Recruiting AFL Trade & Free Agency X - Club has elected not to fill list spot - Davey returning from injury?

De Goey with the most clearances on the ground again, Hit the scoreboard again too.

Just put a few clauses in his contract.
No chance he comes to us. He will stay at the Pies.

The issue is not whether we trade Parish for picks or even developing players.

The real concern is that players of any note are consistently linked to Geelong, Richmond, and Collingwood it seems and we don't even rate a mention.
The issue is Dave Barham's ego. He has driven us to this destination both 3 months too late and 6 months too early.

Fox Tv Crying GIF by ScreamQueens

Jon Ralph on Fox Footy last night saying Liam Henry (Freo) is looking at his options after being down the pecking order at Freo.

I hope we are sliding into his managements DMs, exactly the type of forward we need and we can offer him a bigger contract than most.

Jon Ralph on Fox Footy last night saying Liam Henry (Freo) is looking at his options after being down the pecking order at Freo.

I hope we are sliding into his managements DMs, exactly the type of forward we need and we can offer him a bigger contract than most.
I don’t know why he would leave. Going to be a pot opening up from sonny Walters very soon, plus freo like to play 4 or so small forwards so opportunities will come.

You said Parish was a good inside mid.

Ant explain why he's not a good inside mid. He is something else. I say that player is borderline irrelevant.

You said he' s an AA.
He won an AA playing as an inside mid. Do you really think your opinion holds more weight than the all Australian panel?

More weight? No, but it should.

Do I care what the AA panel thinks? No, definitely not. How many good opinions are actually on that panel?

But more importantly, that analysis, as is the case for at least 90% of football analysis in the media, is superficial. The media doesn't scratch the surface of a superficial understanding of the game so there is no one that actually gets to put the coaches and players to the test, in terms of trying to understand what is happening during a game.

We've been playing a game won and lost based on what happens at secondary clearances, and based on pressure applied to the first possession from a stoppage, at least since Hawthorn's 3-peat.

And yet, in terms of midfield play, all we hear about is clearances and, my favourite stat, contested possessions which include loose ball gets and sharking the ball in space from a hit out. The way contested possessions are discussed makes it clear no one actually knows how they are defined.

The hard ball, a subset of contested possessions, is the only thing that counts, the rest is possession accumulation. Possession accumulation, in and of itself is not relevant. The need to move the ball quickly when in possession necessarily means that there is a limit on the functional number of useful possessions. It's immaterial that players accumulated 20 or 30 possessions.

I've been ahead of this game for a long time because I'm an Essendon fan and we play a game made for the stat sheet and the bottom 4 at the same time. Do you see the problem?

Acres now set to join Carlton on what is apparently a pretty modest 3 year deal, not a whiff of Essendon interest.

Dodoro basically assembling the infinity stones for Carlton at this point.

Crazy to think Parish is probably our best top 10 pick in the last 20 years other than Hurls and maybe Hep. The blokes from the last 2 drafts are to early to tell.

His best year came as full time mid in the clubs best year in who knows how long. I think there’s a spot for him in our long term future. Those saying he’s a non impact player are overreacting. It’s just not true: and the only way he’s traded is if he wants to be traded. Not happening

More weight? No, but it should.

Do I care what the AA panel thinks? No, definitely not. How many good opinions are actually on that panel?

But more importantly, that analysis, as is the case for at least 90% of football analysis in the media, is superficial. The media doesn't scratch the surface of a superficial understanding of the game so there is no one that actually gets to put the coaches and players to the test, in terms of trying to understand what is happening during a game.

We've been playing a game won and lost based on what happens at secondary clearances, and based on pressure applied to the first possession from a stoppage, at least since Hawthorn's 3-peat.

And yet, in terms of midfield play, all we hear about is clearances and, my favourite stat, contested possessions which include loose ball gets and sharking the ball in space from a hit out. The way contested possessions are discussed makes it clear no one actually knows how they are defined.

The hard ball, a subset of contested possessions, is the only thing that counts, the rest is possession accumulation. Possession accumulation, in and of itself is not relevant. The need to move the ball quickly when in possession necessarily means that there is a limit on the functional number of useful possessions. It's immaterial that players accumulated 20 or 30 possessions.

I've been ahead of this game for a long time because I'm an Essendon fan and we play a game made for the stat sheet and the bottom 4 at the same time. Do you see the problem?
The AA panel is 80% ex players not “the media”. Putting that aside, he was also top ten in the coaches votes for the year, including multiple games where both coaches gave him the full five votes. Do you also see your analysis as being superior to current AFL coaches? If so plz apply for the Essendon coaching position immediately.

Acres now set to join Carlton on what is apparently a pretty modest 3 year deal, not a whiff of Essendon interest.

Dodoro basically assembling the infinity stones for Carlton at this point.
What would our approach have been to Blake? We can't offer him the chance at playing finals that Carlton can but moreover we can't even give him an explanation of what role he'd be playing in the team next year. We're non-starters in any FA discussion until we sort out the coaching situation.

The AA panel is 80% ex players not “the media”. Putting that aside, he was also top ten in the coaches votes for the year, including multiple games where both coaches gave him the full five votes. Do you also see your analysis as being superior to current AFL coaches? If so plz apply for the Essendon coaching position immediately.

I dont know what to make of coaches votes.

Why do the coaches award best on ground to players they could stop but choose not to?

