• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

C-section Ammo's 2007

Bloody Oath you would! :p

Let's see Old Camberwell when they have played stronger opposition.

As for the Reds, could be a long year... but we'll wait until Rd 6 till we start the real bagging (if warranted!)

As long as Ormond open themselves up for the same scrutiny, that will be fine by me. with Carey and Camb in the next two weeks, the monders could be 1-3?

Of course, we very well could be.

But we weren't the one's saying how we were a certainty to win the flag or to play in the GF, unlike the Reds supporters...

Would anyone know the last club to be found out and punished by the VAFA.
It seems that a club would need to be dobbed in or a disgruntled player with information to catch an Amateur Club out.
I would like to think there very few clubs abusing the tradition of Amateur Football or am i being naieve? (if That is how you spell it!!!)

Sunbury Snake,
If my memory serves me correctly it was Old Melbournians who were the last club to incur the wrath of the VAFA. Yet this was not actually for making illegal payments to any of its players. Before the reinstatement rules were repealed - one of its recruits failed to disclose that he had played for cash in the suburbs previously - VAFA investigated and OMs were docked premiership points and subsequently relegated from A Grade. Sadly they've failed to reclaim their former glory ever since.

I'm fuzzy on the details as it was almost 10 years ago but I can recall some scuttlebutt about disgruntled parties dishing the dirt. Reminds me of the current West Ham debacle.

You are right - any VAFA action would require an official complaint that is supported by irrefutable evidence. And I suggest that if anyone has possession of such information then they should formalise their concerns through the proper channels - the spirit of our Ammos needs to be protected. However BigFooty is not the proper channel - and defaming clubs and players is not in the spirit of this forum - so leave the scuttlebutt and scandal at the pub.

The Golden Boner

It is always good to jump on BF in the arvo and review the days banter, it is a little early on a Thursday to rip into a Kingbrown vb and rundown, so I'll stick with the ice chocolate and have a go:
Old Carey and Ormond should be a bit of a ball tearer. CArey are 2-0 yet haven't had there fully "gelled" side on the park yet. Ormond notched a 'W' over Fitzroy which I think is a very solid win. Old Carey should win this one. *Can anyone tell me about the Stewart-Holmes that is currently playing? Saw one of the family running around in the unders a few years back (2003) same one?
I think NOBS might get over Parkdale, haven't seen either team so am thinking Nobbers will register a win and gain a bit of momentum to run out winners.
Fitzroy make the three day hike, plane and train ride out to sunny Sunbury vs Rupo who seem to be settling well in the new grade. Like Carey, and CAmberwell, Rupo are scoring fairly highly so would't be suprised if this is no different. Rupo by about 4 goals at home.
Mazenod won't want to drop 2 in a row and can't see the 'Friars' getting over them, even at home on top of the mountain (which reminds me of one of the arenas on Smash Court Tennis on Super Nintendo). Nodders by a bit.
Old Camberwell with there plethora of big name talent to be too strong for Monash, who although were tipped to be relegated, haven't been disgraced yet. It looks like if they get a sniff early, they are competitive.

If my memory serves I am sitting on 10/10 in tips thus far. Happy with that start!
Good luck to all those selected tonight. Cheers, Dud

Dudley Hamstrung said:
*Can anyone tell me about the Stewart-Holmes that is currently playing? Saw one of the family running around in the unders a few years back (2003) same one?
Al Stewart-Holmes, probably the same guy, has been playing in the magoos - although having seen him in round 1, I'd doubt that would last long. Took a season off last year when he went overseas for cricket.

It has never failed to amaze me the quality of players playing amateurs, when money is offered at the ready. My belief is Football Victoria should not allow players under 23 to play for dollars with the exception of AFL, VFL the reason being these young men who in a lot of cases need the money go into environments that do not focus on development but purely output, and for most this is detrimental to improvement.

Amateur football focusses on how they can help young men develop a career out of footy, earn their stripes. This principle properly managed is far greater benefit than any footy career around several clubs. An easy ride is wrong and only clubs themselves can judge their commitment to their players growth as young men. Football, money and winning is simply not the whole picture in Amateur football.

You are right - any VAFA action would require an official complaint that is supported by irrefutable evidence. And I suggest that if anyone has possession of such information then they should formalise their concerns through the proper channels - the spirit of our Ammos needs to be protected. However BigFooty is not the proper channel - and defaming clubs and players is not in the spirit of this forum - so leave the scuttlebutt and scandal at the pub.

Perfectly put, Randall. :thumbsu:

It can generally be expected that if an insinuation is being made here, and not through the proper channels, it must be because its baloney.

My tips for the round:

Rupo to put another nail in the coffin of the reds

Nobs over Parky with the Barker show to continue

Ormond in a bit of an upset against Carey

OC will do enough but wil only win by a couple of kicks

Friars to record first win in a tight one at home.

Rupo to beat the reds at home by 6 goals
Parky to beat Nobs by 3 goals
Ormond to beat carey in a nail biter
OC to beat monash by 8 goals
Mazenod to send the friars by 5 goals

Rupo
NOBS
Old Carey- no confidence here
Old Camberwell- this one may provide a surprise
Mazenod by 11 goals

Mobb,

Why did you delete all of yesterday's posts? Richoooo was asking a valid question about why a player played at OC and his question was validly answered - no reason to completely censor the discussion.

If this board is just for posting tips it is going to become mighty boring....

Mobb,

Why did you delete all of yesterday's posts? Richoooo was asking a valid question about why a player played at OC and his question was validly answered - no reason to completely censor the discussion.

I'll answer that one if you don't mind Mobbs. Quite clearly, the talk about the player involved was deisgned to discredit both him and the club involved. The player involved is an innocent victim of innuendo, and should be protected as is wont matter what is said in his defence, the mud will stick.

Brian says...
Rupo over Reds by 34 points.
NOBS over Parky by 14 points.
Ormond over Old Carey by 17 points.
Old Camberwell over Monash by 78 points.
Friars over the Nodders by 7 points

overtheline, i think you really are a follower of old carey. you seem to pipe up whenever they are spoken of and this reds support seems to be a front. have you a history with the old boys?

rupo in a tight one 7 points, dont believe for a minute that there are any key " outs " for the reds.

Nobs have played two very good sides in rds 1 & 2, will brake the duck with an 8 goal victory over the vultures

Old cary just in the game of the round 13 points ( ormond to be in front at 3/4 time )

OC by 88 big ones

Unsure on this game, nodders wern't bad last week, third quarter execptional, friars i think were mentioned by a few as going straight back up, tough call, nodders by a point ?

good luck to all, stay injury free.

Mobb,

AC,
For the sake of your club and the player, it is all probably better left off the board I reckon.

Mobb,

Nah, muckraking and unbacked allegations when personal in any way about a person or club etc are not permitted. There's no exception. I wouldn't be allowed to make an exception if I wanted to.

I agree with you torp9. I only stated facts. Nothing I said was innuedo, just facts. Big Footy should be called Big Brother. It's not a open public forum. One should look at the MPNFL's "Argy Bargy", when it gets back on-line, to see a real forum where all opinions count, not just those decided on by an overzealous overseer. (Never mind the conflict of interest. Comments against Fitzroy Reds are mysteriously deleted.)

You can have it; talk about this weekends tips, the weather and never take your head out of the sand.

Last post.