Recruiting AFL Draft Watch 2022 - Tsatas, Hayes, Davey x2, Munkara & Montgomerie

Who should we take with Pick 4? (Pick 2)

• Tsatas

Votes: 60 27.9%
  • Humphrey

Votes: 33 15.3%
  • Phillipou

Votes: 109 50.7%
  • Clark

Votes: 10 4.7%
  • Other

Votes: 17 7.9%

Quick links: Player Contract Status | Trade & Free Agency 2022 | JHA Father/Son and NGA | Adrian Dodoro

0093895D-8D9D-4EFD-93DB-32FA70C2A596.jpeg

Really? 18 months and zilch vs 6 months and maybe something more?

I reckon that's not seeing the system for what it is. Get onto the list.

Don't run the risk of being the latest second tier gun no one drafts.
The fact that a lot moved interstate and got promised a lot but given squat and delisted had an effect.
Jai Newcombe asked for 18 months and a decent salary although that was to eliminate other clubs out of the picture so the Hawks could pick him.
Those playing under 18 footy and doing well would be best served to ask for 18 months. Culley for example would get picked up in the ND at the end of the year.

Newcombe has been a revelation, and I know he is a SSP but Martin has been a steal.

The trend seems to be though that the players that 'make it' have had 2+ years of development at state level and not many 19yos make it.

I was really keen on Culley, but if he is gone I don't really mind who we pick. We seems to find decent role players ok with free hit rookie selections.
Was more talking about taking 3 picks and I stand by what I said. The facts do not lie. I am excited about having pick 3 and I think we could find someone decent but lets no be thinking if we had 3 picks we will solve 3 issues which is how the discussion been in some quarters. More than 60% of MSD picks have not played a game. Only 4 out of last years top 10 have played. Seven out of 24 picked last year have played. 8 out of the first 10 picked in 2019 are no longer on AFL lists. 4 played some AFL games with Snelling and Gardner being the top 10 stand outs and Pickett and Noble being the other stand outs taken with the 11th and 12th live picks.
Yes you can find a decent player. Not arguing against it but lets be real here. You are finding good B grade players and they are at a rate around 40% of those picked.

For a mechanism that was brought in for sides to top up holes there’s too much value out there with 19 year olds that have missed footy or entered the system late like a Culley or Edwards or still young developing state leaguer like Durham, Newcombe or Peatling for you to look at recycling ready made players unless you are fair dinkum on a prelim and beyond.

I would hope it will be one of Culley, Derksen, Carmichael, D’Ambrosio or Bauer.

For a mechanism that was brought in for sides to top up holes there’s too much value out there with 19 year olds that have missed footy or entered the system late like a Culley or Edwards or still young developing state leaguer like Durham, Newcombe or Peatling for you to look at recycling ready made players unless you are fair dinkum on a prelim and beyond.

I would hope it will be one of Culley, Derksen, Carmichael, D’Ambrosio or Bauer.
Good thing it was actually a mechanism bought in to generate extra clicks and more fan engagement.

The number and quality of available players are a byproduct of the pandemic I think, Snelling was 22 and is exactly the sort of second chance player you should be looking at. If they're coming straight in and playing for you as soon as they're drafted though then I don't really care if they're 19.

Newcombe on the big contract so he'd slide through to Hawthorn is bullshit though. I'm glad they changed that.

I know but some are seeing it as some sort of silver bullet . We should get another solid best 22 but lets be real here. Solid best 22 is good but it is not top end . Will be great to get another good B grade role player but the way some of the talk has been about taking 2 or 3 picks is a bit over the top.

This is a big reason why I am forming for Carmichael.

Culley was already in the system last year and was overlooked. He hasn’t all of a sudden transitioned into this superstar that HAS to be picked. Carmichael was playing club footy 18 months ago and did really well at state league level. Sound familiar.

Carmichael is on a better trajectory than Culley imho

I think if culley and Carmichael go one and two then Kim kantilla will be selected.
not sure we won’t pick him anyway unless culley on the board.
I've watched a few highlights and dont mind what I see. But i also loved fejo jnrs highlights and im not sure whats happened to him. I think our team definitely needs some spark inside 50. And we need it ready to go.

