Unofficial Preview Best 22! Who’s in the team Round 1, 2023?

Best 22 for round 1 without 'playing the kids' over experienced performers.

B. Hardwick Frost DGB
HB. Jiath Sicily Scrimshaw
C. Day Newcombe Amon
HF. Moore Reeves Macdonald
F. Breust Lewis Wingard

Foll: Meek Ward Worpel
IC: Impey Mackenzie Morrison Maginness
Sub: Nash

Gee, the depth has gone through the roof in two off-seasons.
Yep, the only ways kids come in is if they are burning the tracks in pre-season, sim/practice games & other experienced is down on output.

The "not kids" outs from this as Morrison, Lynch, Stephens, Bramble, Jeka, Greene, Long, Brockman, Serong, Morris, Butler, Rama etc, then we have kids in Weddle, Henry, BMac, JoS, Seamus, Bennetts

Frost has played 140 of 141 AFL games as a key defender.

He only missed games for us due to injury. Never been dropped or played for Box Hill.

Blanck replaced him due to injury alone because we had no one else aside from Hartigan. If Frost didn’t hurt his knee, Blanck wouldn’t have been playing AFL.

What has Frost done to warrant not coming straight back in? He is our most experienced defender.

No way known is he not back playing KPD round 1.
Frost & Morrison are in our back 6 all season as far as I’m concerned
I'm of a different mind.

I'd have Frost BP (Hardwick other side), but reckon DGB will be gifted games for development. So I'd send Frost to a Wing or FP (start on the Interchange).

I think Morrison probably plays, but Wing, not HBF (he's an Emergency, for mine, but he'll almost certainly play).

Going to be hard to pick a team. Going for a young, fast and skilful side that is probably too short, but it would at least be entertaining.

Hardwick - Blanck - Weddle
Scrimshaw - DGB - Sicily

Meek - Newcombe - Ward
Amon - Maginess - Day

Moore - Lewis - Wingard
Breust - Reeves - Butler

CJ - MacDonald - Stephens - MacKenzie - Impey

Depth: Jeka - Worpel - Nash - Morrison - Frost - Lynch - Kosi - Serong - Brockman - Long - Morris - Ramsden - Bramble - Greene - Hustwaite
How is having all of Scrimshaw, DGB, Sicily, Blanck and Weddle across the backline short?. There's 4 guys over 190 and 1 that plays like he is 195. Based on that squad you listed it's more than enough in terms of size. Maybe a little short up forward but I prefer the 2 bigs setup with a bevy of mediums and smalls around them. There's an unhealthy obsession at times with opposition monsters like McKay, Lynch or King and having the real big guys to take them but you don't need that. You need big strong boys able to stand their ground and have great positioning. Lake is the perfect example of that. Blanck and DGB need bulk not height so they can compete with these guys when they need to.

Only one KPF is what I was referring too.

Bloody hard to figure out at this stage as so much projection on how guys will improve (or not) over preseason. Midfield is tough to work out (other than Jai).

Hardwick Blanck DGB
CJ Sicily Day
Amon Jai McD
Moore Scrim Butler
Breust Lewis Meek
Reeves Stephens Finn
I: Ward Impey Nash Jeka sub: bramble

1f1c50d961f71bdbbb77a117a5a22ea7.png

We now know we play Essendon in Rd 1 - we need to pick a team that will counter their strengths and exploit their weaknesses.
You probably need to pick a team of guys who played good footy in late Feb / early March 2023

Of course you start with the pool of players who look ready to play - injury free and in decent form. That should be way more than 22 or 23.

From that pool you pick the group that gives you the best prospect of winning - which requires analysis of the opposition - hence my post. For example, some have left out Maginness. Merrett is probably their most damaging player, so you don't even think about leaving out Maginness unless he is crook. I reckon DGB is the right match up for Stringer. Wright is dangerous. Do we look to Blanck to handle him or do we go with someone like Jeka?

Analysis of the opposition helps with some of the line-ball decisions that most posters have been struggling with in this thread.

We now know we play Essendon in Rd 1 - we need to pick a team that will counter their strengths and exploit their weaknesses.
Reeves and Meek swapping into the forward pocket?

I think that's almost a given, regardless of who we got Round 1.

Of course you start with the pool of players who look ready to play - injury free and in decent form. That should be way more than 22 or 23.

From that pool you pick the group that gives you the best prospect of winning - which requires analysis of the opposition - hence my post. For example, some have left out Maginness. Merrett is probably their most damaging player, so you don't even think about leaving out Maginness unless he is crook. I reckon DGB is the right match up for Stringer. Wright is dangerous. Do we look to Blanck to handle him or do we go with someone like Jeka?

Analysis of the opposition helps with some of the line-ball decisions that most posters have been struggling with in this thread.
Totally agree, but unless / until we know who is likely to run out for Essendon in Rd 1 it’s largely futile.

If Stringer does a 4 week hamstring in late Feb then we don’t need to worry about him do we?

This is something in team selection threads people get wrong all the time, you generally don't pick the players in the side based on who you're playing. You pick the team which will best facilitate the game plan, and then pick the match ups from that team.

I would like to think that the entire squad can execute the game plan, KJ. The issue is which group are most capable of executing the game plan agains the particular team we are uo against.

Totally agree, but unless / until we know who is likely to run out for Essendon in Rd 1 it’s largely futile.

If Stringer does a 4 week hamstring in late Feb then we don’t need to worry about him do we?
Fair enough. However, you have a fair idea of the players who are likely to be selected (injuries aside) and the players that represent the major risks. The rest is fine tuning.

I think Finn will get first crack, he had a good season for mine and I was a doubter heading into last season.

The recruiting off Stephens,Weddle, Hustwaite make it interesting throw in Nash. I see a few options moving fwd.

I would like to think that the entire squad can execute the game plan, KJ. The issue is which group are most capable of executing the game plan agains the particular team we are uo against.
This is true if you have an experienced not so in our case

And pecking orders. Don't forget pecking orders.

Obviously there's gonna be injuries going into round one. And Sam may wait a few games before he adds the new draftees straight away. Games at Box Hill won't do the youngsters any harm in the early stages of the season .
Backline:
Hardwick Barrass Scrimshaw
Jiath Sicily Morrison
Centreline:
Amon Newcombe Ward
Reeves Worpel Day
Frwd line:
Wingard Meek McDonald
Breust Lewis Moore
İnt,chg:
Maginess Impey Bramble Stephens

To break in: