Bluemour Melting Pot XXXI - Feeling Hot, Hot, Hot! 🔥 🔥 🔥

Yeh - I get that - been in this business for over 20 years. I'm just saying we are lucky enough to have enough business and sales pipeline where we can pick and choose what tenders we undertake and which ones we don't (we are in a very niche part of the finance industry both here and in Canada, UK, Ireland). From experience you get a feel for which tenders we have a genuine chance at and which ones we are just being used to flesh out the candidates to satisfy DD requirements.

Exactly. Ignore the humble bragging & condescension. IBM is on squillions of preferred supplier lists. There is no way they respond to every half baked RFP that customers put out. They calculate the cost of response, potential profits & likelihood of success before responding.

There is also a lot of work done & money spent on consulting and professional services outside RFP or tender mechanisms. There is definitely work to become a preferred supplier if that's the way a company or Gov department rolls but there are also ways to onboard suppliers for specific bits of work if required.

Sometimes your principles are in conflict. You can still support the Carlton Respects program by employing Ross Lyon. If you are satisfied there is genuine contrition remorse and efforts to rehabilitate and educate and you are confident that the prospective employee will not reoffend should that be part of the club’s consideration? Or is it 100% about protecting the brand? Should offenders ever be considered?
the only way a perpetrator deserves to be accepted fully into any organisation, space, family etc is if that person is fully accountable, listens to the victim/survivor as to what they have experienced through the abuse, takes full stock of the situation, commits to reparation, commits to change in behaviour and commits to becoming an advocate for change - do that and past transgressions will be seen as a mistake that a person regrets and wants to genuinely ensure doesn't happen again - anything else is fake, a cover up and will leave the perpetrator as miserable in their soul as the person they abused.......

I clearly did not say that!
Quite the opposite. What I did say is that there is a clear need for guidelines and precedents so that personal agendas do not take over.
CB
so 'allow' carlton respects but don't allow them any influence on decisions made within the club?

Is that what I said? I said before LeBron... They were doing shithouse, drafting poorly, all a mess. They got LeBron because they are the Lakers and the nature of the NBA.
Unfortunately for us the AFL is a much more equitable league!

LOL - What you don't rate Kuzma? :tearsofjoy: :tearsofjoy: :tearsofjoy: Mate I got you meant, I was trying to lighten the mood in this joint. But you gotta admit that Lakers team now is like Geelong

One of my biggest fears is that my daughters will entertain the idea of “fixing” some guy and it ends violence. I had my turn ten years ago, not to Simone’s terrible level, thank God.

These abusers are very manipulative, very good at what they do. I didn’t speak up for years until one day I thought he was actually going to kill me on a bush walk (his words), then I quietly started packing my belongings and moved out, but by but, until I was all set up in my unit and could tell him I was going. Bullies, aggressive manipulators, abusers. I’ve got no time for any of it.

Fist bump and virtual hug. Thank you for sharing.

All I'm gonna say is, my mum. Very brave lady.

Yes I will.

Ross has been coaching for 13 years.

How many great coached have coached for 13 years without winning a premiership?

If you're happy for an Almost coach to get the gig without going through the process who has done SFA in the last 5 years good for you.

I certainly don't.

And if he had the hunger to coach like he said he does he would do what it takes to get the job.
Especially if he believes he can win a premiership with our list. Not sook because he didn't get his way.

There are circumstances Ross didn't win a flag... falling just short of beating probably the greatest Cats side in history...

Falling short of beating one of the greatest Hawks sides in history lead by a coach who is better than him...

How many coaches available that are better than Ross?

And there it is again.. "the process" ... what is the process? You can bet your house Diesel and Parkin were all for getting him... but what would they know...

Thanks for the info 43. Always appreciated.

Why wasn’t this background checking done much earlier on in the process? We knew there was baggage with Ross…surely this is one of the first things that needed to be verified/understood before we’d even consider him as a viable candidate?
Because the media timeline and the clubs actions aren’t always accurate.
I find it ironic that Scoop comes out and complains about club leaks and that the media had Lyon as a fait accompli.
People are quick point their fingers in the wrong direction when it comes to leaks. Some board members are still very close with a previous employee that would love to see Ross in the job.

I respect the effort, but there is no way we are paying just Pick #6 for Cerra.

