AFL seeks compensation for World Cup disruption

AFL has to be careful here.

If they accept the proposal, they risk alienating current supporters, and damaging the brand.

If they refuse to work with the FFA and FIFA, and **** up the bid for the rest of the country, the run the risk of pissing off the entire fan base they intend to recruit.

Western Sydney is the home of soccer in this country.

Nicely put. It's going to be a fine balancing act for the AFL.

at the moment i dont think we will be getting the world cup. we certainly wont be getting it in 2018 and there is some doubt about us getting it in 2022.

True, 2018 looks like it will definitley be in Europe, but the two major bids for 2022 are Australia and USA, so we are in with a chance, particularly with Asia being the fastest growing continent in the world for population, football and therefore also corporate $$ too.

okay :S
i think you would easily find that alot of people are interested in soccer in australia. probably more so than afl. im not too sure many people have interest in athletics swimming etc but we did a great job with the olympics. and heck all the passion will come from the hundreds of thousands of europeans and south americans who fly over :)

I mean seeing games broadcasted around the world with half filled stadiums, people will rock up to the big games but will they front to many of the others?

I don't think they will.

Anyone that thinks that the stadiums won't be made available, exactly as FIFA wants them, if we manage to secure the world cup is a cretin. Simple as that.

AFL/NRL will receive compensation, they will stamp their feet and wring their hands, but they will fall into line.

Make up your mind .

They will be forcibly available or they will receive compensation .

Historically the government has been powerless to force the WACA and SACA into stadium relationships for the betterment of the community .

And you keep conveniently forgetting the biggest obstacle and that is the building of stadiums in Perth and Adelaide .

If this thing is ever going to get off the ground all parties have to co-operate . The bid will be rejected straight away by FIFA if FIFA believes a country is not %100 behind the bid .

And before people jump up and down and scream "They can't do it" - they actually can.

They can kick up minimal fuss and get some compensation or they can kick up as much fuss as they can and get no compensation at all.

They can legislate. Politicial dynamite. If the Fed Govt is seen to be imposing one sports will onto others it could hurt them severely.

At the moment, soccer nuts are pushing the line that the WC would be great, once the detail comes out the mood could easily swing the other way.

There is a PR war being fought. The NRL have already some out of the blocks, the AFL is now assessing.

You are also wrong that they could get no compensation. The AFL has stadium deals in place with legal contracts.

I can assure you if they legislate and give no compensation to the AFL and its clubs it will backfire on the Fed Govt.

If Australian football is made the victim a fair chunk of the 580,000 club members wont he happy.

Make up your mind .

They will be forcibly available or they will receive compensation.

The will be forced to accept, compensation will be provided as a sweetener. There is no contradiction, there.

Historically the government has been powerless to force the WACA and SACA into stadium relationships for the betterment of the community .

And you keep conveniently forgetting the biggest obstacle and that is the building of stadiums in Perth and Adelaide .

If this thing is ever going to get off the ground all parties have to co-operate . The bid will be rejected straight away by FIFA if FIFA believes a country is not %100 behind the bid .

There is a will to make it happen in government, so it will happen. Building stadiums is not a problem - money will be there to build them and FIFA doesn't care if you don't have stadiums ready a decade before the competition.

The federal government would not have put so much money and effort into the bid process so far if they didnt know that they would have every necessary organisation in line, simple as that.

Actually, it would be used. It has the foundations to expand to 50k and if Australia win the cup, it will be expanded.

Actually, it is not being used. The FFA have recommended that the stadiums in Melbourne will be the MCG and Etihad Stadium. No mention of the new rectangular stadium other than some unsubstantiated story that it cannot be extended without enormous cost due to the roof.

Get your facts right.

A large part of my objection centres around Etihad, even if the major sport thing becomes a problem, a 4 week break in the season in Melb (with some games played elsewhere) is a far easier pill to swallow.

A far fairer solution.

Buddys posts are right. It will be a balancing act for the AFL. If they fight too much, they be unpopular with governments, the stadiums owners and everyone who supports the bid. And that is what it is, we are bidding for the event, FIFA arent going, "lets go to Australia". We are the one demanding, and so, we the one who have to play by the rules.

Also, its only the stadiums which cant be used for 8 weeks. That is there to protect the turf, make make the proper adjustments for the stadium for the cup itself. So, a definite is no G. Did the AFL receive compo for no MCG during the commonwealth games?

I dont think the FFA/FIFA has clarified that the AFL is a big event and has to stop for the cup itself. But the question is, why would they really want to. No Hotels, no real media attention, smaller rural stadiums.

EDIT: i forgot about the 32 training bases that the World Cup teams need to use. That could, potentially take grounds also, depending on what teams are looking for.

