Autopsy Alice is Wonderland

Oliver and Petty for sure. Can’t see them parting with Petracca and Gawn.
Not Gawn but I think they should consider Petracca. You could get a total rebuild haul for him and he seems the type of guy to be up for leaving anyway.

May, Lever and Gawn will keep them from being North while they build

From the bottom of Titus O'Reily's Knee Jerk Reaction today.

1717384716729.png

I dunno, Petracca is the guy who if you trade him it could rip the guts out of the club.

Oliver and Petty would be gone so fast their feet wouldn’t touch the floor.

Adelaide offered two firsts for Petty last year and they turned it down 😂😆
Adelaide were keen on Oliver as well.

I reckon with the season they are having it wouldn’t surprise me if Adelaide go Port style and trade all assets. It will be last throw of the dice for the coach. Not the right call myself.

An obsessed Adelaide mate of mine says they are still very keen on Petty.

I dunno, Petracca is the guy who if you trade him it could rip the guts out of the club.

Oliver and Petty would be gone so fast their feet wouldn’t touch the floor.

Adelaide offered two firsts for Petty last year and they turned it down 😂😆
If they are committed to restarting, losing Petty and Oliver is fine. The kids get put in the middle with Viney and Gawn looking over them and cameos from ANB as a role player.

I said Richmond could be in for a decade of pain, Melbourne could fall out and be royally ****ed with Tassie joining. They aren't winning anything with what they have now, I'm sure of that. But maybe a final or two is OK with what they want

Petracca is probably my favourite non Freo player and I would be disappointed if he left the Dees. Still love the romance of one club players.

In saying that, he looked livid at his teammates yesterday so who knows.

It was easy to see Petracca throw his arms about and show his frustration at his team mates BUT when watching the game again he was regularly jogging and walking and not getting to contests.

You can’t show displeasure in one example and then not lead by example in others. Without reading too much into it, it felt like that’s what happened across the board for them.

No cohesion. They just weren’t on the same page ever. Obviously we played well, but Demons were miles off it collectively.

I can’t even believe we beat them in tackles when we had the ball substantially more than them.

We had a good discussion at the start of the year on Melbourne Dockeroo and in light of yesterday I'll re-pose the question, would you meandre in and around the 8 for a couple of years or would you retool around Windsor and JVR and start again before Tassie join? They could get the absolute world for Petracca and a good bit for Oliver over two years. Then have Viney, Gawn and the role players they have hold the fort for a couple of years
Yes I do recall that debate.
Good question - for me, Im a believer that when you win the premiership with a core of proven elite talent, you reserve the right as a club to double down on that talent pool and squeeze the cloth fully dry on that generation of players before abandoning the group and committing to a rebuild.
Important not to overreact to an isolated result or two.
No way in earth would I trade Petracca if I was Melbourne. He is a generational player you could wait 20 years to see the likes of again.
If there’s anyone being traded it has to be Oliver. He either gets his head in the right place and gets tuned into elite AFL footy or else ship him out.
Petracca has 7 or 8 years of elite footy left in him. He’s a really professional guy off the field.
I don’t see how trading him solves any problems? Gawn - same thing. What are they getting for Gawn? A second round pick? Not worth it.
Can buy an AFL average ruck to replace him anytime when he retires without committing to a rebuild.

I’d be looking at the head coach a lot more closely than any talk of rebuilding. Does he have this group playing at peak performance? I’d say no.
Why is that?

I often think of the Last Dance in Basketball - the Bulls won 3 in a row and were deliberately dismantled in 1998.
They have been a lottery side most of the time since and almost also rans. That wasn’t the right decision in hindsight.

If they are committed to restarting, losing Petty and Oliver is fine. The kids get put in the middle with Viney and Gawn looking over them and cameos from ANB as a role player.

I said Richmond could be in for a decade of pain, Melbourne could fall out and be royally ****ed with Tassie joining. They aren't winning anything with what they have now, I'm sure of that. But maybe a final or two is OK with what they want
repeat the 2007-2017 experience all over again

View attachment 2009476

i've never spoken ill of squiggle
Hmm i jsut found that Squiggle site and clicked AUTO TIP

Looks pretty realistic if we win the games we should win and dont lose those crazy games we shouldnt.

