C Section Amateur Football

fair go Frank,just answering a question and supplying information in an honest fashion.
Should be more of it on here,rather than the continual bitching and destructive comment.

Who cares about loats?

Uve got a guy who kicks bags every week and you still can't win games, must
be a really deep list.....

Ajax has shown this year their depth with the loss of former afl player julian kirzner and another goal kicker j. berger.

Kicked around 130-150 goals between them last yr, and not playing this year, still manage to win games and find goal kickers...

zoofest, can certainly see the other teams.

Most admired players aside from ajax: boundy, full forward for vultures ( number 1), hamptons ruckman ( man monster), redhead from monash ( absolute gun), and many other, so certainly can see other teams..

I think loats could kick 150+ if he was more enthusiastic, i'm saying if he played for a team that i supported, wether it be at afl level or c grade amateurs i would want more output ( not in terms of goals, in terms of enthusiasm) , doesnt look like his interested ala' brendan fevola 2 years ago.

Oc were a great team last yr, dont look like they're upto it this yr..

Certainly looks like a 2 horse race, but never know what can happen.

i do go for ajax, only because berger ( former player) was a good mate, just go down to watch them now as a football supporter, however i have a soft spot for them...

I go to see a good game of footy!!!! Definately look at both teams...

agreed, boundary umpire questionable... what amateur umpires aern't ( atleast its a little comedy)

zoofest43 said:
fair go Frank,just answering a question and supplying information in an honest fashion.
Should be more of it on here,rather than the continual bitching and destructive comment.

Sorry Zoofest, your right, it was a cheap shot!!!!

As for you Bluenews I'm sure Loats would have been well provoked by a few Ajax Players/Supporters to carry on in this manner. Jacka's have always been quick to place the blame, but take know reponsibilty. Just look at the number of Malee's they are involved in, surely it can't always be the oppositions fault.

bede, could ur life get any worse? old camberwell, essendon.....

ring your travel agent... im sure u can get cheap airline tickets if you book now for september....

keep camporeale... keep loats... keep them all

special mention to no21 for ajax, 100 games on the weekend

If the Jackas can overcome a resurgent Reds and the tigers get over Parade at home on Saturday, then what a match we are in for next Sunday week at Wick park.......we will know if St.Bedes are raging favs for the flag or do they have a genuine challenger in the red, white and black??

Odds: Tigers: $1.50
Jackas: $2.60

Line Jackas +14.5 $1.90

Should be a beauty.

Dear C section-types,

Please log on to the VAFA website for my official stab at the C Section Team of the Half Year. Bound to draw some criticism and hopefully will be a good source of banter on this thread for the next few days. I was tossing up slotting in a 4th Tiger, but really couldn't find another standout on top of the 3 who've gone in. Also think it's a bit light on for key position players, with Boundy playing at CHF and Gregory (CHB) pushing Wintle back to FB. I tried to steer clear of VFL listed players too, and stuck with genuine C grade stars.

Oh and another thing, we are the first section to get our side in!!

This is surely a reflection of the quality of the competition, and not the fact that I'd knocked off work after finishing a plea at Shepparton Mag Crt at 10.35 am, and after the 2hr drive back to the CBD, had the rest of the afternoon to muck around back in the office!! :D

Cheers

Fraser

Fraser, read your side .My spies down at Fitzroy reckon TIM DAVIS lets Jimmy O'Reilley carry his bag.I want a kilogram of whatever your on and as for Robbins at Ormond, change his name wouldn't get a game....looks like his brother plays like his sister. 3 Ormond onballers in the side ,you'd have to think they would be a good chance for the flag ....... No me either. You should have taken your time and put a bit more thought into it .

Scribe, really think there should probably be at least 4 if not 5 SBMT players, as they are unbeaten for the very reason.

Groves is unlucky, as is Anthony Scafidi

very hard job Scribe,well done. Naturally we all like to see more of our 'own' in, but I reckon the only other OC that should of been considered is Ditch,David Mitchell(20). He's having a great year and is extremely versatile,made the rep side etc.

