B Section B Section Amateur Football

I hope Kinna gets off because I love his passion and mental torture he puts his opponents through BUT I have heard from my namesake that he will get minimum 4 for the fence jump.
4 weeks for hopping a fence? Its not like he hit the bloke!!!

Kinna cops alot of lip from opposition supporters everyweek, his notoriety means its something he has to deal with and which he does on every other occasion. The old fella must of said something very full on to have kinna jumping fences to express his unhappiness with the comments.

He should be congratulated for actually getting over the fence and the whole farce should be dropped.

4 weeks for hopping a fence? Its not like he hit the bloke!!!

Kinna cops alot of lip from opposition supporters everyweek, his notoriety means its something he has to deal with and which he does on every other occasion. The old fella must of said something very full on to have kinna jumping fences to express his unhappiness with the comments.

He should be congratulated for actually getting over the fence and the whole farce should be dropped.

Agreed

Read with interest on the OEG website an article suggesting they will be bringing in key players this week...mmmm...don't think they were missing any regular senior players last week so either this is a red herring or perhaps they are going to try a couple of their U/19's who incidently went out in straight sets in their division prelim.final as of last week...big ask if they are????

Uni Blacks going quietly about their work...not much been said about their win last week?

RCT

Read with interest on the OEG website an article suggesting they will be bringing in key players this week...mmmm...don't think they were missing any regular senior players last week so either this is a red herring or perhaps they are going to try a couple of their U/19's who incidently went out in straight sets in their division prelim.final as of last week...big ask if they are????

Uni Blacks going quietly about their work...not much been said about their win last week?

RCT

From the OEG Website:

OEG Website said:
St. Bedes too good for OEG in 2nd Semi

OEG fell to St Bedes Mentone in the second semi final on Saturday. The first quarter did not start well for the boys conceding 8 goals to 2. This would prove pivotal as OEG matched and at times dominated the second and third quarters to get within 2 and a half goals. However in the end St Bedes finished stronger running out impressive victors.

The boys do however have a second chance this Saturday against University Blacks in the preliminary final at Elsternwick Park. With a number of players set to return this weekend it looms as a fantastic clash with Uni Blacks. All supporters are encouraged to get down to VAFA HQ to cheer the boys into the grand final as the support on Saturday was tremendous.

No mention of "key" players there RCT just says a number of players set to return.

he's just reading between the lines HBW.. If they weren't of any importance there would be no need to mention it.. Obviously must be people come back that are better than the current players in the side, and the reason they are "returning" would be through either injury or availability.. so in that regards, they could be classified as "key" players.. although I know what both or you are getting at..

but still, if the players to "return" weren't of note there would be no reason to mention it.. as opposed to "line up changes due to match ups"

Quick is on fire at the moment with 15/15 in the last 3 weeks including picking OM by 1pt last week.

Here I go;
SBMT V OE- 29pts SBMT have too many answers all over the park.
Uni Vs SKOB- 38pts I am going for the catholics for the double in the first week of the finals. Dowd and Co will be too strong for the UNI boys and they wil have to wait another year to take on Uni Blues...

Reseves
SBMT v SKOB- 1pt This will go down to the wire and could go either way.
UNI Vs EAGLES-10pts Eagles only because their senoirs are out and they can concentrate on the two's..

Good luck to all teams..

Quick

Ps Looking forward to the news out of OM's Cardio????[/quote]

Well its out now Quickie, the Fly gone from OM's.

Very good replacement coming (may surprise some people!) - announce after GF.

RCT

Just good propaganda I think RCT.

The mind games will play a big part in tomorrow's outcome I suspect. Results of home and away games between OEG & UB suggest OEG should prevail but it's interesting to note that Verlado kicked 7 snags in the first round win and UB were no travelling at all in the return bout at the school.
If OEG kick 16 goals they should win but maybe they kicked too straight last week and if the 'cooker' starts to boil it may be this facet of the game that may hurt them. For the Uni to win they need to start well and create a mental storm for OEG to endure. UB studied the centre set ups closely last week in a 'spy vs spy' patrol on the outer wing at EP and ulimately this is where they need to win for them to prevail.

My financial advisor tells me that HQ have collected over $3 -4K in melee and related fines from clubs in the past 21 days...not bad for Amateurs are they!

And what about the footy record advertising car parking at EP for $4...but at the gate it is $5?????

Tips
UB by 3 points
SBMT by 8 points

Straight from tthe Ammos website

B Section Team of the Year

B; Sam Playfair (OM’S) Jake Symes (Marcellin) Daniel Mount (SKOB)

HB; Huw Lacey (UBlacks) Ben Clifton (OEG) Al Smith (UBlacks)

C; Paul Groves (SBMT) Sam Anstey (SBMT) Jason Ritterman (Ajax)

HF; Ben Dowd (SKOB) Luke Wintle (SBMT) (Capt) Lachlan Teal (OEG)

F; Andrew Scafidi (SBMT) Brett Sinclair (CGram) Brayden Haynes (Beau)

Foll; Luke McNicholas (Beau) Ben Phibbs (SBMT) Tim Biggs (OEG) (VCapt)

I/C; Robert Baddeley (OEG) Matt Bortolotto (Marcellin) Matt Kempton (UBlacks ) Roger McIntyre (MHSOB)

Coach; Luke Beveridge (SBMT) Asst Coach; Darren Handley (OEG)

FB Coote (Beau) Symes (Marc) McCann (SK)
HB Playfair (OM) Clifton (OE) Lacey (UB)
C Groves (SBMT) Anstey (SBMT) Ritterman (Ajax)
HF M Bortolotto (Mar) L.Wintle (SBMT) Kempton (UB)
FF And Scafidi (SBMT)Sinclair (CG) Haynes (Beau)
R McNicholas (Beau) Phibbs (SBMT) T. Biggs (OE)
Bench: From Baddeley (OE) Teal (OE) Wilson (OE)
Mahoney (SK) Mount (SK)

The brain obviously had a good look at tommy79's team when deciding his. This was my team weeks ago.

