Anthony Albanese - How long? -2-

When did the ALP last form government without Green (and, more recently, Teal) preferences?

The Nats are, for all intents and purposes, country Libs.

I'm sure you're trying to make a valid point here. It's just that you've failed spectacularly to do so.
The point is the Liberals have never been able to form govt without a partner, kinda cucked imo. Liberal and National interests diverge quite a lot, they do own the media though so it's not played up much

So you don't agree with preferential voting? Fair enough but it's a different argument to the one you replied to.
Do you actually follow the how to vote cards? I don't know anyone that does

I don't think Dutton as PM is realistic. But Albanese is definitely unwilling to lead the country. I'll bet significantly on a hung parliament for the next term. People are rightfully sick of Albanese and Dutton who are both fighting to see who can be the most useless.
Because gambling is enjoyable without being harmful to some people. Why should those who enjoy it need to be deprived because of those who cannot control themselves?

If we ban everything with a dopamine trigger there won't be a lot left to advertise.

Maybe we ban sex because some enjoy it and others can't control themselves?
Hmmmmmm, correlation here lol

Nah I agree with your defence of gambling, It's one of our few cultural icons. Just thought this was funny

I'll take you up on the hung parliament though, odds? Albo increased majority for mine

When did the ALP last form government without Green (and, more recently, Teal) preferences?

The Nats are, for all intents and purposes, country Libs.

I'm sure you're trying to make a valid point here. It's just that you've failed spectacularly to do so.

Because gambling is enjoyable without being harmful to some people. Why should those who enjoy it need to be deprived because of those who cannot control themselves?

If we ban everything with a dopamine trigger there won't be a lot left to advertise.

Nobody wants to ban gambling, just it's advertising. People still enjoy a Winfield 25s just like Hoges did and they haven't seen a cigarette ad in a generation.

Because gambling is enjoyable without being harmful to some people.
What's that got to do with advertising
Why should those who enjoy it need to be deprived because of those who cannot control themselves?
Gambling is built off targeting those that can't control themselves while pretending it's just a bit of fun for the lads
There's no need to let them advertise
Boo hoo less advertising isn't a bad thing
Do you work in marketing at sportsbet because you don't normally rant off tangent like this

i like racing and betting on footy. anyone who wants to bet on those things can and should be able to.

the advertising on tv and radio is unnecessary and nauseating.

your analogy is bad also - no one is banning gambling, just the advertising of it.

a better analogy would be pr0n. why don’t we have the hub advertising on prime time tv. jerk responsibly.

Nobody wants to ban gambling, just it's advertising. People still enjoy a Winfield 25s just like Hoges did and they haven't seen a cigarette ad in a generation.
I love a punt as much as everybody else, but f*** me the level of advertising is absolutely absurd... And dangerous!

My 8 year old daughter said to me "I bet you a dollar that xxx..." last night. Spent the next 30 minutes explaining that gambling is only for adults and can be harmful in some situations.

Then Big Bad Bill gets up on Q&A last night and bemoans that banning gambling ads will be the death of FTA TV... I'm not not holding out any hope for meaningful change.

Yep, no one is saying ban gambling, but that doesn't mean they are entitled to promote it as a harmless bit of fun either. Given the scale of harm it can cause, I frankly appreciate WA's legal but regulated approach. No pokies in pubs, just the one casino, but damn, the amount of advertising for online gambling foisted on people is beyond the pale.

The "advertising dressed as entertainment" needs to be looked at too. The Fox Sports channels have a number of "programs" with innocent sounding names "e.g. In the Back Pocket" that are just long form gambling ads. These need to go.

Same for working it into podcasts. I quite enjoy "We got the Chocolates" but the long-form ads for their gambling sponsor are infuriating and never called out as being ads, just work the sponsors name into a conversation.

It is absolutely insidious.

meanwhile Chris "Anzac Day is about respect" Minns is making sure you can play the pokies on Anzac day

but yeah the gambling lobby isn't a problem....

A point of clarification. Lots of people want to ban gambling - or more particular SOME forms of gambling such as pokies, including politicians.

Remember this guy? You probably went to uni with him. (didn't have too much success in achieving his no pokies goals though).

1723534593698.png

But yep - the advertising of gambling in all forms is what is the target for most. Especially the grip it has over professional broadcast sports in all its forms and its impact in grooming the young and vulnerable.

1723534847819.png

A point of clarification. Lots of people want to ban gambling - or more particular SOME forms of gambling such as pokies, including politicians.

Remember this guy? You probably went to uni with him. (didn't have too much success in achieving his no pokies goals though).

View attachment 2078225

And just like tobacco, there is a heap of studies showing the harm done by pokies.

But yep - the advertising of gambling in all forms is what is the taget for most. Especially sports advertising and its impact in grooming the young and vulnerable.

View attachment 2078226
I was at high school when the Grand Prix first came to town and the half the kids were walking round with stickers flogging Marlboro on their school bags that were handed out as McLaren or Ferrari freebies.

View attachment 2078231
That isn't a good reason Bill you flog
There's a nuanced discussion to be had around what value free-to-air TV delivers in terms of local content and stories, and how much of it is their own fault for not reading the writing on the wall or being able to adapt. But gambling ads have no place in that discussion, it's a separate issue. Might as well argue for tobacco and pr0n advertising, I'm sure that would boost their coffers too.

I'm not sure they didn't see it. A friend of the family retired very senior in the ABC and I remember talking to him as far back as the mid 90s and being told that the future would be my own personal channel where I would choose the content which hasn't proven to be wide of the mark.

Exactly

Anthony Albanese - How long? -2-