Preview AFL Round 16 Hawthorn V Brisbane Lions

Voss and the selection committee has lost the plot. They drop A-Corn a young player who has shown heaps of promise but yet a lot to learn at the highest level.

On top of that, our season is shot, he is an extremely talented footballer from Tasmania. He deserves his opportunity to play infront of a home crowd and all his family and friends. I am not saying gift the kid a game but god he hasn't done anything to be dropped. To make matters worse he would be shattered not to get an opportunity to play in tassie!

I am disgusted with this decision.

I feel for him, especially with that article in the Tassie Newspaper about him looking forward to playing at home, but who would you have dropped instead... another small/runner?

run him on Clinton Young or get him to make Campbell Brown accountable as a defender, but for gods sake play the kid!

No point playing smalls who don't get the footy!

Yeah but we've already lost a small in Black, could we really have lost another one in exchange for bringing two talls in.

I agree that team balance is somewhat overplayed, but could we really have squeezed two talls into last week's side in exchange for two smalls?

Just a pooey situation really. Acorn just happens to be down the pecking order in the one spot we have depth in.

Yeah but we've already lost a small in Black, could we really have lost another one in exchange for bringing two talls in.

I agree that team balance is somewhat overplayed, but could we really have squeezed two talls into last week's side in exchange for two smalls?

Just a pooey situation really.

I agree with you when the team is travelling well, but when you are going terribly and your season is over, development must take precedence.

Johnstone
Sherman
Buchanan
Hanley

are easily 4 i would drop before him at this point in our season

you don't muck with a kids confidence and thought process like that especially when he thinks he is going to play at home!

If I was him, I'd have my manager putting out the feelers right now. And who could blame him. There'll be plenty of others who will grab him. And unlike Henderson, this would be one to come back and bite us on the arse.

To my mind, this is a crap decision that speaks about a much deeper problem within the club.

Has played 2 seasons, gets his chance after others with lesser talent, has done reasonably well, certainly as well as Brown did early on [ok noone expects him to be another Brown, that's just realistic] and now gets dumped.

Just WTF is going on inside our club? Is that what the story is- favourites against the rest. Don't tell me Cornelius has less upside than Buchanan, Travis, Hanley etc. If anyone thinks we'll win a flag with these plodders, they're kidding. Losing faith, sorry.

As a former long-time Hawks supporter, I'm used to disappointment, but this is just rubbish.

Makes a young key position player think how am i ever going to get into this team. How long will it take me to unseat Brown, Fev and Stakes in our forward line. All 3 intend on playing for 3 plus years.

Hendo anyone!

run him on Clinton Young or get him to make Campbell Brown accountable as a defender, but for gods sake play the kid!

Agreed. Would have loved to see him play at home. Personally, with his injury history, I would have given Goose an extra week to fit him in. IMO Patfull is a decent match up on Franklin, with his running game. That is if he plays.

Especially as there has been no move to cover Black. There is another Tassie boy called Harwood that must have been close to a debut at home.

Sherman is very, very lucky & surely must be on his last chance.

Makes a young key position player think how am i ever going to get into this team. How long will it take me to unseat Brown, Fev and Stakes in our forward line. All 3 intend on playing for 3 plus years.

Hendo anyone!

So what do we do... sack Brown? :p

Good luck to Browny anf Goose in their comeback games, hope they get through unscathed. Bad luck to young Acorn, but guess there is a reason. Hope he learns to handle disappointments.Life is full of them.Shame about Blacky.we'll miss him bigtime

So what do we do... sack Brown? :p

Ha, don't you mean clone him.

When our team is fully fit there isn't any room for A-Corn as a permanent forward. He has to develop his game to become a mobile running target throughout the ground. Normally I would say develop your deficiencies through the 2s but realistically we are in such a state this season that we can afford now for A-Corn to learn his lessons in the ones. Personally i think he is smart enough to pick up 20 possies running around the ground. His only issue will be his tank and defensive pressure. All these games would empower him over the pre season to make the decisions and put the effort in that he requires to become a well rounded footballer.

