Can The Saints Derail The Hawks???

Re: St Kilda

This is starting to shape as the same pattern as what it was like the week before the first final St Kilda vs Geelong.... St Kilda supporters stop blowing up St Kilda and why they will beat Hawthorn...you did the same thing agaisnt Geelong and look how that turned out... You beat a young inexperienced team with 2 of their top 5 players out.​

Hopefully threads dont start with titles saying ST Kilda WILL BEAT HAWTHORN BOOK IT​

goodluck st kilda​

St Kilda should win comfortably. Hawthorn barely ran over an injury riddled Melbourne team earlier in the year...13 points if my memory serves me correctly and the D's led for most of the game. That is not a performance of a team that is worthy of playing in a GF.

Surely you jest? Because that has to be one of THE most stupid things I've ever had the misfortune of reading.

Congratulations.

point to the part of my ridiculous post where I said Lenny Hayes was a classy footballer, if you want to argue with your imaginary friend fine, just stop referring to my posts.

I realise it's hard to grasp (well I don't really) but getting more of the ball does not necessarily = class, Mark Williams for example is classier than Sam Mitchell.

Geelong will beat us out of the middle because grunt = grunt but they have more class. Hawthorn will not beat us through class, Sam Mitchell will not beat us with class. Lenny Hayes is not class he is grunt, where is tackles in your comparison?

Taking away the petty insults. Who from St Kilda is class then? By your logic I see Ball and Dal Santo. Ball I'll agree with, but if you sit on Dal Santo, and he will be sat on this week, he usually fades. We may not have "class" per se but Bateman, Mitchell, Crawford (who is class imo - not what he used to be but if you have a look at his forward 50 entry's against the Western Bulldogs last week, pure class), Lewis, Sewell, Rioli, Ladson, Birchall, Guerra etc who are all damaging users of the footy and all very efficient users. May not be "class" but they sure as hell kick to the advantage of our forwards reguarly.

In reference an earlier post in the thread Hodge plays where he is needed, if St Kilda start to get on top in the middle expect to see him move on to the ball.

Loving the arrogant, pathetic 'oh that game didn't mean anything to us' crap some Hawk fans are giving us because of their humiliating loss. Your top 4 spot was not assured at the time. Geelong had not claimed the minor premiership yet either. How would you lot like it if you won and Saints fans said that? And then you lot call Geelong fans arrogant. :rolleyes:

I know maths isn't a geelong supporters strength but at 15-1 geelong was assured of top spot. Likewise, Hawthorn at 13-3 were assured of a top 4 spot.
FFS, do the maths.:rolleyes:

What is it with Dawks fans making excuses ?

"oh but we were out of form"

"oh but we only lost because we were focusing on the Geelong game"

"we had so many injuries"

Boo ****ing hoo!

It will be a ripper game next week. No excuses for the loser.

to the OP: Start having a look at some of your own supporters, thinking they have this game in the bag already. becoming more and more like Geelong Fans every day.

We were out of form and had injuries to key midfeilders ourselfs and if you dont remember we smashed you by 100 points round 1 when both teams were fully fit.

Dooshbag

We didn't have any form at all...and we didn't have a forward line either once we lost Robbo & Neita! Still only 13 points to the bottom side and trailing for 3 quarters. St Kilda was much more convincing!

Keep living in the past you fool. It will get you nowhere. We have your measure, enjoy the silly season.

Based on?????

The Hawks had a very good season and deserved second place but to say they specifically have St.Kilda's measure is ridiculous given the capitulation in Round 16 and the one win in six seasons against the Saints.

Deary me. At 15 and 1 Geelong were 8 points ahead (that's two games) of the next team. At 13 and 3 Hawthorn were 8 points ahead (again that's two games) of 5th. There were 6 games still remaining. Therefore plenty of time for either team to go anywhere and a round 17 match being important. Good grief are you being stupid on purpose?

The way our midfielders delivered the ball on our forwads heads (they jumped for them too) agaisnt the dogs gave the doggies backs no chance at all. Filled me with anticiption. If thats not class then I;m happy not to have it.

Saints palyed the game of their lives this week and if they are in strong form then they deserve to win.

I think they'll struggle to repeat it myself

Deary me. At 15 and 1 Geelong were 8 points ahead (that's two games) of the next team. At 13 and 3 Hawthorn were 8 points ahead (again that's two games) of 5th. There were 6 games still remaining. Therefore plenty of time for either team to go anywhere and a round 17 match being important. Good grief are you being stupid on purpose?
You might want to get your facts before you start mouthing off.
Hawthorn were 10 points clear in the top 4 after round 16 and given the form of the teams below them (sydney, collingwood etc) were in no danger of missing out on a top 4 position after 16 rounds.
Who seriously thought geelong wouldnt finish first? Are you really this thick?

You might want to get your facts before you start mouthing off.
Hawthorn were 10 points clear in the top 4 after round 16 and given the form of the teams below them (sydney, collingwood etc) were in no danger of missing out on a top 4 position after 16 rounds.
Who seriously thought geelong wouldnt finish first? Are you really this thick?

