AFL Round 14 Melbourne V Brisbane Lions Official Thread

I think the plan was to let them play a loose man back, and back our guy (Drummo) to be more damaging. Unfortunatley Drummo had a shocker and when it was apparent that it was not his day he ended up going to Green.

It was evident by half time Drummo was having a stinker, if not sooner and the switch should have been made at that stage. It was obvious to all at the ground, surely the TV picked up Green was killing us.

I've only just got home in the last 10 minutes, and its a good thing too, cos the trip and stops have given me time to cool my jets a little.

That side that walked out there (aside from the usual Brown, Power and Black) today was not here to play football. Whatever the hell they were doing in town had nothing to do with business at the G at 1 pm.

I've never seen a bigger bunch of downhill skiing, lazy, thoughtless footballers than what I saw today. And how bloody hard is it too stand next to your or any frigging opponent?!?!? How do you get out pressured by a side with 1 win in 13??!?!

Copeland, ON YA BIKE. What he did today surely was the sealer. I've always had time for him and his heart, only last week I wrote he should be retained as a top up player who could teach the kids in the magoos. After his PATHETIC effort on the forward 50 in the second quarter where he was running toward goal, chasing the ball with 2 Melbourne opponents and copped a bump, DIVED (he could easily have ridden the bump and stayed on his feet) onto the deck because he clearly couldn't be bothered chasing anymore and let them clear the ball, he should be asked to walk and not come back until trade week. Disgraceful.

Corrie, is he fit? Honestly, a one legged senior citizen would have run harder than he did today. Theres patches of turf at the G in the general vicinity of his designated position which are worn to dirt because he was too bloody lazy to either run to space, chase a defender or stand an opponent.

Sherman, I don't think we are going anywhere with him are we? 1 good game, 3 average games and then 3 shockers. Its an ongoing cycle that doesn't appear to be changing. Close 3rd behind the 2 above for laziest plod on the field.

Charman, stand up, you are needed. To be beaten by Jamar should be a MASSIVE wake up call.

Adcock, Ive said plenty of times before on BF, JUST PLAY THE BLOODY BALL AND NOT THE UMPIRE.

Brennan, Polkinghorne, Clark and Hooper (for the most part) were others who wore holes into the ground across the half forward line from inactivity.

Indecision AGAIN by the backline is now becoming contagious. When Josh Drummond doesn't know what to do with the footy, we are in serious strife.

Lastly, the midfield. When Black and Power move on, god help us cos the cupboard is bare. We've got some good triers ala Riska, but the rest are soooo inconsistent is scary.

Shyte effort, shyte weather, shyte day. I hope it doesnt happen again.

And to the Lions supporting prick who had a go at me for wearing my Bears scarf. Go to hell sunshine, Ive got as much right to wear it as my former Fitzroy supporting friends wearing their old Lions gear.

It was evident by half time Drummo was having a stinker, if not sooner and the switch should have been made at that stage. It was obvious to all at the ground, surely the TV picked up Green was killing us.

I guess sometimes you have to back your players' ability to turn it around. Drummond had the runs on the board to give Lethal that confidence, unfortunately he just had a Barry.

And to the Lions supporting prick who had a go at me for wearing my Bears scarf. Go to hell sunshine, Ive got as much right to wear it as my former Fitzroy supporting friends wearing their old Lions gear.

Shit, thats poor form. What did he say to you?

fat_lady.jpg

Who's a stupid boy then? ;)

Do you back Drummo to come good or do you cut your losses and try to break even? These are judgement calls that are always easier to make in hindsight.

Shit, thats poor form. What did he say to you?

He just told me that it wasn't the Bears anymore and I should show some support to the Brisbane Lions and respect to Fitzroy. Meanwhile my son is sitting there in about $200 worth of Brisbane Lions gear (including clash jumper). I politely told him to go *expletive* himself.

I forgot to mention Sherman's weak as piss effort of wanting to come off the ground with what looked like a cut to his eye (not 100%, couldn't really see and didn't see any close ups???). He ran away from the play pointing to his head while the ball went to his opponent. Seems to be a fair reflection of his commitment. He should take a look at Adcock or Black when they get a big hit or become momentarily incapacitated.

WHAT? Deliberate from Jones! Oh yeah, we maybe didn't give melbourne enough credit...

Melbourne played well today, but we were below Par as well, never seemed to be switched on except for a couple of small patches. Hopefully we can learn from this and move forward.:cool:

I thought Melbourne played well for 4 quarters.They may not think highly of Natanui I'm not sure.

I wasn't hopeful when Miller started touching it

Brad Miller, 3 goals in the first quarter. Has the world gone mad. What next, Paris Hilton joining a convent?

I think our next selection meeting will be interesting, i am no longer slicing wrists because one loss seems so terrible but that can be forgotten by our next fantastic win. We still are a young team and inconsistency comes with that. Skill level can be improved and i am sure it will.

Just on another note- it is interesting to see that some regulars think that there are clubs of people that are anti players. Quite funny really!

