News AFL Round 8 Teams - Brisbane v Geelong

Re: Round 8 Teams - Brisbane vs. Geelong

However it seems very strange to drop players if they are really not that sore ... Perhaps they are genuinely sore ???

Am I the only one who is not surprised Pods is not playing this week? Being at the game last week, I think it was third quarter I saw Pods holding his groin area three or four times, and he was so out of breath at that point from running, I thought for sure he wasn't going to be back on in the fourth quarter.
In the fourth quarter I KROCK kept wondering why Pods was seemingly ignored and all the kicks went to other people. I figured they knew he was sore and was just out there to draw a defender away since he'd kicked 5 goals already.

Am I the only one who is not surprised Pods is not playing this week? Being at the game last week, I think it was third quarter I saw Pods holding his groin area three or four times, and he was so out of breath at that point from running, I thought for sure he wasn't going to be back on in the fourth quarter.
In the fourth quarter I KROCK kept wondering why Pods was seemingly ignored and all the kicks went to other people. I figured they knew he was sore and was just out there to draw a defender away since he'd kicked 5 goals already.

Yes I sit at the front right behind the goals at ablett terrace and can confirm this.

However I must say he didn't show any signs of actual groin injury in the 4th (such as stretching, pulling up on leads, trainer attention etc), he was just doubled over a lot (i.e. whenever the ball wasn't in the area), which I took as being to do with the heavy head hit (remember when he was down from that) about 5-10 minutes earlier. Maybe I was wrong though and it is groin soreness. Just hope he's back next week. :thumbsu:

Not sure about the ground, but agree about the talls. What surprises me is we have one specialist ruckman, but three tall defenders. Not exactly the optimum balance. Be curious to see if only Hawkins relieves Blake.

Agree it's weird. It's kinda like this:
-ok we have to rest Pods because he's sore/it's our first year player policy
-we have to bring Stokes back coz we said we would

Oh but now we're a bit short on talls
But we can't bring in another tall because we don't want to drop Hogan and there's no one else to drop.

That's the only way I can make sense of the team, particularly team balance, selected this week. I'm not saying it's a bad thing, but I agree with you it's a bit strange.

I would say that whenever Hawkins plays ruck Chappy/SJ/Gazza will play out of the square. Interesting.

Going to the game this week and am rapted i get to see pretty much a full side unlike the gabba game last year :(

Think we need to treat the lions a bit like a wounded beast anything could happen but the cats to be far to strong after 1/4 time :D

It's a better side, but not full strength.

No Ottens, Corey, Rooke, Pods (on form must be in our best 22), and for me personally I'd have Duncan ahead of Hogan or Stokes. But yep certainly better than last year. Here's hoping we play better too.

Apart from being quick and playing forward i honestly don't see the similarity between Byrnes and Varcoe.

Varcoe's game is to apply defensive pressure, tackle, chase, harass and create chances, Byrnes' game is to roam across half forward, act as a link man (even as a lead up target at times) and kick goals.

They're totally different footballers.

They are a bit different as footballers (not totally different) but not exactly for those reasons. Varcoe was being groomed a bit more as a midfielder last year, and I think we will continue to see him in this role, especially with his excellent footwork. He seems a bit more opportunistic in the forward line than a real harasser.

One of Byrnes' strengths is his ability to tackle and harass (the Bateman tackle and goal against the Hawks comes to mind).

Of course they are both very quick as well and use their speed to evade.

which is all well and good but he is travelling with the team...dont how a what, 3 hour flight, is good for a groin injury.
3 hours to brisbane? when was the last time you went there?
2 tops plus circling time tiger.........

Any of you Geelong boys know if there is any truth to the Chappy out rumours that are circling, easiest way to confirm/deny would be if anyone knows if Duncan travelled or not?

I'm pretty sure there is going to be at least 1 late change - however the full AFL and VFL squad have flown to Brisbane so we won't really know until an hour or so before the game I'm tipping.

Not sure Chapman is the out but have been told that Dawson Simpson is on stand by.

I'm pretty sure there is going to be at least 1 late change - however the full AFL and VFL squad have flown to Brisbane so we won't really know until an hour or so before the game I'm tipping.

