HawthornBrisbane LionsSeasonWL.gif

The Hawthorn Perspective:
Originally Posted by [NAME]TBA[/NAME]
TBA

The Brisbane Lions Perspective:
Originally Posted by [NAME]nigelicious[/NAME]
nigelicious said:
A very, very Bay 13 preview.

Hey Vossy you flog. Thanks for recruiting a big sack full of potatoes, destroying the fabric of the club by knifing Bradshaw, creating disharmony in the club with your internal appointments and other unspeakable crimes.. such as helping the Japanese harpoon all the whales. Speaking of whales, has anyone seen The Fev Show lately? People thought we were losing a lot of players to injury. WRONG. Fev's been eating them all. Which bring me to ….

THE BATTLE OF THE BULGE.
How badly the Lions get beaten will come down to which fatty has a better game; Brendan Fatvola or Luke Podge. That's how crucial these two players are to their respective sides. Unfortunately for the Lions, Fev's skills seem to decline as his waistline expands.
Equally unfortunate for the Lions, the same is not the case with Luke Podge. We are well aware of this and plan to burn down all the Dreamie Donuts, Krispy Kreme and Dunk'n Donuts stores in Tasmania on arrival.

BUT… BUT… THE INJURIES!
So.. who will come back? Who will we lose? No seriously.. tell me.. I really want to win Supercoach this year.

THE HAWKS' SECRET WEAPON.
This section has been censored by injunction of the Supreme Court of Victoria.

THE LIONS' SECRET WEAPON.
This section has been censored by the raving lunatics who were afraid of Rorschach.

SO… SHOULD I BOTHER WATCHING?
Definitely. Only a filthy fair-weather bandwagoner would dare miss this epic clash. That said, it's understandable that you may be wondering where the interest is going to come from. That's where the drinking games comes in.

Have a shot whenever the following happens:
* Staker takes an excellent mark and then butchers the kick afterwards.
* Campbell Brown cries.
* Browny kicks a goal and raises a finger to the sky.
* Luke Hodge kicks a Lions player in the leg and ends their career.
* Cornelius takes a spectacular mark in the goal square.
* Ryan Clangermakers misses a target.
* Banfield makes you squeal with delight.
* Daniel Rich's short arms render him unable to reach a football at ground level.

You must consume the whole bottle if :
* The Lions win a bloody game.

WHO WINS?
I hope the Lions demolish the Hawks like Matthew Lloyd demolished Brad Sewell.
I hope the Lions show some real white-line fever… in the footy sense… not the *injunction* sense.
I hope the Lions remember how to play football.

I've consulted the orb while Duritz was sleeping and it has spat out the following result :
Brisbane Lions by 634 goals. GO BEARS!

(BBQ at Browny's place if we win. Bring your missus.)

Nah, no-one of any significance.

;)

But what about Raines???

Has he not recovered from the brain fades he has been suffering from??

Other than him, yeah, can't think of anyone coming back in this week.:D

Don't be coy, I've got my Super[strike]coach[/strike]drinking to think of ;)
Nice preview Nige - sums up the moment quite well.

By the look of your position on the ladder you've been playing drinking games all season. [my bay response to your bay preview] :p

Oh and on the off chance we do win a bottle of what needs to be consumed and does this include the RedBull?

Guys sorry for being a bother on your boards but i heard Merrit on sen today and he was saying Brown and Goose were training well and likely to play this week, how far of would this be from the truth of them both actualy playing?

Reckon there would need to be a training set-back for Brown not to play. This game has been earmaked for his return for some time and nothing (at this stage) suggests that he won't play. I think that they'll treat Goose a little more cautiously - for one thing, we played Merrett and Patfull as tall defenders last week and it worked out OK. Goose might be better suited to playing a half or so of footy in the reserves.

In short, expect both to play. Goose a little less likely.

They couldn't do that to the kid, could they? IMO, even if Goose comes in he must play. If we are to win we need goals, goals, goals. Play JB at the true CHF working up the ground & Fev /A-Corn closer. Tell A-Corn to make some long leads to leave a hole for Browny or Fev to utilise.

If Goose plays it is between Collier & Patfull, IMO.

Aurora is quite a large isn't it? If so and with Brown back from injury it's probably important to have a tall forward leading up to the wings. Which probably suits Staker more. I wouldn't be surprised if Cornelius was left out though.

hard team selections coming up, who goes out for Brown and Maguire.

both in our top 22, guys under pressure from my point of view
ACorn
Collier
Patful
Sherman
Amon
(like for like it's Collier and ACorn)
Would like to see either Collier or ACorn for aleast one more (Acorn over Collier for mine)
Patful can always go back and help on Buddy so i'm leaning on Amon and Sherman to miss, just IMO.

Great preview Nige.

BTW you must've rubbed the Orb the wrong way for it to spit out a prediction like that. You must be gentle, gentle, then faster faster faster!!

I wouldn't be dropping Buchanan, have really liked him last two weeks. Why drop him, he can win a hardball ffs.

I'd be -

IN: Brown, anything with a wool lining
Out: Sherman, silk shirts.

Out: Buchanan, Sherman, Johnstone.
In: Maguire, Brown, Proud.

Sherman yes, but Buchanan & Johnstone....wtf????

Buchanan has played well, and Johnstone has played good footy since his last omission.

Don't be coy, I've got my Supercoach to think of ;)

Nige, did you say something.

Pretty sure that my attention was taken away from your words with a small picture to the left;)

Nice work:thumbsu:

Franklin rolls ankle

Hawthorn forward Lance Franklin rolled his ankle at training yesterday and was sent for scans to assess the injury, which is a recurrence of the ankle sprain he sustained in the week leading up to the Hawks’ Round 7 match.

Scans confirm no major damage and his function will be assessed by the end of the week to determine his availability this weekend.

Probably nothing in it. But thought it worth sharing.

Preview AFL Round 16 Hawthorn V Brisbane Lions