I've only just got home in the last 10 minutes, and its a good thing too, cos the trip and stops have given me time to cool my jets a little.

That side that walked out there (aside from the usual Brown, Power and Black) today was not here to play football. Whatever the hell they were doing in town had nothing to do with business at the G at 1 pm.

I've never seen a bigger bunch of downhill skiing, lazy, thoughtless footballers than what I saw today. And how bloody hard is it too stand next to your or any frigging opponent?!?!? How do you get out pressured by a side with 1 win in 13??!?!

Copeland, ON YA BIKE. What he did today surely was the sealer. I've always had time for him and his heart, only last week I wrote he should be retained as a top up player who could teach the kids in the magoos. After his PATHETIC effort on the forward 50 in the second quarter where he was running toward goal, chasing the ball with 2 Melbourne opponents and copped a bump, DIVED (he could easily have ridden the bump and stayed on his feet) onto the deck because he clearly couldn't be bothered chasing anymore and let them clear the ball, he should be asked to walk and not come back until trade week. Disgraceful.

Corrie, is he fit? Honestly, a one legged senior citizen would have run harder than he did today. Theres patches of turf at the G in the general vicinity of his designated position which are worn to dirt because he was too bloody lazy to either run to space, chase a defender or stand an opponent.

Sherman, I don't think we are going anywhere with him are we? 1 good game, 3 average games and then 3 shockers. Its an ongoing cycle that doesn't appear to be changing. Close 3rd behind the 2 above for laziest plod on the field.

Charman, stand up, you are needed. To be beaten by Jamar should be a MASSIVE wake up call.

Adcock, Ive said plenty of times before on BF, JUST PLAY THE BLOODY BALL AND NOT THE UMPIRE.

Brennan, Polkinghorne, Clark and Hooper (for the most part) were others who wore holes into the ground across the half forward line from inactivity.

Indecision AGAIN by the backline is now becoming contagious. When Josh Drummond doesn't know what to do with the footy, we are in serious strife.

Lastly, the midfield. When Black and Power move on, god help us cos the cupboard is bare. We've got some good triers ala Riska, but the rest are soooo inconsistent is scary.

Shyte effort, shyte weather, shyte day. I hope it doesnt happen again.

:thumbsu:
You reflect my feelings on every point except one. Sherman.

If not for the incident where the Melbourne player (was it Chris Johnson?) the ran him down in the center of the ground, i think he would be considered as one of our better players. Actually, i'm struggling to think of many players better than him today. I also didn't see the incident where he was coming off the ground but if thats true, it is a piss poor effort.

I dont think i've seen the Brisbane Lions ever more afraid to get over the ball and pick it up with one attempt or lay a solid bump, tackle or even man up. With the amount or errors we made, it was almost like we were playing in the wet and Melbourne were not.

Very dissapointing.

:thumbsu:
You reflect my feelings on every point except one. Sherman.

If not for the incident where the Melbourne player (was it Chris Johnson?) the ran him down in the center of the ground, i think he would be considered as one of our better players. Actually, i'm struggling to think of many players better than him today. I also didn't see the incident where he was coming off the ground but if thats true, it is a piss poor effort.

I dont think i've seen the Brisbane Lions ever more afraid to get over the ball and pick it up with one attempt or lay a solid bump, tackle or even man up. With the amount or errors we made, it was almost like we were playing in the wet and Melbourne were not.

Very dissapointing.

Midway thru the last quarter.

For what it's worth chicos, down here in Melbourne, Mark Fine on SEN has singled out Leigh Mathews and gave him an absolute roast and solely blamed him for the loss today for selecting Polkinghorne as a late change and only putting him on halfway through the third quarter. That was just his opinion which I found very interesting but I don't think that was the ONLY reason why you guys lost

Finey has made a career of criticising with the benefit of hindsight. ;)

Didn't get to see the game cause i was working.

Reading the last 20 pages of this thread makes me very depressed, glad i didn';t see it

GUTTED:mad:

Finey has made a career of criticising with the benefit of hindsight. ;)

To be honest his reasoning sounds fair stupid.

'Absolutely no faith in the player he selected'
'Deprived the fans to see 22 players play'
'Disadvantaged the team by essentially playing one man down'

Yeah, I reckon that's splitting hairs. Fine shouldn't get so worked up over something like that me thinks

Brad Miller, 3 goals in the first quarter. Has the world gone mad. What next, Paris Hilton joining a convent?

At least you are not bitter KungFoo old mate:D

Losses like that are incredibly painful to watch live. Glad it was not one of the weeks I travelled down to Melbourne, after going to the MCG a few weeks back against Footscray, I am not sure I would have been able to cope with that today.

Heres to hoping that they display more against the Tigers and Hawks when I come down south for those games.:eek:

Chin up, and wear the Bears scarf with pride, just as all Fitzroy people should wear the old Lions gear with pride as well:thumbsu:

AFL Round 14 Melbourne V Brisbane Lions Official Thread