Podcast Cat Attack Podcast 2024 - Kingy and Benny are back in 24 for K ROCK Football.

Lets keep this thread to questions for the boys rather than discussion posts please

GO Catters

Questions, comments, criticisms?

This is your safe space.

Thursday PM recording ahead of the clash with the Dockers.

This is your safe space.

- Freo avenues to goal seemed to be predominantly their keys last week. Was this just a reflection of Sydney's height deficiency at key back or is this something that would worry us too?

- Next up for a call up for a debut - Clohesy or Willis?

-I seem to remember the start of Bews career we basically called him up to just tag oppo small defenders and he grew from there.
Is it a realistic option to bring Mullin in (very) early with a similar mission?

- Pheonix Foster - is it time to inflate the hype balloons?

Last edited by a moderator:

Listen to your show script on Saturday, loved the interview on Isaac Smith, just the way he talks you would be forgiven that he played majority of his football with Hawthorn! It feels like his a Geelong boy all his life...

Mid season draft... what's your personal view on what type of player we should pick?
Should it be a young 19-21 year oldruckman ? You think Ceglar will retire, Stanley probably play another year and hopefully Conway will stay injury free!
Or would you even bring in a midfielder? As the age graphic between the guys like Knevitt, Holmes , Bruhn to Dangerfield Guthrie, Smith we should look at a Midfielder in that 23-25 age bracket. Maybe even a guy like Jye Chalcraft?

Cheers FoxDog50 🍻

Was unable to participate this weekend due to extreme food poisoning, intense full body spasms and all associated physiological effects, so caught the replay - sans KROCK call and geez its a verbal wasteland without it - deviod of hippies armpits, Reg Sticky Hands and not a Viagra sunburn reference or a Kabas to be seen.

No good losses - we had the win in us but the toll of changes was a tide too strong this week - Just the "Beat of the Rhythm of the Night" Debarge style was not ours.

The great thing was to see Bruhn, Knevitt, Miers, Dempsey, Simpson, Henry, Clark - 6 of the new breed - getting their feet wet and while not ripping the game apart, showed glimpses of what is to come with time, size, fitness and their own cohesion. Howe many of the aforementioned hold their spot come finals?
I say Miers, Simpson, Henry and maybe Bruhn.

Watching the VFL still reckon Clohesy will make it - And Riccardi needs to be persisted with as well. Foster could be anything but will need time.

Heres to an clean run at watching this weeks game lol

ps - How the MOC push in the back was missed by Rosebury is beyond me - total howler.

GO Catters

This is your safe space.

In todays footy you just can’t give a mug a chance.
Missing early chances, along with them nailing theirs, got them in the game. From qtr Time on it was 12 goals to 11.
Frustrating part was we win the big stats such as contested ball, clerances, more shots on goals and more inside 50s.
Miers must have been pulling his shirt dreadlocks out as he hit up target after target, only for them to miss set shots.
I feel esava once again played really well, seems to be able to pick when to double fist and when to mark. His ability to run and evade is not something every key defender has
Jhye clark showed enough to give him a full run this week if fitness allows. He had the second most tackles for the cats in 40 mins of games time
I’ll agree we had players out but we still had the chance to win this game. When blokes like touhy are missing easy set shots you know it’s not your night. Dempsey 9 touches in 2nd qtr, if he kicked his 2 shots on goal it would have been a nice cameo
Couple of howlers from the umpires, but these seem to always happens when you have a off night.
Hopefully a few troops return for the trip west

Finally, dusty has been a super player, and 4 goals from 19 touches is a good outing. But the carry on over him is ridiculous. He kicked 3 in the last qtr when the game was over

Jhye looked good in limited minutes, should have subbed him earlier. Has he done enough to hold his position next week or in the staring 22?

Air Sav looking better every week. Do Sav, SDK and Jack Henry play in the same backline when all available ?

How to get live audio at the ground (MCG) and at home? K-Rock Radio online cuts out when match starts. I also couldn’t find live audio at the G, with no links in the afl app.

At the game last week I honestly wasn’t worried overly.

The one thing that has come up is that in 4 of the 5 games at the G this year we have conceded 90 or more points. Do you think this is more due a lack of cohesion due to injuries. Or, as I think, the midfield aren’t defending well enough and are putting a lot of pressure on the back 6.

Jhye looked good in limited minutes, should have subbed him earlier. Has he done enough to hold his position next week or in the staring 22?

Air Sav looking better every week. Do Sav, SDK and Jack Henry play in the same backline when all available ?

How to get live audio at the ground (MCG) and at home? K-Rock Radio online cuts out when match starts. I also couldn’t find live audio at the G, with no links in the afl app.

Ledger_cat FM 88.0 via radio or krockfootball.live via smart device

5-5 after the loss to Dockers.

