StaggerLee
Premium Platinum
- Aug 16, 2019
- AFL Club
- Carlton
Is it solely on the club that they advised Kennedy that he could explore is options or is there a chance that maybe he requested it and got the club’s blessing?
AFLW 2024 - Round 10 - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
And just where did I mention any player names for Petracca in that post?
Don't make shit up at my expense to suit your agenda.
I have absolutely no idea of the off field workings of a football club, but it doesn't take a rocket scientist to see 2 immediate issues, even from outside and with no inner knowledge, that these are damning.Sadly, as I discussed with several people on here meetings we had with senior players last Monday after Lions loss didn't really solve anything. Interesting the names mentioned as possible trades are the ones I mentioned as not being happy and there are more players involved.
There is probably more concerns and rumours coming from the club than I have heard in 3 years.
There is a lot of frustration amongst the playing group. Especially senior players. This has been bubbling along for a few months and IMO this has been shown in results.
It seems internally the coaches and LM are blaming the players? This is where the issues seem to lie.
The club is at a real cross roads in regards to it's football department. These things need to be fixed and addressed. Voss won't be sacked (I don't think) but he needs to take things on board or he will really lose the group. If he can I can see us being Top 4 and if he doesn't we could fall dramatically.
Game plan, style and expectations seems to be the major issue but there are issues with List balance, contracts and who we are possibly targeting.
As I have said for months we are speaking with anyone and everyone and there will be a minimum 8-10 changes. Houston wasn't a target of Austin but Voss is pushing for him. What will happen I have no idea.
This is where Cook needs to step up and I have concerns about Lloyd. IMO, A strong Head of Football wouldn't have let these issues fester
Fingers crossed we can sort this and soon. I never would have believed this 6 months ago. Next 4-6 weeks will determine a lot of our future. I believe it's this serious
A late 3rd or 4th really have 0 value to us JJ. They'll be swallowed up by the Campo bids and we only have so many list spots we can fill.Basically if we've actually "announced" to these 3 to go look and it's been made public then we've put our nuts in a sling as per usual with our trading power. Other clubs list management will be going, "well you've told them you've wanted them out"... same thing happened with Dow, we got peanuts. Now Martin we just let go???? and he's got 2-3 suitors who may have at least given us a late 3rd or 4th which by our standing having to add 7+ players to our list may of been some benefit.
I get we don't want to go all out DoDo on our perception with trades and such, but boy oh boy wowee getting tired of being so nice. Might as well help Brisbane get Ashcroft for nothing in return, like we did with the Hawks a few years back.
Sorry I don't remember seeing the club or Matt Kennedy announcing jack ****?Come on mate read between the lines. The club and player have worded it nicely so Kennedy finds a new club and we get some compensation.
If no one offers him a contract he will stay. If he leaves it will be for a 3rd rounder and thank you for your service. I'm not happy with the compensation but that is life.
Schultz was a bit better than Owies, was contracted, and the Filth overpaid, so the value isn’t completely analogous. But, he cost #34 and F1.Owies is a very hard one to read, probably early third rounder is the mark, but it is galling when his output pretty much matches Lachie Schultz who drew a first rounder, plus.
Would love them to go as a package deal and get us a top thirty pick.
Not much tbh.Just curious, what do people genuinely see chugga and mowies being worth at the trade table. And what they're actually worth not what we hope to get. Kennedy may get you a mid to late second/early third. Owies I'd suggest is at best a third
Schultz was a bit better than Owies, was contracted, and the Filth overpaid, so the value isn’t completely analogous. But, he cost #34 and F1.
So surely a 2nd round pick for a guy who kicked 33 goals is reasonable.
Were you saying this at 9/2 ?Depending on how bad the situation is, you'd hope the wheels don't fall off as we go into next season
We started a full rebuild and got in the players which was good
Off-field flying with record memberships
Russell may have been ok if not for the injury prones (not sure)
but the one important ingredient in all of this that we've struggled with is finding a good coach..
Sadly, Voss might deliver the final blow to this rebuild
I reckon it's about doing right by the player.Isn't the idea that we've "allowed them to explore" but we're not selling them.
Particularly with Kennedy, he's contracted, so we're not fire selling him.
I think the point we've "oversold our hand" is overblown.
I think there’s some smoke around Sam De Koning and his future at the cats …
Not telling, allowing. Fair difference.Probably just inferred by us telling him to look for another club
Malthouse was going senile.
Bolton was good but had his throat cut by SOS cutting the list too deep.
Teague was a mistake.
Voss is great, just needs a bit of tactical leadership around him.
I always had my doubts but we were flying at that time so no I wasn’t.Were you saying this at 9/2 ?
Have faith. We were so pumped this time last year. Best experience I’ve ever had with my kids.I always had my doubts but we were flying at that time so no I wasn’t.
I’m thinking it’s not going to end well. Time will tell.
By the end this is kind of what I expect the result to be, another pick around 25-30That will depend entirely on the demand. I would be amazed if Chugga doesn’t have multiple suitors we may have a little control over. I will be disappointed if he can’t draw us a second rounder. Owies is a very hard one to read, probably early third rounder is the mark, but it is galling when his output pretty much matches Lachie Schultz who drew a first rounder, plus.
Would love them to go as a package deal and get us a top thirty pick.
I agree with your Kennedy comment and looking back with hindsight it seems Cook likes to back in his decisions, Malthouse, Thompson and Scott all turned out to be multiple premiership coaches.Cook ran a review and the club decided to stick with Thompson after a really poor 2006 when they finished 10th with a record of 10/11 and being belted by the Hawks by over 10 goals in their last game. The whole footy world expected him to be sacked.
That was his 6th season from memory and they had made one prelim but overall they had struggled. They were a long way from being constantly at the top.
The easy decision would have been to sack him. They toughed it out and won the flag the next year.
I love Matty Kennedy as much as the next bloke but I can't believe that people are having connections if we have decided that our midfield needs to be quicker.
Kennedy an earlish 2nd, most likely an upgrade of 2nds. Knowing the other party's list manager, it will be a drawn out affair
Owies, early 3rd
Midweek tackle reporting tonight he is happy to stay and most likely to be at the club next yearIt's not beyond the realms of possibility that Kennedy is very pissed off with Voss and therefor if he nominates a club(removing the auction aspect), we can expect **** all compensation.(at least less than most would find acceptable)
If he doesn't want to be here, than you just arrange any trade that suits Kennedy.
Kennedy an earlish 2nd, most likely an upgrade of 2nds. Knowing the other party's list manager, it will be a drawn out affair
Owies, early 3rd