A couple of bonus wins and who knows how high we can go on ladder.

WLD%
1.Sydney1850145.5%
2.Carlton1580118.7%
3.Geelong1580106.6%
4.Collingwood1472103.8%
5.Fremantle1481118.7%
6.Essendon1481100.7%
7.Western Bulldogs1490118.7%
8.GWS13100109.6%
9.Melbourne13100106.4%
10.Port Adelaide1211099.8%
11.Brisbane Lions11111116.1%
12.Gold Coast11120104.9%
13.Adelaide10121102.9%
14.Hawthorn1013094.1%
15.St Kilda914089.2%
16.West Coast716076.5%
17.Richmond221066.5%
18.North Melbourne221060.3%

Yes I do recall that debate.
Good question - for me, Im a believer that when you win the premiership with a core of proven elite talent, you reserve the right as a club to double down on that talent pool and squeeze the cloth fully dry on that generation of players before abandoning the group and committing to a rebuild.
Important not to overreact to an isolated result or two.
No way in earth would I trade Petracca if I was Melbourne. He is a generational player you could wait 20 years to see the likes of again.
If there’s anyone being traded it has to be Oliver. He either gets his head in the right place and gets tuned into elite AFL footy or else ship him out.
Petracca has 7 or 8 years of elite footy left in him. He’s a really professional guy off the field.
I don’t see how trading him solves any problems? Gawn - same thing. What are they getting for Gawn? A second round pick? Not worth it.
Can buy an AFL average ruck to replace him anytime when he retires without committing to a rebuild.

I’d be looking at the head coach a lot more closely than any talk of rebuilding. Does he have this group playing at peak performance? I’d say no.
Why is that?

I often think of the Last Dance in Basketball - the Bulls won 3 in a row and were deliberately dismantled in 1998.
They have been a lottery side most of the time since and almost also rans. That wasn’t the right decision in hindsight.
I'm not moving Gawn, he's the perfect player to keep and lead the way so you don't end up like North. Do you think they can win another flag with this group? If not quite Judd, Petracca is someone you can get a team to hand over proven young talent AND picks. I also query how good the back of thise 7-8 years would be given Fyfe and Dusty outputs at 33.

If the plan is to win a flag 2 years of pain now could save them 10 years of pain down the road

on afl.com.au Matthew Lloyd et al discussed what a rabble Melbourne were and expressed there may be internal issues. They showed May and another player having a go at each other following the Amiss ‘mark’. I noticed our players go straight to Walker to congratulate him and to see if he was ok after copping a blow to the ribs. He got going straight away. When May got a blow to the ribs he looked like he was in serious pain and it was like nobody cared. Our boys are playing for each other and back each other, even when we sometimes don’t .

Defensive pressure was huge, played like our lives depended on every contest until we got to 100 points up, can forgive the boys for the last 5 mins, they were absolutely spent.
I think our forward pressue was enormous. That is where we began to get on top. Switta Sturt, Amiss, Treacy, were on fire from the outset. Haven't seen that pressure from our forwards for many years.

Claimed my first Big Mac from a win today! It’s my first Big Mac ever lol
Maccas and The RAG fit into the same class.
Haven't bought eithef for at least 15 years and will never buy either.

I'm not sure I agree with this sort of talk. The core of your team is going to be built from 4 drafts maximum unless it's a double rebuild (Melbourne and Brisbane) or us (1.5 rebuilds). When are the Tasmanians draft concessions going to kick in? The assumed talk is 2027?. Even if they get something that hasn't been floated yet, like priority access to Tasmanian 16 year olds in 2026, or even 15 years olds in 2025, that still makes for 3 full uncompromised or barely comprised drafts between now and then. Plenty of time for someone to complete their rebuild even if they are starting now. West Coast, Richmond, even Melbourne if they start now will be fine.
I'll agree it gives you no room for error. We'd have been stuffed if in returning to the well in 2019 (and 2020 and 21 to a lesser extent) half the picks we taken by a Tassie team starting in 2020.

Its 2025/6 you don't suddenly want to find yourself beginning a rebuild.

Autopsy Alice is Wonderland