We'll dissect and look ahead to the Giants Thursday PMish

I believe it was from the book of job, 19. 28
“But ye should say, why persecute we him, seeing the root of the matter is found in me”

Clearly job here is talking about the cats midfield. Unfortunately, the missing combination of Stanley, Dangerfield and Guthrie, is 3 of the best 4 in the middle.
In time, I starting 4 of Conway, Holmes, bruhn and Clark, along with knevitt, might be a pretty good midfield combination but at the minute we are struggling here.
We just have to find a way past the GIANTS. Hopefully a couple more players returning, Rohan, bowes, SDK, unsure.
Giants look to possibly have injuries to Himmelberg and nick Hayne, but again the concern is midfield. Tom green, Kelly, Whitfield, coniglio. Need a big lift in midfield.
Having said this, Jeremy Cameron has kicked 1.4 in the last 2 weeks so expecting a big game from him. If our mids can pressure the giants going forward, at least give the defenders chance. Conversely, you’d hope 40-45 inside 50s should give us a shot at kicking a score. Either way just gotta find a way to get the 4 points this week

5-5 after the loss to Dockers.

We'll dissect and look ahead to the Giants Thursday PMish

- Couldn't help but feel that a recurring theme in our losses has been opposition score launches from turnovers in our front half. Does this mean the player we are missing most is the mighty Gary Rohan?

- That midfield rotation is definitely missing a 25 year old elite player. Who do you think would be a good fit?

Our midfiers are dropping like they’re fighting in Bakhmat. Are there any decent prospects in the mid season draft (can we dust off the number 14), or is Mackie combing through Russian prisons looking for reinforcements.

With top 4 looking increasingly out of reach, do we manage players in the second half and prioritise a healthy list over ladder position come September?

As I once heard Rex Hunt say.. " it could be raining bikini clad women and id get washed down the drain with a Truckie.

Pretty much sums up our Injury assessments at this time. Some fairly unique and obtuse ones thus far this year and the much vaunted depth we thought we had has been really very heavily tested. Its too much to expect to get players back and then reel off another 16 wins, so whats our realistic target from here? 10 more wins gives us 15.... seems a lot to make the next 10 of 14.

Coaching soft cap = Given Dimma's speedy exit and the stress and strain of it all - your thoughts on the GFC soft cap situation and is GFC as much a coaching destination as it is one for the players? ( no im not looking to replace anyone just curious as to how sought after it is)

Have a great call this week.

GO Catters

Thanks mate. But just goes to a “connection timed out” page.

Why aren’t they on the AFL app anymore? Forgot to pay their bill? 😊
They do their own streaming this season.

krockfootball.live

GO Catters

Thursday again, Big Footy Friends.

Rip in!

Oh boy

When it rains, it pours. More injury, more bad goal kicking, more loss. I’d chuck in some average umpiring decisions too (Brett Daniel’s second shot in goal), but I’d hate to sound like a whinger.
Make no bones about it, we are not getting better until the midfield cavalry returns. I think there’s a gap in our list now, we might be needing a 24-26 year old midfielder to bridge. Bruhn, Clark, Holmes will all be good but it’s too much too soon I feel.
Giants made us look terribly slow, with no danger Holmes Rohan we lacked pace.
I know ceglar tries but he’s not afl standard and is as slow as a wet week. I’d rather play blitz in ruck, even if he loses every hit out he can pressure and follow up.
Brandon parfit has gone backwards quicker than a bullet train going the wrong way
We actually outscored the giants in 3 of the 4 qtrs, snd when we wrestled momentum for a brief time, kicked 4.5 to 4 straight.
I’m keeping ocean mullin in, he has pace, and provides unpredictability, something we lack.
Question- tanner bruhn played 53% game time, was actually on the ground less than esava. Is he injured? Lacking fitness?
Ollie Dempsey best on in vfl, 27 possessions and a goal.

Here’s hoping we get some midfield back and the umpires who heavily favoured the dogs last night, give us the run of the green for once.
Forget top 4, we are fighting for 8th spot
Also, mid season draft. Waste of time I feel, unless you identify a long term prospect who can play vfl for a couple of years. Aren’t finding a person who can come straight in and make an impact

Leadership
The team looked devoid of it in the middle. Bereft of direction, when things went wrong we couldn't adjust because the kids didn't know how and no one was telling them

Is Joel available in the mid season draft? Or do we have anyone who can be an on field coach?

Good Craic
Mullin. Is this the best 5th game of football played ever? He's being deployed to half back I think because that's where he was played in Gaelic and it's a good place to learn, but he has really good attacking flair.

Powerful frame. Is he really a midfielder?

The return of Zorro
Movie was Critically panned. Is this just cobwebs or are we trying to get too cute playing him forward? Sav injury probably makes it an academic question

Barometer 1019 hPa F50
The pressure from our forward line to hold in was non-existent. Are Miers, close, Stengle hideously out of form or are they running through the midfield and this is a problem elsewhere on the ground cascading to other parts?

Lack of definition
Cam Guthrie and Rhys Stanley listed as "indefinite" timeframes to return. Should our whole injury list though be listed as indefinite as the club definitely doesn't define return timeframe

Podcast Cat Attack Podcast 2024 - Kingy and Benny are back in 24 for K ROCK Football.