AFL finally getting serious over alternate strips

Saintsfan said:
The comfy gravy train is the very thing you magpuss might be spilling.
If that’s the case fine. I am happy to up end ut all and we can all eat what we kill if it comes to that but it won’t.
Saintsfan said:
Eddie in all it's wisdom thinks the afl can't tell him where to play?? how about twice in Perth and Adelaide, once in Sydney, Once in Brisabane, perhaps a game in Darwin and Tassie???

How about a review of the so called block buster status?
That wasn’t what he was referring to but if the AFL wants to cut off its nose to spite its face then fine. It wouldn’t be the first time but as I said there is a $150m p.a. broadcast deal and it is only that because the AFL has sold the draw and the schedule.

I'm not a big fan of Essendon having to wear an 'alternate' jumper, but if it means wear the inverse of our normal jumper than some other 'innovation', I'll be happy.

At least they haven't gone with the Richmond/Bendigo Bombers club logo on a silver jumper. In fact, if Essendon is fair dinkum about this issue, they would wear the jumper only when forced, but not display it, sell it or market it in any other way.

Peter Jackson made some sensible points on SEN this morning about the issue. Unfortunatly club lawyers have determined that the AFL licence regulations would override the club constitution, so if the AFL demand we wear a alternate jumper, we haven't really got a choice. HAving said that, the AFL haven't got any penalties in regards to this issue yet, so you could take a punt......

MarkT said:
I’ll take the bet. What can the AFL do? Fine Collingwood? What $2m? Suspend Collingwood? Kick them out of the comp? There’s a broadcast deal that hinges on 8 games per week and more than that the AFL know full well that the broadcasters want Collingwood on their networks. Apart from that imagine the issues if Collingwood matches were to be suspended/cancelled. Is North going to forgoe the home match against Collingwood? What do you think Melbourne will say about losing the Queens Birthday clash? If the AFL wants to play hard ball I hope Collingwood play it all the way with them and further.

WHATEVER IT TAKES.

Let’s not get too carried away though. There are a lot of vested interests at AFL land and a lot of people who don’t want things to get nasty. The gravy train is pretty comfy.

Collingwood have both legal and contractual (sponsorship) obligations to field a team. If they tried being all self-important they would breach these obligations and expose themselves to substantial financial penalties (i.e. fines from the AFL and breach of contract to various vested interests). In addition, club directors who forced such chaos on their club may in fact have breached their Corporations Law obligations - personal liability and bans from certain roles like CEO and the like could follow.

Bring the fight on. Hey worst case scenario, we have the Southport Sharks ready to go and they have more than double the Pies net worth in cash reserves alone :)

Lets state the bleeding obvious here, Collingwood will comply because they are not as important as they think they are!

:)

TuskenRaider said:
As for Collingwood's clash jumper, Ed spins it nicely. They changed their jumper when it suited them from white background with black stripes to vice verca a few seasons ago.

I can agree with him a little though and say that they can keep their stripes, just need to wear the old white backed jumper more often when playing sides like Essendon & Richmond for example.
Like many you have missed the point. That, in effect, was the clash strip that the article referred to as being knocked back.

So is a red jumper with black stripe the way to go?

I used to be against but i am getting over it, in the end it is still the Essendon FC running around, with Essendon FC players playing for the colours, just designed differnetly, for what, once maybe twice a year at the most.

MarkT said:
Like many you have missed the point. That, in effect, was the clash strip that the article referred to as being knocked back.

Sorry didn't read the article, but why would it be knocked back? The reverse strip with white shorts would have the strip predominately white. The only club that would potentially clash with is the Kangaroos because of the stripes (certainly not the colour) who i am sure the Pies could come to an "arrangement" with the times the Roos play the Pies in a "home" game.

Fair dinkum, Collingwood should be able to keep their black and white stripes, just reverse it as a clash strip with white shorts.

How anyone can mix them up is anyones guess.

catters05 said:
Why not Collingwood Black Stripes on white jumper as alternative. Just make it more white.

No doubt Collingwood would be happy with that but the AFL are not.

Joffaboy said:
Sorry didn't read the article, but why would it be knocked back? The reverse strip with white shorts would have the strip predominately white. The only club that would potentially clash with is the Kangaroos because of the stripes (certainly not the colour) who i am sure the Pies could come to an "arrangement" with the times the Roos play the Pies in a "home" game.

Fair dinkum, Collingwood should be able to keep their black and white stripes, just reverse it as a clash strip with white shorts.

How anyone can mix them up is anyones guess.
Maybe it wasn’t and Caro is wrong/lying or maybe it was for marketing purposes I have no idea. At Collingwood’s AGM Eddie was adamant AD had approved the reverse strip with alternate shorts and socks. There were 4 uniforms displayed by players with the combinations.

MarkT said:

Is that because you never have and never will change your jumper??

Bloody collingwood sellout everything from their club to their legends and fat ed blows air to try and prove it isn't so

MarkT said:
Maybe it wasn’t and Caro is wrong/lying or maybe it was for marketing purposes I have no idea. At Collingwood’s AGM Eddie was adamant AD had approved the reverse strip with alternate shorts and socks. There were 4 uniforms displayed by players with the combinations.

No doubt Eddie will be able to produce the written advice from the AFL approving this design....

