C Section 2009

Big coverage on C-Grade in The Age today
http://www.theage.com.au/news/rfnews/pm-honours-mifsud/2009/06/23/1245522834054.html

PM honours multi-talented Mifsud

Paul Daffey | June 24, 2009

JASON Mifsud is a footballer who's well known at all levels of the game, having achieved success as a player-coach at Koroit in the Hampden Football League before becoming an assistant coach at the Western Bulldogs under Rodney Eade. In recent years, Mifsud has worked with the AFL, first with indigenous youth and recently as the chief executive of the AFL Foundation, a body that encourages multiculturalism in footy. Mifsud, whose father is Maltese and mother Aboriginal, has always impressed as a leader. In 1994, when he was 21, he began working with the Warrnambool indigenous community at the same time as he began his coaching career, with a club just out of Warrnambool called Caramut. After 15 years of combining coaching and youth work, his efforts last week were recognised when Prime Minister Kevin Rudd presented him with an award for being voted one of Australia's top 10 emerging leaders. The 10 were chosen by a panel of business leaders, community leaders and politicians.
Beaumaris whacked after whack

TO ROUND off a big week, Mifsud made his return to the field for Beaumaris, the club he coaches in C-section of the VAFA. The 36-year-old was doing well in a playmaking role across half-back before tackling Caulfield Grammarians midfielder Ben Carboni with a clenched fist in the third quarter. He was reported and sent off the ground for 15 minutes. Caulfield, which is coached by former Brisbane and St Kilda midfielder Steve Lawrence, took advantage of Mifsud's absence to consolidate its lead and go on to a 43-point victory, confirming its position on top of the ladder. Beaumaris slipped down to fourth, behind Melbourne High School Old Boys and Ajax. Mifsud's tribunal case was to be heard last night.
The goss on Kev

THE story of how Mifsud got to Beaumaris, like many coaching stories, was 20 years in the making. Mifsud made his senior footy debut at Hampden league club Warrnambool when he was 15. His coach at Warrnambool was Grant Thomas. After every training session, Mifsud would write down every drill. It was a habit he maintained during playing stints at Mortlake, a rival Hampden league club where he played under current North Ballarat boss Gerard Fitzgerald, and St Kilda, where he played on a wing in the seconds. In early 2008, by when Thomas was a former St Kilda coach, Beaumaris approached the Bayside identity to see whether he cared to resume his coaching career. Thomas declined, but pointed the club towards Mifsud, who was living in Cheltenham. Mifsud coached Beaumaris from the sidelines in 2008. He made his comeback in this season's opening round and a fortnight later he picked up 36 possessions. The next week he tore his calf muscle. Before his playing return at Beaumaris' Banksia Reserve on Saturday, Mifsud left the dressingroom to duck into the pre-match lunch. After answering questions about his meeting with the PM, he was asked whether he had a political career in mind for himself. He said he was yet to make a decision.

Camera shy

WHILE Mifsud was happy to accommodate a photo request by The Age before Saturday's game, his counterpart was unwilling to appear in a picture with him. Caulfield Grammarians president Matthew Scholten said yesterday that Lawrence had a strict pre-match routine that he was reluctant to break for anyone. When The Age approached Lawrence at quarter-time for a picture on his own, the 33-year-old was again reluctant before agreeing to a quick snap. Lawrence is not playing at Caulfield so he can concentrate on his first season as a senior coach. Scholten said the club was impressed by Lawrence's knowledge of the game and his rapport with young players. "He's got them playing for him," he said. Opposition contacts said Caulfield Grammarians were well-organised under Lawrence.
Deadline looms

WHEN Scholten was asked whether Lawrence would consider a comeback, he said Lawrence was not even registered to play. To become registered, he would have to put in the paperwork by the June 30 deadline. Fraser Gehrig, Lawrence's old mate from St Kilda, has helped out at training a couple of times but he must also register if he wants to play. "Something may eventuate," Scholten said. "But at this stage there's nothing."
Taking the challenge

