Brighton Homes Arena (Springfield) discussions

What does taking the matter forward without the involvement of the 3 Committee members originally involved mean other than they got it wrong [can't think of an alternative descriptor] first time around? How did they get it wrong? Why did they get it wrong? Is it that they were incompetent, or worse?

I'd have thought that it is because there was public dissatisfaction around the transparency of the first decision and so, in the interests of ensuring a completely fresh review, it was deemed appropriate to ensure no-one with pre-conceived notions or views was involved.

In any event, Sharpless wasn't on the board when the original decision was made so I'm not sure the finger can be pointed at him.

I'd have thought that it is because there was public dissatisfaction around the transparency of the first decision and so, in the interests of ensuring a completely fresh review, it was deemed appropriate to ensure no-one with pre-conceived notions or views was involved.

In any event, Sharpless wasn't on the board when the original decision was made so I'm not sure the finger can be pointed at him.

Many have.

Not that I am in any way defending him- normal conflict of interest considerations would mean any sensible person would keep a very wide berth of a matter involving their direct business interests.

I accept you have a different take on this, but I honestly don't see that there's any other way of reading it.

What does taking the matter forward without the involvement of the 3 Committee members originally involved mean other than they got it wrong [can't think of an alternative descriptor] first time around? How did they get it wrong? Why did they get it wrong? Is it that they were incompetent, or worse?

Just my interpretation.

Not that I don't think the new investigations aren't good- far from it.

If Swann can get us both Beams and a new, fully equipped, state-of-the-art training setup we will be forever in his debt, short term and long term.

OH YES.........................................in BURPENF***INGARY.

The proposed NRL expansion team, the Brisbane Bombers, has an agreement with Queensland Racing to develop Deagon into a training facility. Wonder if they could team up there? The Bombers bid is 50/50 at best so Lions could be left sole tenant anyway. Teaming up with another team is the way to go I reckon.
Are you sure it's Deagon, I thoght it was Doomben.

Sorry, don't mean to be obtuse. Just so much we don't/can't know.

For those who don't know, it was the Broncos' home ground for a few years through the 90's and the main ground for the Commonwealth games before that.

The location is close enough, and accessible enough, without being stellar (eg Coorparoo and Yeronga). It is about 12km directly south of the city, just off the major freeway linking Brissy and the Gold Coast. As an aside, Lions at Springwood is off the same freeway - about another...10ish km further south.

I *think* some of the knocks on it originally were:
- couldn't find the $$$ to redevelop the existing infrastructure IIRC.
- not a greenfield site, so couldn't be fully customised
- size??? not enough space for 2 fields (I think).
- Just guessing, but doubt they'll be able to build a pokies palace on it.

Overall it seemed a pretty solid option from the get-go, without knowing any of the costs/funding.

More info for those interested: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Queensland_Sport_and_Athletics_Centre

Glad to see the Airport still on a shortlist. Plenty of room and very accessible. No major pre existing infrastructure means we can develope from scratch. Onlt problem that I have been told is the cost. Not sure how though considering it's an empty wasteland for the majority of it.

The location makes it valuable to the owners for various future developments.

Sorry, don't mean to be obtuse. Just so much we don't/can't know.

For those who don't know, it was the Broncos' home ground for a few years through the 90's and the main ground for the Commonwealth games before that.

The location is close enough, and accessible enough, without being stellar (eg Coorparoo and Yeronga). It is about 12km directly south of the city, just off the major freeway linking Brissy and the Gold Coast. As an aside, Lions at Springwood is off the same freeway - about another...10ish km further south.

I *think* some of the knocks on it originally were:
- couldn't find the $$$ to redevelop the existing infrastructure IIRC.
- not a greenfield site, so couldn't be fully customised
- size??? not enough space for 2 fields (I think).
- Just guessing, but doubt they'll be able to build a pokies palace on it.

Overall it seemed a pretty solid option from the get-go, without knowing any of the costs/funding.

More info for those interested: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Queensland_Sport_and_Athletics_Centre

Worth noting that back in the day after the broncos left there was quite a large venue inside one of the stands there. Pokies, restaurant etc. Used to go to it when I was a kid a fair bit

We may have discussed it already, but there has also been talk for years of the dishlickers leaving Albion Park for new facilities in Logan. Whether something could be done either at Albion or the new facility (and I don't know if it is happening or knocked on the head) might be an opportunity. I would think Albion would be reclaimed for residential development if anything.
Different to Tassie4ever , my read was more of a partial endorsement of the previous selection of Springfield;
Committee members began by stating that they could understand the logic applied when the Springfield option was agreed to almost 18 months ago, and they concur it was the only fundable, triple-A venue option at the time
The exclusion of certain people from the current review I don't see as a slap in the face at all, but a recognition of the public perception and how that affected the backlash to Springfield's selection rather than any criticism of the process.

We may have discussed it already, but there has also been talk for years of the dishlickers leaving Albion Park for new facilities in Logan. Whether something could be done either at Albion or the new facility (and I don't know if it is happening or knocked on the head) might be an opportunity. I would think Albion would be reclaimed for residential development if anything.

Yeah RQ were looking at that because of the value of the land so likely too expensive for the Lions.

Things have changed significantly since the thoroughbred backed RQ proposed sell off of Albion Park that would have sent the dogs to Logan and the Trots to Deagon. Albion Park will be the home of the dogs and trots in SE for the foreseeable future, given its current usage can't see it being an option at all.

I know the QSAC already has the Queensland Academy of Sport recovery centre there (pool, ice baths etc.) as well as a running track obviously. Surely it would be cost effective and looked upon favourably by the government if we just made some additions to that (weights room, oval etc) and shared the facilities with the QAS.

I'm sure it's more complicated than that, but it seems like a good option.

At the AGM 3(?) years ago, the board certainly gave the impression that the decision at that time was between QSAC and Springfield. QSAC would have been able to be made ready for us in a much shorter time frame (I.e. A couple of years) than Springfield, not being a green field site, but also not being a green field site meant it couldn't be customised to our needs like Springfield could. In fact, they may have even stated outright it was down to those two options, can't quite remember now.
QSAC of course has the added disadvantage of having to negotiate with the state govt and certainly wouldn't come at the sort of peppercorn lease rate that Springfield was offering.

You never know what could happen with an election due next year. Here's hoping the club is smart enough to speak with both parties this time though...

Drove past the Saints HQ at Seaford yesterday on the way back to Melbourne from the Peninsula and I can now understand the players' angst about having to go out there every day for training - it's literally in the middle of nowhere (if "middle of nowhere" = industrial wasteland 40 minutes + from the CBD).

No wonder they're heading back in to the Junction Oval, Seaford makes Springfield look like Jolimont.

I can see QSAC working if the requisite funding is there, quick drive from town against the traffic as well - 15 minutes or so?

Drove past the Saints HQ at Seaford yesterday on the way back to Melbourne from the Peninsula and I can now understand the players' angst about having to go out there every day for training - it's literally in the middle of nowhere (if "middle of nowhere" = industrial wasteland 40 minutes + from the CBD).

No wonder they're heading back in to the Junction Oval, Seaford makes Springfield look like Jolimont.

I can see QSAC working if the requisite funding is there, quick drive from town against the traffic as well - 15 minutes or so?

Takes less than 15 mins from QSAC to the Gabba without traffic - it's just down the road from the entrance on to the freeway that takes you into town. It's up the road from where I live, so I am a little biased in wanting it there, but location wise it would be a good fit.

Could also perhaps be converted into a good venue for NAB Cup/NEAFL games considering the stands that are already up.

No/bad Coffee as well

Brighton Homes Arena (Springfield) discussions