Yes apologies I have read my stats wrong. Hawks were a bit further ahead but not far enough for matches not to mean anything. And it does not matter if people did not think Geelong would fall from first. For memory Adelaide were around 13 and 1 with percentage well over 140 in 2006 and fell (a lot due to injuries) to 2nd. Stranger things had happened. My post was reply to yours talking about my maths skills when mathematically Hawthorn and Geelong could still go up or down on the ladder.

Saint Kilda don't have the 'X' factor to win a flag, they play defensive crap footy which is boring to watch and have an excitement machine as a coach :rolleyes:...at best they are good at worst they are absolute shite...

This game will be close but the Hawks will win :thumbsu:

I think it's hard to argue that simply because it's a final then past form is completely irrelevant. Not as relevant given the stakes, sure, but tactically we executed very well on Saturday night and the accurate goal-kicking suggests that the pressure of a knock-out final didn't get to us. Tactically the Saints have it over Hawthorn having won 6 out of the last 7 (I think).. bearing in mind the one loss was that awful match were we blooded three debutantes (Armitage, Howard and Sweeney) with a ruck division of Brooks and Rix. Clarko seems very structured in his game plan which obviously works well most of the time, but has been brought undone which could work to our advantage.

As an experience I am prepared to rate the Round 16 win above that of the semi-final, purely for the circumstances in which it was won. Hawks supporters will rightly put it down to focusing on Geelong the next week too early (who they will probably have next week, again), but an 11 goals to two second half doesn't happen by pure chance.

By no means am I suggesting that we will win this in a canter. Hawthorn will rightly start favourites and looked spot on against the Dogs. But there are positive signs for us. Max kept Buddy to three STRAIGHT last time which was a great effort but was beaten one-on-one a couple of times and is now playing with a broken toe, it will take another huge effort from him. We have good match-ups for Roughead but my worry is Williams, did well last time, a bit hot and cold but no obvious choice for him. Gilbert has been tried on small forwards with limited success but is starting to hit some form. CJ okay against Davis on Sat but was shown up a couple of times by his explosive pace so will have to wait and see if he gets Rioli.

As many have mentioned and I agree that this will be won and lost in the midfield - Ball would be a massive in for us if 100% fit, Dal picked up 32 touches in Round 16 so it will be interesting to see how he is looked after, Hayes and Montagna solid as always, Goddard and Gram are X-factors. To those rubbishing Mitchell, I think he is a huge danger, especially in recent weeks we have let players slip away from congestion, committed too many to the ball and given the opposition easy outs. Hodge is class, can only hope he kicks like he did against the Cats, Sewell tries his guts out and Bateman can be just as damaging as any.

On the flipside - Lewis I don't rate much at all, handy footballer but must question his temperament (and Bateman for that matter), and a nil all draw between Crawf and Banger. King was great in the ruck on Sat and probably had the better of Campbell/Taylor last time but is slowing down by the day - they will have to try and expose him around the ground. Dempster going down means Blake might have to stay back and not dominate in the ruck again!

There's little doubt the Hawks have a bit more quality across the field but that won't matter for much if we can win it in the engine room. Roo kicked six straight last time so if the mids can get on top then the Hawks defence will have their work cut out - but that obviously works both ways.

All in all, I expect this to be a cracker, and the main reason for writing this post was not to convince anyone that St Kilda will win, for I remain unconvinced of that, but to all the arrogant Hawks supporters out there suggesting that this will be a walk in the park, I suggest you keep a lid on it. This will be a lot closer than most think, and getting an early advantage will be crucial.

Good luck to the humble and respectful Hawks supporters (both of you), but to the rest of you arrogant lot who are getting antsier and antsier by the minute, I hope we stick it right up ya!! GO SAINTS!!

(on a completely side note, I have noticed a trend where retiring players either play their last game against their former club, or the club they debuted against (eg Wakelin last week). Purely by chance I know, but comforting knowledge that the great man Banger made his debut against the Doggies! Can only hope..)

Again, moron, point to the part of my ridiculous post where I said Lenny Hayes was a classy footballer, if you want to argue with your imaginary friend fine, just stop referring to my posts.

I realise it's hard to grasp (well I don't really) but getting more of the ball does not necessarily = class, Mark Williams for example is classier than Sam Mitchell.

Geelong will beat us out of the middle because grunt = grunt but they have more class. ( What the hell does this mean???)
Hawthorn will not beat us through class, Sam Mitchell will not beat us with class. Lenny Hayes is not class he is grunt, where is tackles in your comparison?

"If we're any chance of beating the Hawks it's in the midfield, probably the one area where the Hawks have no real class,"

From this absolute treasure chest of a quote. Am i wrong in assuming that we are playing the Saints on Saturday night and Lenny Hayes would be considered your best midfielder? Can you see where i might have been leading with the correlation?

If not please explain which CLASSY midfielders from St.Kilda might be beating the Hawks as they have no class there.

