Brian Lake must learn a lesson

we only know that Morris told Aker what the ump said so you dont know who else was told or weather Lake heard and why should the rule only be allowed for Reiwoldt? would of happened plenty of times during the game and dont forget Kosi bumping Lake to the ground straight after which the decided to let go. If you take the field you are fair game injued or not, you can go on about Reiwoldts heroics but Dale Morris played with a broken leg, didn't see him go to ground at any stage looking for free kicks.

They knew, they would've heard. You can spin it anyway you like and even though it's not paid each time it's a risk that you'll be the one they pick out and ping you. Why come off your line to bump him? I wouldn't have bothered with a free, just a warning but maybe after the umpire did warn them he may have obliged to pay it. Fact is if he didn't come off his line and bumped him, as soft as it was, none of it would've happened. That's the bottom line. That's one thing that's definitive.

Seriously the irony of you using words like 'sook' and 'sportsmanship'
considering reiwoldts dive on the weekend and his recent history with the leaky tear ducts is astounding.
Haha, yeah nah. You honestly think Riewoldt is a poor sportsmen? He is as fair a player as there is in the league. If you think he's a poor sportsmen for going to ground after being bumped from behind then you must also think Brian Lake is for doing the same seconds later.

And the only leaky tearducts around here are from Dogs fans like yourself who cannot accept that it is your players fault you lost, not the umpires. Seriously you were unlucky and the free kick was a soft decision, but that doesn't change the fact that YOUR TEAM wasted chance after chance. I think it's sad that there's so much anger and hatred toward a legend like Riewoldt from Dogs fans, and none for actual soft players like Eagleton who cost you the game more than one poor free kick ever could.

Haha, yeah nah. You honestly think Riewoldt is a poor sportsmen? He is as fair a player as there is in the league. If you think he's a poor sportsmen for going to ground after being bumped from behind then you must also think Brian Lake is for doing the same seconds later.

And the only leaky tearducts around here are from Dogs fans like yourself who cannot accept that it is your players fault you lost, not the umpires. Seriously you were unlucky and the free kick was a soft decision, but that doesn't change the fact that YOUR TEAM wasted chance after chance. I think it's sad that there's so much anger and hatred toward a legend like Riewoldt from Dogs fans, and none for actual soft players like Eagleton who cost you the game more than one poor free kick ever could.

Look at who started this thread. Saints supporter trying to assuage guilt.
If you had won it fair and square this thread would not even exist.

If it was just one free kick I don't think any supporters would be as pissed off as they are.
It seems to be the main one that people seem are pissed off about, and it was the only one that particularly bad. It's also not as if we didn't cop some poor decisions as well.

The fact remains that your players lost the match, not the umpires winning it. I know it's hard to accept, but it's fact.

And the goal from the Hargraves 'incorrect disposal' free kick in the 2nd quater..etc etc
Saints are very lucky to be playing in the grand final hence this thread.
That kick off the boot went straight a St.Kilda player on his own anyway. Advantage and head towards goal. Aker admitted on Before The Game his sole aim was for the boundary. Paid that many times this year. With Reiwoldt's kick off the ground, Lake's hand was on the ball before it left Reiwoldt's boot. Was off the boot again as Reiwoldt followed through. Clear close up on the Footy show.

There's only one you can be miffed about and even then Lake didn't have to come off his line a risk a bump in the first place.

Alot of us would've liked the Dogs to win but it's easier to see those things without the emotion of supporting either side. hate to say it you had your chances both in the QF an d the PF but killed yourself in both games with bad kicking. If you had kicked straight in the QF you would've played Collingwood in the PF, won by a million miles and been in a GF with the support of the world.

Riewoldt going to ground so easily from everyday bumps like that during the game suddenly cleared up why a lot of his peers didn't vote for him in the AFLPA awards.

Someone his size would be strong enough to comfortably ride something like that and hardly flinch.

Until he stops being so soft in these situations his peers will never really respect him no matter how well he can play the game.

It seems to be the main one that people seem are pissed off about, and it was the only one that particularly bad. It's also not as if we didn't cop some poor decisions as well.

