Brendon Goddard "I'm not here to be liked"

Chappy is a triple premiership player yet he is being questioned about accountability by Brendan Goddard?

Heppell had to pull him away from Ryder when he was carrying on like an idiot. Even a kid was embarrassed by his actions. He walked out on the Saints but questions Ryder doing the same?

Goddard will never be a premiership player and is now throwing his toys out of the cot in fits of rage. This is not the actions of a good leader.

Can you see the link between the people calling Chapman an ordinary bloke and the club that they support?

Yep.

Chapman is the source. He has had some strained relationships in the past with teammates and coaches. Now he is airing dirty Essendon laundry to try and sell a few books. Ordinary person. You are not within the inner sanctum of the EFC and yet you have decided that Goddard should be removed from their leadership group because a bloke seeking a bit of super well past his use by date didn't like the way he was spoken to on the the field and is doing a bit of post career squaring up. Looks like a case of deciding Chapmans story suited your own dislike of Goddard better than going looking for a bit of impartial evidence.

I don't suppose you feel like elaborating on that? There's the Johnson/Chapman story that was confirmed by all parties to be a figment of Jon Anderson's imagination...what else have you got?

Im not questioning his output, he was arguably bog in both GFs in 2010.

However, going by Chapman's comments, if his way of leadership wasnt effective or had detrimental effects (lowering of morale) then that offsets the gain from his individual performances.

They went mighty close two years running largely in part to his efforts. If you think Goddard's leadership is what cost them both years rather than the serious failings in their bottom 5-6 then there is something seriously wrong with you.

Goddard actually worries me. He has a look in his eye and a demeaner that makes me think we might hear about him on the news one night, story NOT footy related...

Good lord this thread is absurd.

Can't have been easy playing in such a horrible environment for the last 3 years. Lucky we managed to get Carlisle out before they did too much damage to him.
Interesting that Chapman said that Carlisle didn't work hard enough when he gave him some advice, and that he wouldn't be missed by Essendon. St Kilda may very well of picked a dud. Personally don't know what all the hype is with Carlisle.

Mad tatts.

Disagree. Its not as if he wrote ground breaking new claims about goddard. More so just reinforces what everyones perceptions on what a flog goddard is.

No need to rag on previous teammates after you've stopped working with them for a quick buck though. It's cowardly and unprofessional.

So he should lie in his book and portray all his team mates in a made up positive light? Boring.

Isnt the whole idea of an autobiography that you tell things how they happened in your eyes.

Jeez if every autobiography followed the 'dont rag on old team mates' method then the majority wouldn't be worth reading.

Didn't think he 'slammed' him at all, and I don't think it's a huge secret that Goddard's perfectionism/competitiveness can make him a difficult team mate.

Chapman is the source. He has had some strained relationships in the past with teammates and coaches. Now he is airing dirty Essendon laundry to try and sell a few books. Ordinary person. You are not within the inner sanctum of the EFC and yet you have decided that Goddard should be removed from their leadership group because a bloke seeking a bit of super well past his use by date didn't like the way he was spoken to on the the field and is doing a bit of post career squaring up. Looks like a case of deciding Chapmans story suited your own dislike of Goddard better than going looking for a bit of impartial evidence.

Lol... search the history of the OP.

He's not exactly playing with a full deck.

Jarrad McVeigh also does a lot of pointing. It gets noted a lot on the Swans board.

Bit different when he's essentially one of the inspirational leaders of your club and a part of the main core of the Bloods culture. Isn't he still co-capatin as well? McVeigh is a natural leader and always has been, so he has every right to point the finger.

Goddard on the other hand.

You have to wonder if this bloke cost the saints a premiership or two.

Good individual performances are all fine and dandy but not if there is no net positive gain from your presence due to your detrimental effect on the team.

432994-brendon-goddard.jpeg
He gave all Collingwood supporters a heart attack after this moment. He put them in front and almost clinched the GF. He didnt cost them anything.

The many finger points of BJ

711208-brendon-goddard.jpg

807424-brendon-goddard.jpg

Brendon-Goddard1.jpg

018315-brendon-goddard.jpg

181336-brendon-goddard.jpg

Brendan+Goddard+KPsBJXpT1O0m.jpg

499228-brendon-goddard.jpg

980006-dc884c22-77b9-11e5-8ef8-3bc6ff981dc8.jpg

bedford likes this :thumbsu:

Amazing Chappy has torn BJ apart in his book. They were team mates six weeks ago.

Goddard gets a hard time from opposition supporters for his finger pointing and out bursts on the field and Chappy has now confirmed it was not popular inside the club as well...

WAT?!! Chappy has a book out? That might be an interesting read. I hope Paddy Dangerfield can wear the #35 with as much distinction (and even more Premierships and Norm Smith medals...)

I don't suppose you feel like elaborating on that? There's the Johnson/Chapman story that was confirmed by all parties to be a figment of Jon Anderson's imagination...what else have you got?

Yeah, that was a dirty bit of sports tabloid journalism right there. Of course, if it makes good copy who cares about truth?