Quietly Confident said:
I want a kilogram of whatever your on and as for Robbins at Ormond, change his name wouldn't get a game....looks like his brother plays like his sister. 3 Ormond onballers in the side ,you'd have to think they would be a good chance for the flag ....... No me either. You should have taken your time and put a bit more thought into it .

I'd have to agree QC, being an Ormond man, Robbins has had an up & down year to say the least, has played some great games, but some ordinary ones as well, injuries have played their part on that.

As for Keleher, he mainly plays HBF/onball & is definately one of the most consistent players in C grade. Miller is an absolute gun & could easily play at a higher grade or level, as his C grade B&F & 2 D1 B&F's suggest.

SeymourLions said:
Scribe, really think there should probably be at least 4 if not 5 SBMT players, as they are unbeaten for the very reason.

Groves is unlucky, as is Anthony Scafidi

Agreed SL, a team that is undefeated should have more than three players in. Both Groves and Scafidi are worthy candidates, as too a highly under rated player by the name of David Kinsella.

Kinsella is a good honest footballer, been in the best a few times and from the limited games i've seen of the tigers, he has held their backline together. He has a great leap and a good set of hands.

i make sense said:
Agreed SL, a team that is undefeated should have more than three players in.
Drawing a comparison to Hawthorn of 1991, they won the flag, yet didn't have one player in the All-Australian Side. St Bedes might be the same, where they are considered a very even team, as opposed to a side made up of lots of good individuals. Just a thought.

As for the Reds, Jimmy O'Reilly is as classy a backman as i have seen in all my years in footy, and deserves a spot on the bench, at the very least. Tim Davis would be a walk up start in any side too. BOG in the Rep game proves that.

Before anyone jumps down my throat for be "pro-Reds", or too parochial, as I play in the Clubbies, I get to see very little of the Reds' opposition, so I have no doubt there are many other class players in C grade, but i know a good player when i see them, and these two are definitely in that category.

i make sense said:
Agreed SL, a team that is undefeated should have more than three players in. Both Groves and Scafidi are worthy candidates, as too a highly under rated player by the name of David Kinsella.

Kinsella is a good honest footballer, been in the best a few times and from the limited games i've seen of the tigers, he has held their backline together. He has a great leap and a good set of hands.

S Sullivan , parkdale? You can't be serious scribe! So much for the "st Bedes can't win on a big ground theory" after Saturday!

Scribe,

The controversy over Bret Kirk's omission from recent AA sides seems to hold stead down in C-section amateur football too. Every side needs a tagger who may not be the pretiest player but is always the last man up holding the ball, always keep his oponent quiet and even plays on when concussed.

Need you look any further than the man they call The Hardman - no.8 for AJAX.

Cheers

overtheline said:
S Sullivan , parkdale? You can't be serious scribe! So much for the "st Bedes can't win on a big ground theory" after Saturday!

Whats wrong with S Sullivan, he's had a pretty good year.

Thanks for the feedback gents - as was always going to be the case, plenty of genuine claims have already been noted.

As for some specifics:

1. I was looking to slot in 4 or 5 Tigers, but it is a testament to their even-ness that the three mentioned as unlucky omissions were all considered, and would be in a expanded squad of, say 30.

2. Mitch from OC was also considered, but there were too many of similar ilk already in.

3. Davis was going to be my first choice Redder, until I started sifting through the BPs for the season. Dangerous, I know but, given I still play myself, I haven't been to many games as an observer, and figured Chapman and O'Reilly had been more consistent.

4. Robbins could be a tad fortunate, and Lewski was only on the pine because the other two Jackas got a starting slot, in their rightful positions. He'd be rotating on the ball with Ritter, Keleher, Anstey and Miller.

5. Parkdale aren't that far off the pace and the two Sullivans have been instrumental thus far.

6. Bloom's been very good, but you can't go past Loats, and Greenwood has been a shining light up front for the Rovers.

NB - overtheline, I don't subscribe to the STBMT can't play on a big ground theory. Frankly, I think they'll go through the season undefeated, but I was prepared to sacrifice a tip to stir up things at Hampton. Unfortunately, it sppeared to work in reverse!!!!

