Traded Bryce Gibbs [traded to Adelaide] - (cont. in Part 2)

Why would any of the Crows contracted players that Carlton want have any interest in going to the Blues?

Hey Charlie, wanna get traded to Carlton so we have a better chance of winning a flag, whilst you sit and watch from a side that won't make the 8??
$$$$

So Adelaide kept Lyons which means everybody else would have made the same decision. Wright played 94 games in 5 years for you. Lyons has played 55. Lyons was fairly average until this year.

The thing that gets me is that you use the argument that the Crows kept Lyons over the other 2 to demonstrate he is better but they then go and offer him $180k per year on the back of this breakout, vital part of your best 22 season.

Well yes I do think that every club would make that decision.
Lyons 2016 was better than any season Wright has had including ones at Carlton.

We're offering $180k u reckon? $70k under the average wage

Look I don't wanna be rude, but you're full of shit lol

I'd be somewhat content with pick 13 + Charlie Cameron for Gibbs

-Adelaide get an A-grader that will put them into premiership contention
-Carlton get youth to kickstart their rebuild

Win-win

Why is McGovern so untouchable for Crow fans? Forward line is a strength for Adelaide he's replaceable, even kids in the twos could step up.
Because he is a required player , future star and will take MOTY. He isn't going anywhere!!!

Until we can use him to get Fyfe :$

Why would any of the Crows contracted players that Carlton want have any interest in going to the Blues?

Hey Charlie, wanna get traded to Carlton so we have a better chance of winning a flag, whilst you sit and watch from a side that won't make the 8??

Bigger contract and the opportunity to live in a better city.

Adelaide, even with Gibbs, are no guarantee to get to the grand final; particularly given how much further ahead GWS and The Bulldogs are.

But we have the opportunity to. You do realise we won 16 games last season without Gibbs.

Yes. My point is you've done the work in unsettling Gibbs, who is contracted for three more years. Pulling out of the deal now wouldn't be a great move for a club that generally enjoys pretty good trading relationships.

Thoughts on three-way-trade between ADEL – CARL – GWS

Adel:
• Gain: Gibbs
• Lose: 13​
Carl:
• Gain: Marchbank, Picket & Stewart
• Lose: Gibbs​
GWS:
• Gain: 13
• Lose: Marchbank, Picket & Stewart​

- (Keeping in mind pick 16, held by GWS in this year’s draft, was traded to them last year from Carl for Plowman, Lamb, Phillips and Sumner)
- In saying that still feel like GWS are the losers in this scenario considering the worth of Marchbank and Picket, maybe they receive something else from either of Adel or Carl to sweeten deal, or use 13 amongst other things in another trade (e.g. play for Essendon’s pick 1 perhaps?)​
Carlton can do that deal separately with GWS. They want more than 13 from Adelaide.

Well yes I do think that every club would make that decision.
Lyons 2016 was better than any season Wright has had including ones at Carlton.

We're offering $180k u reckon? $70k under the average wage, and only $30k more than draft pick minimum.

Look I don't wanna be rude, but you're full of shit lol

Well Lyons hadn't had his 2016 season when that decision was made had he? Point is you act like a Crows list decision is by default the correct one for all teams. It's a little arrogant.

And look I don't wanna be rude either, but that full of shit salary advice came from your own board. Go tell them.

Will you adelaide fans stop trying to sell us your rubbish aka lyons, the amount of posters on here trying to pump him up makes it more obvious then Christmas you are trying to flog off a dud.

Move on, we aren't falling for it

Kerridge isn't a good player. Placing Top 10 in BnF doesn't indicate being a quality player, as our depth is poor.
Yes. My point is you've done the work in unsettling Gibbs, who is contracted for three more years. Pulling out of the deal now wouldn't be a great move for a club that generally enjoys pretty good trading relationships.

Uh Gibbs wants to leave.
Its not a case of us making him want to leave.

His partner specifically wants to come back to Adelaide.

Will you adelaide fans stop trying to sell us your rubbish aka lyons, the amount of posters on here trying to pump him up makes it more obvious then Christmas you are trying to flog off a dud.

Move on, we aren't falling for it

You took our rubbish already, and now your arguing that our rubbish is better than our best 22 players.

ALso what is to gain from spruiking a player on here. Pretty sure SOS isn't on BF going "oh well then Lyons must be a gun if DangerSloane said so"

I'd be somewhat content with pick 13 + Charlie Cameron for Gibbs

-Adelaide get an A-grader that will put them into premiership contention
-Carlton get youth to kickstart their rebuild

Win-win

Not perfect but fairly even. Charlie Cameron is super skilful and has benefitted from Betts' tutelage.

We lack x-factor and he'd certainly provide it.

- (Keeping in mind pick 16, held by GWS in this year’s draft, was traded to them last year from Carl for Plowman, Lamb, Phillips and Sumner)​

No it wasn't traded for those 4. It was an involved trade but the gist of it was we traded #28 for the four players and we traded Geelong's 2016 first rounder for #8 from GWS. People forget the #8 we got back for some reason.

As a neutral, this just strikes me as a win-win. Adelaide get a bit of midfield class and depth for a few years; Blues get a first round pick and probably a young midfielder looking for more opportunity. Blues give up a guy who, while undoubtedly a good footballer, has been a serial under-achiever and provides little in the way of leadership.

But heck that's just me...

But we have the opportunity to. You do realise we won 16 games last season without Gibbs.

Also no deal leaves carlton short of the draft pick they want

Carlton know as well as anyone else that Gibbs is useless to them. He plays out his career there, they gain nothing.
We need some experience in the side, if he and Touhy left its just Murhpy, Simpson & Thomas 2 of which likely wont be playing for much more then next season.

I think you would find we will happily keep him to avoid the lack of leadership over the next few years.

As a neutral, this just strikes me as a win-win. Adelaide get a bit of midfield class and depth for a few years; Blues get a first round pick and probably a young midfielder looking for more opportunity. Blues give up a guy who, while undoubtedly a good footballer, has been a serial under-achiever and provides little in the way of leadership.

But heck that's just me...

Don't think anyone disagrees with you on that.
Its just that Carlton seem to want us to throw in a superstar, whereas we are looking to throw in a good best 22 player.

In reality if they want a Crouch, Lever or McGovern along with First round pick theyre going to have to give more than just Gibbs.

We need some experience in the side, if he and Touhy left its just Murhpy, Simpson & Thomas 2 of which likely wont be playing for much more then next season.

I think you would find we will happily keep him to avoid the lack of leadership over the next few years.

Lets be honest, nobody nominates a club and doesn't end up there.
You're not going to have him next year.

Uh Gibbs wants to leave.
Its not a case of us making him want to leave.

His partner specifically wants to come back to Adelaide.

Gibbs shouldn't have signed a 5 year deal then.

He has 3 years remaining on his contract. So just like McCarthy with GWS, we can choose to keep him.

If you are serious about a premiership, you will cough up. And I really think you should - you are a few pieces short of seriously winning a flag!
If you are being tight asses, like Fremantle, you can watch your premiership window slip by.

If Hawthorn were in your shoes, they would have done the deal already. A club that is serious about premierships.
See Burgoyne.

Because he is a required player , future star and will take MOTY. He isn't going anywhere!!!

Until we can use him to get Fyfe :$
I rate him but it's just an area you can probably cover, even the rookie ex-basketball guy looks handy in the SANFL from what I've seen... Seems Carlton want Cameron anyway.

Traded Bryce Gibbs [traded to Adelaide] - (cont. in Part 2)