Mega Thread All Australian Watch: 2011 Cont'd...

Grundy has been good.

Bit off yesterday agaisnt Reiwvoldt and Vickery.

Macpharlin is the simply the standout Key back in the game right now.

Murdering his opponents in the air, then rebounding on the ground.

Buddy took a week off in fear of the menacing vegan.

B: Heath Shaw-----Luke Mcpharlin----Sam Fisher
HB: Brett Deledio--Michael Jamison--James Kelly
C: Dale Thomas---Scott Pendlebury---Joel Selwood
R: Dean Cox--------Chriss Judd--------Marc Murphy
HF: Nat Fyfe-------Travis Cloke------Steve Johnson
F: Jack Reiwoldt----Lance Franklin-----Jeffrey Garlett
I: Jobe Watson-Gary Ablett Jnr-Aaron Sandilands-Heath Scotland

Defenders close: Ben Reid, Corey Enright, Matthew Scarlett, Jed Adcock, Matthew Suckling

Midfielders/rucks close: Todd Goldstein:, Dane Swan, Matthew Boyd, Andrew Swallow, Sam Mitchell, Scott Thompson, Jude Bolton, Daniel Wells, David Mundy, Brent Maloney

Forwards close: Josh Kennedy, Andrew Walker, Andrew Embley, Dustin Martin, Ryan Okeefe
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Selection is starting to take shape, backline is near set bar deledio others may overtake him, i rate him much higher then others do. I see Ben Reid really pushing for selection, Jamision ahead of him though at CHB position, however if he slips up Reid will be waiting, imagine if Leon davis earned a 2nd AA jersey? it is possible in really good form. but unlikely.
Pendlebury, Judd, Murphy, Cox all locks. dale Thomas should still make it unless a major fade out. Selwood position is in jepordy with his 3 week suspension. dont think hes been dominant will need a dominant end to the season to make the team. I reckon Swan or Ablett or Watson will overtake him though.
Forward line is the hardest. Cloke today sees himself firming his position as CHF. Buddy is the only lock in the forward line. Stevie J has finally swayed me, dominated for a good month now. Fyfe very deserving of his spot. Kennedy really stiff. Walker close.
Ablett is killing it in now for mine, Jobe Watson needs to come good soon or he will lose his spot.
Scotland for mine has been great this season, sneaks in on the bench for mine.

I don't think Reid is anywhere near it, IMHO. Coming on nicely but assuming only 2 key backs in the team he is not one of them to this stage of the year. Jamison, McPharlin. Neither Grundy although both have been good.

For Geelong update:
Bartel was killing it early but has been quieter/playing a different role. Still good but others have passed him at this stage.

Stevie J is a massive chance, been killing it.

Selwood is a chance but has been down a bit and will now miss 3 games as well.

If the team was named tomorrow Kelly should be in it. Has probably been our best this year.

Enright has quietened down a bit but still good. HB/BP could be anyone really.

Scarlett always a show. Ottens has been great but not going to make AA unless the 2 WA rucks get injured.

For us if I had to put money on it, Stevie J and James Kelly. But half a year to go.....

Cloke destroying Rivers at the moment. So I'll go:

CHF: Travis Cloke
FF: Lance Franklin

Riewoldt/Kennedy for a pocket.

I agree with that. Jack has not been in great form for most of the year and I think his number of goals his kicked are getting him into peoples AA teams. At this point I would have Franklin and Cloke ahead with Kennedy about on par with Jack. If he starts to hit better form he will no doubt make the team but I think he needs to influence more games like last year to be strongly considered. At this point it is really only 1 out of 3 games he is at AA level in.

One that should make it for Richmond if his performances keep up is Deledio. He has been better then last year and was unlucky not to get a spot then. He really does set up a lot of the offensive passages and his defensive game has improved this year. Plus when put onto a star he is able to reduce their impact significantly.

Colin Sylvia, anyone?

Excluding the Essendon game where he was injured and subbed off early he's averaging 22.6 disposals, 5 marks, 5.8 tackles and 1.3 goals per game.

Not world-beating form but he's been fantastic this year.

I don't think Reid is anywhere near it, IMHO. Coming on nicely but assuming only 2 key backs in the team he is not one of them to this stage of the year.

That's pretty harsh. He is the key back of the best defence in the league. I'm happy with McPharlin and Jamison being the two in the team, but Reid's got to be a squad consideration, and he's got 11 more games to force his way in to the 22.

Did Reid play on Watts today?

Reid leads most key defenders in every statistical category (excluding McPharlin), hasn't been beaten this year and plays in the best defence in the game - he is certainly under consideration.

Plays on the big forwards, outmarks them, outruns them and has a rocket left foot that launches plenty of attacks.

Reid leads most key defenders in every statistical category (excluding McPharlin), hasn't been beaten this year and plays in the best defence in the game - he is certainly under consideration.

Plays on the big forwards, outmarks them, outruns them and has a rocket left foot that launches plenty of attacks.

Yep, agreed. He is turning into an incredible backman.
Also don't write Leon Davis off for a spot in the BP/HBF. His last month or so of football has been huge for us. He shouldn't figure in many sides currently but if he continues playing this well he could very well be in there.

Reid has had 12 goals kicked on him in 11 games for a KP player that is a very good number..Not sure how it stacks up against others but i think they will have a look at him, he had 0 kicked on him today.

Just putting this out there, but Collingwood has conceded 736 points over 11 games this season. Not even taking into account the fact that some of this would be from players kicking points, that is 66.9 points per game, or 11 goals. Any full back could concede so few goals, when he can be swapped over with another good defender in Tarrant, if he looks like getting beaten, has a third man up most times in Maxwell (or others), and is in the team that has conceded the least points per game.

I don't think you can rely on goals conceded per game too heavily.

Leon Davis in the best again... (i would have had him 3rd behind Wellingham and Cloke) Thats 5 in a row.... Played some midfield today due to being a couple down but 27 disposals (10 contested) isn't too shabby...

Just putting this out there, but Collingwood has conceded 736 points over 11 games this season. Not even taking into account the fact that some of this would be from players kicking points, that is 66.9 points per game, or 11 goals. Any full back could concede so few goals, when he can be swapped over with another good defender in Tarrant, if he looks like getting beaten, has a third man up most times in Maxwell (or others), and is in the team that has conceded the least points per game.

I don't think you can rely on goals conceded per game too heavily.

Am I reading this correctly in that your marking a guy down because he's part of the best defence in the league?? By that reckoning Bock should be a lock for AA considering he's probably only conceded 20 odd goals max for the year yet his team has allows 22 per game.

I'm definitely not saying that Reid should be in the team because quite frankly IMO he's behind the likes of McPharlin, Jamison, Taylor and Scarlett. But the logic you used to put him behind those players is completely flawed as him conceding so few goals is a major contributing factor to us having the stingiest defence in the league!

Am I reading this correctly in that your marking a guy down because he's part of the best defence in the league?? By that reckoning Bock should be a lock for AA considering he's probably only conceded 20 odd goals max for the year yet his team has allows 22 per game.

I'm definitely not saying that Reid should be in the team because quite frankly IMO he's behind the likes of McPharlin, Jamison, Taylor and Scarlett. But the logic you used to put him behind those players is completely flawed as him conceding so few goals is a major contributing factor to us having the stingiest defence in the league!

I'm saying that goals conceded is a flawed stat, because it doesn't take into account whether you concede goals to someone other than your man, and doesn't take into account the fact that defence starts way before the ball actually hits the defenders.

Take Reid out of Collingwood, and put him at Port, or Gold Coast, and all of a sudden, it wouldn't be his goals conceded which people are boasting about. Personally, i'd be more interested in a stat along the lines of one-on-one contests won.

But i suppose it matters little, because as you said Reid probably won't make AA this year. I was commenting more on the theory that fewer goals conceded makes you a better defender. Just for the record, Shoenmakers has conceded just 1 goal in three games, yet he is still behind Stratton, Gilham and Gibson as our best defender.

Why ?

Honestly thinking your overating him, he is surrounded by class players that are making him look good.

Darren Glass has been better than him and had even less goals kicked on him, and I dont think he's in AA contention.

Would rather Scarlett than Reid at this stage, even though he plays the third man role to perfection these days.

Thommo42 the big Q had a good game against collingwood one of our best in that thrashing and Reid played on him.

Pretty sure Glass's numbers are much more impressive in regards to goals conceded. Mind you he's no good offensively.

Thommo42 the big Q had a good game against collingwood one of our best in that thrashing and Reid played on him.

Ben Reid was 2nd BOG for us behind Thomas in that game!

I don't rate the goals conceded stats either, I reckon Josh Gibson was a chance before being thrashed by Pods and he had heaps kicked on him, as had Merrett. It's just the stat that the Jamo fanboys use, so someone dragged out the stat for Reid - which seems to be similar. To go with his more marks, kicks, handballs, rebounds and i50's ;)

Wouldn't have either Reid or Jamison in myself. McPharlin the standout, with Fisher the other tall defender. Scarlett next for me.

I don't rate the goals conceded stats either, I reckon Josh Gibson was a chance before being thrashed by Pods and he had heaps kicked on him, as had Merrett. It's just the stat that the Jamo fanboys use, so someone dragged out the stat for Reid - which seems to be similar. To go with his more marks, kicks, handballs, rebounds and i50's ;)

How does one measure how key backs are performing????

Why ?

Honestly thinking your overating him, he is surrounded by class players that are making him look good.
Complete crap. The same argument is used for each and every one of our defenders. None of them are good, they're only good because of the good players surrounding them.

Reid is a good player in his own right.

How does one measure how key backs are performing????

by watching them play.

One of the most important skills these days is intercept marking and being prepared to leave your man to take a grab, or help a teammate. This is why I reckon McPharlin and Fisher are the standouts. They beat opponents, also help teammates as third man up, take heaps of intercept marks and offer excellent rebound.

I'm saying that goals conceded is a flawed stat, because it doesn't take into account whether you concede goals to someone other than your man, and doesn't take into account the fact that defence starts way before the ball actually hits the defenders.

Take Reid out of Collingwood, and put him at Port, or Gold Coast, and all of a sudden, it wouldn't be his goals conceded which people are boasting about. Personally, i'd be more interested in a stat along the lines of one-on-one contests won.

He's right up there for one on one's won considering the amount of marks he takes from opposition kicks and the fact that he most often get's the oppositions number one key forward due to the flexibility Tarrant offers (the last three weeks Tarrant's gone to Kennedy, Milne and Green).

I think goals conceded depends on the player you play on and how you go about it. For a guy that most often goes man to man in the defensive half against the best KPF's (like Reid or Merrett do) that statistic means a lot. Whereas for a bloke who looks to zone off and get a secondary opponent like Scarlett and Fletcher do it may not be a great measure.

Another good statistic to measure would be score involvements from the back half and due to Reid's kicking he'd have a part in a large number of scores of the backline for us (similar to Suckling at the Hawks). I'd suggest as a percentage it wouldn't be as high as Scarlett's but it would be up their when compared to other KPD's.

Also spoils which is one of the main reason's Merrett was so high up in calculations, the man's a freak when it comes to spoiling yet I wouldn't be able to tell you where Reid rates with them.

Ben Reid was 2nd BOG for us behind Thomas in that game!

Jamison's conceded something like 5 goals this year.

Disposals is a horrible measure of a KPD. Easiest thing in the world to get an uncontested mark in the backline. Not saying Reid's done that but Jamison would one of the most attacking KPDs in the game at the moment. His ability to outmark his opponent, be it through strength or speed, has been phenomenal. He's not afraid to run with the footy and kick long when he does win, hence his 7 bounces thus far (compared to Reid's one).

Jamison's conceded something like 5 goals this year.

Disposals is a horrible measure of a KPD. Easiest thing in the world to get an uncontested mark in the backline. Not saying Reid's done that but Jamison would one of the most attacking KPDs in the game at the moment. His ability to outmark his opponent, be it through strength or speed, has been phenomenal. He's not afraid to run with the footy and kick long when he does win, hence his 7 bounces thus far (compared to Reid's one).

No point talking up Jamo with this guy. Apparently he ran over his dog, shagged his girlfriend and looked at him funny at the local Coles.