I/C; Robert Baddeley (OEG) Matt Bortolotto (Marcellin) Matt Kempton (UBlacks ) Roger McIntyre (MHSOB)

I think good old Tommy Brain has done pretty well here. There will always be some people unlucky to miss out but there are only 22 spots. tommy obviously recovered weel enough from the vicious assault last week to pick this team!!

Brians preview now SKOB are out of the picture:
OEG far too strong for a canny Uni Blacks coach Rizio. If Blacks doint rise here, their chance will be lost for the next few years as B promises to be super strong next year. Word out of Blacks is no Lalich for certain as well as no changes from last weeks 22.
OEG have every reason to feel confident about this game. They are clearlky the second best team in the comp and have been all year. The key for OEG is to stop UBs run off the half back line, shut down Al Smith, Huw Lacey and hard tag Matt Kempton. One who flys under the radar is running back ex SKOB player Tom Purcell. He has tremendous pace and is usually playing on the slowest forward. He regularly links through Smith and does a lot of damage. He needs to be stopped. If this happens then its OEG by 50 points and off to A Section.
Go OEG!!!!!

OEG far too strong for a canny Uni Blacks coach Rizio. If Blacks doint rise here, their chance will be lost for the next few years as B promises to be super strong next year. Word out of Blacks is no Lalich for certain as well as no changes from last weeks 22.
OEG have every reason to feel confident about this game. They are clearlky the second best team in the comp and have been all year. The key for OEG is to stop UBs run off the half back line, shut down Al Smith, Huw Lacey and hard tag Matt Kempton. One who flys under the radar is running back ex SKOB player Tom Purcell. He has tremendous pace and is usually playing on the slowest forward. He regularly links through Smith and does a lot of damage. He needs to be stopped. If this happens then its OEG by 50 points and off to A Section.
Go OEG!!!!!

I concur with this. Blacks are capable of an upset, but I thought OEG put together some good periods of footy last week despite being spanked in the end and should have too much class on the day.

I rate the team brain has put together. So well done Brian. just a question though, is it really fair for st bedes to have no defenders in the top 22 seeing as they had the lowest against tally of any team but quite a bit? the likes of corda, helliar, kinsella and the schoolboy justin swayne. paul Wintle also very stiff to not get a guernsey. I guess you can't fit too mahy in from one team though also. I think Teal was very lucky. Seems like a cat of a bloke to me.

Go OEG!!!!!

Other side of the fence for mine - in fact I reckon it will be total UNI affair across the weekend A,B & B Res.

As stated UB HBacks are solid will continue to provide great penetration through the lines which will unsettle OEG mids and provide options through forward corridor.

If they can rotate their pacemen throughout 1st half and are around the mark at halftime this should allow them to consolidate a stronger 2nd half. It will also place pressure on OEG to manufacture something off the magnetic board which is something they have not been accustom too this year.

Forwards need to reward work up field and turn their conversion rate around early to provide scoreboard pressure to half time. If they don't then the 'jury' will easily provide judgement on the players that let them down in this finals series.

UB by 15 points

See ya out there.

All the best boys & girls!

agree with the rest re. team of the year, a strong squad, and good to see McIntyre not forgotten just because he played in an average side. OEG should do it on their ear tomorrow, but that word SHOULD is the problem. History has a knack of repeating itself... Blacks have a lot of class, but despite a strong twos side, their bottom 5-7 players runs pretty thin. OEG's depth should see them home

Look its been a slow day in the chamber and the boys have gone to Barwon Heads for golf so a very quiet lunch today...had to shout the PA a sandwich and a bloody 'sparkling' bottle of water...what the..!

So in this sobering state and in an attempt to get the Uni boys over the line I have penned the following verses along the tunes of the great man Elvis "Moody Blues" (yeah yeah, I know this is the Uni Black B thread - just trying to spreading a smile on ya dial - I'll post it upstairs and see if any response)

Oh, Uni Blues,
Tell me will you get through,
We keep hangin on,
Trying to sing our song
But we never do,

Oh, Uni Blues,
we need both the 1's & the 2's
but were like night and day
I gotta say,
it will be hard to do,

Oh, Uni Blues,
Tell me am I getting through,
as its hard to say,
if you will win or lose,

Well when Monday comes we're drinking,
when Tuesday comes we're drinking,
into another day again,
our personalities unwind,
as we blame the other swine,
from a spew that never ends,

Just when I think I'm unwell,
my emotions swell,
I'm not the student I use to be,
I'm a complicated baby
so take me home lady,
Oh, Uni Blues

Cardio Carl, this is a recipe for boredom, please don't post again. These verses can be considered as riveting as the Big Pineapple as a tourist attraction/amateur football commentator. As for the team of the year, Luke Wintle and his sloppy body could not captain a mid week ladies bridge club. If Teal is also in the side amateur football is in trouble. Who knows, next they will be telling us that Luke McNicholas does not have the body of an 85 year old Cambodian rice paddy worker.

Sorry JT, yes a bit bored at the moment, should have played golf with the lads..........heading off now, might grab a couple of bottles of Henske Cab Sav, the PA and hopefully show her a body not unlike Mr Wintle's - I mean , sparkling water its very expensive having someone in Italy blowing those bubbles into the bottles.....yes, she is Blonde!.......see how we go!!