Opinion Best 22 - 2015

6 players with a collective 20 AFL games between them. That's just not going to happen and it's not Mick's way.

Jaksch ahead of White?
Dick ahead of Sheehan/Tuohy?
Smith ahead of Tutt?
Whiley ahead of Carrazzo?
Viojo-Rainbow ahead of Boekhorst?

Planning for the future is good but in Mick's world you have to earn your stripes first.
There's some chance one of those players may get a run but not five............not for Mick.

I hear ya Harker, but if we're going to rise up the ladder then we'll need to do better than just simply trott out the same side as we did last year and we'll also need to be a little more adventurous than simply waiting for injury as a precursor for opportunity. It's all very well to do that if CFC's main objective this year is to defend 13th rung on the ladder, but I don't know of many sides will be looking to do that. Out of all my suggested changes, Jaksch is the one I can see being the one least likely to immediately occur. He really hasn't shown all that much at NEAFL level and only a little at senior level, so as to whether or not he gets a go early in the season will be determined by how much the kid wants it and what he shows he's capable of bringing to the table during the NAB cup. If his results are positive then you'd want him in the side to fast track his development into a KPP while there are people like Jamison & Henderson to mentor him out on the field. Expect White to still get plenty of game time either forward or back. Injuries during the season will still see him play 10+ games this year.

Dick is as big as Tuohy...and from what I can gather here...everyone was very disappointed in Tuohy's last season. He's very quick, supposedly durable and generally regarded as a good pickup. Another of the reasons I think they acquired him was to address our outside lack of run...both ways. If Tuohy is good enough, he's more than capable of winning his spot back. Yes Smith does face a rise in class, talent and speed of the game compared to what he's used to. I like the quality of his disposal and his hard-at-it pro-active style may mean he can make the adjustment sooner than most. He's also much more flexible than Tutt as to where you can play him. Wiley's numbers in his last 4 NEAFL games were Tom Mitchell-esque. Mature body, ready to go and I liked his game against Pendlebury and therefore you get him into the side ASAP I would have thought. He brings everything to the table that Carrots does, but in a faster, younger and therefore, more likely, a more durable package. Carrots will still get plenty of game time this year, but I'd be more likely to rotate him into the side by swapping out Bell, Simpson or Viojo-Rainbow/Boekhorst. Both Carrots & Simpson are in their 30's now and will need to be looked after if we're to eke another year or two out of them. Viojo-Rainbow or Boekhorst...6 of one, half a dozen of the other. It's still new blood into the side, providing they show they're worthy. You need to remember, within the next two years we'll be likely to lose Judd, Simpson, Carrazzo and Walker, which will be nigh on 1000 games of experience, therefore we'll need to look after our current resources so they can assist our newbies to make the transition while we've still got them.

If we're going to rise up the ladder then we'll need to do better than just simply trott out the same side as we did last year and we'll also need to be a little more adventurous than simply waiting for injury as a precursor for opportunity. It's all very well to do that if CFC's main objective this year is to defend 13th rung on the ladder, but I don't know of many sides will be looking to do that. Out of all my suggested changes, Jaksch is the one I can see being the one least likely to immediately occur. He really hasn't shown all that much at NEAFL level and only a little at senior level, so as to whether or not he gets a go early in the season will be determined by how much the kid wants it and what he shows he's capable of bringing to the table during the NAB cup. If his results are positive then you'd want him in the side to fast track his development into a KPP while there are people like Jamison & Henderson to mentor him out on the field. Expect White to still get plenty of game time either forward or back. Injuries during the season will still see him play 10+ games this year.

Dick is as big as Tuohy...and from what I can gather here...everyone was very disappointed in Tuohy's last season. He's very quick, supposedly durable and generally regarded as a good pickup. Another of the reasons I think they acquired him was to address our outside lack of run...both ways. If Tuohy is good enough, he's more than capable of winning his spot back. Yes Smith does face a rise in class, talent and speed of the game compared to what he's used to. I like the quality of his disposal and his hard-at-it pro-active style may mean he can make the adjustment sooner than most. He's also much more flexible than Tutt as to where you can play him. Wiley's numbers in his last 4 NEAFL games were Tom Mitchell-esque. Mature body, ready to go and I liked his game against Pendlebury and therefore you get him into the side ASAP I would have thought. He brings everything to the table that Carrots does, but in a faster, younger and therefore, more likely, a more durable package. Carrots will still get plenty of game time this year, but I'd be more likely to rotate him into the side by swapping out Bell, Simpson or Viojo-Rainbow/Boekhorst. Both Carrots & Simpson are in their 30's now and will need to be looked after if we're to eke another year or two out of them. Viojo-Rainbow or Boekhorst...6 of one, half a dozen of the other. It's still new blood into the side, providing they show they're worthy. You need to remember, within the next two years we'll be likely to lose Judd, Simpson, Carrazzo and Walker, which will be nigh on 1000 games of experience, therefore we'll need to look after our current resources so they can assist our newbies to make the transition while we've still got them.

