AFL Round 20 Brisbane Lions V Western Bulldogs Official Thread

The commentators said something about knocking the ball out of someones hands. I think Brennan was mentioned.

Didn't quite understand it myself TBH.
I think you may be confused about which 50m penalty I was talking about (no shame in that, there were so many!:rolleyes:), I was talking about the one in the pocket in the last quarter.

Can someone clarify why Minson got a free kick, and then 50m? WTF was that? On the big screen it just showed Minson picking the ball up with no one near him, and all of a sudden he was walking to the goal square with a 50m penalty. That's just criminal.

The most baffling "decision" amongst an entire evening of umpiring bloopers and howlers.

From memory there was some sort of contest between Merrett and Minson around 35 metres out and near the boundary....from which (for reasons unknown to me at the ground), Minson was awarded a free.

The next thing, it's a free in the goalsquare to the Dogs:confused:

Watching the game live and seeing the replay on the "big screen", I had absolutely no idea what the "free" was for in the first place....still:confused:

Can only assumed one of our players mouthed off about it and that ended up being a 50

Whatever, it effectively killed the game there and then:mad:

I think you may be confused about which 50m penalty I was talking about (no shame in that, there were so many!:rolleyes:), I was talking about the one in the pocket in the last quarter.
Yeah. Mixed it up.

Merrett gave the free away. Over the shoulder or some shit. Then McGrath mouthed off. Stupid 50 pretty much.

Then McGrath mouthed off. Stupid 50 pretty much.

McGrath must have said something incredibly offensive for Nicholls to award a 50 metre penalty against him.

mcgrath.jpg

"Why is that a free ump?"

Is there a way to find out what team umpires barrack for? I know there's at least 2 or 3 that have openly admitted to supporting Carlton.

What was with Johnson? Took a mark, then got carried off by two blokes and then was out there again 5 minutes later running around like an 18 year old :rolleyes: Diving cheating scum.

For those that watched on TV, did the commentators say much about the umpiring, esp Nicholls.

Listening to NIRS radio at the game, they were filthy about it, making several references to "Umpire Nicholls, who will be umpiring in the Golbourn Valley League next weekend"

I was on Fox, and they were commentating on the woeful performance of the umpires as well.

What was with Johnson? Took a mark, then got carried off by two blokes and then was out there again 5 minutes later running around like an 18 year old :rolleyes: Diving cheating scum.

:rolleyes: Yeah cheating to give up the ball to Callum Ward opposed to kicking the ball himself.

Fair point..Johnno did look to be genuinely injured.

The thing that stuck in my craw was the fact that while he was being helped off by the trainers, he somehow made a remarkable effort to break away from them and re-enter the play to take a mark which set up the shot on goal for Ward.

Seems to be a problem with double standards here.....it's considered bad form to in any way impede ,challenge or otherwise interfere with a an injured player, especially when that player appears to be leaving the ground (and in the hands of the trainers)

Yet, when that player suddenly sees an uncontested ball floating his way, he decides his injury is not so bad after all.

Not sure what the rules say about this but if I were an umpire, I reckon I'd be calling for a ball up.

I wasn't too unhappy about the mark. One of our guys should probably have been following him to make sure he didn't try to run it out.

But for the ump to just hand the ball to Ward was stupid. If he's well enough to take the mark, he's well enough to kick it or handball it off.

For those that watched on TV, did the commentators say much about the umpiring, esp Nicholls.

Listening to NIRS radio at the game, they were filthy about it, making several references to "Umpire Nicholls, who will be umpiring in the Golbourn Valley League next weekend"

Dunstall and Lynchy were furious, particularly Dunstall, had to stop himself from saying more..

Listening to SEN after the game, they gave the results and made the comment that Mark Allen (giving comments on game) said the umpiring was atrocious at the Gabba..

Fair point..Johnno did look to be genuinely injured.

The thing that stuck in my craw was the fact that while he was being helped off by the trainers, he somehow made a remarkable effort to break away from them and re-enter the play to take a mark which set up the shot on goal for Ward.

Seems to be a problem with double standards here.....it's considered bad form to in any way impede ,challenge or otherwise interfere with a an injured player, especially when that player appears to be leaving the ground (and in the hands of the trainers)

Yet, when that player suddenly sees an uncontested ball floating his way, he decides his injury is not so bad after all.

This was the incident that made me most furious at the game (and there were many). If there isn't there needs to be a rule that if a player is in the hands of trainers then theya re effectively out of the game.

He certainly can't just take a mark then hand it off to some one else to kick for goal and continue his way off the field. The comments around us were how unsportsmanlike the action was.

There were a number of incidents where the Doggies used players off their bench is the passing of play - how do you play against that?

This was the incident that made me most furious at the game (and there were many). If there isn't there needs to be a rule that if a player is in the hands of trainers then theya re effectively out of the game.

He certainly can't just take a mark then hand it off to some one else to kick for goal and continue his way off the field. The comments around us were how unsportsmanlike the action was.

There were a number of incidents where the Doggies used players off their bench is the passing of play - how do you play against that?
should be only allowed changes after a goal is kicked imo unless a player is injured. as for the johnson goal we were one player up how the hell did we turn the ball over in the first place?

I've got no problem with their clever use of the interchange, that's just smart and we need to be more aware.

Johnson was dodgy though. Was effectively shepherded by two trainers and gets to take an uncontested mark.

The Merret free against Minson was for holding the arm. Was there. Them McGrath gave umpire number 30 not the goon a summary of what the crowd thought of his umpiring. They do play the Audio of Ash talking to the umpire after he has awarded 50 so if you can bring yourself to sit through the replay you can pick up what he said, I couldn't quite hear it.