AMID all the attention on Mifsud and Lawrence, it's worth noting that there's at least one other VAFA C-section coach with an impeccable pedigree. Bernie Sheehy coached his first premiership team in 1975, when De La Salle won the VAFA B-section flag. He also coached Essendon reserves, Fitzroy reserves and Springvale seniors before hanging up his clipboard in 1994. Sheehy is considered to have one of the best footy brains in Melbourne, but for a dozen years he's spent every Saturday as a spectator, watching De La Salle with old mates. The passivity finally got to him and before this season he decided he wanted one last chance to coach. He spoke to St Bernard's, a likely option given his history at fellow Catholic VAFA clubs North Old Boys and De La Salle, and Ajax, an unlikely option considering that all Ajax players are Jewish and Sheehy's name is as Irish as Paddy's pigs. Sheehy said yesterday he took the Ajax job because he wanted a challenge beyond his usual environment. "It was something different," he said.
Bernie's no Jackas

SHEEHY, who is a criminal law barrister, yesterday was vague when asked about the incident in 1990 when he shocked Springvale officials by turning up for his coaching interview wearing thongs. "Those stories take up a life of their own," he said. Ajax secretary Peter Kagan yesterday reported that Sheehy turned up for his Jackas interview wearing runners, as well as tracksuit pants and his best polo shirt, but more to the point he impressed with his footy knowledge and his knowledge of the club. On Saturday, Sheehy guided the Jackas to a rare win at Parkdale, by 44 points, in between exchanging words with an opposition supporter. "Why don't you shut up," the spectator said. "You shut up," Sheehy roared back. The coach is enjoying his Ajax challenge, but he admits to facing unfamiliar problems. "There's a lot of study," he said. "And a lot of travel."

mma1 2 massive players???? do continue...

One wouldn't happen to be a port melbourne chf/chb???
and the other a current noble park player?

or are my contacts telling me porkies?

You could be right with one of them.
Noble Park player will probably play next year. He will be the best player in what ever grade we are in by a street. Currently carving up Div 1 EFL.
The other could possibly be a VFL Willy player coming back from injury.

Our win on the weekend puts to bed the injury excuse for any team....you can win with any 22 who want it bad enough.
Happy for people to write us off.

Informer, can't say i have met Keano and i think you are getting a bit precious.... I can have a crack on my first or last post if i feel like it... Just cos you kick 8 in a game doesnt mean you become the BigFooty police...

Word is Mifsud in a bit of trouble and could go... Looking at their next few weeks he might be praying to above to get off, so he can play in Beauy's big games coming up... Not a huge loss as you put it, he can still coach to some degree and is probably where he should be anyway at age 36/37.

All the top 4's look around the mark, only 5 teams left (Mazenod gone). High the only one though without a gun forward which is a concern for them...:D

Just heard that Mifsud got off and is right to play this weekend.

Nodders gone...what a load of absolute B/S RealSager. Youre now 2 from 2 with rubbish posts! :thumbsdown:
They are a damn strong team that has taken a fair whack with injuries. Although they're not in my top 4 (at the moment - this could change verey quickly) at years end they certainly are around the mark and will have a huge impact in the last half of the season.

Go_Nodders - can I ask why these 2 players are coming to play with Mazenod? Did they got to Mazenod? Seems funny they would come to an Ammo club seeing as tho they would have to be getting paid a fair bit of coin at their current clubs.

And Keano_15 stating he is from Caulfield...explains a lot!

BTW...cracking game this weekend - Beauy Vs Ajax. Luckily for Beauy Mifsud got off last night.

Nodders gone...what a load of absolute B/S RealSager. Youre now 2 from 2 with rubbish posts! :thumbsdown:
They are a damn strong team that has taken a fair whack with injuries. Although they're not in my top 4 (at the moment - this could change verey quickly) at years end they certainly are around the mark and will have a huge impact in the last half of the season.

