Best forward 6 of all time

Darren F’n Bewick.

I have a theory that as rule every footy fan thinks small forward are annoying little pricks with the only exception being the ones that play for the team they support.

My dispassionate view on Bewick is that he was an absolute gun, only because of all the annoying little pricky small forward to have played the game (since I’ve been watching) I consider him to be easily the worst, even worse than Milne or that other little Essendon ranga turd Moorcroft.

Screw you Bewick you highly talented annoying little bastard.

Regards

S. Pete
I'm pretty sure he kicked 9 goals on his first game back from a knee reco.

Alistair Lynch, Bernie Quinlan, Charlie Cameron
Garry Wilson, Jonathon Brown, Jason Akermanis

Notable mention to Daniel Bradshaw 496 goals, could be named on the bench and play either Key FWD or DEF.

total goals- 2787 (=241 if you count Quinlan's time at Footscray)

Obviously I didn't include him but on a technicality you could. He's listed in the AFL team of the century as (Geelong, Hawthorn)

By the way if you did, this is what it would look like:

Ablett Matthews Franklin
Rioli Hudson Dunstall

Probably the best forward line period, minus Lockett.

Had he remained at Hawthorn, That Buckenara, Dunstall, Brereton, Ablett forward line would have been unbeatable.
In the 90's, with the loss of Brereton, the Ablett & Dunstall combo would have proved too much in seasons 92 & 93. Even reckon they get by North Melbourne in 94.

Melbourne's would be entertaining:

Petracca Schwarz Lyon
Farmer Neitz Roberston
Melbourne fans looking at this forward line right now

3sd6kv.png

He was regularly selected on a half forward flank if you go back and look at the team lists from that period. More often there than anywhere else.
David Hale would be better than Lewis. Kicked 8 against Geelong in Geelong (as a Kangaroo)

He was regularly selected on a half forward flank if you go back and look at the team lists from that period. More often there than anywhere else.
Exceptional player but not remembered as a forward - even if you can make a case from the team sheets. Ablett Junior did have 7 years as a genuine forward overall but it's similar with him.

Ron Todd (1935-39) (2 time VFL leading goal kicker)
Peter McKenna (1965-75) (2 Colemans and didnt win the coleman despite kicking 143 & 134 goals on 1970-71)
P.Daicos (1979-1993) 3 time all Australian and 5 time club leading goal kicker

Brian Taylor (1985-1990) (For the lols, He kicked 100 in 1986)
Coventry (1920-1937) (6 time leading goal kicker, 2nd all time goal scorer at 1299 goals)
Dick Lee (1906-1922) (7 time leading goal kicker)

HF: Josh Schache - Tom McDonald - Joel Smith
FF: Brodie Grundy - Ben Brown - Matthew Jefferson

Others have said Hawthorn's best forward 6 all time (Hudson, Dunstall, Matthews and Franklin must be included, the last slots all arguable), but Hawthorn's best forward 6 who all played in the same team recently is pretty extraordinary:

Lewis Franklin Gunston
Rioli Roughhead Bruest

All genuine stars of the game.

Rioli Franklin Gunston
Breust Roughead Puopolo

+ Hale

That 2012/2013 forward line IMO is one of the most complete forward lines from a single side in history let alone modern footy.

A GOAT worthy KPF and a star swingman who had his prime cut short by cancer.
One of the best 3rd talls in modern footy in Gunston.
Two of the best small forwards in modern footy.
Puopolo made the archetypical small pressure forward position his very own - Hardwick realised he could put 3 Puopolo's in side to run havoc and ended up winning 3 flags.
Hale played the ruck forward role spectacularly.

275 goals, 3x AA and a NS from Rioli.
1066 goals (580 at Hawthorn), 8x AA (4x at Hawks), 4 Colemans (2 at Hawthorn), 1 B&F for Buddy
450 goals, 1x AA, 1 B&F for Gunston
528 goals, 2x AA for Breust
578 goals, 2x AA, Coleman for Roughead
217 goals (98 for the Hawks) for Hale.
185 goals for Puopolo.

2694 goals between them for the Hawks, 12 AAs, 3 Coleman, 2B&Fs.

Alistair Lynch, Bernie Quinlan, Charlie Cameron
Garry Wilson, Jonathon Brown, Jason Akermanis

Notable mention to Daniel Bradshaw 496 goals, could be named on the bench and play either Key FWD or DEF.

total goals- 2787 (=241 if you count Quinlan's time at Footscray)
Can you imagine the confusion and heartache Charlie, Wilson and Aker would cause in opposition back lines. End thread///

East Fremantle

Midfield
Sandilands S Black B Cousins P Cripps
Back up Rucks - P Ryder L Jackson
Off the bench miss- C Mainwaring A Swallow P Haselby

Hawthorn could have 2 top 6's that are to envy

Hendrie 254 Franklin 580 (1066) Breust 528
Moncrieff 629 Hudson 727 (1721) Rioli 275

Gunston 410 Roughead 578 Brereton 427 (464)
Lethal 915 Dunstall 1254 Peck 475

( ) denotes total goals

For all Hawks fans, Gary Buckenara, one of my favourite Hawks players- is he ahead of Hendrie?

HF: Josh Schache - Tom McDonald - Joel Smith
FF: Brodie Grundy - Ben Brown - Matthew Jefferson

Christ I forgot you even had Jefferson. What's happening with him right now? Pick 14 from memory, but rangy and a lot of development required.

JVR was much more ready made, but Jefferson seemed like a 'project.' Does he look like he'll make it?

Hawthorn could have 2 top 6's that are to envy

Hendrie 254 Franklin 580 (1066) Breust 528
Moncrieff 629 Hudson 727 (1721) Rioli 275

Gunston 410 Roughead 578 Brereton 427 (464)
Lethal 915 Dunstall 1254 Peck 475

( ) denotes total goals

I'm confused, how did Hudson kick 1721??

Darren Jarman, Tony Modra, Eddie Betts
Mark Ricciuto, Taylor Walker, Brett Burton
Good selections.

Welsh 270 goals @ 2.1 per game
Modra 440 @ 3.7
Betts 310 @ 2.1
D Jarman 264 @ 2.2
Walker 574 @ 2.3
Burton 264 @ 1.9

I have Roo in the midfield even though he kicked 292 @ 0.9 per game.

He played a long time elsewhere.
Buddy kicked over 1000 goals, 580 for Hawthorn
Huddo kicked over 2000 goals in all senior football.

In his last two full seasons combined in Tassie (78 & 79) he kicked nearly 400 goals across all matches. And Tassie footy was in pretty good shape then.

He was a goalkicking machine.

Best forward 6 of all time