I've got no problem with their clever use of the interchange, that's just smart and we need to be more aware.

Johnson was dodgy though. Was effectively shepherded by two trainers and gets to take an uncontested mark.

Should have explained myself better BD and used clever when describing the Doggies interchange usage. Shows a more experienced coaching team imo.

I re-iterate though how do you play against that?

The good news is we finally managed to crack the back page of the local rag today :thumbsu:

FFS please change your avatar Cousin Jed...It's almost like you're paying homage to the worst umpire in the league! I know you're not by the way.

Umpiring was bad, but so too was our lack of pressure. How did we let Eagleton & others kick those easy goals ? Then Braddy misses a sitter from 20 metres out.

Never mind. This is part of the learning curve we must endure. We are looking mentally fragile at present. Just not switched on.

We got beaten by the better team on the night. That said the umpiring was not up to standard. There were 2 sets of rules - 1 for them & 1 for us. I hate it when unacceptable officials affect the result, and I feel that is the 2nd time we have got the rough end of the pineapple this year. WHAT GIVES?

That said there are areas we have to improve in if we want to be a genuine top 4 team - concentration, application, decision making and pressure. Methinks there are players in our team that will not get to 100 games as they are not up to taking us further.

Great coaching to play Polks in the middle - he certainly added something. Perhaps it is time to move him up & bring A-Corn in? Redden is the future, but just not strong enough yet.

Mitch Clark is an absolute beast. Unstoppable at the moment, and justifiably All Australian. Simon Black is pure gold, and his class shows every week.

Shermo is far from perfect - but he makes things happen. We would be a lesser team without him. Thought Stiller and Hawksley were impressive. Sheldon & Harding did not do enough. Harding had the opportunities to really hurt them but did not make them pay.

We are not a top 4 side yet, and tonite showed it. But we are on the right track. Bring on Port - it's payback time.

For the first time ever when I've been listening at least NIRS really gave it to the umpires- or more specifically, the one umpire. NIRS put it down to having a bad night, as do players- true, players do make mistakes, but all night, consistently? One way?

Can anyone confirm that Nicholls was Fev's best mate from the Carlton game? If so, Vossy should be on the phone to tell the Geish we don't want the bugger up here again as this would be 2 "bad nights" in a row.

Umpiring apart, a number of matters. One, we will never be a top 4 side while we carry any passengers. Even a few down on the numbers contributing and any side will struggle against reasonable opposition.

IMO, a number of things are apparent:

1) Harding is not the answer- apart from the fact that he can't run kick, mark, tackle, kick a goal or do anything even slightly physical, he might be a fair footballer. I concede that he looks like a footballer, hands on hips, directing traffic and that he did the odd, repeat odd, good thing. But any sort of reasonable footballer would have kicked 3 goals with the opportunities he was presented. He fumbles, makes poor decisions consistently, and just doesn't capitalise on chances. He has had ample chances to claim a position, and has never come close to closing the deal.

2) Notting is gone- it's sad to see a once fair footballer reduced to spectating and embarrassing fumbles. Let's leave loyalty behind.

3) Leaving Clark one-off in the ruck against fair opposition doesn't work- this has been shown to be the case over the year and nothing has changed. Run a trainee off the bench.

4) That we have dropped off so much in intensity is shown when so much of the basic tackling, running and pressure-related stuff is left to Clark- not good enough, not nearly good enough. This is not fair and it should be pointed out to the spectators who, eg allow an old man to run untouched into an open goal that they need to be accountable.

Also, what is it with the slipping over? Is this a boots issue? Fine every player who slips over in a contest [Hawksley are you listening?] $100 each slip and maybe we might change this around.

Lastly, if a Carlton or Collingwood had copped the hiding we got from the "men" in green, there would be hell to pay. I hope to hell someone is on the phone telling HQ that it is just not acceptable to have the second game this year basically ruined by incompetent umpiring.

How did we let Eagleton & others kick those easy goals ?

One of Eagleton's goals in particular had me screaming at the tele. SOKS was just zoning off allowing Eagleton to run in from around the 65m mark, when anyone could tell he only had eyes for the sticks. SOKS is a kid, fair enough... but frustrating nonetheless.

The Sunday Footy show panel just rubbished the consecutive poor 'in the back' decisions (Patfull, Morris). Also saw footage of the woman throwing beer at Johnson for the first time. The idiot should be banned from the gabba.

Can anyone confirm that Nicholls was Fev's best mate from the Carlton game? If so, Vossy should be on the phone to tell the Geish we don't want the bugger up here again as this would be 2 "bad nights" in a row.

He's a serial Brisbane hater. I remember he absolutely reamed us in a game vs Freo at the Gabba a couple of years ago (the game where Browny got dacked and Bozo took that huge speccy).

Every club should be able to choose one umpire that doesn't do their games. :eek:

I'd pick Nicholls at the Gabba, and Ray for away games.

Actually, fwiw. If, for example, Sherman handballs to Black who is under pressure and instantly gets tackled. CD classify that disposal by Sherman ineffective.

Just a point. Not really justifying his hopsital hbs.

Random stats question: Just noticed on AFL stats that Merrett had 13 possies at 85% efficiency, but he had 4 clangers. How is that possible? Are clangers not counted as disposals?

Last night gave new meaning to the round 20 AFL advertising slogan:

Make green your second team

OK AFL answer me this: what happens when your first team plays your second team like they were last night? I guess for fairness, next week I should turn up in green and then I'm sure to go home a winner!

12 hours later and I'm still furious!!!

AFL Round 20 Brisbane Lions V Western Bulldogs Official Thread