Brazil v England

Analyse it all you like - England were beaten by the better side.
End of story.

Brazil have in effect a bye to the final and should beat either Germany or Spain.
Good luck to Spain , though - high time they won it.

Originally posted by you_idiot

Dodgy, indeed.

Can someone please explain what for?

He got to the ball first, won the challenge, and may have clattered the English attacker in the process. Other than the last part, and even with it, there was NOTHING there that would have merited a red card.

Excellent decision by the ref. One of the worst professional fouls around and the one you learn first. Deliberate foot over the ball into the opponents shin/ankle. It's so easy to do and so dangerous.

Brazil deserved it. They were the better side. Against ten men England had plenty of time if they were good enough.

Goal 1. Lucio mistake but I liked Owens fake to the left hand corner and chip over the keeper

Goal 2. Butt was stupid not to have cleared the ball in midfied because it was injury time and psychologically important to go in 1-0. Ronaldinho creamed Cole which drew Cambell leaving Rivaldo to score.

Goal 3. I thought it was calamity James but today it was calamity Seaman. Aweful positioning. Was he recovered from that bump late in the first half I ask? All credit to Ronaldinho for seeing him out of position and hitting the ball with such accuracy

post script. What is Danny Mills doing playing at international level. Yes he puts effort in but his skill levels are terrible. I lost count of the times he turned the ball over.

England weren't expected to get through the first round let alone get to the tlast eight. I'm very happy with their performance. Losing to Brazil is no disgrace. Teams like France, Argentina, Portugal and Italy are already home.

Well done to Brazil who were clearly the better side today and deserve their place in the last 4 of the World Cup.

As for England, I feel sad for the players who have worked very hard to get this far. Michael Owen's goal in the first half was fantastic, making Brazil pay for their mistake!! The turning point in the match, (according to both my Dad and I) was the goal England conceeded just before half time. That knocked all the momentum out of England who were never the same team after half time.

Cheers!! :cool:
SeinDude

Looked like two different class of teams. Even when Brazil when a man down England still didnt look in their class.

I thought the red card was a bit harsh myself. However I was looking at the feet - a guy at the bar i watched it at was telling me he elbowed as well. Dunno.

How the hell wasnt Beckham at least cautioned? That dive was absolutely terrible.

Didnt think Brasil looked unbeatable tho...we always knew it, but gee it was painfully obvious Rivaldo has no right foot!

Not a particularly attractive game - with few chances for either side.

Brazil dominated posession - and - on balance deserved the win.
Rivaldo is a blatant 'cheat' - and spent most of the match on his ar$e.

As an Englishman - I was pleased to see that it is the football, rather than the 'fans' who have made the headlines .....
(hope I haven't spoken too soon)

Did anybody notice how that equaliser came about for Brazil...just past half way for Brazil and there was a scuffle between Beckham and two Brazilian players....Beckham jumped over the ball instead of just putting it out for a Brazil throw, which seemed like a good move at the time because it looked like Brazil couldnt keep it in which would result in an England throw.

Amazingly the ball stayed in allowing Ronaldhino (sp?) to make that big run down the middle opening up Rivaldo for the equaliser. If only Beckham had just knocked it out of play....if's and but's though i know. Still Brazil played better and deserved the win.

I await the day when England can play there best squad, no doubt they could have won it all had they had Murphy and Gerrard in the midfield instead of Sinclair, Hargreaves or Butt...also the Nevilles down back instead of Mills, despite the fact i think Mills played quite well the whole tournament.

Whinge moan sook, Brasil should have won by 3 or 4 to nil, England only scored cause of a mistake no other reason, Sambas are a lot better team, nice to see all the idiots that said Brasil werent that good are now saying sweet f#ck all.

Ronaldinho is an absolute champion, smashed the game to bits. Man of the match by a mile.

Originally posted by Deej
Whinge moan sook, Brasil should have won by 3 or 4 to nil, England only scored cause of a mistake no other reason, Sambas are a lot better team, nice to see all the idiots that said Brasil werent that good are now saying sweet f#ck all.

Ronaldinho is an absolute champion, smashed the game to bits. Man of the match by a mile.

spot on deej, brasil were much the better side and looked the only side capable of scoring.

ronaldinho's shimmy at full pace whilst slicing his way through the english defence was magnificent to watch and then he lays the perfect ball for rivaldo to score clinically. magnificent goal.

seaman is just an old plonka and is surely now past his used by date. his incompetence was as blatant as ronaldinho's free kick was brilliant.

rivaldo is a cheating bag of sh*t and brings the game into disrepute with his pathetic acting. :mad: i still hope sir uncle bobby brings him tyne side though. ;)

how ronaldinho got a red is a complete mystery, what a farce. does it mean that he automatically can't play in the semi final or can they appeal that rediculous decision?

england did well to make the quarters and were not disgraced by the team that will probably be world champions. if the second 1/2 didn't go so long they may well have won the game.

In hindsight I think Ronaldinho's dismissal was the worst thing for England. Brazil just went into their shell and didn't allow England to produce anything. I remember turning to my mate in the 65th and saying 'there's no way we will score again'.

Commiserations England, Well Done Brazil

England did well but the individual skill of the Brazilians proved too much. Great goal against the bulk of the play by Owen, the lead-up to Rivaldo's goal by Ronaldinho was breath taking, he is a gun! England did well to shut Ronaldo out of the match but Ronaldinho really stepped up and was Man of the Match IMO.

Rivaldo's a disgrace, he should have been sent off instead of Ronaldinho for his blantant acting. I would have given Ronaldinho's action at worse a Yellow, it wasn't a Red IMO.

England's got a pretty bright future, if all goes well they should have a great Euro2004.

I kept pretty quiet watching the match, I was with mates who we're all going for England in a pub with 90% English support.

Had a great time last night though, went to a big German resturant/beer hall in The Rocks, after a few steins of German lager I was screaming Deutschland like everyone else!

First rule you are taught when an opposition player is sent off - hold on to possession! That's the main reason England lost, even after the sending off (which was a yellow IMHO) they only had around 40% of possession.

Apart from the goal Owen had no influence, was struggling.

Good atmosphere at Collins Place where I watched the game anyway - tried to get into Bridies but it was too packed!

Originally posted by M29
I thought the real way to spell Brazil was Bresil?

Depends on what linguistic forms you're referencing.

Most of the English-speaking world spells it "Brazil", while the natives there and anyone else that speaks Portuguese or Spanish spells it "Brasil".

What you're pointing out may be used elsewhere, but not sure where at the moment...

Cheers,
William

Originally posted by you_idiot
What you're pointing out may be used elsewhere, but not sure where at the moment...

A 'native' I work with told me. After I pointed out that they'd spelt 'Brazil' wrong (Brasil) on their official match shirt. :) He said it's actually spelt with an 'e'.

Originally posted by Deej

Brazil aren't that good. Happy.

Moomba

Wow, I'm just so put back into my box now...loser!!

England are so bleeding overrated, they play a negative uninteresting game no flair or creativity, i just reckon thank god for blokes like Ronaldinho, Rivaldo, Ronaldo & Lil Robbie Carlos, they are what gives football it's magic.

Jeez if everyone played like Mills, Heskey,(*yawn*), Campbell, Ferdinand (*yawn again*), can you imagine what it'd be like? Yawnfest.

Brazil v England