Personally i think he is smart enough to pick up 20 possies running around the ground. His only issue will be his tank and defensive pressure. All these games would empower him over the pre season to make the decisions and put the effort in that he requires to become a well rounded footballer.

Imagine if we kept Bradshaw.

I think Amon has been relatively serviceable given his poor luck with injuries. Been a rare small goal kicking option and always goes in hard. There are plenty of others that deserve a run in the seconds over him. I think at various stages of the year people have been overly critical of Fev, Staker and Amon purely because the are adverse to change.
I would of liked to have seen Acorn have a run on the wing or something but such is life. Black is a big loss. Good luck to Goose and Browny, great to see them back.

Just for the record, I am disappointed that Acorn won't be out there this weekend, but c'mon... the "OMG is Vossy insane!" statements are simply not proportionate to the situation.

You mightn't have made the same decision, but surely you can see what Voss is thinking. The "I'm bringing in two talls and we are already losing a mid, I'm concerned about going in top heavy" concern is certainly a logical conclusion to reach.

People need to weigh each thing up on his merits, not as some extra straw on top of angst they are harbouring towards the club on other issues. For the club, business keeps going on while we sit here bemoaning the current state of affairs.

I agree with TBD, whilst it is unfortunate and rather disappointing that Acorn has been dropped, it is hard sometimes. We already play a pretty tall team, and if Acorn going out means Goose comes back in, than that's a plus for me.

I do hope we get a few more games into Acorn, he does deserve to be our 3rd forward.

If I was him, I'd have my manager putting out the feelers right now. And who could blame him. There'll be plenty of others who will grab him. And unlike Henderson, this would be one to come back and bite us on the arse.

To my mind, this is a crap decision that speaks about a much deeper problem within the club.

Has played 2 seasons, gets his chance after others with lesser talent, has done reasonably well, certainly as well as Brown did early on [ok noone expects him to be another Brown, that's just realistic] and now gets dumped.

Just WTF is going on inside our club? Is that what the story is- favourites against the rest. Don't tell me Cornelius has less upside than Buchanan, Travis, Hanley etc. If anyone thinks we'll win a flag with these plodders, they're kidding. Losing faith, sorry.

As a former long-time Hawks supporter, I'm used to disappointment, but this is just rubbish.

I usually don't comment on the nitty gritty of selections, but this kid looks like a player, a GOOD player, and I am now starting to feel that if we keep doing this to him, we will lose him...and you couldn't blame him!

God knows, we need as many GOOD players out there as we can put there....surely there is a spot somewhere for him....anywhere, just so long as he is there.....he'll take a specky, grab the ball or kick a goal at some stage of the match.....and we need that sort of player bigtime..

People are concerned about the culture of our team at the moment.

I imagine that if there was a belief that team selection was being influenced by a fear of certain players leaving, that the culture would be damaged badly.

Cornelius is just one of many young talented players who has missed the cut this week in the AFL. Making way for Jonathan Brown would have to be at the lower end of the disappointing scale.

If he left the club because of this, I'd be as upset as anyone, but fear of players leaving should not be influencing team selection.

People are concerned about the culture of our team at the moment.

I imagine that if there was a belief that team selection was being influenced by a fear of certain players leaving, that the culture would be damaged badly.

Cornelius is just one of many young talented players who has missed the cut this week in the AFL. Making way for Jonathan Brown would have to be at the lower end of the disappointing scale.

If he left the club because of this, I'd be as upset as anyone, but fear of players leaving should not be influencing team selection.

I agree, but the timing is just so unfortunate for the lad that one can't help but feel for him (not to suggest you don't).

Here's hoping he cops it on the chin and becomes even more determined to break into the seniors permanently.

Preview AFL Round 16 Hawthorn V Brisbane Lions