BeinPurplenGreen
Freo Football Foci
- Apr 8, 2008
- AFL Club
- Fremantle
- Other Teams
- Fulham/76rsPhilsNovaDrexel/Atalanta
AFLW 2024 - Round 10 - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
How was that for boring Kingy you cretin?
That is the kind of performance we have threatened to have for a while but finally put it together. The main difference being the forwards actually performing and converting.
Sturt was okay but I don't think he was good with ball in hand. He was too slow to make decisions and almost seemed like he thought he would have the time he normally does in the WAFL. Hopefully JLo gives him a run of games to get him up to speed. He can be a major it factor in our forward line if given the chance.
One thing nobody has talked about is us getting stronger after the bye. Cox coming back into the backline is going to be massive.
Ok...seriously Clark, Jackson and Sharp have been our best trade ins in a long time.
Not the standout from today or anything, but this team is noticeably better when Freddy is playing. I assume he was subbed out as a precaution?
The burst of speed he has is so important for us, it’s the icing on the cake for days like today. But in the tough and tight arm wrestle type games, it’s our point of difference. He’s getting more consistency in his game now and we need to keep him fit and playing.
Melbourne v Fremantle
8 Jordan Clark(FRE)PLAYERCARDSTART6Jordan Clark
- Ht
- 185cm
- Wt
- 83kg
- Pos.
- Def
CareerSeasonLast 5
- D
- 4star
- K
- 4star
- HB
- 3star
- M
- 4star
- T
- 4star
- MG
- 3star
- D
- 3star
- K
- 3star
- HB
- 3star
- M
- 4star
- T
- 2star
- MG
- 3star
- D
- 3star
- K
- 4star
- HB
- 2star
- M
- 4star
- T
- 4star
PLAYERCARDEND
5 Josh Treacy (FRE)
5 Hayden Young(FRE)PLAYERCARDSTART26Hayden Young
- Ht
- 189cm
- Wt
- 88kg
- Pos.
- D/M
CareerSeasonLast 5
- D
- 3star
- K
- 3star
- HB
- 3star
- M
- 3star
- T
- 3star
- MG
- 3star
- D
- 3star
- K
- 3star
- HB
- 2star
- M
- 3star
- T
- 2star
- MG
- 3star
- D
- 3star
- K
- 3star
- HB
- 3star
- M
- 4star
- T
- 4star
- MG
- 3star
PLAYERCARDEND
4 Sam Switkowski(FRE)PLAYERCARDSTART39Sam Switkowski
- Ht
- 179cm
- Wt
- 74kg
- Pos.
- Fwd
CareerSeasonLast 5
- D
- 3star
- K
- 2star
- HB
- 4star
- M
- 3star
- T
- 5star
- G
- 3star
No current season stats available
- D
- 4star
- K
- 3star
- HB
- 4star
- M
- 3star
- T
- 5star
- G
- 3star
PLAYERCARDEND
4 Caleb Serong(FRE)PLAYERCARDSTART3Caleb Serong
- Ht
- 180cm
- Wt
- 87kg
- Pos.
- Mid
CareerSeasonLast 5
- D
- 3star
- K
- 3star
- HB
- 4star
- M
- 2star
- T
- 5star
- CL
- 4star
- D
- 3star
- K
- 3star
- HB
- 3star
- M
- 2star
- T
- 4star
- CL
- 4star
- D
- 4star
- K
- 3star
- HB
- 4star
- M
- 2star
- T
- 5star
- CL
- 5star
PLAYERCARDEND
2 Alex Pearce(FRE)PLAYERCARDSTART25Alex Pearce
- Ht
- 201cm
- Wt
- 98kg
- Pos.
- Def
CareerSeasonLast 5
- D
- 3star
- K
- 2star
- HB
- 4star
- M
- 3star
- T
- 4star
- MG
- 2star
No current season stats available
- D
- 3star
- K
- 2star
- HB
- 4star
- M
- 4star
- T
- 3star
- MG
- 2star
PLAYERCARDEND
2 Luke Jackson(FRE)PLAYERCARDSTART9Luke Jackson
- Ht
- 199cm
- Wt
- 102kg
- Pos.
- F/R
CareerSeasonLast 5
- D
- 2star
- K
- 1star
- HB
- 4star
- M
- 2star
- T
- 3star
- G
- 3star
- D
- 2star
- K
- 1star
- HB
- 3star
- M
- 2star
- T
- 2star
- G
- 3star
- D
- 3star
- K
- 2star
- HB
- 4star
- M
- 2star
- T
- 3star
- G
- 3star
PLAYERCARDEND
Either Young or Treacy got a BOG from one coach and nothing from the other. Treacy I reckon. Young got a 2 and a 3 I think.