I think if culley and Carmichael go one and two then Kim kantilla will be selected.
not sure we won’t pick him anyway unless culley on the board.
Interesting one, haven't heard that name before.

One little bit I found:

Also on the South Adelaide FC team list alongside a few ex AFL players and also Kobe Mutch's brother (who could be his twin, they look so similar).

Mutaz Al Nour another name to keep in mind.

Pick range: 3-4
Needs: A big-bodied midfielder is the obvious target for the Bombers who have several holes to fill. If they create two spots they might look for some rebound out of defence or a pressure forward.

Potential targets: Jai Culley is a strong candidate if still available with the big-bodied Dandenong Stingrays’ over-ager the most impressive NAB League candidate. Josh Carmichael is a midfield bull with a country drawl while the Bombers are among a number of clubs looking at Wade Derksen. South Adelaide forward Kim Kantilla is on their radar too. They have shown interest in Bullants’ defender Mutaz El Nour while recycling a ready-made player, despite experience being thin on the ground makes sense.

Statistically it looks like he stacks up. Numbers look reasonably impressive imo.

* Josh Carmichael

Sounds pretty good. If we picked him it would also sate the obsession with having a 6’2 midfielder (which I’ve never understood).

If we take a tall in the mid season draft, does that mean the papers are stamped for one of our existing ones (Eyre, Brand, McBride)? How many prospective talls is best practice to have developing in the magoos?

I think the less than 40% success rate talk is premature. There has been two mid season drafts so far. Will these trends hold over the long run? It could, but I doubt it.

The second draft was one where everyone thought that they could grab a quick bargain with a NAB league 19 year old after COVID ruined 2020. Hardly normal circumstances. The first draft of any new system is going to unique too.

If we take a tall in the mid season draft, does that mean the papers are stamped for one of our existing ones (Eyre, Brand, McBride)? How many prospective talls is best practice to have developing in the magoos?
The balance is already off. I would've thought the ideal way to develop talent would be to have a best 22 in the AFL with clear roles for the 22 and then have a somewhat like for like 22 in the VFL playing the same roles so they can step straight in when injury hits. Will take us a while to rebuild the list to get to that stage. At the moment we obviously have plenty of talls with a ?, plenty of medium defenders/half back flankers, and the cupboard is pretty much bare as far as small forwards and big midfielders.

Yeah, It’s kind of bear of any prospective midfielders in general isn’t it? zerk, brand, eyre, mcbride, Baldwin. 5 speculative KPPs taken late in draft. Be interesting to see if this strategy works.

In general the midfield balanace is obviously out as well but they are all considered best 22 so they all play AFL. Shiel, Parish, Merrett, Caldwell and Hobbs. Thats leaving McGrath out if he is willing to play half back. VFL has nothing in the way of developing mids that i can see. Maybe Voss and Hird?

AFL

B
Hind - Reid - Ridley

HB Redman - Laverde - McGrath

C Langford - Parish - Durham

HF Martin - Jones - Perkins

F Stringer - Wright - Snelling

R Draper - Caldwell - Merrett

INT Bryan - Kelly - Hobbs - Shiel

SUB Guelfi

VFL

B Eyre - Zerk-Thatcher - Lord

HB McDonagh - Brand - Francis

C Ham - Voss - Cutler

HF Cox- Stewart - Baldwin

F Wanganeen - McBride - Waterman

R Phillips Heppell Smith

INT Hird Hurley

What’s everyone’s thoughts on Florenca? Showed in his AFL game he’s good enough. If we were looking for a Snelling ready to go type, he is the one.

I’d love us to take Charmicheal but knowing our list manager he will take Kantilla. Which I actually have no dramas with given our small forward stocks. I also would love Derkson as our list needs as much talent as it can get.

What’s everyone’s thoughts on Florenca? Showed in his AFL game he’s good enough. If we were looking for a Snelling ready to go type, he is the one.

I’d love us to take Charmicheal but knowing our list manager he will take Kantilla. Which I actually have no dramas with given our small forward stocks. I also would love Derkson as our list needs as much talent as it can get.
If Florenca is a strong athlete like Snelling, and can run/harass/provide pressure all game then I’m all for him. Needs to be a great aerobic athlete for me.

I feel that if we draft Florenca we will refuse to play him at many stoppages and we would not see his full impact.