Buckley the Greatest says Malthouse

Re: Well done Bux on a great career.

Yes, well done Graham Bux on your two games with Fitzroy in 1978. Wouldn't call it a great career though. :p

Probably one of if not,the greatest footballer to put on a black and white jumper.
A complete footballer,that won every individual award attainable.
Sorry the team couldn't win the big one for you mate,but you will steer them to many flags when you become the senior coach of the pies in the not to distant future.
Congratulations on a fantastic career and thank you.for giving me and thousands of pie supporters the honour of watching a true champion play this great game of ours.
A true legend,a name that will be etched in football history forever......What we do in life echoes an eternity !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!NATHAN BUCKLEY

dunno, ask Gary Ablett, Bobby Skilton or Haydn Bunton Snr.

Buckley is in good company there.

Were those players overated ? They were the best in their team and their gifts / skills would stand out so naturally they would pick up points for the overated Brownlow.
They didnt have the players around them to win the flag , Hawks got rid of Ablett and didnt look back .
To be a champion as they were they couldnt lead their teams to Grand Final Victory.It takes a TEAM to win not individual brillance .1 Person cant win a Grand Final , they need help .

Yes, well done Graham Bux on your two games with Fitzroy in 1978. Wouldn't call it a great career though. :p

How many different threads are you going to post this on until you realise it is not funny?

At the Pies press conference Malthouse was asked about how does Buckley compare to others in Malthouses 35 years in the game.
He spoke of Matthews and Carey from afar and ended it by saying, from seeing him up close, Buckley is the Greatest.

Buckley is a great Collingwood player not one of greatest players of all time. Nathan Buckley does not compare to Gary Ablett. Gary Ablett is the greatest player of all time. Followed by Carey, Lockett, Williams. Mick Malthouse has lost the plot.

Irrespective of whether he was the greatest, what is clear is that Bucks played through (and the subject of) the most hyperbole-ridden era the game has seen. For all I know he might be the greatest, but to have megaphone wielding media sycophants tell you that ad nauseum for season after season makes it difficult to soberly judge.

Here's what I saw:
Across his career Buckley was the best player in a shit team, then the best player in a contender. In his prime, the difference between Buckleys best and worst was marginal to non-existant and were his later playing days not dogged by long term injury, I believe a decline would still have been hard to spot.

As an opposition supporter I hated when we played him, but such is the lot of a champion player. You knew the pass would reach it's target, you knew he would take down the player with the ball, and when the ball was in his hands on the 50, you knew it was going through. When a game was in the balance, you knew he wasn't going to be the one to let it slip.

Think of your own rejoinder for that last sentence.

IMO, pipped only by Rob Harvey as the modern player most deserving of a flag that didn't score one- but for reasons not of his own making. Bucks leaves the game alongside modern greats in whose company he more than holds his own. Congratulations on a great career.

Buckley is a great Collingwood player not one of greatest players of all time. Nathan Buckley does not compare to Gary Ablett. Gary Ablett is the greatest player of all time. Followed by Carey, Lockett, Williams. Mick Malthouse has lost the plot.

Is that the same Gary Ablett who was only good enough to win ONE club best and fairest.

For any supporter to come out and say Buckley wasn't great knows nothing about the game, who are you small people without a life to question the likes of Buckley.
Im a mad Essendon fan but have enjoyed wht people like Buckley and Hird have bought to our game.
Champions make the game what it is, its even sadder to see them go, to all you collingwood people dont listen to the no lifers on bigfooty, no Buckley no Hird on anymore ANZAC day clashes, yes the game will be sadder because of that.

Irrespective of whether he was the greatest, what is unequivocal is that Bucks played through (and the subject of) the most hyperbole-ridden era the game has seen. For all I know he might be the greatest, but to have megaphone wielding media sycophants tell you that ad nauseum for season after season makes it difficult to soberly judge.

Here's what I saw:
Across his career Buckley was the best player in a shit team, then the best player in a contender. In his prime, the difference between Buckleys best and worst was marginal to non-existant and were his later playing days not dogged by long term injury, I believe a decline would still have been hard to spot.

As an opposition supporter I hated when we played him, but such is the lot of a champion player. You knew the pass would reach it's target, you knew he would take down the player with the ball, and when the ball was in his hands on the 50, you knew it was going through. When a game was in the balance, you knew he wasn't going to be the one to let it slip.

IMO, pipped only by Rob Harvey as the modern player most deserving of a flag that didn't score one- but for reasons not of his own making. Bucks leaves the game in the company of modern greats in whose company he more than holds his own. Congratulations on a great career.
Thanks for a great post.

