Free Agency Ben McKay [Joins Essendon as RFA]

Does he stay or does he go?

Id think his value is bang on 700-750k but given Norths predicament and the clubs that may chase him lacking adequate trade compo I think he's more likely to push into the 800-900k range.

Still quite confident he ends up at the Blues next year after TDK heads to the Cattery and the AFL will use their chook lotto compensation algorithm to somehow land North a band 1 pick.

No clue if Brisbane would have the cap space but I'd be very interested.

We don't have the picks to trade for a player this year due to the Dunkley trade, and I think we are a tall short going forward with Marcus Adams doubtful to return to footy at all.

No clue if Brisbane would have the cap space but I'd be very interested.

We don't have the picks to trade for a player this year due to the Dunkley trade, and I think we are a tall short going forward with Marcus Adams doubtful to return to footy at all.

Odds on to be chasing SavRat by years end... you have a good strike rate picking Geelong fringe players ...

Id think his value is bang on 700-750k but given Norths predicament and the clubs that may chase him lacking adequate trade compo I think he's more likely to push into the 800-900k range.

Still quite confident he ends up at the Blues next year after TDK heads to the Cattery and the AFL will use their chook lotto compensation algorithm to somehow land North a band 1 pick.
I mean if he’s getting 750k (and especially a long term deal) it’s not hard to justify band 1 compo

No chance he ends up with us. We need KPF's, not KPDs. We have Gibcus ready to go and Biggie Nyuon and Tylar Young in the reserves.

I reckon Harry Himmelberg will be a target.

Biggie nyuon will get delisted.

Still i agree with you richmond are more likely to spend $ on a mature kpf than a kpd.

Interesting situation for North and Ben, may end up being one of those situations where its better for club and player that he leaves.

Carlton seem like the obvious choice given the family connection, however if TDK leaves I think/hope our focus will be finding a top end ruck and any available funds will be directed towards that. Essendon prob the most natural fit I think who are really light on for tall defenders.

Interesting situation for North and Ben, may end up being one of those situations where its better for club and player that he leaves.

Carlton seem like the obvious choice given the family connection, however if TDK leaves I think/hope our focus will be finding a top end ruck and any available funds will be directed towards that. Essendon prob the most natural fit I think who are really light on for tall defenders.
I think we’d rather the sure thing of a ready made KPD entering his prime than another top 5 pick which will take years to be in prime

Matching the contract offer doesn’t mean you just retain him. You will then have to trade him for what will be less than band 1 compo.

No chance north turn down a top 5 pick for a player who doesn’t want to be there.

It's not better for us if he leaves under any circumstance. If he wants out different story but we are hoping that he wants to stay.

Isn’t Weitering your backline lynchpin

Matching the contract offer doesn’t mean you just retain him. You will then have to trade him for what will be less than band 1 compo.

No chance north turn down a top 5 pick for a player who doesn’t want to be there.
I’m that scenario I’d hope there’d be a bidding war and he’s open to a few locations.

I really hate this nominating club stuff. ☹️

Hopefully he signs for north. I do think we have bits in place in regards to the coaching/off feild stuff and there are some good pieces I’m hoping for this coming season we show real improvement which I think is completely possible as last year really was a case if everything going wrong to a monumental effect.

I’m that scenario I’d hope there’d be a bidding war and he’s open to a few locations.

I really hate this nominating club stuff. ☹️

Hopefully he signs for north. I do think we have bits in place in regards to the coaching/off feild stuff and there are some good pieces I’m hoping for this coming season we show real improvement which I think is completely possible as last year really was a case if everything going wrong to a monumental effect.

North could show plenty of improvement in 2023 and still be well entrenched in the bottom 4 and a fair way off it. Tough spot for Ben.

Of course, but if he’s holding out to see improvement I think it’ll be more of an all around qualitative observations as opposed to wins/loss. I think if we are trending in a way that satisfies him it’ll be ok. It just needs to be enough and I think we can achieve that , well I hope so.

I am very bullish on Young becoming a star & Weiters is still the general so not sure spending $750k+ on another tall defender is good list management.
Yep that’s what I’m thinking.

Surely he doesn’t go to the dons and plays for Scott, Brad Scott almost killed his career

You could make an argument either way for keeping him or letting him go, I suspect the Roos will do everything to keep him…

… but gee, if you could get a top 3 draft pick (if band 1 is possible?) for a key defender who is in his prime now while you’re still years away from being competitive I think there’s an attractive reason to sell.

You could make an argument either way for keeping him or letting him go, I suspect the Roos will do everything to keep him…

… but gee, if you could get a top 3 draft pick (if band 1 is possible?) for a key defender who is in his prime now while you’re still years away from being competitive I think there’s an attractive reason to sell.
We aren’t years away from being competitive

Get ready for the clarko effect

Free Agency Ben McKay [Joins Essendon as RFA]