Will require #24 as well or a player.
I know they'll obviously ask for more but I still reckon pick 6 is fair. I mean isn't it: either pick 6 or he can go to the draft - unless some other team wants to spend their top 5 capital on him? It's been reported he's meeting with several other clubs - not just us. We are not beholden to Cerra in any way so if I was the club I'd say: 6 - take it or leave it. Worse comes to worse we keep 6 and could do wonders with it.

the only way a perpetrator deserves to be accepted fully into any organisation, space, family etc is if that person is fully accountable, listens to the victim/survivor as to what they have experienced through the abuse, takes full stock of the situation, commits to reparation, commits to change in behaviour and commits to becoming an advocate for change - do that and past transgressions will be seen as a mistake that a person regrets and wants to genuinely ensure ddoesn't happen again - anything else is fake, a cover up and will leave the perpetrator as miserable in their soul as the person they abused.......
Fair enough. Now if we apply this standard to prisoners for example. If they don’t meet these preconditions, are you saying they have no right to employment for the rest of their lives?

No it doesn't. It means Ross has been playing pantomimes in the media since day one - everyone knows this - he has pulled every dodgey trick there is to get this gig and this is just another in a long line.

He has done himself no favours and its disrespectful to Carlton. He can jog right on - and has been told to do so - which is excellent.

Never performed, unproffessional, bad player interactions, long list of issues.

He is firmly in the Grant Thomas / Mick Malthouse old school of - no thanks mate.
100% agree.
Everyone here keeps commenting how stupid Carlton looks out of this but in my view nobody looks more stupid than Ross. Unless there is a backstory everyone is not aware of like Carlton have secretly re-engaged Clarko…in my view by stating he doesn’t want to go thru a process Ross has all but guaranteed he’ll never get another gig as a head coach, not to mention he has probably done himself out of the chance to land a lucrative payday to coach Carlton.
I was hoping he would be out next coach but if this has played out as it appears then I’m glad we didn’t get him.

There are circumstances Ross didn't win a flag... falling just short of beating probably the greatest Cats side in history...

Falling short of beating one of the greatest Hawks sides in history lead by a coach who is better than him...

How many coaches available that are better than Ross?

And there it is again.. "the process" ... what is the process? You can bet your house Diesel and Parkin were all for getting him... but what would they know...

BF lets agree to Disagree mate.

Go the Blues

Fair enough. Now if we apply this standard to prisoners for example. If they don’t meet these preconditions, are you saying they have no right to employment for the rest of their lives?
dunno - would you employ them?

And this by a Bulldogs supporter right now about if Lipinski is a good player. “No. Slow, crap defensively and like Higgins a pretty kick but not accurate. Crab/list clogger etc Inside mid whos too good for VFL but not good enough for AFL.”

Sounds like the type we shouldn’t be targeting. More Cerra’s, less Newneses.

Lipinski is no better than many of the kids already on our list.

so social justice doesn't include carlton respects? it's separate?
My position is very clear.We are running a high performance football club in an elite competition. We are governed by the laws of the land and the rules of the AFL. Beyond that the political interference of many factions within the club have blurred the vision of what we are trying to achieve. And in my opinion anyone pushing their own agenda ahead of the goals and objectives of the club is partially responsible for the position we are in and that is everyone.
I have stated elsewhere that I am supportive of respect, but I am anti personal agendas.
And speaking of agendas, you are clearly peddling a number of them.
I like the majority on this site, want the hatchets buried and the club to move forward and starting to play finals footy again.
CB

dunno - would you employ them?
Dunno but I would consider them at the very least just like I would consider Ross.
Character is a very important quality so I do understand where you are coming from but I also believe we have a role to play as a society to show them the right way by reintegrating them to a certain extent

Can I ask how you would feel if it was your daughter, sister, mother, friend?
Conversely can I ask when do you stop kicking someone for something they may or may not have done years ago?

I see you are not just a lawyer now but the whole damn star chamber judge jury and executioner. what a class act.

The reason you run process is to flush out redflags. There was a middle ground to be struck here by Ross Lyon, entailing an interview, an explaination of his gameplan and disclosure of the harassment issue. If Ross was not willing to be transparent to that degree, unfortunately, despite the fit in many respects, Ross is not the right coach for Carlton

For the 100th time he cannot talk about the harassment issue to anyone