Honestly, footy is so insular it seems to me most coaches are much to terrified to admit what they are trying to do. It's that or everything comes down to contested possessions which would mean that they are as incompetent as it appears they could be.

When I talk about the media it includes the players. There are very few players and even ex coaches who say anything of value.

For example, I've been listening to Leon Cameron and his complete inability to provide any useful insight into the tactics of the game seems to indicate why his tenure at GWS was characterised by mediocrity.

Really ? AA is not simply right. Every year there are arguments about who should be in or out and who was close. On top of that none of the panel watch one team week in and week out.

M

Mate, if we win a flag and he wins Norm Smith and Brownlow they'll still be arguing that we would have won multiple flags if we traded him.

They are going to die on that hill.

Really ? AA is not simply right. Every year there are arguments about who should be in or out and who was close. On top of that none of the panel watch one team week in and week out.
I’m saying that the fact he won an aa playing inside mid is a pretty good indication that he is a good inside midfielder. Not saying he he doesn’t have any flaws, he clearly does. How many players who make the team aren’t at least very good in their position? What about making top ten in coaches votes?

I dont know what to make of coaches votes.

Why do the coaches award best on ground to players they could stop but choose not to?

Honestly, footy is so insular it seems to me most coaches are much to terrified to admit what they are trying to do. It's that or everything comes down to contested possessions which would mean that they are as incompetent as it appears they could be.

When I talk about the media it includes the players. There are very few players and even ex coaches who say anything of value.

For example, I've been listening to Leon Cameron and his complete inability to provide any useful insight into the tactics of the game seems to indicate why his tenure at GWS was characterised by mediocrity.
Ok, so the reason is all the coaches are incompetent, or they are trying to hide who they really think are the best players by giving players they think are bad the most votes.

I’m saying that the fact he won an aa playing inside mid is a pretty good indication that he is a good inside midfielder. Not saying he he doesn’t have any flaws, he clearly does. How many players who make the team aren’t at least very good in their position? What about making top ten in coaches votes?
That is easy. Personally I have never said he was a bad player or not in our best 3. So going on that you if you are in the best 3 players then you are likely to be in the coaches votes. Would be interesting to see the opposition coach break down. I have explained the rest. At the end of the day you do not want good players as your best. Yes he had a great season last year but nothing he does is totally replaceable. Shiel was just as effective mid season this year when Parish was out and Darcy was well down on what he did last year.
It is about upgrading spots. Top end as well as bottom end. He was rated the = 7th best midfielder in 2021 by the AA selectors.

Ok, so the reason is all the coaches are incompetent, or they are trying to hide who they really think are the best players by giving players they think are bad the most votes.

My hunch is that they go along with the drivel about contested possessions or the contest because they know it gets the job done. It deflects attention from having to say anything remotely sophisticated about a game they say it takes at least 50 hours a week to coach.

I dont understand how you can play a match against an opponent, let that guy run free and the give him best on ground when your team loses, not when you could stop him.

I reckon the match itself is a more significant reflection of what coaches think.

I didn't mention the worst players. I suspect the coaches couldn't give 2 shits about the votes so they check the stat sheet and base voting on that, as the umpires (who cant seem to see 28 of the 36 players on the field) appear to do.

What would our approach have been to Blake? We can't offer him the chance at playing finals that Carlton can but moreover we can't even give him an explanation of what role he'd be playing in the team next year. We're non-starters in any FA discussion until we sort out the coaching situation.

The finals that Carlton missed the past two years and we made last year?

Need to break down the realities and the likelihoods before speculating too far ahead....

We currently have 5 snr list spots following smith, hurley, tippa retirements and cutler, mcdonagh delistings (hird was cat b rookie, not counted in list numbers).

Forgive me if I'm wrong but currently durham, baldwin, Martin, voss, wanganeen, d'ambrosio, waterman and menzie are all currently on the rookie list. (mcbride too as a cat B, not counted in numbers).

In all likelihood rookie list needs to be trimmed by 4 to create 2 spots, this gives a pick to use in the rookie draft and a spot to fill in the supplementary period over summer. So upgrade durham, Martin and d'ambrosio to the snr list. Waterman or menzie to be delisted depending on who we attract in the trade period.

Think we trade or delist francis and ham. Picks in the 50's to 60's are the best we'll do there. Think we delist one of brand or eyre. Takes us back to 5 snr list spots.

In all likelihood we match a bid for davey in the mid teen's. Means we need to maximise pick 22 in a pick trade as I am unable to see anyone out there who would be willing to join us whose value equates to that pick.

As such I think we swap 22 for a couple of later picks in and 40's and 50's and a 2nd rounder next year. Melbourne or geelong (or ideally gold coast who are likely to be in the bottom half of the ladder) come to mind. We'd use our pick 40 and the 2 x pick aquires this year to match for davey.

I'd do a late pick for setterfield. Probably leaving stocker alone. Would consider Howe from Hawthorn as a delisted free agent, he could fill a defensive role in the midfield.

As far a speculation goes unless we're getting a pick in the top 6-7 picks I'm keeping parish even if he wants to leave. Bryan I am keeping as well, unless saints are willing to cough up their 1st round pick with something going back. Ain't gonna happen.

On draft night I am taking Sheezal or cadman if they're available. Otherwise best available. Matching davey in the mid teens. Matching his twin and munkara later on. If we can live trade our future 2nd picks (ours and pick acquired from trading out 22) for something in the mid the late teens I'd do it, otherwise keep them in hand for next year.