AFL Round 1 Brisbane Lions V West Coast Official Thread

Game followed last night's match to an extent - good side playing below their best running over an ordinary one.

I reckon Voss would be happy with the 4 points but looking for improvement next week and Worsfold would be happy with the early endeavor and filthy with losing in the same fashion as Rd 1 last year.

Not very happy with our turnovers and defensive pressure through middle, but I reckon you guys definitely deserved to win. Looking forward to seeing the Brown/Fevola open forward 50 in action another 21 (or more) times this year - 8.8, my god!

Well done and good luck.

Game followed last night's match to an extent - good side playing below their best running over an ordinary one.

I reckon Voss would be happy with the 4 points but looking for improvement next week and Worsfold would be happy with the early endeavor and filthy with losing in the same fashion as Rd 1 last year.

Not very happy with our turnovers and defensive pressure through middle, but I reckon you guys definitely deserved to win. Looking forward to seeing the Brown/Fevola open forward 50 in action another 21 (or more) times this year - 8.8, my god!

Well done and good luck.

Cheers mate. West Coast are brewing something good at the moment. All the best for the rest of the year.

The Eagles' certainly gave it a crack in the first 2 and a half quarters but they simply ran out of legs after putting us under so much pressure for so long. By rights they should have been at least a few extra goals in front at half time but relatively happy with the win. Not over ther moon, but happy.

The recruits did well. I was surprised to see Staker play so much time up front but was certainly a presence up front - he just didn't have the radar for goals. Ditto for Fev but he still had a fairly good game with 18 possies. Raines did the job after getting pasted by Ebert (if he did in fact get lined up on him). Goose and Amon didn't get much of an opportunity to shine tonight. Banfield did very well under pressure but seemed to fumble the ball a lot - probably because of the dew, but I seemed to notices his fumbles more than anyone else.

Riska, Brennan and Trav all did very well too. Riska was instrumental in the final quarter but Brennan and Trav with the slick skills kept the Eagles at bay.

As I said in the Twitter thread, you'd think the ball was covered in oil tonight the way we handled the ball tonight but the humidity must have got to the Eagles badly because they got outrun in the last quarter by a team that only had one maybe two fit players on the bench.

didn't like Raines' game - turned it over, alot.

Fairly happy, just imagine if we could kick straight - we'd be unstoppable.
Disappointed with our skills by hand and at times by foot. And we let the weagles rebound to easily from out forward 50.

didn't like Raines' game - turned it over, alot.

Fairly happy, just imagine if we could kick straight - we'd be unstoppable.
Disappointed with our skills by hand and at times by foot. And we let the weagles rebound to easily from out forward 50.

I think you're being a bit harsh on Raines. Just looking at the stats, he did have two clangers but Sherman and Drummond had 3 each, Banfield with 5 and Fev with 7:eek:. Raines eff disposals was at 64% with a team ave of 70% so he wasn't that bad considering the weather.

Go Lions! Go go Gadget Brennan! One of the best Rischitelli games too.

Well, we definitely know... FOOTY. IS. BACK. :D
Great games by these two boys.
Onya Rischa. you show them why you said no to Carlton.
I have a confession. I was really barracking for Fev tonight, I think I will become very fond of him in the next few weeks. Love Banfields endeavour.great to see Leuy finish the game. and well done Staker
And I love our jumpers.Clark was obviously not well.but kept trying.
Go, Lions:thumbsu:And I love Browny and Lukey and Travis had a great game.:thumbsu:

I think you're being a bit harsh on Raines. Just looking at the stats, he did have two clangers but Sherman and Drummond had 3 each, Banfield with 5 and Fev with 7:eek:. Raines eff disposals was at 64% with a team ave of 70% so he wasn't that bad considering the weather.

Yep agreed. His disposal progressively improved as the game got on and did some really nice things in the final quarter. I was actually very impressed and i'm really hoping for big things from him this year.

On another note, How bad was Adcocks injury? and could this open up a spot for the Rocklobster?