Go_Nodders - can I ask why these 2 players are coming to play with Mazenod? Did they got to Mazenod? Seems funny they would come to an Ammo club seeing as tho they would have to be getting paid a fair bit of coin at their current clubs.

BTW...cracking game this weekend - Beauy Vs Ajax. Luckily for Beauy Mifsud got off last night.

All three blokes have strong ties to the club. The only one on real coin is the Noble Park bloke.
Lastly, probably the reason why we all play where we do - all our mates play there.
Let me say, nothing is etched in stone with all of this.

going on 2nd half of last years form mazenod were very unlucky not to make the 4.. think a slow start to the season hurt them

i'd have them as a dark horse (though i havent seen caulfield or bauey)

hows oakleigh going?

As mma1 pointed out the VAFA site has the ladder stuffed up and gave the points to Oakleigh. Had a look at the ladder Mazenod were 5 and 4 and made a comment. Them being 6 and 3 makes a little difference. As you stated i dont think they will make top 4. Sorry for stating an opinion, unlike you informer i made one and didnt sit on the fence with
Although they're not in my top 4 (at the moment - this could change verey quickly)

I didnt say they weren't a strong side, the first 4 weeks showed they are when full strength, injuries have hit them and being what was showing 5 and 4 (actually 6 and 3) was why i stated an opinion. Finals will probably come down to the sides that keep their guns on the field, Mazenod have already lost some.

Terrific PR for VAFA, C Grade and the respective clubs in the Age artilce. Havent seen Mifsud play, but surely him going off wasnt the difference in the game. The recent news items on him might have helped him get off though.

Cheer up Informer and get off the fence. :rolleyes:

All three blokes have strong ties to the club. The only one on real coin is the Noble Park bloke.
Lastly, probably the reason why we all play where we do - all our mates play there.
Let me say, nothing is etched in stone with all of this.

Spot on!

Many clubs close to the CBD don't have to fight off clubs from strong leagues like the Eastern and Northern, for players. The main competition we have is the Southern, which is generally rubbish.

Once heard of an old clubman ask a former teamate who left for an A Grade club "what's it like playing for a bunch of blokes you don't give a stuff about?". He was back a year later.

Good to see, if it happens.

RealSaga, I could not give a flog what you think. I give a non biased view on the "C" grade and the ammos.
Anyway who are you to have a crack...this is your first post!!! Long time reader first time poster! ...give me a break. Where have you been? Obviously your boyfriend Keano has put you up to this. If he's laying next to you this morning, tell him I said hello.

Now to the real stuff, great games on the weekend.

Surprise for me was to see the Nodders get home over the Crushers. I rate the crishers right up there. Was dissappointing to see errant kicking which cost them dearly. Cualfield over Beauy was also a bit of a surprisae out there. Should Beauy not have kicked straight it could have been a lot uglier.

At the half way mark the top 4 looks still up in the air as does the bottom 2. I still cant believe Parkdale are 1 and 8. They're a lot better than that.

After Round 9 (1/2 way mark)
1 CAULFIELD GRAM9810120075632158.732 MHSOB972099168328145.103 AJAX972093376028122.764 BEAUMARIS963084572724116.235 OAKLEIGH963083273024113.976 MAZENOD954089874120121.197 MONASH BLUES9270655868875.468 OLD GEELONG9270713951874.979 PARKDALE91808131082475.1410 BULLEEN TEMP91805861168450.17

Top 4 predictions at year end of regular season....

Caulfield - young team with a great midfield and talented full forward.
MHSOB - Strong team, well balanced, with a super dominant ruckman (very rare in 'C' grade).
Ajax - Another team with a great midfield, very fit and a young but quality forward.
Oakleigh - Great midfield that works damn hard to get to all contests. They push back deep and carry the ball forward. Great team. Oh..My man Bromley. Need I say more..

Bottom 2
Bullen Tem - Just havent got the firepower anywhere. Cant see them getting out of this one. Should start preparing for D grade.
Monash Blues - Tough one to pick. Still competetive but lack of skill their biggest issue.

