B Section 2010 - Part 2

Another Cryptic for the unwilling one Bwian. Taller than Tom but definitely not as wide? Other posters should ignore. PS Did not say I knew you well - spoke about the umpires on the day!

THE EYE
:confused:
Brown VAFAEYE, who cares who you are?????????????????????????? Gee, you spoke about umpires on a day at the footy, well you and Brian are very unique!!!
Can anyone answer the million $$$ question, is Scribe in fact going tho the Maldives for 4 weeks?

Boys and girls(?), whats up with these times posted on the posts, a bit weird...
Mr Leader, are OI that bad that you had to rely on HR winning? If so is there any point in us playing this week? Blacks look to be full strength.

RJ69 obviously you weren't a "breast" of the "position" of B Grade.

OI had to win whilst maintaining a margin of 60 points over Uni Blacks. We thought we were safe, but unfortunately Oak ran out of steam 4 weeks ago.

So even after winning on Saturday, without the contribution of HR, we would have missed out on finals by 0.07% or 1 behind.

Its got nothing to do with being good enough, it came down to the closeness of the competition.

We will be putting out best foot forward on Saturday, regardless of who plays.

Max out. (gotta love Gardening Leave)

Brown VAFAEYE, who cares who you are?????????????????????????? Gee, you spoke about umpires on a day at the footy, well you and Brian are very unique!!!
Can anyone answer the million $$$ question, is Scribe in fact going tho the Maldives for 4 weeks?

Nup - it was part of my sarcastic response. No trips planned for September.
Cheers to those who have weighed in on the issue, I am grateful for the support as a volunteer contributor. Reckon the VAFA Eye could be a former A Section key defender with links to De La and SKOB. Blind guess though. Obviously not a fan of Brian. Wonder why?

Hello there B sectioners - now I have just read with interest this little spat between Briza and my old Fitzroy mate the Scribe.

A couple of points from someone who knows them well and considers both a personal friend:

1. Briza is a bandwagon jumper who flits between his two clubs depending on who is travelling better but in his defence he does see either A or B section every week and has some idea of the players running around

2. Scribe has never let the truth get in the way of a good story (I think my mortal enemies down at Brindisi St are still unhappy with the story Scribe wrote post the C section GF in 06 that was full of errors because he wasn't there) In his defence it is a thankless task and unless you are a supreme being such as myself you can't please everyone.

Remember - the Fitzroy machine is already sparking up for season 2011, big recruits are coming and nothing short of a premiership will be tolerated !

That is all

The Great One

Fitzy is employed by the Ammos and does not play for Fitzroy. Hardly a fair comparison. May even be single and have time on his hands. (Go ladies!).

Fitzgerald is there less than a PT position. It's good to see him amongst the after match festivities too amongst A Grade clubs.

I'm sure there would be a host of people, who actually attend B Section matches to actually write reports in the Record. I don't know this Fraser Cameron fellow but his reports are a much poorer relation of Fitzgerald. B Section from results, looked like a more interesting competition than A Section this year but you wouldn't know reading the drab reports on it.

Fitzgerald is there less than a PT position. It's good to see him amongst the after match festivities too amongst A Grade clubs.

I'm sure there would be a host of people, who actually attend B Section matches to actually write reports in the Record. I don't know this Fraser Cameron fellow but his reports are a much poorer relation of Fitzgerald. B Section from results, looked like a more interesting competition than A Section this year but you wouldn't know reading the drab reports on it.
Seriously Brain Spanking, Panther et all, get off your high horses. Scribes(no pun intended) with one exception, are voluntary. They are all already heavily involved in their own clubs, and are doing it through their love of amateur football. I am actually a little surprised BS, as your passion for your SKOBS and Tiges show a love for the game that i think should lend you some respect for the Scribes of this world.
Most of you are more than happy to criticize, but, I imagine, less than willing to send in reports yourself, let alone get off your collective rears' and offer to write. I find Fraser's reports informative, well written, and sometimes, amusing.

Who do you think are the top 5 players that has performed well from Premier B at the end of the home & away season?

Here are my top 5:

1. B.Voss (OH)
2. J. Rowe (OC)
3. G.Carr (HR)
4. M.Coughlan (StK)
5. L.Mcqueen-Miscamble (OC)

Most of you are missing the point, I am not bagging anyone, not even Scribe, I am taking umbrage at the fact that you can not be any sort of authority on Premier B football if you have not seen ONE GAME this year. I cant make it any simpler than that.

Horn, have you turned face?

Stand by by for my Under 19 North 2 team of the year, shit, I may even do a Central Murray team of the year too.

Jase, Carr? You are kidding, G Martyn is a better player and neither are top 5 IMO let alone Carr at 3.

Nah, you are missing the point mate, Scribe is an aggegator not an authority.

I've tried to find out what this means but it has me stumped. :confused:

I simply gather as much information as I can by Monday evening each week, compile it, collate it, tweak it, interpret it try to link it together with some witty bits and pieces to form an entertaining review of the previous week and something worth reading for those who get a copy of our weekly record.

I don't believe I've ever held myself out as an authority. However just because one person thinks it silly that I be charged with the duty of selecting a TOTY to be printed in my column doesn't mean I'm about to turn around and tell the Ammos I'm not going to submit a team. They have asked me to do it, and therefore I will.

This will simply be an extension of what I've done each week this year to compile the column - gather whatever information I can, from as many sources, including club correspondents, and then present a finished product.

By all means Brian, pick your team. You have every right to do so, as do I. It's just that I'm required to do one and it will end up in the AF, whereas yours will end up here.

If you have some problems with that, I can't help you, and I'm not about to not pick a TOTY just because you think I shouldn't.

Mr Speaking... Pinto played 6 games.... How many games did you see??? Not sure that would qualify for Toty!! As for Carr, pretty consistant year...might add to his four b&f's!!

Good morning chaps, Ryeboy, I saw Pinto play 3 games and he was 'elite'.

Anyway, that will do me for a few days, Im off for a kayak up to Beauy, ripper morning for it.

Cheerio

Interesting conversations going on, but for me it is good to read and that's about it.

For me Stuart Low (OI) is a must for the TOTY. I know I am biased towards OI, but i'm not sure if he was always as good as he has been this year, or if not playing and watching from the other side of the fence has given me a different perspective. Throw in Owen and Greer for good measure.

Interested in people's thoughts about the 4 week finals structure. For me it should be over three weeks (both Semi's, Prelim then GF). I think that two weeks off over four is too many for the winner of the 2nd Semi.

From experience in 2001 & 2005 I believe that we had an advantage of De La Salle by losing the 2nd Semi and playing the three finals in three weeks. I think that you lose your edge a little not playing, playing, not playing, playing.

Hello there B sectioners - now I have just read with interest this little spat between Briza and my old Fitzroy mate the Scribe.

A couple of points from someone who knows them well and considers both a personal friend:

1. Briza is a bandwagon jumper who flits between his two clubs depending on who is travelling better but in his defence he does see either A or B section every week and has some idea of the players running around

2. Scribe has never let the truth get in the way of a good story (I think my mortal enemies down at Brindisi St are still unhappy with the story Scribe wrote post the C section GF in 06 that was full of errors because he wasn't there) In his defence it is a thankless task and unless you are a supreme being such as myself you can't please everyone.

Remember - the Fitzroy machine is already sparking up for season 2011, big recruits are coming and nothing short of a premiership will be tolerated !

That is all

The Great One

It was a shocker!!

At the risk of copping a spray I ask this question mainly directed towards Brian. How many people go to games that dont involve their own club? It seems to me that you are not a regular at SKEVS. I couldnt imagine going to watch another game of VAFA footy if the magenta and black were running around at the same time. Supporting at the ground is part of being a loyal supporter I would have thought. Watching other clubs provides no interest for me and I dont know of any OH supporters who go and watch other VAFA footy but maybe I'm wrong
Keep up the good work Fraser - your report each week can only involve 1 game anyway so whats the big deal if you report on 3 you didnt see or 4.
Good luck to the 2 sides on Saturday.

At the risk of copping a spray I ask this question mainly directed towards Brian. How many people go to games that dont involve their own club? It seems to me that you are not a regular at SKEVS. I couldnt imagine going to watch another game of VAFA footy if the magenta and black were running around at the same time. Supporting at the ground is part of being a loyal supporter I would have thought. Watching other clubs provides no interest for me and I dont know of any OH supporters who go and watch other VAFA footy but maybe I'm wrong
Keep up the good work Fraser - your report each week can only involve 1 game anyway so whats the big deal if you report on 3 you didnt see or 4.
Good luck to the 2 sides on Saturday.

Good luck to all involved this Saturday.

The top four teams proved themselves the cream of the crop - winning a combined 22 out of the last 24 games (Rounds 13 to 18) - the only losses to each other (OI beat OH by a kick when Butler had a day out and UB held off OI and a monster wind to secure an 8 pt win).

For the other contenders, injury and absences took their toll as St Kevins lost their last 3, Oakleigh 5 out of their last 6, St Bernards -their last four and Hampton 5 out of their last 6 (Max L said to say thanks HR for winning the one that counted).

OOB

Video highlights from the Rovers win on Saturday: www.hamptonrovers.com.au/hrtv

Good luck to the four teams in the finals. Old Carey to win it. Their opponent in the GF, I really cannot decide. Haileybury in the box seat obviously but all three are in with a shot.

Could Uni Blacks win the premiership from third and upset Old Carey in the grand final? While it might be OC v OH at the Premier B decider on 18th September, don't be surprised to see Uni Blacks in the grand final.

Scribe

Your record speaks for itself. You have no need to justify it here. Particularly to CC/GOI/SOCA/Letterman...... who chimes in with the forum wrecking ball every time there's a sniff of dissension. He's a TROLL and as the link says:
Remember, trolls feel rewarded by creating the biggest altercation possible. They want to get a reaction out of you. When you fight with a troll, he wins. When you reason with a troll, he wins. Any time that you give a troll attention, he gets exactly what he wants.
The highly credentialled independent assessor has been delighted with the informative, affable footy toing and froing and wonders why Brian Speaking feels the need to personally rip into you every so often, thereby giving the forum wrecker the opportunity to ply his trade.

Well done to the other forum regulars, particularly Max Leader,Plumber49, Uncle Mick, Jascave and newbie Destination A Grade for ignoring the wrecker and maintaining a high level of discussion.

Play on!

Look out Watchful, here it comes again....BANG!!!

Any chance of you actually contributing anything Mr V????

On behalf of CC who is out cracking the "I TOLD YOU SO" CHAMPAGNE he would like to re-post these 2 very pertinent (especially after today) posts from last year.

I doubt any fair-dinkum coach who gave their input and expression of interest in last year will be bothered applying for the job after the disrespectful way it was all handled. and then to appoint a guy who couldn't coach in the end.

Also BS you stated HR will be ok with their strong juniors...WRONG!.
Just ask any Junior Rover people down there, the teams have been decimated by the Brighton Beach juniors with some 7-8 HR Junior teams either folding or unable to get a side going.

What a joke of a club.

Bye

12 Oct 2009, 16:00 #444
Cardio Carl

Re: B Section 2009 - Part 2
What a joke the HR coaching process seemed to be.

Invited applicants to apply before 29th September however in the meantime alledgedy offered the job to Heath who declined due to G&C issues and then appointed Robbins as their 2nd choice.

In the meantime a few guys that applied IN GOOD FAITH failed to get an interview, let alone a response.

The guys running it should realise that whilst the interview process identifes the best candidate, it also provides the club with a great way to gain valuable information from external parties in regard to the club, game style etc and how what they can do to improve the club.

By not going through with the interview process was not only disrespectfu to the applicants but was a great diservice to the club as it did not alow the club to gain some vauable knowledge.

Cardio Carl

Re: B Section 2009 - Part 2

One of the best Presidents I played under had a great philosophy when appointing a coach for the club. He said Carl, "always remember the three 'Due's' and then you know you have done the best by the club and the applicants".

"One of the biggest jobs a President and Committee undertake is the appointment of a new coach, do it right. If you get it wrong then any aggrieved internal or external people will come at ya when the team is underperforming. Don't give them the ammunition"

Due Diligence: If your going to advertise the position and put together a selection committee (volunteers that have given up their off-season time) then make sure they understand the process and you go through it from start to finish

Undue Influence: Never place any undue influence on the club or the applicant. If one or both parties tries to influence the other then it will only end in tears. If the applicant wants & has the desire to coach our club, then they will be there at the start of the process right through to the end of it regardless.

Due Respect: Always give Due respect to each and every applicant who has taken the time to build their CV and apply. Sure, most will not be acceptable however you can glean so much from their External Knowledge about the game and our club. But the key is that we will have to advertise for coaches one day again, so if you just have no respect for any applicant not only will they never re-apply, but they go back into the footy community with a bad taste for your club and are prepared to tell one & all.

Even if the club has identified its best potential, especially one that has NEVER coached before, the information and knowledge gleaned from the process would be invaluable to them as well. You never know, a great assistant coach may have been unearthed.

If the 3 Due's are completed then this keeps all the members, supporters and sponsors happy and if the coach/team fail the next year then no one can complain. Don't be too egotistical and shorten the process just to get your name in the local paper.

However, if this important process is seen as a shame, then aggrieved internal & external parties will surely vent their displeasure if the coach is not up to standard. It just makes everyone look bad, even the guys on the selection committee who fell outside the decision making process they put their hand up for.

Probably the same point that Watchful (Mr 'IT' V) has to keep posting his crap.

Smack, smack..

Oh i get it you think the forum will be a bit quiet in the coming days so you are trying to drum up conversation by bringing up old boring posts.

Anyhow let's concentrate on talking about the teams in the finals, I think Old Haileybury might cause a bit of an upset and get over OC. Well done to their first year coach. I think OI at full strength will account for Uni Blacks.

Who do you rate to be your best chance to win the comp B & F from your respective teams?

Leigh Fletcher from Hampton to be our best in the comp B & F. Followed by Sem.

Will Dave Robbins feature in your B&F, Local? Any chance of him going around again next year if Matty pulls on the boots for you?

Dave was very good for our team with his experience this year, he played really well too. In regards to featuring in our B & F, he will receive a fair few votes, but i would assume the B & F will be between, Leigh Fletcher, Gary Carr & Ryan Semmel with Corpy taking votes off them early.

I spoke to him the other night and he is keen to play one more year and said he enjoyed the year just passed. He's a Great Bloke.