Very sloppy 3/4 of a game. If we play like that (I expect to get abused for this next comment) every game from hear on in, I expect us to win the spoon.

Its great that we won tonight, a fantastic last quarter, but I felt our skills tonight were extremly poor for the vast majority of the game.

But a very good win tonight.

Great game from Browny and Shermo I thought tonight. Felt a bit disappointed with with Banfield tonight, a few to many clangers or uneffective disposals. Can't say he's 100% certainty for next week from my view. He'll come good. I still have a man crush on him.

Great effort by the boys, we are certainly short of a run and our early disposal showed that, obviously all the cramping at the end of the game confirmed it.

Brennan, Rischi, Power, Black and Brown were outstanding.

Fevola is going to kick alot of goals this year, his efforts were fantastic tonight, just lacked the polish.

Of the new guys i thought

Staker looks much better in defence playing the 3rd tall defender role

Raines was good i thought except when he kicked laterally on his left foot, the boy has great attack and run but if he is going to err with his kicking it needs to be 60m down the field

Buchanon one would assume he is goneski for a few weeks

Maguire was really good i thought, short turn around may test him, O'Hailpin./Henderson will suit him though

Continuing on i thought Trapper was more than serviceable, just good to see the old firm get us over the line.

Banfield is exactly what we need just needs to be purposeful with his disposal.

In saying all of that i am advocating the inclusion of Rockliff, Polkinghorne and Proud next week.

Out - Buchanon and Adcock- injury
Drummond/Raines/Maguire- general soreness- one will probably miss

YESSSSSSSSS!!! GO LIONSSSSSSS! Raines and Johnstone were great tonight. I really liked the look of them. Drummond, Patful and Merret same old same old:D Really liked Banfields debut and I liked Goose, Staker and Fevs 1st games for the club. Brennan outstanding and Power ditto. Really liked Rishcitelli I told you there was something there:) Brown you ledgend and Black was good. Rich was average so was Shermo and Redden but they really stood up in the last. McGrath was great over the whole game! Clark and leuenberger stood up in that last as well and I think will be much better next week after a game under there belt and hopefully no sickness;):p

GOOOOOOOOO LIIIIIIOOOOOOOONNNNNSSSSSSSS!!!!!!!!

AND BRING ON THE BLUES! Ill be there!!!:thumbsu:

A few minutes before 3/4 time the game was looking like a disaster. Luckily we put in a very good last quarter and they ran out of legs.

Our two biggest problems seemed to be:
- clearly a lack of clearances in the first 3 quarters. Cox and Naitanui won the ruck well in the first half, but a lot of the time West Coast would outnumber us significantly at the fall of the ball at almost every clearance contest;
- absolutely woeful defending / setup in relation to defending kick-ins after a point. West Coast must have scored about 4 goals from that alone. We often looked like a bunch of complete amateurs playing the zone set-up that we did.

In the end a fair number of our guys played pretty well. Rischitelli and Power pulled their finger out and really made a difference, and thankfully we started winning the ruck in the second half.

Looks like Brown put on a clinic. How did Buchanan go?
Dislocated left thumb by the sounds of it.

Worst case scenario is a break.

Went off very early, so didn't really get a gauge on his performance. Picked up 3-4 possessions before diving for a mark, which he misjudged, with the ball going straight into his thumb. Came off immediately.

Well done to your boys. Tried to send a message through earlier but the server was performing worse than our 4th quarter. That's what happens in the end I guess, class wins out. Good luck for the rest of the year.

Cheers. :thumbsu: Take heart, West Coast look like they have the capability to bounce back pretty well. Big query on the forward line I guess... didn't seem to have much of a forward setup? They looked pretty tired by midway through the last quarter .. I think we ran them ragged.

Buchanan injured his hand and was on bench for close to 3 quarters.

Browny. I am glad this big man has stood up for us time and time again, leading the way. Pulling us through. Did it yet again today. Captain effort.