Got to say that from what I have seen thus far in 2009, this is the lowest quality C Section for many years. The best sides are nowhere near the best of the past couple of years and the worst sides are very very poor. Makes a "surprise" result a real chance at the pointy end.

Caulfield look the strongest and should go back to B. Not sure on who else might bob up to join them, might go for the Jackers at good odds!!
BT and OGGs probably favoured for the drop but think it might go right down to Round 18 in an Ammo special finish.

thought i saw strongy walking down the street yesterday with his new girlfriend but then received this picture from one of the boys attending the so called man trip to tassie.. this is strongy asleep on the plane
Rob_Schneider_in_Deuce_Bigalow:_European_Gigolo_Wallpaper_2_1024.jpg

Spot on!

Many clubs close to the CBD don't have to fight off clubs from strong leagues like the Eastern and Northern, for players. The main competition we have is the Southern, which is generally rubbish.

Once heard of an old clubman ask a former teamate who left for an A Grade club "what's it like playing for a bunch of blokes you don't give a stuff about?". He was back a year later.

Good to see, if it happens.

My best mate captained our club for a couple of years and left for reasonable money offered by a Northern League club. He came back the following year and said it was the worst decision he had ever made. He realised that hanging out with your mates three times a week was worth more than the cash on offer.
I guess as you get older, how many of us would wish they could hang out with their mates three times a week???

Thanks for the scoop Baz. Unfortunately a little ill informed as my favourite bacardi flavour would have to be guava...

Tend to agree more with Keanos ladder (for obvious reasons!)
Caulfield looked very impressive and hard to see them being beat.
Beaumaris play MHSOB, Oakleigh & Mazenod at home in the second half of the year and have being played with half a backline the last 4 weeks.
Melbourne will stay in the top 3 assuming they win the ones they are expected to.
Mazenod will have to win at least 7 of 9 to make the finals - result last week showed they are back in some form, might just sneak in.

Oakleigh might be unlucky and miss. Have beaten Caulfield but lost to Maz, Beau and MHSOB
Ajax might be lucky to be in 3rd at the moment? From memory beat MHSOB (start of year) and Mazenod (couple weeks ago) at times when these teams were not playing well.

Baz I would be interested to hear your thoughts as they are always on the mark![quote)

I think your spot on there deuce with your predictions.

Watching caulfield at shark park looked the real deal as I thought the final result would be alot closer than it was. However the sharkas did miss a few of the regualar senoir players like collins,cathcart(late withdrawal) and ensor. I rekon ajax are a bit of a dark horse as they are just quietly playing under the radar and obvisiouly have moved on from their loss of jeremy dukes (can anyone share any light on him ie his recovery?). However looking at the ladder is too close to call as no team has yet broken away and i think its going to come down to the final few games.
My final 4 are: Caulfield-just playing really good footy and are only goin to get to better.
Beaumaris-looking at the draw have really good run home as they play back to back games at shark park and wil be close if not full strength side.
Mhosb-havent heard much about them.
Ajax- to scrap in to make the final four and once the finals begin could shake a few things up.

Happy days at mhosb.

Baz

Thanks for the scoop Baz. Unfortunately a little ill informed as my favourite bacardi flavour would have to be guava...

Tend to agree more with Keanos ladder (for obvious reasons!)
Caulfield looked very impressive and hard to see them being beat.
Beaumaris play MHSOB, Oakleigh & Mazenod at home in the second half of the year and have being played with half a backline the last 4 weeks.
Melbourne will stay in the top 3 assuming they win the ones they are expected to.
Mazenod will have to win at least 7 of 9 to make the finals - result last week showed they are back in some form, might just sneak in.

Oakleigh might be unlucky and miss. Have beaten Caulfield but lost to Maz, Beau and MHSOB
Ajax might be lucky to be in 3rd at the moment? From memory beat MHSOB (start of year) and Mazenod (couple weeks ago) at times when these teams were not playing well.

