Bluemour Melting Pot XXXI - Feeling Hot, Hot, Hot! 🔥 🔥 🔥

love what Kane writes in the article...

After eight coaches in 21 years, Alastair Clarkson aside, it would have been irresponsible to appoint a coach such as Ross Lyon without going through the correct procedures.

It was clear that the connection to the job stroked Lyon’s ego, but when the work needed to be done to convince the club why he was the man he wasn’t prepared to get down and do the dirty work.

That spells danger.

According to one of our players:

Lyon became disenchanted when he was told by Greg Williams on Tuesday that he needed to be involved in the process.

Hence Lyon calling Sayers the same day to clarify “the process” as he was under the impression that he had been head hunted by the President (who wanted to give him the job) and therefore didn’t need any form of process.

Im not sure if “the process” means he was up against other applicants or if it just meant he needed to present to the panel; but either way, Williams and Sayers aren’t on the same page (already!).

#Bluemour
No point having a panel if they're not supposed to do anything

Not sure if this counts as a #blumour or not as it’s first hand info, but according to one of our players:

Lyon became disenchanted when he was told by Greg Williams on Tuesday that he needed to be involved in the process.

Hence Lyon calling Sayers the same day to clarify “the process” as he was under the impression that he had been head hunted by the President (who wanted to give him the job) and therefore didn’t need any form of process.

Im not sure if “the process” means he was up against other applicants or if it just meant he needed to present to the panel; but either way, Williams and Sayers aren’t on the same page (already!).
Thanks C4.

Why would Sayers put Williams in charge of running the process and commitee then be surprised that Williams actually wants to run the process.

Either Ross was badly mistaken and never really assured the job by Sayers. Or if he was then Sayers has drastically moved the goal posts on him.

Once Sayers set up Williams and the Committee to select the coach. It's over to them surely?

Gee we are a mess if Sayers and Deisel are not on the same page one week into the job. Whether Ross was the right coach for us or not, we can’t be letting woke culture and AFL media propaganda stop us from hiring the right coach or influence our process (or lack of).

I’m all for Carlton respects but it would be great if our number 1 initiative and priority was to actually win games of football rather than being a model corporate citizen.

I don't reckon that last rumour passes the pub test.

- On August 26th Luke Sayers publicly announces at a press conference that he will be assembling a coaching selection pane; to go through a selection process and 'leave no stone unturned'.

- 1st September Ross Lyon pulls out of the coaching race citing he wasn't aware he had to go through the process ?.

I don't see why this means there is a disconnect between Williams and Sayers - in fact I would say it shows they are on the same page ?

Not sure if this counts as a #blumour or not as it’s first hand info, but according to one of our players:

Lyon being discouraged by being asked to go through a 'process' is one thing, but Williams and Sayers not being on the 'same page' about this I find hard to swallow.

We just had Sayers tell us all there would be a process, and that Williams would spearhead it - the only possible disconnect I can see here is if Sayers did indeed intend for the 'process' to be a sham (for show only), and hadn't shared that key detail with the man he'd put in charge of said process. Sounds like nonsense to me.

The review findings state there is about 20 recommendations, there was a brief outline of 5 findings, referred to the management as being capable and committed, I assume this to be Lloyd and Liddle, then praised the list management department.

Sayers said he couldn’t guarantee their positions and it’s clear we are interested in Cook, but for what role?

In my opinion, they removed the coaches because it’s easy to find better, the fact Lloyd and Liddle are still there, after the review and on the coaching selection panel, to me suggests Sayers and the review thinks they are doing a decent/good job, but it seems he would be happy to replace them, if someone like Cook was interested.

Ts easy to decide if you think the coach and assistants are crap, we watch the footy every week, but how do people have any idea if Liddle and Lloyd are any good?
Fair enough. I would have thought there would be some merit to keeping that process at arms length from them (if there are indeed concerns) and having the club represented on the panel otherwise.. Anway time will tell. I appreciate your thoughts though.

It's a tricky one isn't it? It's an important cause, yet there are plenty of organisations like White Ribbon whose main focus is encouraging men and boys to respect women and teaching that violence against them is unacceptable. I guess Carlton's main role should be winning games of footy.

It's a very delicate balance. I like that we are a leader in this field but would also like us to focus on returning to being a successful club.
Anyone on here hijacking 'Carlton Respects' as being elevated above winning games of footy is just pushing a barrow. Carlton Respects had zero impact on our club this year which failed to win games. It didnt influence Teague or any of our assistant coaches. It didnt influence the energy or attitude our players brought to the ground.

Lyon being discouraged by being asked to go through a 'process' is one thing, but Williams and Sayers not being on the 'same page' about this I find hard to swallow.

We just had Sayers tell us all there would be a process, and that Williams would spearhead it - the only possible disconnect I can see here is if Sayers did indeed intend for the 'process' to be a sham (for show only), and hadn't shared that key detail with the man he'd put in charge of said process. Sounds like nonsense to me.

I'm thinking it's the latter - "the process" as reported here by people who claim to be ITK was for all intensive purposes just a guise to demonstrate some form of governance in place (and possibly to shut the media up).

The other question to ask is how a player would be across the inner workings of the selection process and what Sayers intentions were.

Be good to know his reasons why?

- because he wants the big name?
- because it’s the easier option?
- because of the perceived backlash he may get for choosing another first timer

Forget about whether it is right for our club or not. It’s about doing due diligence on the best option.

You hope they are doing that due diligence

Likely because he wants someone who can handle the pressure of being a Carlton coach with all the internal/external rubbish that comes with it.

It's a tricky one isn't it? It's an important cause, yet there are plenty of organisations like White Ribbon whose main focus is encouraging men and boys to respect women and teaching that violence against them is unacceptable. I guess Carlton's main role should be winning games of footy.

It's a very delicate balance. I like that we are a leader in this field but would also like us to focus on returning to being a successful club.

White Ribbon. LOL. The organisation that accrued tax payers money and donations and is now in Liquidation. Would this be classified as financial abuse?

I am very supportive of respect in general and specifically for women and indigenous people in the community.
Nevertheless, you can't have the tail wagging the dog and personal agendas can come to the fore when there is no framework or hard guidelines in place.
If we stop becoming a high performance football club in an elite competition we may as well lobby the AFL to hand out merit certificates to all 18 clubs and can the concept of a premiership.
CB

Anyone on here hijacking 'Carlton Respects' as being elevated above winning games of footy is just pushing a barrow. Carlton Respects had zero impact on our club this year which failed to win games. It didnt influence Teague or any of our assistant coaches. It didnt influence the energy or attitude our players brought to the ground.
I can only speak for myself when I say that until we start being successful again, I don't want to hear a ****ing peep out of the club unless it's about how we are going to improve and get better, and what steps we are taking to do so.

I don't reckon that last rumour passes the pub test.

- On August 26th Luke Sayers publicly announces at a press conference that he will be assembling a coaching selection pane; to go through a selection process and 'leave no stone unturned'.

- 1st September Ross Lyon pulls out of the coaching race citing he wasn't aware he had to go through the process ?.

I don't see why this means there is a disconnect between Williams and Sayers - in fact I would say it shows they are on the same page ?

Not to mention Ross said on FC he was be happy to go through a process last week.

The reason you run process is to flush out redflags. There was a middle ground to be struck here by Ross Lyon, entailing an interview, an explaination of his gameplan and disclosure of the harassment issue. If Ross was not willing to be transparent to that degree, unfortunately, despite the fit in many respects, Ross is not the right coach for Carlton

I can only speak for myself when I say that until we start being successful again, I don't want to hear a ******* peep out of the club unless it's about how we are going to improve and get better, and what steps we are taking to do so.
Here's the peep the club has ACTUALLY given - we have appointed a panel to run a process to appoint the next head coach.

Here's the peep from the media - Ross Lyon has withdrawn from that process. He was pretty clear in the media that he didnt want to go through a process with Collingwood, and he's made the same decision with us.

One of my biggest fears is that my daughters will entertain the idea of “fixing” some guy and it ends violence. I had my turn ten years ago, not to Simone’s terrible level, thank God.

These abusers are very manipulative, very good at what they do. I didn’t speak up for years until one day I thought he was actually going to kill me on a bush walk (his words), then I quietly started packing my belongings and moved out, but by but, until I was all set up in my unit and could tell him I was going. Bullies, aggressive manipulators, abusers. I’ve got no time for any of it.

The emotional abuse and toll can last for generations. Thanks for sharing your story AWG and for Simone for educating people on the hardships that people don’t speak about. It is so important.

Here's the peep the club has ACTUALLY given - we have appointed a panel to run a process to appoint the next head coach.

Here's the peep from the media - Ross Lyon has withdrawn from that process. He was pretty clear in the media that he didnt want to go through a process with Collingwood, and he's made the same decision with us.
Two different things.

I am speaking in general. I am not saying I am unhappy with anything we have done. More a hypothetical conversation I saw on here that interested me.

Mate - the current Laker's list is the Geelong of the NBA not us LOL

Is that what I said? I said before LeBron... They were doing shithouse, drafting poorly, all a mess. They got LeBron because they are the Lakers and the nature of the NBA.
Unfortunately for us the AFL is a much more equitable league!

My honest take is that Clarko has agreed to coach us, Ross was told and given the opportunity to pull out on his terms so not to damage his brand any further moving forward

This! I still think (and only my opinion) that cook is the key to all this, if we land him then we get Clarkson imo
That’s what I’m hopeful for atm

love what Kane writes in the article...

After eight coaches in 21 years, Alastair Clarkson aside, it would have been irresponsible to appoint a coach such as Ross Lyon without going through the correct procedures.

It was clear that the connection to the job stroked Lyon’s ego, but when the work needed to be done to convince the club why he was the man he wasn’t prepared to get down and do the dirty work.

That spells danger.
I wonder how much tension there will be on the next Footy Classified show after Kane's comments...

Can't wait

Sent from my moto g(6) using BigFooty.com mobile app