IMO he is a great player, possibly the greatest i've seen. No doubt players have gotten better as AFL gets older with better ways to train etc it is harder to be a lot better then your opposition. Back in the older days there weren't as many teams, footballers and training facilities like today. So to be fair you can only compare Buckley to other modern players who have played in the past 10-15 years.

It is impossible to decide the best player in a team game, because they wouldn't be able to do anywhere near a great job if they didn't have skilled footballers to play with them. Also you cannot compare players of different positions its totally stupid. Also the fact he plays for Collingwood may make it harder for people to warm to him and say he is one of the greatest footballers.

Were those players overated ? They were the best in their team and their gifts / skills would stand out so naturally they would pick up points for the overated Brownlow.
They didnt have the players around them to win the flag , Hawks got rid of Ablett and didnt look back .
To be a champion as they were they couldnt lead their teams to Grand Final Victory.It takes a TEAM to win not individual brillance .1 Person cant win a Grand Final , they need help .

Gary Ablett was pretty good though mate, and like Bucks he dragged his side into the Grand Final and was the best player on the ground in that Grand Final, but he just didn't have the cattle to go with him. For both of them, it was their teams that let them down, not their own abilities. You'd have to wonder if their teams would have been anywhere near those finals without them?

Yet Ablett never won a flag, which is the greatest and only criticism anyone can ever direct at Nathan Buckley

Irrespective of whether he was the greatest, what is clear is that Bucks played through (and the subject of) the most hyperbole-ridden era the game has seen. For all I know he might be the greatest, but to have megaphone wielding media sycophants tell you that ad nauseum for season after season makes it difficult to soberly judge.

Here's what I saw:

IMO, pipped only by Rob Harvey as the modern player most deserving of a flag that didn't score one- but for reasons not of his own making. Bucks leaves the game in the company of modern greats in whose company he more than holds his own. Congratulations on a great career.
Excellent post

Well I daresay Malthouse has watched a great deal more footy, and understood it better than anyone here.

Its a fair point that coaches usually pick one of their own as a "Best Ever". Malthouse is loyal and known for his bond with his players.

In my ignorance I think I've seen better footballers than Buckley, but I don't think anyone has played the same sheer quantity of brilliant footy, aside from perhaps Carey.

He'll be very sadly missed.

My goodness the team of retirees this year in their prime would polish off any other current combination I reckon. Hird, Buckley, Kouta, Grant, I suppose we can throw Voss in on a technicality, but frankly its good enough even without him.

Well I daresay Malthouse has watched a great deal more footy, and understood it better than anyone here.

Its a fair point that coaches usually pick one of their own as a "Best Ever". Malthouse is loyal and known for his bond with his players.

In my ignorance I think I've seen better footballers than Buckley, but I don't think anyone has played the same sheer quantity of brilliant footy, aside from perhaps Carey.

He'll be very sadly missed.

My goodness the team of retirees this year in their prime would polish off any other current combination I reckon. Hird, Buckley, Kouta, Grant, I suppose we can throw Voss in on a technicality, but frankly its good enough even without him.
Riccuto and Archer

I dont think Malthouse has lost the plot, but he just giving his opinion of who he thinks is great from close ranges. He has never been involved with players like Ablett, Voss, Hird, Carey, Williams etc. so he couldnt really comment on those players from close quarters.

If you havent realised by now, South of the Yarra is a diehard Collingwood fan and will fight tooth and nail with you in an arguement in regards to anyhting to do with Nathan Buckley and Collingwood.

Everyone is allowed their opinions and in my opinion I would rate Wayne Carey, Greg Williams, Royce Hart, Michael Voss and Gary Ablett better players then Nathan Buckley. Im not saying Buckley isnt good, but I would prefer the other before him.

Its unfortunate the way he has eneded his career.

Well Malthouse, Hird, Voss, Mcleod and Bob Rose disagree with you. Oh but of course you know more than them about the inside goings of the AFL. Your user name shows me how little you know about football.

haha oh yeah I'm the only person to ever exaggerate in their user name..:rolleyes:
But back to the point, Voss and Hird themselves have played in Buckley's era, and have been better than him. Not to mention those of even greater status, Carey, Matthews and Ablett Snr. You think Voss and Hird are going to name themselves? They are honouring a man retiring who has been a great footballer. You cannot say Buckley has been a better footballer than Carey, Matthews and Ablett Snr, and that is if you first ignore the fact that he isn't as good as Hird or Voss to start with.

Buckley the Greatest says Malthouse