The problem is that if FIFA get a wind of the fact that AFL and NRL are unwilling to budge...Australia will not get the Cup. No rival codes can play during a World Cup. It's the rules.

Like it or not, that is the way FIFA works, and there are plenty of other countries that are willing to host the Cup. We are just 1 who are trying.

The AFL risks looking like the bad guy here if they push too hard. If Australia misses out on a World Cup bid because AFL were unwilling to budge...then the AFL will face a backlash.

It is only 1 year. The AFL does not have to make any big decisions here. They really have no choice. They will have no access to the grounds, For a one off year, we will have to have a 10 week break during the season. The government will surely provide some compensation for this, but ultimately the World Cup is too important to give up.

It would be great for Australia and who are the AFL to stop this?

I dont think the FFA/FIFA has clarified that the AFL is a big event and has to stop for the cup itself. But the question is, why would they really want to. No Hotels, no real media attention, smaller rural stadiums.

The answer to that question is that they won't want to. With a break in the middle of the season the AFL can use its the regular stadiums, have as many games on television as they would otherwise have, have crowds as big as they would otherwise have, the media attention would be there as normal... It clearly makes much more sense for the AFL to take the break then play games in inferior stadiums while a major world event is taking place in prime time in our own country. Anyone suggesting that clubs will need to cap memberships so the teams can play in small stadiums are ignoring the financial realities.

The problem is that if FIFA get a wind of the fact that AFL and NRL are unwilling to budge...Australia will not get the Cup. No rival codes can play during a World Cup. It's the rules.

Like it or not, that is the way FIFA works, and there are plenty of other countries that are willing to host the Cup. We are just 1 who are trying.

The AFL risks looking like the bad guy here if they push too hard. If Australia misses out on a World Cup bid because AFL were unwilling to budge...then the AFL will face a backlash.

It is only 1 year. The AFL does not have to make any big decisions here. They really have no choice. They will have no access to the grounds, For a one off year, we will have to have a 10 week break during the season. The government will surely provide some compensation for this, but ultimately the World Cup is too important to give up.

There is no doubt this is a difficult issue for the AFL and the clubs.

Dont forget the impact on your club. Everyone likes to bag the shite out of Demetriou and the AFL exec (with good cause on occasion), but when it hits home to your club - will the tune change.

At the end of the day the AFL represents the clubs and is acting in the best interests of the competition and the clubs - does anyone care about that?

The WC is portrayed as this immovable beast, AFL get out of the way, its the clubs who hurt the most, the most vulnerable first.

4 week break in the middle of the season, longer for MCG with Etihad available is fair and would require minimal compensation.

I really don't like this force fed stuff some of you are spouting.

AFL deserve minor compensation and that's it. This is a competition that is held once in a lifetime in your own country and the AFL should deal with it and move on. Some funding to compensate for the loss in revenue of tv rights but as for scheduling the AFL should just accept that for that particular year, if we do get the World Cup, that our sport will have to play second fiddle.

Mate I agree wholeheartedly with you regarding the event, and being a big soccer fan I hope to god we get the WC. You have to remember a couple of things though:

· The AFL is a business and (rightly or wrongly) the custodians of the game. They’re accountable to their owners (the clubs) and have a responsibility to act in the game’s best interests. The sports entertainment market is very competitive and soccer is probably their biggest long-term threat. A World Cup in Australia is likely to massively boost the popularity of soccer in this country, quite conceivably at the expense of footy. The AFL rightly is interested in what’s best for the AFL, not what’s best for the FFA or the country as a whole. They have every right to oppose the bid and use any powers they have to block it or demand maximum compensation. They wouldn’t be doing their job if they didn’t. To simply tell them to “get over it” is naïve and nonsensical.

· Soccer has a (relatively) small following in Australia. It’s simply just not that popular, certainly in comparison to footy. For you and me, 10 weeks without the AFL is a small price to pay for the WC. But for somebody (and there’s a lot of them) who loves their footy and has no interest in soccer, it’s understandably a pain in the arse. For us it’s comparable to the AFL season being put on hold for a curling tournament. They’re not all bogans or morons (though some of them are, probably the vocal minority), they’re simply just not interested. It’s not necessarily a negative thing; there’s plenty of countries around the world where soccer doesn’t come first, and Australia wouldn’t necessarily be a better place if soccer was more popular than it is currently. For these people (again, there’s a lot of them), the WC is being forced on them by the FFA and government under the guise that it’s a “great thing” (for who?), and therefore will attract some negative sentiment.

As an example, Essendon have about 35,000 season ticket members. If Docklands and the MCG were unavailable for 8 weeks and Essendon were to have 4 home games at a smaller venue, they would have to cap their membership at 20,000.
Would the 15,000 regular Essendon members who were turned away that year automatically return the following year? And if Essendon happened to make the grand final that year, the people who were denied memberships would also miss out on any chance of grand final tickets - that's a lot of disgruntled people who may not return.
You are looking at things from a predominantly financial point of view. It doesn't quite work that way.

It is total BS that the new rectangular stadium will not be used! Want to sue someone sue these idiots. :mad:

"these idiots" being the Victorian government representatives who wanted to keep the venue as small as possible, then proceeded to tell us that "it's ok, it can be upgraded to 50k if we host the WC".

I hope you don't think the FFA (or soccer) are happy with the situation either cause we certainly aren't!

Due to the lack of compromise by the FFA this whole thing stinks. Yeah the WC would be good, but life will go on without it.

Lack of compromise?? What, with half the venues (including a few new ones) being oval?

True, 2018 looks like it will definitley be in Europe, but the two major bids for 2022 are Australia and USA, so we are in with a chance, particularly with Asia being the fastest growing continent in the world for population, football and therefore also corporate $$ too.

The president of CONCACAF (North American football federation) Jack Warner publicly supported Australia's bid too!

than fine we don't get the cup

Than give it to them

you could say the same about the FFA and government if the AFL have to stop mid-season for a 10 week break

how important? If it's that important than the AFL should be going for a lot of compensation not just "some"

I doubt they would stop it if they are adequately compensated

Compensation:
TV rights - currently around $170M, maybe close to $300M in 2022.
Memberships - 18X40000 @ $500 by 2022 = $360M
Sponsorship - another $200M

Easily get to $1 billion in monetary compensation for AFL only, then we would require stadium upgrades in GC and new stadiums in Perth, WS and Adelaide etc as a legacy for Australian RULES Football.:)

Morally there should be compo but I'm not sure what the legal levers would be. They could agree to reduce the amount by any benefit the additional stadiums might bring to AFL.

The world cup obviously never interferes with the EPL but if it did, you can be assured they'd be looking for compo and lots of it.

Given that it might never happen, I dont see why the talks should be described as "crisis' talks

However, the federal government has given this world cup bid its full support so all of you in the "get ****ed FIFA" camp need to come back to reality and get used to the idea of disruption to one season of the AFL if this bid is succesful.

Shame that the State and Territory governments aren't so keen eh?

I mean seeing games broadcasted around the world with half filled stadiums, people will rock up to the big games but will they front to many of the others?

I don't think they will.

No rival codes can play during a World Cup. It's the rules.

So much misinformation on here!

It's a World Cup. Stadiums are never half empty. Especially in Australia, a popular travelling destination, there will be thousands of fans from every competing nation here, tens of thousands from the bigger ones.

"No rival codes" is not true. It is "no major sporting events", for logistical reasons stated in the Roar article in a previous comment of mine, and there hasn't been a statement as to whether AFL/NRL regular season matches count as a "major sporting event".

So much misinformation on here!

It's a World Cup. Stadiums are never half empty. Especially in Australia, a popular travelling destination, there will be thousands of fans from every competing nation here, tens of thousands from the bigger ones.

"No rival codes" is not true. It is "no major sporting events", for logistical reasons stated in the Roar article in a previous comment of mine, and there hasn't been a statement as to whether AFL/NRL regular season matches count as a "major sporting event".

misinformation alright. We get some soccer fans telling us one thing and others telling us something else. Which is it?

Kind of important to know if the AFL/NRL?Super 15 can be played or not dont you think? :rolleyes:

AFL move out of the way! This would be the biggest thing to happen to Australia since Captain Cook landed at Botany Bay in 1788! The exposure that this country would receive from hosting the world cup would be bigger than the Olympics, the money poured into Australia would be phenomenal from tourism, to sponsorhip and foreign investment and the buzz around the country would be unlike anything we've seen before, remembering it is the entire country that will be hosting the tournament, not just a single city or region. Massive.

The AFL is a small player in comparison to FIFA and the WC, the NRL...LOL! The AFL can scream and kick all they like but before the bid is submitted they along with the NRL will fall into line like the little players they are, they'll receive whatever little compensation the government wants to hand out, they'll restructure their business models for that particular year and they'll be happy knowing that the little disruption that it causes will be worth it in the long run as stadium infrastructure will be improved ten fold!

The AFL and NRL are powerless in this situation, they know it, if they ark up the government will cut their funding because they could potentially cost the country billions of dollars in earnings during the period and billions after it from all the tourism that will lag behind the event.

Move over little boys, the big boys want to come and play!

AFL seeks compensation for World Cup disruption