Baz I would be interested to hear your thoughts as they are always on the mark![quote)

I think your spot on there deuce with your predictions.

Watching caulfield at shark park looked the real deal as I thought the final result would be alot closer than it was. However the sharkas did miss a few of the regualar senoir players like collins,cathcart(late withdrawal) and ensor. I rekon ajax are a bit of a dark horse as they are just quietly playing under the radar and obvisiouly have moved on from their loss of jeremy dukes (can anyone share any light on him ie his recovery?). However looking at the ladder is too close to call as no team has yet broken away and i think its going to come down to the final few games.
My final 4 are: Caulfield-just playing really good footy and are only goin to get to better.
Beaumaris-looking at the draw have really good run home as they play back to back games at shark park and wil be close if not full strength side.
Mhosb-havent heard much about them.
Ajax- to scrap in to make the final four and once the finals begin could shake a few things up.

Happy days at mhosb.

Baz

Baz, looking at those out for the Sharks - it could have a fair bit closer last weekend against Caulfield.
Havent heard much from the Jackers camp regarding the best player in the competition (Big Jukes). From intial reports it was season ending.

Tips for this week.......

Jackers Vs Beauy - In a close one. With a couple to return for Beauy I'm predicting they will get up just. Beauy will need to stop the hard running human chicken nugget in Ritterman. Also Israelsohn is back playing some of his best footy.
Caulfield Vs Parkdale - Caulfield should clean the Vultures up at home.
MHSOB Vs OG - In the local derby we will see MHSOB take apart OG.
BT Vs Mazenod - The Nodders game is gaining momentum. Nodders to win by 15 goals.
Oakleigh Vs Monash - The Crushers to make the Blues pay for their inability to hit targets. Bromley to kick 8!

Goodluck for the weekend.

Jackers Vs Beauy - In a close one. With a couple to return for Beauy I'm predicting they will get up just. Beauy will need to stop the hard running human chicken nugget in Ritterman. Also Israelsohn is back playing some of his best footy.
Caulfield Vs Parkdale - Caulfield should clean the Vultures up at home.
MHSOB Vs OG - In the local derby we will see MHSOB take apart OG.
BT Vs Mazenod - The Nodders game is gaining momentum. Nodders to win by 15 goals.
Oakleigh Vs Monash - The Crushers to make the Blues pay for their inability to hit targets. Bromley to kick 8!

Goodluck for the weekend.

Jackers Vs Beauy - Away from home will be tough for the Sharks, but I think Mifsud will have them fired up after a larger than expected loss last week. No media distractions this week may help as well.

Caulfield Vs Parkdale - Should win game for the Fields.
MHSOB Vs OG - OGs are rubbish and High should help continue their journey back to D.
BT Vs Mazenod - BT are always tough at home, but Mazenod need to keep winning to make up some ground, so couldn't see them dropping this.
Oakleigh Vs Monash - The Crushers will walk over Monash at home, too big, too strong. Monash will do well to limit the damage to valuable percentage.

Gents, just to clear up the Beauy game last week - misfud going off had no impact on the result other than to reduce the number of Caulfield blokes getting kicked on the bottom of packs - amazing Houdini act to get off the striking charge too. As for Beauy outs contributing to the result, were they missing Buddy & Juddy? Coz if not, i'd suggest it would have been exactly the same..
As for this week, i reckon Keano is on target with his tips, although if Ajax kick the 1st couple of goals they are very tough to catch...

Gents, just to clear up the Beauy game last week - misfud going off had no impact on the result other than to reduce the number of Caulfield blokes getting kicked on the bottom of packs - amazing Houdini act to get off the striking charge too. As for Beauy outs contributing to the result, were they missing Buddy & Juddy? Coz if not, i'd suggest it would have been exactly the same..
As for this week, i reckon Keano is on target with his tips, although if Ajax kick the 1st couple of goals they are very tough to catch...

