Big Footy Grand Final celebrations plans - join the victory march!!

This all sounds great so far shawthing.
The only issue is have is any place wanting me to take off my colours. I want take them off for no man! ;p
How come the destination is the Lion?

This all sounds great so far shawthing.
The only issue is have is any place wanting me to take off my colours. I want take them off for no man! ;p
How come the destination is the Lion?

I am totally up for changing that I am not sold on it myself 100%.

My thoughts are I have rang and been told that club colors and jumpers are fine. It's a big space. It will be a good place for those wanting to watch it who don't march. I am more then happy to change that to young and jacksons but I just think that will be a bit more packed with neutrals and isn't as big a space.

Any other venue or suggestion is totally open for discussion.

In face I would love input from others before tomorrow arvo. If anyone knows a large venue in the city that is not very strict in terms of dress code and letting people in etc that will be fun for people to go to and celebrate please suggest it here. Also if anyone knows a similar venue near the ground to watch the game please suggest it here.

I am totally up for changing that I am not sold on it myself 100%.

My thoughts are I have rang and been told that club colors and jumpers are fine. It's a big space. It will be a good place for those wanting to watch it who don't march. I am more then happy to change that to young and jacksons but I just think that will be a bit more packed with neutrals and isn't as big a space.

Any other venue or suggestion is totally open for discussion.

Ill prob go as close to the G as i can get.
Cricketers or the Mountain by 12 if i cant get a ticket to the Big Show. You think you can wear your jumpers there? I'm thinking there would be less Sainters at the Cricketers too ;p
CANT WAIT TO MARCH THROUGH MELBOURNE!

Ok so the best I have been able to come up with is to give people these options / suggestions.

Those wanting to be near the G and join the victory march through the city should go to the mountain view and give a hand to ol' mate Bloben. If you are planning on heading there be there early to ensure you get in.

If you end up there and it is full I'd suggest The Cricketer's Arms and The Precinct as venues around the G that will have the game on.

Those not interested in the victory march and you maybe able to get a seat at the final destination which will be The Lion hotel Melbourne Centeral.

All those wanting to do the Victory march meet at Wellington on the park after the victory lap presentation etc. We will meet across the road from the actual venue and wait say 10 minutes before leaving.

We will walk / stumble / crawl all the while being very sexy in our victory strut up to spring st. Those who are not in the city and wanting to join in maybe able to intersect with us at parliament station as we get to the corner of spring and collins. From there we will walk down little lonesdale to the melbourne centeral lion and celebrate.

That would be my rough (and I know they are rough) plans for now. Anyone wanting to have a final input, suggestion, criticism please do so. I also think this should be an event for all supporters and not just bigfooty so if you are a member of another board when the finalized plans go up maybe post them or a link to the final thread.

Great work ST!! I don't think they're that rough tbh. They don't really need to be perfect either. Now we just really need to get enough interest to make it worth doing. I think we need to get a new list of who is able to commit to this plan. If we get enough crew together the next hardest part will be recognising each other and keeping track of everyone. It's taking shape atleast :thumbsu:

All those wanting to do the Victory march meet at Wellington on the park after the victory lap presentation etc. We will meet across the road from the actual venue and wait say 10 minutes before leaving.
You mean Hilton on the Park, on Wellington St?

Or is there some place called "Wellington on the Park" that I don't know about?

Everyone get to the Mt View then as we want a overwhelming Collingwood majority somewhere to celebrate and go mental together!!!

Haha, I'm booked into the Hilton on Saturday night. I'm afraid I can't invite you guys up to party in my room though, 50 drunken and elated Collingwood supporters could cause some serious damage and I'm not sure my pockets run that deep.:D

You boys should head up to The Yarra Hotel or The Carringbush after the game, somewhere in the heartland. You can trust you'll be right to wear your colours in that neck of the woods, you're probably more likely to get denied entry to the Yarra for not wearing the black and white.
Leaves you free to head over to Vic Park at some stage as well which looks like it'd end up being a popular destination.

That'll be the direction I head in after the game most likely with an eye towards treking into the city later in the night.

Surprised to see there is only one post game event at the sidney myer music bowl where we can pay tribute to those black and white champions who have written their names in History?

Surely I'm missing something?

Anyone?
If we win I would think a hell of a lot of the 58,000 members and a large chunk of the Victorian non-member supporters would be looking to whoop it up and honour the boys......How are 90,000 going to fit in the music bowl??

Surprised to see there is only one post game event at the sidney myer music bowl where we can pay tribute to those black and white champions who have written their names in History?

Surely I'm missing something?

Anyone?
There's a family day there the following day as well, where all the players will be presented.

OK, well, at this stage I reckon I'll proably head to the Mountain View for a couple of beers, and then head down to the ground to watch the game (I have a ticket) - unless people going to the game are intending to meet up elsewhere instead?

Great work ST!! I don't think they're that rough tbh. They don't really need to be perfect either. Now we just really need to get enough interest to make it worth doing. I think we need to get a new list of who is able to commit to this plan. If we get enough crew together the next hardest part will be recognising each other and keeping track of everyone. It's taking shape atleast :thumbsu:

Good point.

Two lists? People going to game, and those going to Mt View, both to meet somewhere to do victory march?

I reckon, for those of us going to the pub, we could sneak into the ground after the game to catch some of the celebrations (if we win).

Ill see you guys at the View and then on to the March to town
From there im heading to C'wood even though most residents these days dont even go for the Maggies anymore ;p

Like most committed Pies supporters I am incredibly nervous about the outcome of this weekends game....I'm really worried about being shitty and sooky at the end of the game if the Saints manage to beat....Man i'll be in tears.

So i'm thinking about doing something which may ease the pain a little which is put $100 bucks on the saints to win @$2.90.

Now don't get me wrong, i'm confident we are going to knock these Saints over, but in the off chance the Saints get up, $290 in the account will ease some pain, not much, but I'm willing to part with the coin to help me emotionally.

Anyone else looking at something similar?

I'll be there at 10:59am Quicky.

I called the place yesterday and was told that there is standing room at the bar as well as a few high tables and stools that will be available. They will also close off the side street and have tables, a bar and bbq outside.

They told me it gets pretty packed so for those that want to come I'd recommend getting there early.

Also we should PM mobile numbers so we can catch up for a beer before the bounce. Pretty much most of my mates that will be there too aren't Pie fans

Go to the London if you want some atmosphere guys.
I was there for the GF last year and it was my first time there.

Fit the bill perfectly.

1k from the 'G' and close enough to move to anywhere after the game. So close the qantas plane was damn low over our heads.

Good luck with it.

All I know is that it needs to be sorted...

London Tavern sounds good...

Hilton (on the park) will be absolutely loaded...

and richmond bars (swan, precinct and corner) will be overloaded.

What about a pub near collins street? european bier cafe? elephant?

Big Footy Grand Final celebrations plans - join the victory march!!