Cale Morton, is he the best young player in the game?

How many inside 50's? Goal assists? What's his opponent up to when he is running about by himself?
4 inside 50's which is better then most players in the league.

No goal assists unfortunately. Running about by himself and getting the ball is his role. It's his JOB. When will you get that through your thick skull?

Not the best young player at his club.
Jones had much more impact on the weekend, with less of the ball.

He's good but you lost all credibility with talking down Selwood, he has stepped up every game Ablett has been out. It's almost as if the Maestro hinders Selwood.

With Ablett out, Selwood generally has more game-time particularly more on the ball. He essentially plays Ablett's role when there is not Ablett.

Selwood
Rioli
Kreuzer
Cotchin
Gibbs
Palmer
Rich
Dangerfield
Taylor
Boak
Krakour

These players are all better then Morton at this time. Morton is a cheap reciever running of the half back. His disposal is not up to AFL standard and really butchers the ball a lot.

We can go back another year and grab Murphy, Pendlebury, Higgins, Ellis, Gilbert but the that's not fair for Morton.

He's really just a poor man's Krakour.

Selwood
Rioli
Kreuzer
Cotchin
Gibbs
Palmer
Rich
Dangerfield
Taylor
Boak
Krakour

These players are all better then Morton at this time. Morton is a cheap reciever running of the half back. His disposal is not up to AFL standard and really butchers the ball a lot.

We can go back another year and grab Murphy, Pendlebury, Higgins, Ellis, Gilbert but the that's not fair for Morton.

If Morton is a running receiver then what is Bryce Gibbs?

The kid is 19 and is still yet to fill out, but apparently he's a dud already :rolleyes: .

4 inside 50's which is better then most players in the league.

No goal assists unfortunately. Running about by himself and getting the ball is his role. It's his JOB. When will you get that through your thick skull?

No need for tears.

Selwood
Rioli
Kreuzer
Cotchin
Gibbs
Palmer
Rich
Dangerfield
Taylor
Boak
Krakour

I'll give you the first 5 at this stage. The physical capabilities of Morton will eventually make him a more damaging player than the likes of other midfielders such as Rich and Palmer, as he will end up contributing a lot of goals by drifiting inside 50 and being a good marking tarket with an excellent set shot, IMO of course.

No doubt Morton is a promising player but surely even with your Melbourne goggles on you can see that the likes of Selwood, Gibbs, Rioli, Cotchin and Kreuzer are destined to be of better class

4 inside 50's ...No goal assists unfortunately.
Not one to harp on about stats but on this alone defines his hurt factor. In arguably his best game to date, of 34 touches and 4 inside 50s Morton was unable to directly set up a goal.
Running about by himself and getting the ball is his role.. get that through your thick skull
Nobody is arguing the importance of this role. To be the 'best', or in this case the 'best young player' I beleive the player must play his role to great effect, yet Morton's disposal is some-what hit & miss. Obviously there is improvement to be made but the Selwoods, Gibbs, Riolis and Kreuzers of the game play their role to much greater effect. When will you get that through your thick, blue and red skull?

Can't be bothered reading through the whole thread, but no, he is not the best young player in the game. He still has a lot of work to do on many parts of his game. He could become a very good player one day, but at the moment he is just a "promising youngster".

To his credit, he knows how to find the footy though. Last year, he had over 20 on eight occasions. This year he is averaging 25 disposals and 8 marks a game. Interestingly, his last two games against the Eagles have produced 64 disposals and 33 marks!

i, as a melbourne supporter know that he isnt close to being one of the top young players in the comp. But i believe he has showed more than Kruezer. Kruezer is physically ready and is playing in a team where hacks like Jacobs and Hampson are his only competitors for a spot..and they opted for Jacobs. He isnt even a first choice ruckmen..not even a 2nd choice. He is too tall for a key position, and hasn't played consistently well like Morton has.

Cotchin also looks better, but he has been injured so much so its all based on potential. and we're not basing anything on potential so Morton is better than Cotchin..at this stage.

And also, who was that flog that put palmer above morton? Palmers disposals are even worse than Mortons.

If Morton is a running receiver then what is Bryce Gibbs?
Gibbs sets up plays, runs through the midfield and if all else fails can take an opponent out of the game whilst still being attacking for his side. Morton needs to learn a thing called being accountable before he gets to Gibbs level.

The kid is 19 and is still yet to fill out, but apparently he's a dud already :rolleyes: .
What does filling out have to do with his kicking? Who said he was a dud?

i, as a melbourne supporter know that he isnt close to being one of the top young players in the comp. But i believe he has showed more than Kruezer. Kruezer is physically ready and is playing in a team where hacks like Jacobs and Hampson are his only competitors for a spot..and they opted for Jacobs. He isnt even a first choice ruckmen..not even a 2nd choice. He is too tall for a key position, and hasn't played consistently well like Morton has.
What are you talking about? Firstly it's common knowledge that KPP take longer to develop then small recievers. Secondly Kreuzer has started every game for us in the ruck and has then rotated forward when Jacobs plays his 40% game time.

I have no idea where you pulled this "not even a 2nd choice" from. :rolleyes:

Certainly in the top 3. All those whinging about his low contested possession stats etc. Hes a bloody winger... Bit like saying Cristiano Ronaldo is a hack cos he doesnt defend. That aint his bloody job. At this stage id much prefer Morton over Masten/Palmer especially on the big Subi ground. Think we made a bit of a blunder here

I can't believe that nothing has been made about this kid.

34 touches and 16 marks on the weekend and is averaging 25 touches for the year.

Drafted pick 4 in the 2007 draft.

Is he the best youngster in the AFL?

(For those who say Selwood, Selwood has the likes of Ablett, Bartel, Corey and Chapman helping him, Morton has no-one.)

And thats what is so amazing about selwood. Despite being surrounded by the best midfield in the comp he still often gets a hard tag, thats how highly he is regarded. Selwood is the best player I can think of at such a young age.

Morton looks pretty good but I doubt he has ever had a tag and lacks a little polish IMO to be consider up there with the likes of selwood and gibbs etc etc.

And thats what is so amazing about selwood. Despite being surrounded by the best midfield in the comp he still often gets a hard tag, thats how highly he is regarded. Selwood is the best player I can think of at such a young age.

Morton looks pretty good but I doubt he has ever had a tag and lacks a little polish IMO to be consider up there with the likes of selwood and gibbs etc etc.
Name me one hard tag that Selwood has received.

Very little impact for a player that could be so damaging, I think the first time he gets a tag he will be so disheartened he will crack the shits and sook for the rest of the game just like Mitch Morton does.

Weaver was spot on when he compared the Morton sisters to the Bowden sisters.

Very little impact for a player that could be so damaging, I think the first time he gets a tag he will be so disheartened he will crack the shits and sook for the rest of the game just like Mitch Morton does.

Weaver was spot on when he compared the Morton sisters to the Bowden sisters.

Cale Morton is NOTHING like Mitch whatsoever as far as attitude goes. Unlike Mitch, Cale actually runs.

I love bigfooty, I guarantee that the majority of people who have replied negatively in this thread would be the first to say that Melbourne are crap and couldn't give a rats toss about our games. Yet all these numb nuts are suddenly experts with their opinions and act like they've seen every minute of every single Melbourne game.

Yeah right :rolleyes:

They're either talking complete shite or they're closest Melbourne fans. Perhaps that's why we have so many extra members this year, the bigfooty lemmings have all purchased MFC memberships :cool:

Nobody is arguing the importance of this role. To be the 'best', or in this case the 'best young player' I beleive the player must play his role to great effect, yet Morton's disposal is some-what hit & miss. Obviously there is improvement to be made but the Selwoods, Gibbs, Riolis and Kreuzers of the game play their role to much greater effect. When will you get that through your thick, blue and red skull?
I don't think Morton is the best young player in the competition, i didn't make this thread.

I would definately have him behind Gibbs and Selwood.

Although alot of the critcism he is copping in this thread is unwarranted and wrong. It just shows people haven't watched him themselves and are judging their opinions off others on BigFooty. Exhibit A: Team Mo' on Mortons kicking.

Don't like what I've seen so far. Soft, outside and looks quite selfish.

I doubt he'll ever get big enough to have confidence in his body and will squib a 1001 contests.

Although if the AFL keeps on turning the game into a zone/keepings off spectacle he could become the king of it.