Thanks for all your input/opinion. Please keep it coming.....

I have been having a closer look at this team.Now I know the boy can finish but I have just looked at my watch and I am tipping young Tyquinn is tucked up in bed, $50 says he sleeps with the light on though.

Mappa said:
Drawing a comparison to Hawthorn of 1991, they won the flag, yet didn't have one player in the All-Australian Side. St Bedes might be the same, where they are considered a very even team, as opposed to a side made up of lots of good individuals. Just a thought.

As for the Reds, Jimmy O'Reilly is as classy a backman as i have seen in all my years in footy, and deserves a spot on the bench, at the very least. Tim Davis would be a walk up start in any side too. BOG in the Rep game proves that.

Before anyone jumps down my throat for be "pro-Reds", or too parochial, as I play in the Clubbies, I get to see very little of the Reds' opposition, so I have no doubt there are many other class players in C grade, but i know a good player when i see them, and these two are definitely in that category.
Now Mappa obviously being a redder has tainted your view perhaps you still have the blinkers on ,James is a good ordinary footballer, honest at best.How he got a game ahead of Tim Davis is anyones guess. I watched that kid Mitchell play from OC's and he goes well enough to be in that side no probs.Glad Sleepy got a game he has been playing well for Nobs week in week out .Hear he is planning a big one Saturday night for the WCF Big screen, plenty of gear and a hot tub in the lounge I'm tipping all roads lead to Clarendon st .The scribe is tipping the tigers to go through undeafeated I hope thats not on the strength of a win over the rovers, talk to me after the jacka's game sunday week. In an even season to win 20 in a row is a huge ask. Premiers and Champions is a tag not worn by many in their footy lives and fewer playing coaches.

CFE said:
I'd have to agree QC, being an Ormond man, Robbins has had an up & down year to say the least, has played some great games, but some ordinary ones as well, injuries have played their part on that.

As for Keleher, he mainly plays HBF/onball & is definately one of the most consistent players in C grade. Miller is an absolute gun & could easily play at a higher grade or level, as his C grade B&F & 2 D1 B&F's suggest.
Miller is forward of the footy all day every day.He has enormous leg speed and carries the footy and therefore gets votes from umpires who do not understand the game and how it is played.George plays him in the repside every year because George is a muppet. Miller is quick , my dog can run.
As for miller playing in a higher grade your right but if he played any wider he would be in the grandstand.Millers don't win you flags, ask him how many senior premierships he has played in , I'm tipping I know the answer.
Give me Digger everyday of the week.

QC You say it is an even season, but that's for nine clubs, the other club SBMT continues to meet all challenges thrown at them so far.

As for playing coaches well that just something you will have to get over!

tommy1979 said:
Right oh lads. Give us your c section team of the year so far:

Mine:
B: Robbins(orm) L.Wintle(SBMT) T.Brady(NOBS)
HB: Lowerson(OC) Davis(FITZ) Smyth(Mon)
C: Lewski(Ajax) P.Sullivan(Park) Tyquin(SBMT)
HF: S.Hecker(Park) Gregory(Mon) Boundy(OP)
F: Sleep (NOBS) Loats(OC) MacGeorge(Park)
R: Browne(Hamp) Miller(Orm) Anstey(SBMT)
Bench: Cahill(Fitz) Groves(SBMT) Bloom(Ajax)

Well pretty close to the money. Would have added Ritterman to my bench as I only named three.
Wouldn't rely on best players listed every week cause they are done very quickly after the siren.

Quietly Confident said:
I have been having a closer look at this team.Now I know the boy can finish but I have just looked at my watch and I am tipping young Tyquinn is tucked up in bed, $50 says he sleeps with the light on though.

Quietly confident, i think i will re-name you "loudly stupid". your comments about Tyquin and Miller are stupid - hence your new name.

Tyquin has been killing them this year, and Miller's record speaks for itself. I'm sure if both these players were playing for your reds you would be quick to sing their praises as they would finish 1 & 2 in your clubs b & f. Thus they would be the best players at your club.

QC - I look forward to you being a little more quiet and a little less confident.

That makes sense to me.