Bluemour Season Blast Off Edition XXXIII

Any updates or news on our interest in Lewis Young?

Pretty sure that we won't have to worry about it. Be very surprised if this isn't already sorted and George becomes a blue on Monday.

I've got the music soundtrack lined up already...

There are other threads?!?

Sorry for asking
I said that nicely to be honest, didn’t come from a bad place at all

Whilst I have you though, do you not think you might be just a little eager on the questions? Just about every second post is one tbf…

Friendly question but you’re entitled to take it however you like…

There are other threads?!?
As soon as I seen "other threads" mentioned…

Geth will be along soon to spruik the facts thread…

On a different note, I spoke with a friend who works at a footy club (not ours). He absolutely ripped some of our off-season off-field moves as being '20 years behind the times'.

In particular: Greg Williams, who is very old school, tough love, and doesn't really have much sense of the new fandangled tactics or technical stuff (he also has a chronic brain disorder, not that should preclude people from working but hardly what you want). Voss as a coach is perceived as being a good bloke and motivator, but not so good with the tactical stuff or the development of players. Hamill - similar story there too - a 'motivator' rather than a teacher or

Basically, we're seen to be putting together a great 1990s coaching panel: good blokes, jobs for the boys, guys who keep it simple and call it as they see it etc, but a panel that is miles off in terms of tactical strength, use of data/analytics, and the modern side of things.

I'm not saying I agree necessarily with those sentiments at all - that's just what was conveyed to me. My take is we're hoping to address the cultural side of things first, and that to be honest, that might matter more given where we have been. Will we be better off with a 'roll the ball out and let them play' coaching staff who maybe don't develop the players or game plan? A club philosophy that is just 90s motivation?

With Voss, that actually worked ok with the veteran team he took over. They'd looked to be fading but he coaxed some life out of aging guys and initially had a decent run. But after 5 years, with the young guys notn nreally coming through and the old stars gone, it fell away a bit. For us: I reckon there's some hope there. We aren't a young team any more, and so much of our short-term success is going to be wrapped up in whether the new coach can get the best out of our mid-age players (24-30): Cripps, Weitering, Curnow, McKay, Docherty, Williams, Saad, Jones, Martin, McGovern, Hewitt (presumably), Pittonet, Newnes, Newman, Silvagni, etc. Throw in Walsh / Cerra as young guys who play with maturity and we really have a mature core that should be playing for premierships - we have very few untested/unproven young guys (and those who aren't on the list below have shown.... very little).

So I'm not doom and gloom about that assessment, nor do I speak about someone who is hugely influential, just an insider take.
Playfair was big into analytics I think. First out the door in the great covid pruning.
I would be surprised though if Vos thinks that analytics is irrelevant. Clearly based on their performance, port were using analytics, and Vos was right in the thick of things there....
I have faith in Cook to bring leadership and relationships back into the club.
I can understand the critisism of Diesel, but have faith that he sticks to his lane, and doesnt start interfering with modern methods. He seems to me to be a "results first" kind of person, and that would be open to any way to achieve that. His interference with Tom Mitchell went ok..

Whilst I’m sure you have missed many, you are talking about exceptions, outliers, players who have bucked the trend and of course it’s entirely possible that Dow, LOB, Setters or SPS come good with a new coach, position or environment, I’m hoping one or two do, I certainly don’t think they all will.

The 4 mentioned there, if they are at Carlton or anywhere else, are running out of time to turn things around and let’s hope they do.
But this Darcy Parish hadn’t had a good season until now, he looked like a bust and anytime someone says stuff like this, makes me scratch my head, last year was Parish’s worst season as an AFL player numbers wise, worse than his debut season, last year he averaged 19 possessions and 3 tackles, n shortened matches, every season before that, he averaged over 20 touches and 3 tackles, how can anyone who supports Carlton use Parish as an example of a draftee not coming on?

His worst season, is streets ahead of Dow’s, SPS, Setterfields, O’Brien’s, Stockers best.

I think you've taken it the wrong way. I wasn't out to try and prove some point that O'Brien and Dow are going great guns and there is nothing to worry about, in fact I say it right there is the post you've quoted. I wasn't comparing either to any of those players either, including Parish.

What I was responding to was if there were ANY players who have had slow starts to their careers and turned out well and there are plenty. Whether they are the exception or more common isn't really relevant.

Probably the overarching point of mine was that they are both still really young.

I feel Dow is all fitness now. He showed a lot toward end of the year but it was always in the 1st quarter then he went missing. Needs to get as fit as possible this off season

I have faith in Vos. Played as a midfielder and was heavily involved in the port midfield. He will bring the strength and agression to Dows (and others) game that is missing

Pick 15 would be amazing. Just can't see it happening.
we would be mad to get rid of any of our mids before vos & co have had a crack at them. i think many will be surprised at the end of 2022 at how much better our midfield is. We have a free hit at all these players with huge potential, lets not give that away to some undeserving opposition team. I would hate sps to have a breakout year under a new coach at WCE for example

I’ve got a feeling Sydney are going to force a trade, Judging by Tom Harley’s comments. This is probably the hold up
Apparently hewitt is happy to stay in sydney. They cant offer him too much otherwise he might accept and then they have a problem with SC

Did you miss this thread by any chance :p

Nope. Well aware
But obviously lots of others have. ;)

It seems those debating the trade in bluemour thread may have.
Exactly Kat.
But it seems you can't fight city hall.
Or city hall sometimes goes whoosh.:p