Template, I doubt whether there was no impact at all. Seeing Mifsud a couple of times this year I would have thought he would have a huge impact out on the ground. Having 17 blokes on the ground for 15 minutes would be hard enough, but also for his ability to win the ball and for his true leadership qualities (he met KRudd! :D) that could have made a fair difference to the result.

News just in... Infamous cover band sensation frontman and Beaumaris/ Black Rock football club boozer 'Mr Cooper' has been apprehended by the Victoria Police after being caught performing sexually explicit acts on a 16 year old girl.
This Tuesday he will shipped of to a high security prison in Kalgoorlie. The prisons facilities may dissapoint Mr Cooper as he will be unable to gain internet access and thus put an end to his internet stalking and general predator like behaviour.

Baz im not sure what the photo of Melbourne had to do with your post. Maybe you should ease up on the Canadian Clubs.

News just in... Infamous cover band sensation frontman and Beaumaris/ Black Rock football club boozer 'Mr Cooper' has been apprehended by the Victoria Police after being caught performing sexually explicit acts on a 16 year old girl.
This Tuesday he will shipped of to a high security prison in Kalgoorlie. The prisons facilities may dissapoint Mr Cooper as he will be unable to gain internet access and thus put an end to his internet stalking and general predator like behaviour.

Baz im not sure what the photo of Melbourne had to do with your post. Maybe you should ease up on the Canadian Clubs.
''
this is a total lie... strongy is just uhappy because of the photo that was taken while he was sleeping on the plane. no reason you should get angry stongy this could be a good oppertunity for you to claim the disabilty parking priverlidge, or even the diserbility helpers pension my hard earned taxes should go somewhere, i.e you drinking habbbit...
all the breast

The reason for the photo of melbourne was that won a premiership and it was for my mid year review.

all the best
Barry

Goodness gracious me, was the clock working in the 4th at Scammell?

13.8. 86 to 3.0. 18

One of the bigger single qtr aggregates that your likely to see, esp given that only 26 points separated them for other 3 qtrs.

Well done to Jack Richter on the weekend who has been employed as the fill in radio commentator for Billy Brownless on Sen1116's 'Morning Glory'. Jack is known for his outstanding work on SouthernFM's 'Driving Wheels' where he has interviewed the likes of Jack Watts, Bryce McGain, Natasha Chokijat, Chris Anstey and many more.
jackrichter.png
Left: Jack in action

He's hardwork and dedication has truly been rewarded with the top job alongside T.V and radio personalities Tim Watson and Andy Maher. Jack can also be heard at MelbourneFC home games where he commentates from the stands with special comments expert Matthew Petering.

Well done Jack and goodluck.

Well done to Jack Richter on the weekend who has been employed as the fill in radio commentator for Billy Brownless on Sen1116's 'Morning Glory'. Jack is known for his outstanding work on SouthernFM's 'Driving Wheels' where he has interviewed the likes of Jack Watts, Bryce McGain, Natasha Chokijat, Chris Anstey and many more.
jackrichter.png

He's hardwork and dedication has truly been rewarded with the top job alongside T.V and radio personalities Tim Watson and Andy Maher. Jack can also be heard at MelbourneFC home games where he commentates from the stands with special comments expert Matthew Petering.

Who the **** is Jack Richter?

Anyway back to the competetion. Finally got 5 out of 5. First time this year. Therefore I will treat myself and head down to kitty kats in Sth Melbourne for a nice little reward.

MHSOB score is the standout of the week. They turned it on the last to smash OG in the local derby.
Beauy played pretty well on the weekend. Gower back in the goals which is good to see. Hes got some talent.
I see Slevison was quiet on the weekend which was a bit of a shock. Expecting him to pile on the goals against a lowly ranked team.

Match of the round this weekend...
Baeuy Vs Oakleigh. All other games should be one sided.

jackrichter.png

Yeah who the heck is Jack Richer?

anyway, one career starts and another finishes. We read from Bazza, that your playing days are over 'BabyDoll'.

oh well, Lumpy always said you were to top heavy for football.

All the best in your Tenpin bowling career at Mentone TPB.

C Section 2009