I don't see it as just the same old side given the following:

Docherty is relatively new to the team and still only 21
Everitt was terrific in his first year at our club last year before injury.
Sheehan only played 4 games and looks to have got better and dual-sided.

Jones is almost a straight in, given his pre-season form.
Kreuzer is virtually a new recruit having played less than one full game last year.
Boekhorst was drafted as an immediate need and is looking likely to start.
Cripps will also be a likely starter after only three senior games last year. Broken leg didn't help him.

Buckley and Menzel are still very new faces also having played only 35 games between them.

I mean that's a lot of changes in 12 months for mine and cohesion is key.
These players have to get to know each other and that doesn't come about overnight.

Mick also doesn't like loading up with kids and would sooner introduce one at a time and when he knows them to be ready..........That's how he rolls.

Okay had more of a think about the team and have a fee changes from my last post:
Key Position Defence: Jamieson and Rowe
3rd tall: Jacksch (need to get games into this bloke)
Small lock down defender: Buckley (love his toughness)
Running defenders: Simpson and Yarran (fast with great disposal)

1st Ruck: Kruezer by a long way
Midfielders: Murphy, Gibbs, Judd, Thomas, Cripps, Everitt, Graham, Curnow, Whiley, Boekhorst
I picked these 10 as our best midfield options is it good enough to go with the best?

Key Forwards: Henderson and either Watson or Jones (can they kick enough goals not sure)
3rd tall relief ruck: Casboult
Mid size forward: Walker and Menzel ( think Simmo and Yaz can cover backline so move Walker forward he has kicked over 50 goals in a season before and has great hands) (Menzel is a jet who can also go midfield)
Last forward spot goes to resting midfielder

Noticeable admissions: Carrazzo have loved this guy but feel Curnow may have passed him
Touhy: Though he struggled last season and no longer should command a certain start prefer Buckley
Bell: to be honest was a toss up with him and Whiley could easily swap these guys over
Docherty: Wanted him in the team but prefer Yarran and Simpson down back could he play midfield?

I think without doubt that you can have Curnow and Carazzo in the same side. Curnow as the lock down run all day tagger, and Carazzo as the more offensive midfielder. I like Docherty for the midfield this year

You'd think so, he's been talked up all preseason.
Yeah I know and I'm thinking is that enough... Only saying that because everybody is a superstar during preseason! I like Jones and felt for him at the dogs but we've got a far more superior fwd line then them...

Serious question, does Jones really come straight into the team? Especially if the kreuz goes fwd..

im sure I read Mick mention him as a third tall when we first snagged him, but maybe he sees him differently now that he's lit up the track with lightning bolts from his fingertips and eyes like the fires of hell. I'd like to see Kreuzer as first ruck, resting in the fwd line when Cas relieves him - but no idea if that's what'll happen.

yes i think he was referring to Henderson,( Casboult/Kreuzer) as 1/2 then jones as third.

Just Don't wana be to top heavy, really wasnt happy with the Garlett departure! We need fwd pressure and not sure Jones was doing it consistently at the dogs, I still cant wait for him to take a big pack mark and leave the opposition dead on the ground, not dead dead but you know what I mean ;)

Freo are in a bit of strife IMO. people howl us down but if you look at the freo KP's wow they are in strife (explains why they will probably throw the kitchen sink at Rance).

Sandilands, Pavlich, Mcpharlin and Johnson are no spring chickens unfortunately.

Mundy dropping off the pace a bit didn't help them out too much come finals either.

Jamison is playing most of the year as a 28 y.o.

McPharlin is Freos best back-man at 33 years of age.............Our guys are always older than others :) .............Let's call it 'Carlton' years
Fletcher is 63 and still playing good footy, Jamo has heaps of games in those legs yet... Plus defenders probably have longer averaging careers then all other positions on the field... I just made that up but it would be an interesting stat!