Not sure Chapman is the out but have been told that Dawson Simpson is on stand by.
Who else would it be?

Gamble or Duncan.

Because the VFL team has gone to the GC, unlike a normal game where you might only have a 23rd player travel, everyone has, so until we can find out tomorrow arvo who is actually playing in the VFL, it's almost impossible to know if there will be a late change, or who would be in.

Given our history of resting players though, it wouldn't surprise me if one happens.

Gamble or Duncan.

Because the VFL team has gone to the GC, unlike a normal game where you might only have a 23rd player travel, everyone has, so until we can find out tomorrow arvo who is actually playing in the VFL, it's almost impossible to know if there will be a late change, or who would be in.

Given our history of resting players though, it wouldn't surprise me if one happens.
I meant who else would be out.

They wouldn't fly the squad there and rest one.
It would have to be an injury or structural.

Not sure they have it right with the rucks etc. but if they are going for speed then they won't need dawson

I meant who else would be out.

Sorry I thought you were referring to Dawson, hence the emergencies.

Well honestly I have no idea, but if I had to guess, I would guess either Chappy or SJ based on their injury histories, or Dasher based on his age.

They wouldn't fly the squad there and rest one.
It would have to be an injury or structural.

Not sure they have it right with the rucks etc. but if they are going for speed then they won't need dawson

Does anyone know the weather forecast for the GABBA?

Rumours are chappy out for 2 weeks..?
Can anyone confirm this..?

Cheers guys..

I guess we'll most likely find out shortly when the updated team sheets are released, unless the cats are wanting to give him every chance to get up in time if it's only minor.

If he has an actual injury (i.e. tear etc, more than one week) he never would have been named initially. If he doesn't play it will be because he's sore and needs to be preserved with only a 6 day break to collingwood, not because he has a significant injury, if that makes sense.

Agreed 100% mate, makes perfect sense. We didn't fly Mitchell over to Perth last week yet hes playing this week so the fact Chappy even flew out indicates as you said, if he misses he probably just hasn't pulled up in time and it seems a better idea to rest him up so he can get up in time for the pies match (hope you flog 'em!). Great to see lil' stokesy back into the side, hoping he doesn't keep pods out though

Yep, you got it spot on.

I hope we flog the pies too (more seriously I think it will be a very tight match, and it makes sense to have everyone on deck that we can).

Stokes will stay because Bomber loves him but that won't keep Pods out if he's fit to go next week. Someone like a Hogan will probably be the one to go.

Just in-Bomber has given us this on the Pods omission:
"Even though he's 28, it still is only his first year of senior football," Thompson explained.

"The speed and intensity of [the game] is pretty dynamic, even to a mature body. He's only a little bit sore, but we've got to play Collingwood in six days and this is a six-day recovery from our last game against Sydney so it's a bit too much of a cram for him.

"We've decided not to play him this week, but he should be right for next week."

He also has good things to say about Sel re signing

http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/208/newsid/94317/default.aspx

One of Byrnes' strengths is his ability to tackle and harass (the Bateman tackle and goal against the Hawks comes to mind).

I love when Byrnes plays well, but my opinion is exactly opposite to yours. For a man with his pace he should be making Bateman tackles regularly.

He had zero tackles against Carlton. Zero.

In my observation, Byrnes' inability to effectively harass and make second efforts is his eternal weakness.

We're like chalk and cheese, aren't we?

Rumours are chappy out for 2 weeks..?
Can anyone confirm this..?

Cheers guys..

Footage on the news showed Chappy training at the Gabba today.
Duncan was also training so more than likely there is a change,but I doubt it's Chappy.I doubt Duncan would be there unless he's confirmed as playing as he's played only 1 game [AFL or VFL] in the last 3 weeks.

Footage on the news showed Chappy training at the Gabba today.
Duncan was also training so more than likely there is a change,but I doubt it's Chappy.I doubt Duncan would be there unless he's confirmed as playing as he's played only 1 game [AFL or VFL] in the last 3 weeks.

Good news on Chappy.

Why would you say that means Duncan is playing? Just as likely playing VFL I'd say.

News AFL Round 8 Teams - Brisbane v Geelong