Traded Bryce Gibbs [traded to Adelaide] - (cont. in Part 2)

Carlton didn't put Bryce up for trade mate. Crows walked into a store and demanded to be sold an item that was not for sale. There is no obligation to sell here, even if that outcome doesn't suit the crow's grand plan. I would strongly argue that this actual situation is what is holding up trades, not how Carlton has acted in response to it. Pretty easy to point a finger at who started that one isn't it?

So there's no truth in Byrce's missus heading back to Adelaide to be around family support? Now that you've cleared that up, you're right, he's contracted and you should keep him unless we pay the overs that you're after. No hard feelings, we won't pay overs and nor should you accept anything but. He'll be great again for you next year and the 2 following that. Perhaps niw is a good time to extend him.

Ye that's why he nominated the crows. That's why the crows were the ones to make an initial media release. He just wants to come home... Lol

Well, Port have been shopping overpaid long term contracted players. It's a fair assumption that they're not in a position to acquire in the Gibbs ballpark. But if we were to see movement on Hartlett and/or Lobbe, perhaps they'd come into play for Gibbs.

Did you know Gibbs former manager is now the list manager at Adelaide football club?

So he'd have been privy to all the times Gibbs would have knocked us back and might have been there when Gibbs committed to Carlton for 5 more years. How often do you think we contacted him to see where he's at, weekly, quarterly, half yearly. The only factor that changed was Gibbs' personal circumstances. Maybe there was a happy coincidence with his decision and our bi-annual follow up call.

Not just champion data. Stats also show they are pretty close in output, with Lyons 4 years younger and better disposal.
http://www.foxsports.com.au/afl/car...t/news-story/e84410b599d14574f424cf177f265d92

Think its pretty funny that Blues supporters are calling him a list clogger and steak knives when he has outperformed Gibbs.

They conveniently fail to recall our delisted player's performance in their b&f as well. And that's ignoring Kedge going ok as well. Delusion is strong, in Swann and Icke they trust.

Hahaha or they could hang on little to long waiting for the crows and miss out

Again ... our other trades were happening before the Gibbs thing came up. You are just hoping we need you guys so you can get Gibbs for less.

They conveniently fail to recall our delisted player's performance in their b&f as well. And that's ignoring Kedge going ok as well. Delusion is strong, in Swann and Icke they trust.

How is it at all relevant? You think Carlton are so bad we should keep giving up our best players for players other teams no longer want because they will still look good in our team?

How will we ever begin to compete doing that?

Adelaide were pretty stupid if they thought the Blues would accept whatever was on offer.

If pick 13 & Lyons is a good trade, then find another club that will take that trade and trade up with them. I'm sure Carlton would be more interested in a top 5-10 pick once you've secured it.

We can't just "trade up" Lyons. He will choose where he wants to go and unless that club offers that option, we'll just be accepting what they offer.

A few in the know saying the Gibbs trade has been agreed to and will be a three way including GWS, will be picks for Gibbs but No players to Carlton from Crows. Lyons wont be part of the deal and is on his way to Gold Coast in a separate transaction.
Carlton need to attend to the GWS end of the deal before it goes through, Rhys Palmer rumours seem Bull Shizen.

A few in the know saying the Gibbs trade has been agreed to and will be a three way including GWS, will be picks for Gibbs but No players to Carlton from Crows. Lyons wont be part of the deal and is on his way to Gold Coast in a separate transaction.
Carlton need to attend to the GWS end of the deal before it goes through, Rhys Palmer rumours seem Bull Shizen.

What's the trade rumours?

4 years for 35 games and a sub in heaps. Doesn't really suggest a second good year. Promising signs perhaps but the score was not on the board.
You can't have possibly watched him play to make that claim.

Watching Fox Footy tonight, you guys were ranked 16th for contested possessions. Lyons averaged more contested possessions than Gibbs despite playing less time in the middle.

You guys will be mad not to take him and if you don't when you watch him be a consistent contributor for Gold Coast don't whinge.

Again ... our other trades were happening before the Gibbs thing came up. You are just hoping we need you guys so you can get Gibbs for less.

Most Crows fans have always accepted paying fair market value for a 28 year old player with all AFL resume.

Thats going to probably going to end up costing us 1st rounder/Lyons/Lyons compensation/2nd rounder 2017.

Crows fans have accepted this from the day we found out, its only been Carlton fans that have had unrealistic expectations of his worth. Some astute Carlton fans however have agreed that the above compensation is fair market value, so I know I am in the ball park of what is considered fair.

You can't have possibly watched him play to make that claim.

Watching Fox Footy tonight, you guys were ranked 16th for contested possessions. Lyons averaged more contested possessions than Gibbs despite playing less time in the middle.

You guys will be mad not to take him and if you don't when you watch him be a consistent contributor for Gold Coast don't whinge.

What does that have to do with him only playing one good year so far?

Its really unfortunate you guys are not going after Lyons. He would definitely be in your top 12-14 players at your Club and is far superior to Wright and Kedge.

I reckon Carlton would prefer a pick around 20 than the players Adelaide is said to be putting up (who knows what players they have actually offered?).

If the rumours re Lyons going to GC are true what are we talking? Lyons & Dear to GC for pick 22.

13 & 22 for Gibbs.

Is that reasonable?

What does that have to do with him only playing one good year so far?
You're judging his ability on how many games he's played and saying it's unlikely he will play a second one.

I countered that with talking up his qualities as it's obvious you haven't seen him play if you are hanging your hat on how many games he's played.

Traded Bryce Gibbs [traded to Adelaide] - (cont. in Part 2)