Leuenberger deserves a special mention. He was pretty lethargic in the first 2 quarters, but boy, turned it on in the last 2. I am guessing Voss must have asked for a special effort with Clark not 100%, He was everywhere in the 3rd and 4th quarter, rucking, providing the handball option, tackling and even dropping back. Super game from Leuey.

Brennan. made to run with Nick 'panther' Naitanui and came out well in front. Game breaker along with Rischitelli in the 3rd. Hope our rucks stay up and let Brennan run loose. exciting times.

Rischitelli. That weighted kick to the forward 50, picking Browny between 3 defenders was pure class. I wonder what TBD think of losing him to GC now :). Well, its just one game, but signs are there. He played a brilliant 3rd quarter.

Rich. Was left to defend Lynch one out, made to ruck on the wing, did everything. he'll be the cornerstone of our future. Pure class.

Johnstone. Was one of our prominent players when we started to pull away. Very cool, strong performance.

Fevola. He was a showman whose party tricks just deserted him today - except for the dribble goal of course :) . Guess this is what Blues fans call Fevola's off day. If his off day would net us 18 possessions, 3 goals, I'm very happy. Looked like he was trying very very hard to please his new employers, Brisbane Lions fans. He will kick his big bag to have us all in raptures in the upcoming rounds. He is working very well with Browny.

Raines. His first two quarters were sloppy and terrible. But kept running in the 4th and kept moving the ball in the wing, when all our main players were cramping and falling over. Effort gets an A, execution leaves a lot to be desired.

Luke Power kept us in the game kicking 3 crucial goals just when it looked like eagles may pull away.

Good debut from Banfield. He combined with Sherman very well and maintained the pressure on the ball carrier. AFL Gameday live just showing 3 tackles against his name - thats just wrong. Nice lead up option on the wing too, was one of the main players our defenders picked out while coming out of the 50.

Rockliff and Polkinghorne may not have to wait that long depending on our injury count.

Drummond was good, McGrath was solid. Hope Adcock, Buchanan and Maguire are ok.

Pleased with the win but I wish we'd been awake more than just one quarter. Watching from the game it seemed like in the first 3 quarters, West Coast moved the ball up the ground really really well and we were nowhere to be seen - their desperation was much greater than ours, execpt for Shermo and Browny (they're the ones I noticed the most) - actually, Banfield put in the effort too. Brennan was there and got to the ball a lot but seemed tentative in his disposals to me - a few times he got it in front of us and then propped, got into trouble and had to do a risky handball - he wasn't the only one, it seemed to happen a lot.

Great last quarter - they really took off and moved it beautifully. Much greater intensity.

Seemed like a lot of cramps in that last quarter tho.

I thought Fevola worked really hard - yeah he kicked a lot of behinds but he also kicked from the boundary line a lot.

Browny as always is a complete legend and Luke was my hero yet again.

Hope the injury toll isn't too bad - I didn't even notice Buchanan get injured.

Caught the second half very early this morning 0on justin.tv
How great to see the gabba looking so good and the Lions coming back to whip the Eagles....the goal on the third quarter siren certainly was a key moment, but the Fevola soccer goal was truly sublime- such a nice touch on the ball.

Man, we had a lot of guys going down with cramp- the Brisbane heat and humidity should favour us, but it seemed like we were being seriously affected.

Oh, well- great start to the season, boys!

Was relatively happy with the win tonight.
A few concerns though. The first being the clearances, I thought we still somewhat struggle in that area and second being that we got absolutely torched on the rebound, far too many loose options for the Eagles.
On the positives Brennan was simply outstanding. Defence seems to suit Johnstone as I feel he had a good game too. Riska also stepped his game up from what we saw last year.
Brown, Black and Power were their usual classy selves and whilst Fev didn't kick well, it was encouraging to see him get a lot of it.
For the other new recruits I thought Maguire and Staker fit into the side really well. Whilst Banfield and Raines turned the ball over a bit I feel with a few games into them, they can really add something to the side.

AFL Round 1 Brisbane Lions V West Coast Official Thread