fitness comes greater number of touches in the chain. I’d argue I’d prefer the ball in his hands entering 50 compared to any other blue.

I doubt the 6 goals from VERY BAD mistakes from the blues backline will occur again which should help us immensely. More than half of Richmond goals came from senior players making VERY POOR decisions. Doc gift to lalor, Haynes/mcgovern dropping easy uncontested marks or missing easy 30m passes (x4) resulting in goals.
The future looks bright!

Funny things happened last week.
Can even funnier things happen this week?

I wouldn't put it past the Masters of the Universe with their perverse humour.

Getting the same vibes as last years finals series. One horrible performance and everybody is writing off the team we're about to play the following week.

Carlton will be much different this week. It should he a red hot battle.

The one thing making me confident of a victory is that our strength (fast, rebounding ball movement) is something the Blues have struggled to defend as of late.

Very interesting match up with the Hawks forwards vs Blues defenders as well. How will Silvagni, McGovern, Haynes and Saad in particular handle the ball on the deck against Watson, MacDonald, Moore and Ginnivan?

Flying over from Adelaide for this one!

Mate in the AFL reserve has bought some tickets for a mate and I, so I have two general admission tickets available that we'd previously purchased.

$27 each for anyone interested. Just message me :)

I actually like the Blues even tho Im a Pies man.

Like some of their players and get on well with some on their supporters i know a few from work. They are ok.

I like Blues fans they are fun to be around.

Just dont like the way their club is operated tho like the president and all. They always seam so corrupt and up to no good like a big union organisation.

But other then that nice fans and like players like Curnow and Walshy.

Hawthorn on the other hand just cant get myself to like them at all.

Arrogant and up themselves and players in everyones faces.

Did like them in the 1980s tho.

Never liked them since 1991.

Snipppers and a pack of show ponies thats all.

But people just rave about them for no real reason.

By the way they did not win the flag at all last year.

But i can warm to Carlton alot more then hawthorn.

I reckon you’ll rally a bit, and you’ve got Charlie coming back. I think we’ll beat you but by nowhere near that much.

Im glad you have more confidence in my footy team than I have but let me assure you - our team is made up of a production line of brain farts.

Im sure it will be amusing to the football world yet again, the amount of goals we give up by turning the ball over through panicky actions, slipping over, poor ball handling, useless small forward play.

I will be shocked if we get up or even get within two goals - but fact of the matter is you are only as good as your last game.

Hawks by 60.

An interesting game. Could be a blow out or really tight. Blues can rally but with Hawthorns strengths playing into the Blues weaknesses it’s not really a good sign early doors. But I wouldn’t expect it to be a massive surprise if Carlton pull it back to a tight contest.

What is it since July?
2 wins from 11 those being v West Coast and North if memory serves correct

The reality perhaps is that the loss to Tigers was just a continuation of the second half of last season

In my opinion, we are a bottom 6 club, at best. Top 4 or 5 players are very good, the rest wouldn't make it onto most other lists. Wooden spoon bound either this year or next. I am lucky to have seen the powerhouse Carlton teams of the 80's and 90's. That will not be happening again for some time. I really feel for the current crop of younger Blues supporters.

Every club is still warming into the season. There’s no real form lines until about Round 5.

I expect Carlton to be a lot better this week, but hopefully Hawks can still get it done.

Autopsy Afl 2025 Round 2 - Blues v Hawks Thurs March 20th 7:30pm AEDT (MCG)

Write your reply...