... oh wait, maybe Eddie was talking out of school again and in fact had no such written advice???

His failure to produce such a document would confirm my view and perhaps give weight to a view that he doesnt always act with the requisite diligence (or proper restraint) required of a CEO or President.

I note that you have not addressed my earlier post pointing out the issues Collingwoods standing on their own would have for the club and its directors... I guess it was hard to argue with :D

SurreyBlue said:
Almost makes you barrack for the pies.:eek:
Good on you Eddie. IMO the other three Victorian heavy weights should be ashamed of themselves for not supporting Eddie & Collingwood on this.

Fortunately the boards of those teams have a broader view of things than Eddie and (apparently) some of their supporters. They realise that an alternate strip does nothing to change the history, traditions or achievements of those clubs. In fact the change strip does nothing more than make a game easier to watch.

This is a simple argument, apparently waaay beyond Eddies capacity - he will lose this fight.

Eagle87 said:
Fortunately the boards of those teams have a broader view of things than Eddie and (apparently) some of their supporters. They realise that an alternate strip does nothing to change the history, traditions or achievements of those clubs. In fact the change strip does nothing more than make a game easier to watch.

This is a simple argument, apparently waaay beyond Eddies capacity - he will lose this fight.

Already lost it, just makes him and his club look all the more stupid

Eagle87 said:
No doubt Eddie will be able to produce the written advice from the AFL approving this design....

... oh wait, maybe Eddie was talking out of school again and in fact had no such written advice???

His failure to produce such a document would confirm my view and perhaps give weight to a view that he doesnt always act with the requisite diligence (or proper restraint) required of a CEO or President.
That is speculation without evidence. You are saying de deliberately lied to the members? Why? Wouldn’t he just have ignored the issue?

At the AGM Ed clearly stated the alternate strip had been approved personally by AD and got 4 players to model the 4 variations. If he was lying AD certainly didn’t say anything to indicate as much. I doubt it was ever in writing. That’s just not how the world works believe it or not.
Eagle87 said:
I note that you have not addressed my earlier post pointing out the issues Collingwoods standing on their own would have for the club and its directors... I guess it was hard to argue with :D
It is irrelevant.
Collingwood have obligations but if the AFL prevent them from playing who has an action for what? The reality the won’t stop Collingwood playing but if they did they could hardly take action for breach of playing obligations. As for Collingwood’s sponsors etc, Ed will cover that and they’ll happy with all the cameras at Sony, Lexus, Emirtates HQ for the duration.

Big Andy D can blow his alternate jumper out his bulbous backside.

Simply a very loud NO THANKS for the Bombers.

A trumped up so-called 'issue' created by visually impaired idiots.

:mad:

Marns said:
"Here's a newsflash for the AFL," said McGuire. "Collingwood wears black and white stripes. There are two things the AFL cannot tell Collingwood. One is where to play and the other is what to wear."

Sheer arogance. Does eddy forget who sorts out the fixture? Maybe this is why collingwood get such an easy run with amount of games played interstate. Eddy's pulling the strings and the AFL are his little bitch.

he was talking in the context of recent talk of relocations, numnuts. we are a melbourne club who wear black and white. simple really. even enough for you to understand. perhaps.

SurreyBlue said:
Almost makes you barrack for the pies.:eek:
Good on you Eddie. IMO the other three Victorian heavy weights should be ashamed of themselves for not supporting Eddie & Collingwood on this.

Exactly mate. This is the one time when we should put our hate for each other to one side and stand together. I hate Carlton more than anything but I respect their tradition and wouldnt want to see them in any other strip. Its a great jumper to hate.;)

Anyway Collingwood will play in black and white stripes. Thats for certain because the AFL will never take us on on this one. Carlton should hang tough too. I believe they havent made a decision yet anyway and Collo is very strong on not changing. Good on him.

VANDA said:
Simply a very loud NO THANKS for the Bombers.
:mad:

Essendon president Neil McKissock said yesterday that the Bombers' new guernsey — which would be worn between one and three times during the premiership season — would be predominantly red.

"We threw around a few designs at our last board meeting and we won't be moving away from red and black," said McKissock. "They have written a rule which has mandated that we wear an away jumper when we play Richmond, Melbourne and St Kilda in away games. It is under the terms of the new AFL licensing agreement and we have to comply because it overrides our constitution."

That's a very ambiguous way of saying NO THANKS you've got there...

yeah-nah said:
Exactly mate. This is the one time when we should put our hate for each other to one side and stand together. I hate Carlton more than anything but I respect their tradition and wouldnt want to see them in any other strip. Its a great jumper to hate.;)

Anyway Collingwood will play in black and white stripes. Thats for certain because the AFL will never take us on on this one. Carlton should hang tough too. I believe they havent made a decision yet anyway and Collo is very strong on not changing. Good on him.

Carlton changed for a couple of hundred k from m and m's. They will do it for whatever they get to maintain optus without much argument.

Port01 said:
Carlton changed for a couple of hundred k from m and m's. They will do it for whatever they get to maintain optus without much argument.

One has nothing to do with the other. Anyone who knows anything about footy knows the AFL are not going to let carlton go broke regardless of anything else. Carlton wont have to bend over to get help.

AFL finally getting serious over alternate strips