AFL Awards Season 2022

I dont rank goals and goal assists quite the same. Opponents are trying all out to stop shots on goal. They are sometimes willing to concede goal assists as they still have another opportunity to stop the goal. in my view a goal assist on average is probably worth 0.7 times a goal.

but if we do rate them equally then hawkins gets in the side. But so does tom lynch. The player who misses out is curnow.

combined goals and goal assists per game:

tom lynch 3.7
tom hawkins 3.9
jeremy cameron 3.6
Charlie curnow 3.5

so maybe you are right. Hawkins should make the side, but so should lynch. 3.3 goals a game is monster season and far better then any other foward this year.

Curnow kicked the most goals of the season.
No one is putting Lynch in the AA team over Curnow.

And as has been previously stated, Hawkins is "3rd for goals whilst being way ahead on goal assists compared to other forwards (2nd overall) and the number 1 score involvement player." Thus no one is putting Lynch in the AA team over Hawkins.

There are three better tall forwards in the competition than Lynch and all three made the team. It happens. If Lynch is upset about this (I doubt he cares honestly) then he can kick more goals next year or work harder to beat Tomahwak as the number one score involvement player in the competition.

I suggest taking this obsession with Lynch over to the Tigers board. Not to sound harsh but no one cares about him missing out on the AA team here.

I could say that about all the geelong supporters on here who keep talking down tom stewarts season and arguing he shouldnt be in the side even though statistically his season is superior to other back flankers who did get in.
Nah, I see you on the main board pumping up other teams. Are you afraid we'll lose, so you're underselling your hopes?

I opened the main board thread and colour me shocked haha

The Simpsons Reaction GIF

He played in the top team which got heaps of ball in the foward line and averaged under 2.7 goals a game. Tom lynch averaged over 3.3 goals a game. Thats a massive gap in favour of Lynch. Too big a gap. Lynch should be in instead of hawkins. Lynch played 3 less games then hawkins so those total stats are meaningless. Looks at averages per game.
#seedslogic

Get it trending.

I reckon it’s a really great team. Lots of awesome players in the league and you can’t fit them all in.
Tom’s captaincy was a wonderful reward for a real leader of our team, who very well may have been captain if he didn’t play with the greatest captain of all time. He was really taken aback and it was a beautiful moment to catch on TV.
People can have their opinions but we focus too much on who’s out rather than celebrating who’s in.
I blame this on the media, who straight away start talking about who was unlucky to miss out. Also, as Collingwood have proved this year, it’s not all about stats!
Great team this year, and how awesome to have 5 deserving cats players! Just wish we could see the team play!

He played in the top team which got heaps of ball in the foward line and averaged under 2.7 goals a game. Tom lynch averaged over 3.3 goals a game. Thats a massive gap in favour of Lynch. Too big a gap. Lynch should be in instead of hawkins. Lynch played 3 less games then hawkins so those total stats are meaningless. Looks at averages per game.

Hawkins: 59 goals & 26 goal assists for a combined 85 goals contributed
Lynch: 60 goals & 6 goal assists for a total of 66 goals

Hawkins comfortably a better season than Lynch

I reckon it’s a really great team. Lots of awesome players in the league and you can’t fit them all in.
Tom’s captaincy was a wonderful reward for a real leader of our team, who very well may have been captain if he didn’t play with the greatest captain of all time. He was really taken aback and it was a beautiful moment to catch on TV.
People can have their opinions but we focus too much on who’s out rather than celebrating who’s in.
I blame this on the media, who straight away start talking about who was unlucky to miss out. Also, as Collingwood have proved this year, it’s not all about stats!
Great team this year, and how awesome to have 5 deserving cats players! Just wish we could see the team play!
Great post.
Agree, was great to see big Tom rewarded career-wise.
Was also great to see how pleased Tyson was. Couldn't wipe the grin off his face.

In the days when we still had state-of-origin, I think we (footy fans) had a much greater appreciation and begrudging respect of opposition players when they played for the big V once or twice a year. I remember cheering for Silvagni, Plugger, Robert Harvey, and Kellaway as (for one day) they were team-mates of Gazza, Barry Stoneham and Couchy.

That's gone now though, so we have much more negativity about individual awards. Hence the instant outrage whenever player x from club y is lauded.

I dont rank goals and goal assists quite the same. Opponents are trying all out to stop shots on goal. They are sometimes willing to concede goal assists as they still have another opportunity to stop the goal. in my view a goal assist on average is probably worth 0.7 times a goal.

but if we do rate them equally then hawkins gets in the side. But so does tom lynch. The player who misses out is curnow.

combined goals and goal assists per game:

tom lynch 3.7
tom hawkins 3.9
jeremy cameron 3.6
Charlie curnow 3.5

so maybe you are right. Hawkins should make the side, but so should lynch. 3.3 goals a game is monster season and far better then any other foward this year.

We all know that numbers can lie but using these numbers to exclude the Coleman Medal Winner for the AA Team seems a bit of lunacy to me :eek:
What's next Lachie Neale to be replaced by Darren Berry because Berry had more smothers ?

Great post.
Agree, was great to see big Tom rewarded career-wise.
Was also great to see how pleased Tyson was. Couldn't wipe the grin off his face.

In the days when we still had state-of-origin, I think we (footy fans) had a much greater appreciation and begrudging respect of opposition players when they played for the big V once or twice a year. I remember cheering for Silvagni, Plugger, Robert Harvey, and Kellaway as (for one day) they were team-mates of Gazza, Barry Stoneham and Couchy.

That's gone now though, so we have much more negativity about individual awards. Hence the instant outrage whenever player x from club y is lauded.
I agree, used to love watching the state of origin and seeing the Gary Snr line up Next to Lockett and get the ball delivered by Harvey, definitely made you like the opposition more. I don't think it has a place in the modern game anymore unfortunately. It might be good to have an all star game or something.
I don't see the problem with a ceremonial side though, all awards have no practical value and I think it's great recognition for players.
It is funny that people and commentators complain about how it means nothing but all through the year they're 'player x is a 4 time all Australian...'

Love all the salt from Tiger fans about Hawkins getting in the AA side ahead of Lynch on the back of Lynch having kicked more goals for the season.

If he wasn't spoon-fed by the umpires against Essendon last weekend he wouldn't have got close.

There is an element of Petracca and Oliver (I would throw Brayshaw in there too) carrying Melbourne this season in a similar manner to Danger/Sel in 2016. Undoubtedly they were outstanding last season too, but the rest of their stars and then their B graders were firing more. Brayshaw, Fritsch and May have hit high levels but most others have dropped off a bit. The problem is, they could easily turn that on for September and make patchy H&A form irrelevant. Felt like a lot of Tigers players did that in their flag years. Stepped it up big time in September.

Love all the salt from Tiger fans about Hawkins getting in the AA side ahead of Lynch on the back of Lynch having kicked more goals for the season.

If he wasn't spoon-fed by the umpires against Essendon last weekend he wouldn't have got close.
Lynch averages 0.6 goals a game more then hawkins. last weeks game wasnt making up any difference.

ive changed my mind. Both hawkins and lynch should of made it. Charlie curnow should of missed out.

Lynch averages 0.6 goals a game more then hawkins. last weeks game wasnt making up any difference.

ive changed my mind. Both hawkins and lynch should of made it. Charlie curnow should of missed out.
This is how I'd have it.

Lynch and Hawkins alternate between deepest forward and CHF. Cameron as a mobile tall on the flank. They're the three most dangerous/dominant forwards and this is from someone who rated Curnow's year highly.

AFL Awards Season 2022