Good side. Qu why jaksch at chb?

Thanks therubbernub!

Just that i believe that Jamison and Rowe are probably a little more comfortable closer to goal, both are great one on one but can get done on the lead. In my opinion Jamison is probably at times underutilised in that 3rd man up - general role down back. Has a great set of hands and a great long kick; more advanced than KJ and Rowe at this stage. Would love to see KJ develop into a Ben Reid type CHB too - tall and mobile capable of playing on the Goodes, Gunston, Mayne, Black, Westhoff types.

It does all come back to match up's on the day though!

Thanks therubbernub!

Just that i believe that Jamison and Rowe are probably a little more comfortable closer to goal, both are great one on one but can get done on the lead. In my opinion Jamison is probably at times underutilised in that 3rd man up - general role down back. Has a great set of hands and a great long kick; more advanced than KJ and Rowe at this stage. Would love to see KJ develop into a Ben Reid type CHB too - tall and mobile capable of playing on the Goodes, Gunston, Mayne, Black, Westhoff types.

It does all come back to match up's on the day though!
I am not sure KJ is ready for that yet, although I hope for the same thing long term. He's probably a much better kick than jammo as well.

To be honest - he probably isn't. The side i chucked up has a pretty optimistic outlook. However I draw confidence from our fixture last year v GWS where he killed the one on ones, looked every bit an exciting CHB prospect.

If Rowe and Everitt can sustain their excellent 2014 form, then that will be pivotal. Add to this a positive return from Kreuzer, an uninterrupted Judd preseason, a consistent Casboult and a "fully fit" Dale Thomas, then there should not conceivably be any backward step.

We are finally getting our drafting processes seemingly right with the excellent progress of Buckley, Menzel, Cripps, Graham and co, and a full preseason for each of them will advance our cause.

I'll reserve my judgment on Tutt and Jones, given they weren't standouts in a side which was crying out for forwards. But if they can emulate form comparable to Everitt's 2014 year, then we are set for a rise up the ladder.

As for our ageing 30+ players, Simpson will leave a bigger hole IMO only because of his underrated consistency. I preach from the book of Judd and I will not doubt that his leadership is crucial, but Simpson is that ever-so reliable 2IC that gets his job done to a satisfactory standard.

As with every year, there is hope and optimism. Hopefully we can run out games in a better fashion and start winning the ones that seem to just get away (e.g. the two Geelong games last year).

With guys like Rainbow and Sheehan pushing for selection I wonder if we might see Buckley forward or even the midfield this year..

Saw something in Rowe way back in 2013 when we were still playing him mainly as a forward we put him down back briefly, I think against Collingwood and it was clear he could read the play. There were a few moments last year where he somehow lost his opponent but mostly he was good and he was always improving. He grew in confidence later in the season and really went for his marks. He's not the best mark and he doesn't always handle the ball cleanly but even this improved. He's a beast of a guy at the moment and a good spoiler. I think he could have a very good year.

As for Buckley playing other positions. It couldn't hurt, I felt a few seasons ago as a forward he went missing for far too long and I'm not sure he's big and strong enough for the midfield but it couldn't hurt to try. Really impressive with how he reads the ball coming in when he plays as a backline, he's one step ahead of his opponent and potentially a good intercepted. Like how he runs off and provides overlap run and well, I never saw anyone kick many if any goals on him last season which is also a big plus. I think this could be his role, Would like to see him play on guys like Betts, Garlett, Ballantyne, Thomas, Rioli etc. The only issue I have with Buckley is finding a matchup for him every week due to his size, however he may be able to play on bigger opponents. Would feel far more comfortable with Buckley on the mentioned names than Tuohy, pretty much pencil 4 goals + in next to their names. Certainly would be better than when we had Joseph doing this role. I would be challenging Buckley to play on top level players each week, see how he goes. I've got him in my best 22 down back at this stage. Maybe we can push him to the wing or forward line when we can't match him up down back or perhaps he can go onto the ball a bit.

Yep, pretty much nailed it IMHO gbatman. I reckon buckley has the explosive speed (and power you get from that) to mix it with blokes who are heavier than him through the middle, but am more keen to see him work in tandem with Yarran/Simpson/Boekhorst/Rainbow/Sheehan and the like from the back line. He can't be playing on a 6'2 jumping forward, but anyone below that who is primarily a crumbing player should be a fine matchup for the kid. I'd back him to beat those a bit taller and heavier!

Opinion Best 22 - 2015