AFL seeks compensation for World Cup disruption

Its funny how the only people on big footy who think the AFL should just let Soccer take over for a couple months are people with a Soccer club supported in their profile

Do they have only a soccer club, or an AFL club AND a soccer club? You know it is possible to like both?

I just can't see why for 1 year, and 1 year only...that the AFL should deny Australia from getting the World Cup.

You obviously have no appreciation about how big the World Cup is. It is huge. Some would say as big as the Olympics. Could you imagine that the AFL denied the Sydney 2000 Olympics from happening??? What an outcry there would be.

Look at how much impact the Olympics had for our country. Hosting the World Cup would have a similar bearing.

For a 1 off year, the AFL could not compromise??

Are we worried about competition????

What's wrong with competition???

Competition is the cornerstone of the Australian marketplace. Monopolies lead to inefficiency. AFL has had the monopoly over its fans for so long and as a consequence have had no reason to look after us.

Competition with soccer would lead to the AFL having to consider the fans for a change. Soccer will never compete with AFL in Australia, but it may take some market share. In-turn, the AFL will have to respond by making the game appealing to the fans again. This is something the AFL have not had to ever consider.

I hate soccer, think its a boring and overrated sport. But this aint a battle between the AFL and the A-League Grand Final. It's AFL vs the world. And the AFL just doesn't compete on the world stage like soccer does.

It would be alright anyway as a 1 off. We'd have football throughout the whole year. During the 10 week break we'd witness the biggest sporting event in teh world. Everyone will be into it. We'd have injured players been fresh again. We'd have a cracking finals series.

As a one off, it would work fine....and we'd all be able to say that we saw a World Cup.

No they won't. :rolleyes:

says he with Celtic and AC Milan as fave teams. Not that there is anything wrong with that but your leaning is obvious.

This may surprise but there are AFL fans who care more for their club.

Australia will live with or without the World Cup, we have nowhere near the need for social re-engineering as say South Africa and whilst the WC would be great, does it have to be at all cost? I dont think so.

We have many sporting events in this country we are hardly starved of sporting choice. Nor is it in the national interest. it's a nice to have.

I daresay the majority of AFL fans would rather the increased economic benefit the WC would bring as well as being involved in the biggest show on earth in comparison to a sport they see every year!

At all cost?? Who's cost? the almighty AFL, a sport that is big in half of the country in the middle of nowhere with a population of 20 million! The sport that pays its elite athletes in a year (the fittest, strongest and fastest of any sport in the world) what many of the worlds best soccer players, basketballers and baseballers make in a week?? Get your hand off it seriously.

So what if i like all sports including soccer (the Celtics is in refernece to the Boston Celtics by the way) i support my AFL team financially every year and footy is my number one preference, but if the AFL didn't conform to whatever standards the government sees fit to ensure the bid goes ahead i'd be pissed off, not only as a lover of sport but as a citizen of this country because i'm not an insular piss head bogan like half the ****wits on this site and i can see the major economic benefit that such an event would bring.

although there was the 30 thousand less seats available form the few years it was getting renovated

Please refer to the second point - half the ground was upgraded to a phenomenal standard.

That is the compensation. The demands were nowhere near what FFA is demanding. I'm surprised you can't see the difference.

Do you know why the Rugby World Cup was held in November? Why, because at least Rugby had the good grace to understand the Australian sporting calendar and work their World Cup around that.

As for FIFA, well clearly they like to ride roughshod over any competition.

although there was the 30 thousand less seats available form the few years it was getting renovated

Plus the season was shifted forward slightly ... plus the MCG was out of action for the first few weeks of the season.. they even had the nerve to temporarily rip out some seats to make space for an athletics track, damaging the AFL hallowed turf!

So how much compensation did the AFL get that year? I'd genuinely like to know. The calls for compensation from this forum are nothing to do with stadiums being unavailable and everything to do with a small percentage of people here being obsessive soccer haters.

I love both codes and follow both alot,but I see to much bitter people here and dont see the big picture with what the tournment brings for our nation as a whole .The AFL and the other codes will be compensated rightly so and there willbe no problem .Two codes can live with each other no problem. To many world footbal haters here with a agenda time to go smell the roses a it more often :thumbsdown:.

AFL means nothing to other countries in the Southern Hemisphere.

South Africa & other African Countries
Indonesia
New Zealand & other South Pacific countries
Argentina
Bolivia
Chile
Paraguay
Peru
Uruguay

Mostly
Brazil
Ecuador

Partly
Colombia
yet out of all the sports comps in these markets, the AFL is the biggest as far as revenue generated, and crowd attendance

Lol are you telling me AFL is bigger in Brazil than soccer!
no, but afl is begger in Australia then soccer is in brazil. The afl is a larger comp and generates more revenue than the brazillian equivalent
Just because it is big in Australia doesn't make it the biggest comp in the Southern Hemisphere.
does the concept of proportion mean any thing to you, have you by any chance studied statistical analysis ?
Soccer dominates the Southern Hemisphere.

no in most countries of the southern hemisphere, soccer is the minor sport, and either Australian football or Rugby Union is the biggest sport

according to wikipeadia: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_sports_attendance_figures#Top_10_in_Total_Attendance

afl is clearly the largest sporting comp in the southern hemisphere. The data doesn't lie

No they won't. :rolleyes:

Just think of how hated AFL football will be if it is our fault that the World Cup is denied to Australia.