The fact remains that your players lost the match, not the umpires winning it. I know it's hard to accept, but it's fact.

It was not though.

The free kick paid against Callan Ward on the boundary line.

The free kick paid against Hargrave.

The free kick not paid to Husdon with 2 minutes to go.

The free kick not paid to Callan Ward in marking contest inside 50m.

And the worst one of all was the free kick paid to bulldogs in St Kilda foward line when the ball was actually up on the wing.

If that was a free kick, then EVERY SINGLE player that lines up in the forward half should start each quarter with a shot at goal. Tell me Fev, Brown, Buddy, Mooney, Anthony, etc etc dont get hit just as hard at the start of every quarter. Its just they dont fall down like Portugese soccer players at the hint of contact. An embarrassing blight on our game that should be eradicated.

Why wasn't a free kick paid against Sam Gilbert at the start of the game who firstly went to the Bulldogs onballers and tried to rough them up then went to the bulldogs forwards and did the same. Before the ball was bounce and right in front of the umpires. Rule for one and rules for others hey

He did it 3 times, and got a warning after the second one?

You do have eagle eyes - wow! I never saw the other two or the warning.

Oh well then yes I agree, a free should have been paid.

Lucky Gilbert!

It was not though.

The free kick paid against Callan Ward on the boundary line.

The free kick paid against Hargrave.

The free kick not paid to Husdon with 2 minutes to go.

The free kick not paid to Callan Ward in marking contest inside 50m.

And the worst one of all was the free kick paid to bulldogs in St Kilda foward line when the ball was actually up on the wing.
Most of those were probably the wrong decision yes. However they were all also pretty touch and go, not really any worse than heaps of decisions every week. I could go back, watch the tape again and make a list of wrong umpiring decisions against us too, (e.g Kosi non-mark, Hayes free against for nothing, Hargreave out on the full, all within a few minutes of the Lake decision) but I can't be bothered because none of them were particularly shit like the Lake one. The Lake one was a standout poor decision, all the others were run of the mill poor decisions.

p.s I'm still waiting for a dogs fan to admit it was their players that cost them the game not the umpires.

Poor conversion lost us the game, the umpires didn't help. Since we all agree the incident was soft...there is no lesson to be learnt...lets all move on.

It was not though.

1 The free kick paid against Callan Ward on the boundary line.

2 The free kick paid against Hargrave.

3 The free kick not paid to Husdon with 2 minutes to go.

4 The free kick not paid to Callan Ward in marking contest inside 50m.

I didn't think 3 or 4 were that obvious (Hudson had grabbed King first if you look at the start of the footage and Ward was pushing back on Gram and contact was minimal).

But I thought the Hargrave free was very poor umpiring (one of the worst I've seen). Agree the holding the ball on Ward was not there. Also think that Baker was holding the ball in front of the dogs goal (if compared to the Ward decision).

So in a very close game, these were pretty important. Although if you were going to be fair Riewoldt got high contact (fairly sloppy effort) from Hargrave in the 3rd.

If Riewoldt was paid a free when he got quite decent contact off the ball from Lake on the wing in the 2nd then (i) Lake would not have got a warning and (ii) there would have been no free in the 3rd.

There was also an out on the full that was called touched even though it was the sound of Schneider getting a boot in the hand.

Tassie has raised a couple of others.

Poor conversion lost us the game, the umpires didn't help. Since we all agree the incident was soft...there is no lesson to be learnt...lets all move on.

Finally a Bulldog supporter looking at reality.

Gia and Gilbee had chances to ice the game and blew it for you.

Once agin you had the chance like against Geelong last year and in the QF and couldn't take it.

Pathetic the sooking and whinging by Bulldog supporters.

Even the clown who tried to sink you had a go at the Saints.

Really have lost a lot of respect for Western Bulldog supporters.

Johnson is the biggest diver in the League but when your moron pea brained FB bumps the opposition FF to the ground after being WARNED not to - you lot carry on like spoilt children.

I suppose you think it is tough to snipe. Last time a dog sniper hit a Saints player from the blindside he ended up with a fractured skull.

