Rumour Bluemour Discussion XXXVI - 'Loopy' Season in full swing

Chuggas best mate

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

I would hate to think our club wouldn’t go after a player just because we’ve traded away (if Kennedy gets traded) that players friend.

Just trying to keep things simple, if we lose Kennedy, Owies amd Carrol, unless the draftees who come in are better, then I think we go backwards.

Even if we get full years from the players you mention, I don’t think it changes anything.

A full tllt at the draft is fine as long as you or we replace the players we cut in the short term
In the case of Kennedy, we had trouble fitting him in the midfield and he often drew the short straw playing out of his preferred position. Carroll is even further back in the midfield pecking order and having an impact in the senior team.

I would expect Lord showed enough to get more time in the seniors and will provide midfield coverage that MK or Carroll.had.

Also if Houston joins the team, it means Kemp will probably play more up forward and hopefully in the midfield if required which is effectively MKs role.

70S Banjo GIF
1727477164025.png

The more I read, see and hear about the Owies situation, the more it makes sense.

As for Stringer, no thanks. Has the ability to turn a game, win it off his own boot and is great to watch when he's on. Unfortunately he isn't anywhere near consistent enough and his worst is horrible.

Can you point to when he was at his worst? If you look at his career, it’s really consistent, his goal numbers relatively to how many games he plays is solid.

This guy who some claim to be inconsistent kicked 42 goals this year and has averaged over 1.7 goals per game for over 200 games, that’s great consistency.

He kicked goals in 21 out of 23 games this year and in one of the games he didn’t kick a goal he got 20 possessions.

He is a good player

On stringer.
Last 4 years
19 games - 41 goals
15 games - 25 goals
17 games - 21 goals
23 games - 45 goals

Career average of 2.66 tackles a game.

Take away the knob factor, bloke is durable, kicks goals, has a X factor that we are in need of.

I believe he has at least 2 years left of this type of output.

Mates with saad from what I’ve read. Read also that Stringer in person is actually a lovely guy.

If we had a crystal ball and we could look into the future and he was part of us getting the next flag would the ‘Carlton respects, or no dickheads policy’ crew still say no.

Worth a punt.

Bloke made mistakes, comes across like a dick ‘hello ginni, Zorko, papley, ect’ but not unworthy of a second chance.

May have missed something but what has he done wrong over the last 5+ years?

We are a strong club now with strong leadership, hard nut coach, trust them to set the standards.
What’s he done to get the hate?

Last edited by a moderator:
Big difference between dickhead & scum bag.
Stringer firmly in the scum bag camp & given that the afl took it upon themselves to call out his & Hind for who they associate with it, shows he hasn’t got any smarter.
Special level of piece of shit to cheat on the mother of your two young kids (who you’ve been in 10yr relationship with) with a 17yr old school girl.
That’s only the tip of the iceberg - we don’t need that shit at the club.
* are shit, if there was any chance of a positive with him they would have signed him for 2 already
And you think the players at our club are all angels?

The story I was told about one of our players antics prior to his wedding and then how he threw an ex teammate under the bus to cover his arse, would have you standing with a pitchfork at Ikon Park

A 23 year old man cheated on his girlfriend 10 years ago, so what, 50% of marriages end in divorce, no one is perfect.

This is classic pearl clutching.

Stringer would still have a couple of decent on field moments, but I find him even more lazy, selfish and conditional

Would be a no from my perspective
Yep people keep referring to individual stats (goals specifically) when referring to players like Stringer but the reality is his traits like you have mentioned break down in terms of team structures, disciplines and most importantly rules/system !!

Maybe the same applies for Owies individual goal count, it just may not be a reflection of how he fits or improves our team structures or system…..

Career average of 2.66 tackles a game.

Take away the knob factor, bloke is durable, kicks goals, has a X factor that we are in need of.

I believe he has at least 2 years left of this type of output.

Mates with saad from what I’ve read. Read also that Stringer in person is actually a lovely guy.

Yeah most of those tackles are from 2-3 steps away as his man beats him to the ball and if it's not in that zone he doesn't chase at all, there's a reason no clubs are chasing him.

Also the AFL gave him and Essendon and official warning about his mates coming in the rooms after games. They are not people we want around the club.

Stringer would still have a couple of decent on field moments, but I find him even more lazy, selfish and conditional

Would be a no from my perspective

Lazy, selfish and conditional…..hmmm!! Reckon I’ve heard that of a fair few players over the years.

Never was a fan of Jake, but when invested he certainly can play, my flog meter always kicks in with him though, BUT, if you actually take time to think about it, could you imagine him in a strong forward structure as the 3rd or 4th wheel?? We gave Fantasia a shot, didn’t work. Stringer is certainly not the worst forward option for us. Allows Charlie and Harry to roam. Makes a contest so the smalls (when healthy) can get in and under. Yeah, not sure. Have to be bloody cheap though.

Sent from my iPad using BigFooty.com

Don’t know if Stringer is capable of the sorts of performances that he once was, but if he *could play that sort of footy consistently I’d look at him on the condition of:
  • He’s calmed down off-field
  • He passes a medical with flying colours.
  • He’s fit for day 1 of pre-season
  • He’s on an extremely low base-wage contract with performance bonuses built in
If he came with the drive and determination to be a team-oriented 3rd tall, he’d kick 40 goals and probably go a long way to helping us to a flag. But that’s an almighty big if.

Don’t know if Stringer is capable of the sorts of performances that he once was, but if he *could play that sort of footy consistently I’d look at him on the condition of:
  • He’s calmed down off-field
  • He passes a medical with flying colours.
  • He’s fit for day 1 of pre-season
  • He’s on an extremely low base-wage contract with performance bonuses built in
If he came with the drive and determination to be a team-oriented 3rd tall, he’d kick 40 goals and probably go a long way to helping us to a flag. But that’s an almighty big if.

Don't think Stringer has even embraced a proper preseason

Yeah most of those tackles are from 2-3 steps away as his man beats him to the ball and if it's not in that zone he doesn't chase at all, there's a reason no clubs are chasing him.

Also the AFL gave him and Essendon and official warning about his mates coming in the rooms after games. They are not people we want around the club.
Good post, agree on those points. Just don't get the interest in him. We will have a fit, strong and determined JSOS

returning to play the third tall forward role. We have Kemp as well, hopefully he gets more opportunities to play up forward.

Stringers best footy is behind him, he is absolutely surplus to our needs imo.