There is a bigger chance that people would turn away from AFL because of our stubborness to compromise than there would be by soccer taking the centre stage for 10 weeks.

I hate soccer, but I remember the last world cup (held in Germany mind you)....and I can't remember talkign to one person who wasn't living every moment.

YOu should've seen Lygon st and Fed Square during the games. Absolutely buzzing.

Imagine having it on our doorstep. Would be the biggest thing to happen to this country since the 1956 Olympics in terms of putting ourselves on a world stage.

Ok, lets take your viewpoint. I too am an AFL tragic who doesn't like soccer. Let's pretend the right thing to do is say "Screw soccer, we are an AFL country". What is that going to do to the AFL's image?

Instead of 1 line responses, give me a proper argument of why your view is the correct one.

Please refer to the second point - half the ground was upgraded to a phenomenal standard.

That is the compensation. The demands were nowhere near what FFA is demanding. I'm surprised you can't see the difference.

So it's not worth 3 new oval stadiums then?

Do you know why the Rugby World Cup was held in November?

Because compared to soccer, rugby is a minnow sport on the world stage and they didn't have 80+ domestic leagues to work around?

Why, because at least Rugby had the good grace to understand the Australian sporting calendar and work their World Cup around that.

Also because there are so few places able to host the RWC the IRB has to make concessions. Football is the other way around - there is so much competition (there are more nations vying for the 2018/2022 FWC's than have EVER hosted the RWC, and most RWC hosts have had more than one) that they don't need to make variations for each bidder.

As for FIFA, well clearly they like to ride roughshod over any competition.

Something funny I've noticed. Some people here complain that FIFA think they are so important, think they are above the law, etc etc. Yet this is the exact way in which the AFL behaves within Australia borders. Different rules hey?

yet out of all the sports comps in these markets, the AFL is the biggest as far as revenue generated, and crowd attendance

no, but afl is begger in Australia then soccer is in brazil. The afl is a larger comp and generates more revenue than the brazillian equivalent does the concept of proportion mean any thing to you, have you by any chance studied statistical analysis ?

no in most countries of the southern hemisphere, soccer is the minor sport, and either Australian football or Rugby Union is the biggest sport

according to wikipeadia: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_sports_attendance_figures#Top_10_in_Total_Attendance

afl is clearly the largest sporting comp in the southern hemisphere. The data doesn't lie

I thought i'd heard it all before, but it gets better ladies and gentlemen IT GETS BETTER. The toothless tiger drunk has delivered the greatest moment in the history of bigfooty!!!

no, but afl is begger in Australia then soccer is in brazil. The afl is a larger comp and generates more revenue than the brazillian equivalent does the concept of proportion mean any thing to you, have you by any chance studied statistical analysis ?

yer because Australia is the biggest and richest country in the Souther Hemisphere.

My point is that AFL is played in 1 country. Soccer in every country.

And I have studied statistical analysis, as well as law, commerce and IT.

None of that matters. Common sense is all that matters. Common sense says that the World Cup would be a brilliant and prosperous event for Australia to hold and that the AFL should not stand its it way for a one off event, especially when we can still host our season...just have to make some sacrifices.

I thought i'd heard it all before, but it gets better ladies and gentlemen IT GETS BETTER. The toothless tiger drunk has delivered the greatest moment in the history of bigfooty!!!

Yes, that is a classic comment. Soccer in Brazil is unbelievably huge. I don't care about the revenue arguments...but soccer is religion over there. That's why they are the best country in the world and have the best players of all time.

Just think of how hated AFL football will be if it is our fault that the World Cup is denied to Australia.

There is a bigger chance that people would turn away from AFL because of our stubborness to compromise than there would be by soccer taking the centre stage for 10 weeks.

I hate soccer, but I remember the last world cup (held in Germany mind you)....and I can't remember talkign to one person who wasn't living every moment.

YOu should've seen Lygon st and Fed Square during the games. Absolutely buzzing.

Imagine having it on our doorstep. Would be the biggest thing to happen to this country since the 1956 Olympics in terms of putting ourselves on a world stage.

Ok, lets take your viewpoint. I too am an AFL tragic who doesn't like soccer. Let's pretend the right thing to do is say "Screw soccer, we are an AFL country". What is that going to do to the AFL's image?

Instead of 1 line responses, give me a proper argument of why your view is the correct one.

More BS scaremongering, more people in Australia follow Aussie Rules than soccer, fact.

More BS scaremongering, fact is more people in Australia follow Aussie Rules than soccer, fact.

More people play soccer than AFL - FACT
AFL doesnt rate a mention in Queensland and NSW - Fact
The AFL will alienate many sports lovers even further in these two northern states if it blocks the bid by not making huge sacrifices - FACT FACT FACT!

Get over yourselves you insular morons! The AFL will not be blocking this bid, if FIFA awards us the tournament the world cup will take over for a few months in 2022...then you can go back to the footy, eat your meat pies and watch your boys run around in improved stadia...simple as that.