I was highlighting that the All Australian Committee seem to deem Sam Mitchell "classy" enough for selection in the final 40 ( at this stage ) and the only St.Kilda midfielder nominated is Lenny Hayes, thus assuming he is the "classiest" midfielder at St.Kilda. Or would there be any other "classier" midfielders at St.Kilda?? Please again which ones??

Then there was this from you:

" Sam Mitchell sprays it worse than Neil Craig " and this

" if one more Hawks supporter puts Sam Mitchell and the word classy in the same sentence, I'd have to question their version of class, the guy butchers the ball more than anyone else in the competition."

Ummm i wonder why i put down the disposal efficiency ratings?? And you know what Dal Santo, Hayes and Ball all have a worse effecient disposal rate than Sam Mitchell. Have a look at the stats. Hence all the St.kilda midfielders are not class as they butcher the ball worse than Sam Mitchell.

I can make arbitary statements as well with absolute no evidence to back up my claims. St.Kilda's midfield is 3 times worse than Hawthorns. See how easy that was and the most amazing thing is it is said with no clarification of evidence whatsoever.

AGAIN Please tell me what CLASSY midfielders that St.Kilda have that may beat the Hawks?? Or is it GRUNT that will win it??

Sam Mitchell kicks any St.Kilda midfielders arse whether it be your dumb notion of class or grunt.

Another of your quotes in response to Mitchell and leading the clearances in the comp.

"and more clangers than anyone bar Fevola and Buddy, take frees against out and he leads the comp

That is not class."

Actually again get your facts right Mitchell actually leads the comp with 128 clangers and yep you guessed it Lenny Hayes is coming second with 126. However, as Mitchell gets a hell of a lot more of it than Hayes or any other St.Kilda midfielder his disposal efficiency works out better.
And the reason i didn't mention tackles is because your the one that started on about Mitchell and butchering the ball.

Hawthorn will rightly start favourites ....

I disagree. I seriously think the Saints should start as favorite. I think you miss rate some players and I think (and many may laugh) that the inclusion of Young on the G is a big difference in the sides compared to last time.

But the Saints have an excellent record over the Hawks and they have a lot more experience and are hungry after a few near misses.

Any Hawks fan taking the Saints lightly are idiots!

So I think the real question should be "Can the Hawks derail the Saints?"

Yeah thats right....all you dees fans are really off the ball this year.
You have no idea whats going on because intrest in footy this year would be very low compared to previous years. Come back and voice your opinion when u have something half decent to say u muppet!

And your so much better Why??

Oh dear, I bolded your mistakes for you and everything.

If Johnny has 32 apples and Jenny has 29 apples, who has more apples?

Now if Lenny has 32 rebound 50m and Sammy has 29 rebound 50m, who has more rebound 50m? Just focus on the numbers, try not to let the color of their jumpers influence your answer.

Yes

Probable?

No

The fact is, a lot of things have to go well for the Saints to win

It would be a big upset given the both the TALENT AND FORM of both sides.

Hawks by 4-5 goals

Oh dear, I bolded your mistakes for you and everything.

If Johnny has 32 apples and Jenny has 29 apples, who has more apples?

Now if Lenny has 32 rebound 50m and Sammy has 29 rebound 50m, who has more rebound 50m? Just focus on the numbers, try not to let the color of their jumpers influence your answer.

I can't find all the posts in this little war, but its fair to say that both players are great players. Class, grunt, ass, I really don't care what makes them great, they're both great.

On the tackle count, Hawks as a whole have a lower tackle count as a high tackle count is necessarily the most important thing in there game plan. They allow alot of uncontested ball movement in the backline and only pressure teams as they start to come out.

On an individual level with the tackles, I think its fair to say that Hayes is the better defensive player. I think its also fair to say that Mitch is the better clearence player.

Also not sure Clangers are the best judge of "class" as I believe they also include things like frees and 50ms. The Hawks tend to give away more frees, for lots of reasons, one of which is there tactic to slow down the player getting rid of the ball as the oppersition streams down the field. They often hold them up giving a free away that is nearly always ignored as the player with the ball is running away with it, just not with that supporting player due to them being held up. Also stats say that mitchell has the best disposel effectiveness of the leading 10 disposal guys in the league and top 5 for the top 25 odd.

Both are great players and you would take either in a heart beat!

Based on?????

The Hawks had a very good season and deserved second place but to say they specifically have St.Kilda's measure is ridiculous given the capitulation in Round 16 and the one win in six seasons against the Saints.

I don't care about round 16 mate. I care about now, and at this point in time, we comfortably have your measure.

I think the hawks have a little bit mroe to play for than when they met last time. Hawthorn and Geelong are a class above the rest of the comp... This doesn't mean they will both win but 9 times out of 10 Hawks would beat the Saints.

If we're any chance of beating the Hawks it's in the midfield, probably the one area where the Hawks have no real class, .

I can see it there. I know you wrote it. I just refuse to believe you really know that little about footy.

Next time, use smileys or emoticons :)D;):p) when you are making a joke. :thumbsu: