B Section B Section Amateur Football

Bit rich when posters on a B-Grade Ammos blog take the mick out of blokes who have played at the level. Saturday should be a cracker....I reckon fireworks are almost a given.

The Derby at Windy Hill this week will be an absolute cracker. Both clubs deserve to share Premiership favouritism. Wish both StB and OEG luck and hope the supporters come out of the woodwork to celebrate a memorable clash.

I must digress as the mention of Zac Dawson reminds me of one of my favourite footy stories.

A caller to SEN one Saturday morning was describing one of the regular family days the Hawthorn FC holds through the season out at Waverley.

Said caller had taken his kids down to watch the lads train and partake of the old Glenferrie tradition of a sausage sizzle.

He was carrying on rapturously about the time the players had given supporters after training with autographs and photo opportunities. And then told how Zac Dawson had actually made the effort to spend ten minutes on the ground having a kick with him and his nine year old daughter.

To which Liam Pickering dryly enquired " How many did she kick on him?"

Is it actually the Fletcher-Madden Cup?
Matthew Lloyd-Zac Dawson Cup may be more appropriate!!!!
Maybe they could celebrate the career of Ben Jolley?

Maybe play for The Big Pineapple Cup?

tbpcup.jpg

Would you guys agree with me this game (St Bernards v Old Essendon) could be a possible preview of the B Section GF later this year?

Good win by the young Sharks on the weekend...opened the game right up with the breeze in the second qtr after kicking goals into the breeze in the first. The rest of the game was a mere formality although OM's having a dip early in the 3rd, but were never going to win when Beauy was coming home with the infamous strong Beach Rd Breeze.
Although only 4 rounds in, you would be safe to say St Bernards and Old Essendon will occupy 2 Top 4 spots. Old Haileybury are a likely 3rd (or will they drop out), who will occupy the 4th spot. Who will now be relegated?
Everyone seemed to have strong opinions on both Beauy and Carey going down. Some even thought Caulfield were a top 4 side (not saying they're not), but form does not suggest that. Tough to gain back that percentage - so they are always going to be at the bottom of clubs on same wins.
So give us your thoughts...have they changed or is everyone still staying with their pre-season predictions.
Personally I think the Sharks can get into 4th with a bit of luck...and Caulfield and OM's going down to C grade.

Would you guys agree with me this game (St Bernards v Old Essendon) could be a possible preview of the B Section GF later this year?

Jascave...could very well be a preview of the GF...provided OEG win the second semi, because if they have to go through the prelim...well i won't say it...lets wait and see!

Good win by the young Sharks on the weekend...opened the game right up with the breeze in the second qtr after kicking goals into the breeze in the first. The rest of the game was a mere formality although OM's having a dip early in the 3rd, but were never going to win when Beauy was coming home with the infamous strong Beach Rd Breeze.
Although only 4 rounds in, you would be safe to say St Bernards and Old Essendon will occupy 2 Top 4 spots. Old Haileybury are a likely 3rd (or will they drop out), who will occupy the 4th spot. Who will now be relegated?
Everyone seemed to have strong opinions on both Beauy and Carey going down. Some even thought Caulfield were a top 4 side (not saying they're not), but form does not suggest that. Tough to gain back that percentage - so they are always going to be at the bottom of clubs on same wins.
So give us your thoughts...have they changed or is everyone still staying with their pre-season predictions.
Personally I think the Sharks can get into 4th with a bit of luck...and Caulfield and OM's going down to C grade.

Mate no one cares about any other game.

all talk should be focused on how bernies and OEG are going to go.

Get a grip on yourself pork chop. We can all see from the stain in your trousers how excited you are about this match but for the rest of us whose centre of the universe isnt Mt Alexander Rd there are 4 other matches

OK...2 sides make a comp now, not 10. Stupid me! Maybe we should set up a Thread for OEG and STB. The other 8 sides can have our own thread.
The game will be very interesting...but premierships aren't won in Rd 5.
Bigger sides have fallen!

Been flicking through the clubs websites and drawn up the ladder:
1. St Bernards: Super site, along with Xavs the best in the VAFA
2. Haileybury is up to the minute with reasonable match reports
3. Marcellin is pretty basic but at least its current
4. St Kevs: Pretty good site but a week behind
5. OEG could be confused with a basketball club . hmmm some would say that is how they play finals, 2 weeks behind
6. Camberwell at least has the results but FA else
7. Beaumauris: Latest item is meet the coach on Thurs night … no wonder they are having trouble with their gameplan … its May!
8. Old Melburnians: Bit like its team, all history and not much current, looks nice on the surface but no substance, only a week behind
9. Caulfield Gram: Talk about everything except senior results – not surprising
10. Carey asks everyone to start bringing boots to training with pre season in full swing. Latest news is the 2007 Awards … a disgrace

Maybe struggling teams will rush out to fix their sites. Your ladder looks fairly good. Would not be suprised if you have the top 5 and bottom 5 penned there.

Hate to sound like Scrooge BUT grand finalists are decided in September not May.
This is just another top of the ladder clash that gives one club bragging rights, I'm sure that there is no flag of surrender at Mckinnon reserve or at Marcellin or St Kevs
Sixteen rounds to go, how many hammies,knees,ankles and tribunal decisions?
While it will be interesting to see the what tactics the respective coaches employ, I would't call it a grand final preview.
MAY GRAND FINALISTS, BAH HUMBUG

Hate to sound like Scrooge BUT grand finalists are decided in September not May.
This is just another top of the ladder clash that gives one club bragging rights, I'm sure that there is no flag of surrender at Mckinnon reserve or at Marcellin or St Kevs
Sixteen rounds to go, how many hammies,knees,ankles and tribunal decisions?
While it will be interesting to see the what tactics the respective coaches employ, I would't call it a grand final preview.
MAY GRAND FINALISTS, BAH HUMBUG

Agree... but who gives a shitee, its going to be a good game. I think the whole GF preview is just the boys getting a bit toey for september to arrive. I wonder who is going to score the first report for the game? As well as a good game, I'm guessing there will be plenty of biffo as many years of banter and player stealing is coming to crunch. The only thing OEG had to celebrate last year after their straight sets loss was that phone call at 4:45pm on a mild 16 deg day to some blokes back to the OEG headquarters that the Bernards had been relegated in spectacular fashion....... I think its the only thing that motivated them to hit a preseason after..well no need to go into that again. :)

The only bloke talking GF preview is our resident VAFA guru Jason who is just a little excited at the thought of this big match and can already smell September.

Everyone else just wants to see 2 old rivals go head to head for the first time. Let's face it, it's only round 5 so a little bit of spice early on never hurt.

I'm tipping no biffo, no reports and OEG in a thriller by 5 points. Skurrie to win the medal kicking 7, with the last coming after the final siren. (Note: Medal may not actually exist)

The only bloke talking GF preview is our resident nuff nuff Jason who just feels the need to post every thought that comes into his head.

Everyone else just wants to see 2 old rivals go head to head for the first time. Let's face it, it's only round 5 so a little bit of spice early on never heart.

I'm tipping no biffo, no reports and OEG in a thriller by 5 points. Skurrie to win the medal kicking 7, with the last coming after the final siren. (Note: Medal may not actually exist)

Note: Never played each other

Hence 'go head to head for the first time'. Given the VAFA is built on the 'old boy' concept, I would have thought the years of competeing for students, academic results, sporting events and on many occasions tarts would make the 2 schools rivals?

But I guess you can't help that chip so just had to try and say something smart.

Chin up, you'll come up with something one day.