More BS scaremongering, fact is more people in Australia follow Aussie Rules than soccer, fact.

yer and your point??? Doesn't mean the 2 codes can't co-exist. Especially considering the AFL would onyl have to step aside for 10 weeks.

Like I said I am a footy fan. I hate the soccer.

But if we had the world cup, I'd be right into it. I loved the last world cup with Australia in it...

It's like all the critics about Tiger Woods and how we shouldn't have paid him to come out. Then we he came out he brought 30M to the Vic economy.

You clearly haven't since you are comparing apples and oranges.

AFL (Aussie rules) in Australia is the AFL (league) and that is all.*

Soccer in Brazil is way more than the local domestic league. There are Brazilian players in overseas leagues, there is the national team which is involved in confederation and international competitions. Brazil is the only nation in the world to have appeared at every World Cup. It's a way of life for 186 million people.

Look at the top 3. AFL and NFL are included. What a surprise, two competitions that don't have an international component. These two competitions are like the World Cup in their respective sports, but the World Cup is bigger than both of them.

Try comparing AFL with the Socceroos, the compare VFL with the A-League. No, it's not an equal comparison, but you can't really compare the two accurately.

* Not counting state leagues etc, the same as a I don't count Brazilian lower leagues, etc.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mickctiger View Post

according to wikipeadia: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of...tal_Attendance

I thought i'd heard it all before, but it gets better ladies and gentlemen IT GETS BETTER. The toothless tiger drunk has delivered the greatest moment in the history of bigfooty!!

so why dont you address the data that was referred to by following the link.
going by the figures put forward at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_sports_attendance_figures#Top_10_in_Total_Attendance

the AFL is clearly the Biggest sporting league in the southern hemisphere

Quote:
Originally Posted by mickctiger View Post

according to wikipeadia: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of...tal_Attendance

I thought i'd heard it all before, but it gets better ladies and gentlemen IT GETS BETTER. The toothless tiger drunk has delivered the greatest moment in the history of bigfooty!!

so why dont you address the data that was referred to by following the link.
going by the figures put forward at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_sports_attendance_figures#Top_10_in_Total_Attendance

the AFL is clearly the Biggest sporting league in the southern hemisphere

One more point.

If the AFL was to cost Australia's world cup bid, where would that leave it with the Federal Government???

Would the governments of all the states and the federal government be willing to assist with stadium upgrades and expansion if the AFL denies them the biggest sporting even in the world?

AFL are too smart for this.

This is why they are seeking compensation and not saying "we will not budge".

At the end of the day, if Australia wins the World Cup, AFL will compromise.

So much misinformation on here!

It's a World Cup. Stadiums are never half empty. Especially in Australia, a popular travelling destination, there will be thousands of fans from every competing nation here, tens of thousands from the bigger ones.

"No rival codes" is not true. It is "no major sporting events", for logistical reasons stated in the Roar article in a previous comment of mine, and there hasn't been a statement as to whether AFL/NRL regular season matches count as a "major sporting event".

Have never BEEN half empty. I don't want us to be the first.

Melbourne will go see any games in force. Australia or big name countries will go okay in Sydney. It is when the tin pot soccer nations play eachother in the dead rubber first round matches outside of Melbourne which I don't have much confidence in us filling out and some third world african country isn't going to come in force to watch them play.

One more point.

If the AFL was to cost Australia's world cup bid, where would that leave it with the Federal Government???

Would the governments of all the states and the federal government be willing to assist with stadium upgrades and expansion if the AFL denies them the biggest sporting even in the world?

AFL are too smart for this.

This is why they are seeking compensation and not saying "we will not budge".

At the end of the day, if Australia wins the World Cup, AFL will compromise.
The AFL will have to compromise before Australia is to get the world cup.

More people play soccer than AFL - FACT
AFL doesnt rate a mention in Queensland and NSW - Fact
The AFL will alienate many sports lovers even further in these two northern states if it blocks the bid by not making huge sacrifices - FACT FACT FACT!

Get over yourselves you insular morons! The AFL will not be blocking this bid, if FIFA awards us the tournament the world cup will take over for a few months in 2022...then you can go back to the footy, eat your meat pies and watch your boys run around in improved stadia...simple as that.

AFL doesn't rate a mention? Well, I've certainly heard and seen a lot of negativity and scaremongering in the Sydney press in recent times about a certain new AFL team to be based in West Sydney.

And it certainly seems you're prone to hyperbole mate.

The AFL will alienate "sports lovers" in QLD and NSW? HELLO!! Have you not heard of the NRL's implacable opposition to the World Cup plans as currently laid out - an even more sever disruption than even the AFL faces.

What has the NRL opposing the World Cup bid as presently laid out got to do with the AFL?? Answer - Nothing.

As for being insular, I hardly think living overseas for over 2 years and visiting 40-50 countries all around the world counts as being insular buddy. Where have you been to make such an ignorant statement?

Are you, in effect, saying that anyone who respects their own local culture is insular? What a bloody moronic line to take.

AFL seeks compensation for World Cup disruption