Weekly Prize - Join Any Time - Tip Round 1
The Golden Ticket - MCG and Marvel Medallion Club tickets and Corporate Box tickets at the Gabba, MCG and Marvel.
Weekly Prize - Join Any Time - Tip Round 1
The Golden Ticket - MCG and Marvel Medallion Club tickets and Corporate Box tickets at the Gabba, MCG and Marvel.
He would have a hell of a different role, a Rankine, Rachele, Cameron type would be infinitely better suitedPicture Elliot in our forward line with H & Charlie running around. He would be the best small/medium forward in the comp…
Has Liam Jones played a final, yet?I know "we've moved on from Jonesy", but that was one of our more stupid decisions to remove him from the list.
I know "we've moved on from Jonesy", but that was one of our more stupid decisions to remove him from the list.
give me a guy who backs himself in and slots itGlad someone said it.
Motlop isnt remotely close to Elliott.
I think anyone that finishes inside the top 8 should not be eligible to recieve band 1 and 2 free agents. That should fix it.I get the equalisation element, but my problem has always been that it incentivises poor clubs to march their free agents out the door and top clubs to hang onto their players.
The struggling clubs lose their best players and replace with them draft picks. That sends the club further backwards at least for a few years.
Which I think is counter-productive to what it is trying to achieve...
It was his stupid decision NOT the Club's!
![]()
Jones announces his retirement
Defender Liam Jones announces retirement effective immediately.www.carltonfc.com.au
give me a guy who backs himself in and slots it
so often we over use the footy, not wanting to take responsibility with the excuse of "being a good team mate" by being close to goal and give a loopy s**t handball or kick to a team mate in a similar or worse position leading to a rough as goal or turnover. If you are a forward worth his salt you back yourself in - and as mentioned elliot backs himself in from almost anywhere
He retired.Agree with the original post.
We swiftly delisted him and subsequently got next to nothing in terms of compensation.
You might say Liam was stupid but as it stands now the club didn't maximise his delisting well at all.
My guess is a midfielder on the outer with James Harmes coming in. Bailey smith? Jack MaCrae? I’d take either at Carlton.Something huge coming out from Western Bulldogs way I'm hearing..
Watch this space...
He retired.
My guess is a midfielder on the outer with James Harmes coming in. Bailey smith? Jack MaCrae? I’d take either at Carlton.
No, he chose to retire. Had other options.Forced to retire and not by the club.
Wonder who we'd have our eye on at 8.Austin pushing hard for Geelong's Pick 8. Have been in discussion for a while and Geelong open to it. It's a focus for us and may hold up any deal for Hollands.
This years and next years first involved plus possibly deal for Fisher. If we can upgrade 17 it may help more
Club will be very happy to go to draft with pick 8 and maybe a later pick. We want another A grade young player as next year will be Campo kids and possibly a FA or 2 as we will be well off SC wise
I'm not saying this is fake news, but that means our F1 gone, compo for Fisher gone, our F2 for Hollands gone, and in return a F3 at best for Dow.Austin pushing hard for Geelong's Pick 8. Have been in discussion for a while and Geelong open to it. It's a focus for us and may hold up any deal for Hollands.
This years and next years first involved plus possibly deal for Fisher. If we can upgrade 17 it may help more
Club will be very happy to go to draft with pick 8 and maybe a later pick. We want another A grade young player as next year will be Campo kids and possibly a FA or 2 as we will be well off SC wise
Clearly that all can't happen, we've still gotta stick by the future pick rules. I'm sure we'll trade with this in mind - 3 or 4 picks in the 35-40 range next year should be enough.I'm not saying this is fake news, but that means our F1 gone, compo for Fisher gone, our F2 for Hollands gone, and in return a F3 at best for Dow.
How exactly are we planning to match the bids for Ben at ~ pick 5 and Lucas at ~20-30 with just two 3rd rounders next year? Are we planning on trading out a bunch of players next year or just that eager to go into 2025 with a massive deficit of picks?
I really like ferris’ suggestion that it should be based on the contract the existing club is offering.I think anyone that finishes inside the top 8 should not be eligible to recieve band 1 and 2 free agents. That should fix it.
I'm not saying this is fake news, but that means our F1 gone, compo for Fisher gone, our F2 for Hollands gone, and in return a F3 at best for Dow.
How exactly are we planning to match the bids for Ben at ~ pick 5 and Lucas at ~20-30 with just two 3rd rounders next year? Are we planning on trading out a bunch of players next year or just that eager to go into 2025 with a massive deficit of picks?
Yep...That the formula for calculating compensation is "secret" is a clear sign that A) the system is corrupt, and B) the AFL knows it and doesn't want any scrutiny.
A club like Carlton for example pays a fair way over the odds for Zac Williams (800k+ p.a.) to trigger first round compensation.
3 years later and with the cap increasing exponentially and LESS money on the table for McKay the AFL will sign off on pick 3 for McKay. As a % of salary cap the Williams salary will be significantly ahead of McKay.
Why?
Because they want to give North a leg up without the uproar and because they know they can get away with it because the formula is secret.
Why keep it secret all these years if not to rort it whenever you feel like it? A douche like Dodoro will be counting on the AFL taking the path of least resistance and awarding North pick 3.
Salary CapAnyone know what Soapy means by "SC wise"?
Yep...
Then we all know the next couple of years WCE will ask for assistance, then Tassie will come in...