News Blues squad to tackle Cats

So when do the young guys get a go? Throwing them all into the deep end will soon sort out who deserves a crack at senior level? :)

When they consistently take the piss in the reserves, thats when, Just because they are young does not mean they deserve a game, particularly if they are not physically ready.

It's not like we're throwing a bunch of kids to the wolves.....Jamo, T-Bird, Bower, Browne, Stevens, Hadley, Grigg, Pfeiffer and Bentley, Wiggins, Fisher, Cloke, Russell, plenty of experience surrounding the newbies.

So how will the game fold out?
I recon we'll line up something like this:

B: Austin Jamison Johnson
HB: Thornton Bower Armfield
C: Russell Stevens Grigg
HF: Garlett Cloke Yarran
F: Wiggins Kreuzer Betts
OB: Jacobs Hadley Joseph
IC: Hampson Fisher Anderson Edwards Browne Ellard / Bently Pfeiffer

Unlucky:
Rhys O’Keeffe
Lachie Hill
Luke Stanton

Keys:

Carlton's Pace:
Ellard, Joseph, Betts, Yarran, Garlett, Russell, Armfield and Grigg have good pace and will be looking to pressure Geelong into making misteaks like Collingwood did last year. We can hopefully open things up and run the ball.

Forward talls:
No Fevola means everything will be pretty one on one and down there as well as our extra small fast forwards will cause Geelong to play more short players in defence and force them to be accountable. Kreuzer and Cloke might find themselves one out often and as the main targets with no extra big defenders around then due to our other small forwards. Time to shine big fellas!
Geelong might be struggling for tall defenders as well.

Key midfielders:
Stevens and Hadley are going to have to win a lot of ball if we are to win. they are the senior players in there and they have great disposal. It's a perfect time for Hadley to put forward a case as a senior player.

Joseph I expect to take Abblett, he's done exceptional jobs on Harvey and Rioli aswell as getting the footy and using it well himself. He's one of those rare blokes who can carry a lot of muscle bulk and still have speed and endurance.

Defence:
The defence will have plenty to do this week and they will have to be good. Geelong don't have a good forward line and they will lack height up there which will suite us. They will have good smalls aswell which will keep Armfield, Johnson and Anderson very busy.
Ottens might be a worry there, not sure who we will play on him, I would still like to see Bower given a go on the really tall. Perhaps Hampson could play as a defender on Ottens. Good time to try things.

Ruck:
Jacobs might have a day of dominance in the ruck. Their Ruckmen aren't great and arent as good as the ones he's been up against so far. Ottens will play forward mostly I think.

Form:
Geelong have limped over some weak opposition to get where they are. Against Port last week their skills were very sloppy and they had no forward targets and they didn't impress with overall pace. They have some very good players coming back in this week which will give them a boost though. Geelong arent going to be as good as they were the last two years I think.

Carlton are coming off two good wins and looked very good against North. We didn't look quite as good against Hawthorn as they were a quality opposition that forced ugly pressure footy. We still have struggled against a big forward but Geelong don't have that.

You would think Geelong might win as they have a superior midfield on paper but we should have plenty of pace and are going in with a real "unknown" team. It will be interesting to see how the "Northern Bullants" go against Geelong...

Smart thinking by the MC. Those we need for round 1 don't need to be running around this weekend.

I would rather them run around this week in Melbourne than have them all run around in the middle of whoop whoop on a sheep station oval next week. I have a horrible feeling this is going to backfire. Then I will be personally emailing the footbal dept to vent my frustration and I will expect answers should we lose a key player to a ground related injury next week!

I think Cordy and co have their heads stuck up their own ass if they think it is better for these guys to rest this week and play in the outback next week prior to r1. Too much science and not enough common bloody sense.

When they consistently take the piss in the reserves, thats when, Just because they are young does not mean they deserve a game, particularly if they are not physically ready.

Agreed for the regular season, but this is a practice match. My point is that if they get a flogging by a well-drilled premiership contender, they will see what they need to do to lift their own games. Good reality check.

I somewhat agree, however my focus is on avoiding taking a full side to the outback resulting in a greater risk than playing them this week at the dome. As well as trying to highlight the experience it will give Gibbs, Murph, Robbo if they were to play the cats.

Probably no point arguing about it though, the MC have made their decision and should things go pear shaped in Bunbury next week they will wear the consequences.

Pfft. If we lose we play Port Adelaide (I think) the following week, so meh. I doubt one person in the entire Carlton Club seriously believes getting thumped will have any ramifications at all on the psyche of the playing group. All it will do is give the kids the chance to see the level they need to lift to to play senior level.

EXACTLY. Good post.

This is exactly the game to put some of these guys feet on the ground.

Especially some of the guys that have been in the side for 5+ years.

But resting Houla is pathetic.

HE SHOULD BE OUT THERE PROVING HIS REAL WORTH!!

Walker? Another week?

Both Walker and Scotland are having a run around for the Northern Bullants tomorrow at 5pm at Visy Park. See link http://www.northernbullants.com.au/

As for the scare of something happening to our guys in Bunbury next week, I trust our fitness guys 100% to decide what is best for our team and am sure that if it was a Cow Paddock, 30Degrees and pissing down with rain that we would not risk our 'A' players. I think our fitness last year proves that they know what they are doing.

If there was ever a time for Jordan Russell to stand up, it should be in this team on Saturday Night. C'mon JR show us please.:thumbsu: I really really hope you can mate.

EXACTLY. Good post.

This is exactly the game to put some of these guys feet on the ground.

Especially some of the guys that have been in the side for 5+ years.

But resting Houla is pathetic.

HE SHOULD BE OUT THERE PROVING HIS REAL WORTH!!
Your pathetic!! Shows how vital he is an how much influence he will have in the team this year! :rolleyes:

Walker? Another week?

Both Walker and Scotland are having a run around for the Northern Bullants tomorrow at 5pm at Visy Park. See link http://www.northernbullants.com.au/

As for the scare of something happening to our guys in Bunbury next week, I trust our fitness guys 100% to decide what is best for our team and am sure that if it was a Cow Paddock, 30Degrees and pissing down with rain that we would not risk our 'A' players. I think our fitness last year proves that they know what they are doing.

If there was ever a time for Jordan Russell to stand up, it should be in this team on Saturday Night. C'mon JR show us please.:thumbsu: I really really hope you can mate.
Hi Jordan Russell here...sorry not sure I can stand up in the game or any other for that matter but I will give it a go!

Thats a joke for all the rusty bashers out there :D

NAB Cup and practice matches, get over the worry fellas!

We have got some good results out of our games thus far (besides winning), but time to manage, and ready up for the real stuff!

For what its worth I am more excited to see all our young blokes up against the best in the comp.........Yarran, Austin etc.

After all we know what to expect from Juddy, Fev, Murph, Gibbsy etc.

Fancy some of us wanting our footy team to win a game, or at the very least put in an competitive effort against one of the benchmarks of the competition ...

BTW This 'NAB Cup' theory was revoked last year by St.Kilda, they won the pre-season comp, and finished in the top 4 at the end of the season (made the prelim final)

Most of the players rested, esp Fev looked in top/sharp form, and I don't think there is/was any injury clouds hanging over there ..

Isn't it better to try and let them keep up their good form and build up momentum for the start of the home and away season .. Winning form is good form, even in the pre season ...

I hope a 100 point loss won't crush the players confidence that has been slowly built up over the last 18 months.

F*** geelong are good.

That's my concern as well! :eek:

I find it odd that we played near to a full strength side in the first two weeks and as we get closer to the GF they drop all our big names.... I understand that they are focusing on round 1 but still odd don't you think?

Why not play the young kids in round 1 and bring in the guns as we progress through the weeks of the Cup/Challenge?

What about the promotion of membership to prospects? Surely a win against Geelong could've boosted our membership numbers... centre stage Saturday night as well...

Regardless, will be good to see the kids have a go but against a near full strength Geelong side could be dangerous.

Fancy some of us wanting our footy team to win a game, or at the very least put in an competitive effort against one of the benchmarks of the competition ...

BTW This 'NAB Cup' theory was revoked last year by St.Kilda, they won the pre-season comp, and finished in the top 4 at the end of the season (made the prelim final)

Most of the players rested, esp Fev looked in top/sharp form, and I don't think there is/was any injury clouds hanging over there ..

Isn't it better to try and let them keep up their good form and build up momentum for the start of the home and away season .. Winning form is good form, even in the pre season ...
That's why I'm worried that we'll be thumped and any momentum built up will be lost.

I like this approach to team selection, because it demonstrates courage, confidence and good planning. Good planning because we are focussing on Round 1 - resting players, and making sure we peak around finals time. Courage and confidence because we have faith in our young players talent, and ability to deal with any loss or physical intimidation. Challenge brings out the best in those with talent, and we're giving the youngest of our young list a great opportunity to do something spectacular. Obviously a 100 point+ loss is very likely and expected, but enthusiasm and raw talent always gives us an outside chance of rolling this full strength Geelong lineup. Really looking forward to Yarran, Garlett and Eddie in the forward line. :)

This is not going to be pretty...

I would have rested a few as well but this is a bit over the top I think. Will be annoying having to play in the middle of nowhere next week. Anyway I'll still be heading down to witness the carnage. :p

Hate to seem pessimistic (and I reckon we'll do very well this year), just got home from work and going to go straight to the TAB and put something on Geelong win 39.5+ that squad is bloody young and inexperienced and Geelong are playing ablett, bartel, corey, johnson, scarlett, chapman plus others

News Blues squad to tackle Cats