As much as I enjoyed the game I’m being a bit cautious with the optimism.
1. It’s a wide ground which limits the opposition ability to corral our lateral ball movement.
2. The Dees had a perfect storm day. Reminded me of how GC took the Cats apart in Darwin. The Cats just didn’t show up at all & neither did Melbourne. (Or us against the Eagles).
I believe we’re absolutely on the right track & will play finals but I doubt we will have it all our own way like that again. It does show how our footy is supposed to look but when players like Amiss & Walters who’ve been utterly clamped recently suddenly seem to have acres of space I’m suspicious of how much pressure was actually out there.
Sorry to be that guy!
Got to say Chapman hasn’t exceeded my (and I think most supporters) expectations, I’ve always thought he would be AA quality. Add Amiss to that as well
Goodwin comes across as one of the biggest flogs in football
As much as I enjoyed the game I’m being a bit cautious with the optimism.
1. It’s a wide ground which limits the opposition ability to corral our lateral ball movement.
2. The Dees had a perfect storm day. Reminded me of how GC took the Cats apart in Darwin. The Cats just didn’t show up at all & neither did Melbourne. (Or us against the Eagles).
I believe we’re absolutely on the right track & will play finals but I doubt we will have it all our own way like that again. It does show how our footy is supposed to look but when players like Amiss & Walters who’ve been utterly clamped recently suddenly seem to have acres of space I’m suspicious of how much pressure was actually out there.
Sorry to be that guy!
Don’t disagree with what you’re saying but Treager Park is actually 2m wider than Optus and 9m narrower than the MCG.
yeah for reference the xscore difference on that game had us ahead by about 50, and 'only' by 60 on the weekendI was watching yesterday and noticed at one point, when we were about 80 odd points that we had kicked like 18.7 or something like that. Against the saints we kicked 9.18. That was really a belting much close to this game than any of our other close games we played.
Think it depends on how they play as well. Sturt in particular was impressive with his pressure and ground ball work. Those are usually problem areas for him, but in the last few WAFL games he was doing good in those areas and that translated in the Melbourne game.It should be horses for courses. Having Darcy, Jackson, Amiss, Treacy, Sturt and Banfield all in the line up at 1.89cm+ looks top heavy in the wet IMO.
Ground condition can also play a significant role. Not sure about the MCG is like, but Perth is supposedly a firm surface and their was a lot of talk by the commentators pre game about Treager Park being soggy. Softer ground is harder to run on and would make it more difficult to make up ground or spread.Don’t disagree with what you’re saying but Treager Park is actually 2m wider than Optus and 9m narrower than the MCG.
Only in the eyes if those that have NFIWhile the likes of Logue, Tucker, Hill, Weller, etc have done little at their new clubs.
But every player gets better when they leave Fremantle..............
Good to know. I just kept hearing people talking about the wide open spaces of it so assumed it was unusually wide. Should have known not to take commentators seriously!
I can't ever remember seeing Gawn pushed around like that. Darcy, you are a beast!
I hear what you are saying but unless I’m getting a top 2 or 3 pick I’m not even dreaming of letting petracca go.Carlton core is like 5 years younger, come on. You could argue Pies would be better off with a mini restart and adding picks around Daicos but the big Vic clubs play by entirely different rules.
If it was Essendon, they'd probably give up Perkins. Him and a couple of good picks is pretty nice. Hawks are probably arrogant enough to think they are about to contend. Watson and a couple of 1sts? A contracted Petracca is worth whatever they say and they'd have to work with him to make it work but I'm sure their next flag team doesn't have him, Oliver or Gawn in it (again, keep Gawn though)
The Dawson/McPharlin/Johnson/Duffield/Spurr/Sutcliffe/Mzungu comes close for mine. I would still take McPharlin and Johnson (although Chapman has the potential to go well past) and whilst I would take Pearce on this year's heroics, Dawson was a great shutdown defender. Ryan shades Duffield defensively but a case could be put up that Duffield shades Ryan offensively. Aish over Sutcliffe and Clark will finish better than Mzungu because of his kicking although Mzungu at his best was pretty good both ways.I think it's safe to say Pearce/Cox/Chapman/Ryan/Walker/Aish/Clarke is the best back 7 in club history.