Well done Lake. Good player - would love him at the Saints. hey wait - dont need him - he did a good enough job for us last Friday.

If that was a free kick, then EVERY SINGLE player that lines up in the forward half should start each quarter with a shot at goal. Tell me Fev, Brown, Buddy, Mooney, Anthony, etc etc dont get hit just as hard at the start of every quarter. Its just they dont fall down like Portugese soccer players at the hint of contact. An embarrassing blight on our game that should be eradicated.

Thing is the edict came out after round 18 not to do it. See where you're coming from but like holding in marking contests they pluck one occasionally. Cost Adelaide even though it happens 500 times a game. Even if Roo did milk it don't take the risk in the first place after 1) the edict come out and 2) the umpire warned them before the start of the 3rd qtr. Then you don't have a problem.

The free against Riewoldt was soft and shouldn't have been paid, as could be said of numerous decisions every game all year, tough shit. The Bulldogs have no one to blame for the loss but themselves.

but if those frees were correct it wouldn't of resulted in a free shot at goal 10meters out. In a low scoring game that is the difference with us only having 3more scoring shots.

"Will you walk into my parlor?" said the spider to the fly;
"'Tis the prettiest little parlor that ever you may spy.
The way into my parlor is up a winding stair,
And I have many curious things to show when you are there."
"Oh no, no," said the little fly; "to ask me is in vain,
For who goes up your winding stair can ne'er come down again."

- Lewis Carroll

Riewoldt ran across Lake for one reason only and Lake fell for it hook line and sinker despite having been warned. The above poem was written in the early 19th century.

If the lesson has not yet been learnt it never will be

"And now, dear little children, who may this story read,
To idle, silly flattering words I pray you ne'er give heed;
Unto an evil counselor close heart and ear and eye,
And take a lesson from this tale of the spider and the fly."

but if those frees were correct it wouldn't of resulted in a free shot at goal 10meters out. In a low scoring game that is the difference with us only having 3more scoring shots.

Please.

A free kick at the start of the third quarter was not the difference.

Your conversion cost you.

We were outplayed by a team that was better for most of the night but you didn't take your chances whereas we hung in there all night and showed a ton of guts.

If St Kilda and Nick Riewoldt are the guilty parties in your eyes and your supporters want Geelong to thrash us as seems to be the consensus on here then so be it. :)

Can the AFL please explain then, how if this is a free to Nick, then why didn't it get reversed there and then when Kosi did the exact same thing to Lake the moment the decision was awarded - right in front of the umpire?

Nothing about this decision is right.

It was soft.
Roo dived.
It was inconsistent.

I love how they're saying Roo dived. Yeah it was soft, and maybe he did.
But we won the game, and he tore you guys apart in the second half considering the lack of goals.

He kicked four goals for the entire game. One the result of Lake's free, one was touched. Two he marked well - but I would hardly call that tearing us apart. You only won by 7 points, and after a hard tough game against us - I am not too confident of your chances against the Cats, who had a nice romp in the park beating Collingwood. I think he who laughs last laughs longest.

Finally a Bulldog supporter looking at reality.

Gia and Gilbee had chances to ice the game and blew it for you.

Once agin you had the chance like against Geelong last year and in the QF and couldn't take it.

Pathetic the sooking and whinging by Bulldog supporters.

Even the clown who tried to sink you had a go at the Saints.

Really have lost a lot of respect for Western Bulldog supporters.

Johnson is the biggest diver in the League but when your moron pea brained FB bumps the opposition FF to the ground after being WARNED not to - you lot carry on like spoilt children.

I suppose you think it is tough to snipe. Last time a dog sniper hit a Saints player from the blindside he ended up with a fractured skull.

Well done Lake. Good player - would love him at the Saints. hey wait - dont need him - he did a good enough job for us last Friday.

I had hoped the Saints would get up over the Cats, but after these comments - forget it.

Just to get one thing clear.

Brian Lake was not warned to stop bumping Riewoldt. Dale Morris bumped Riewoldt in the 1st quarter and the umpire told him to be careful. Brian Lake was NEVER warned to stop bumping Riewoldt.

Brian Lake must learn a lesson